Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Arsenic

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-000-EE-A

PDF Version   (365 Kb, 2 Pages)

Metals of Concern Fact Sheet Series: Arsenic eBook in EPUB format (EPUB, 77 Kb)
 

Highlights

  • Arsenic occurs naturally in rocks and minerals such as arsenopyrite.
  • Natural erosion, volcanoes and mining activities are potential sources of arsenic in the environment.
  • Micro-organisms are able to transform inorganic arsenic into organic arsenic compounds.
  • Arsenic has been used both medicinally and as a poison for many years.
  • Arsenic can be ingested, inhaled or absorbed through the skin.
  • Both inorganic and organic arsenic can be excreted through urine; organic arsenic is considered less toxic because the body excretes it at a faster rate.
  • Arsenic is not found in Yukon country foods at levels of concern.

What is arsenic?

Arsenic is the 20th most abundant element in the earth's crust and is found in copper, lead, silver and gold. When combined with oxygen, sulphur and chlorine, inorganic arsenic salts are formed. These include the sulphide minerals arsenopyrite and realgar. Arsenic is also found naturally in the environment in organic compounds. These compounds are generally formed by bacteria in a process called methylation. Metallic or elemental arsenic is steel grey, brittle and rarely found naturally.

How does arsenic enter the environment?

Arsenic has several industrial applications; the most important is its use in chemically preserved wood. Ninety percent of arsenic in Canada is made into the wood preservative chromated copper arsenate. Wood that has been treated with this chemical is referred to as pressure-treated wood. Arsenic is also used in batteries, ammunition, light-emitting diodes and electronics. Historically, Arsenic was used in fungicidal seed and crop insecticide but these uses are no longer legal.

Some of the arsenic mineralization in the Yukon is associated with gold ore deposits including those at Mount Freegold, Montana Mountain and Mount Nansen. While natural erosion and weathering releases arsenic into the environment in these areas, mining activity may increase the natural levels. The Indian and Northern Affairs Canada Waste Management Program has remediated certain sites by capping the mine tailings. Ongoing studies are underway to measure the effectiveness of the caps in reducing arsenic release into the environment.

Is arsenic toxic?

At very high concentrations, arsenic can be toxic or lethal to a wide range of organisms. Once treated with arsenic fungicides, crop yields decrease. Malformations have been found in amphibians in the areas around such crops.

Arsenic may be inhaled, ingested or, to a small extent, absorbed through the skin. When inorganic arsenic is taken into the human body, much of it (approximately 80%) is changed to organic arsenic and excreted in the urine. Inorganic arsenic that is not transformed tends to concentrate in the hair, skin and nails during the first two weeks of exposure; then elevated levels may appear in the liver, spleen, kidney and muscle tissue. Fish undergo a similar detoxification process through which the inorganic arsenic is changed to organic arsenic and excreted in urine. Organic arsenic is considered to be less toxic than inorganic arsenic because it is excreted at a much faster rate.

Arsenic is considered a carcinogen but is also presently used in some medicines to treat leukemia, a form of cancer. If, over an extended period of time, arsenic is absorbed at a faster rate than the body can clear it, the metal can accumulate in the body. People who have been chronically exposed to arsenic have suffered skin damage, problems with their circulatory system and have an increased risk of cancer.

Where to find more information on the web:

References

  • Department of Indian and Northern Affairs. (1997). Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report: Jensen, J., Adare, K., Shearer, R. (Eds.).
  • Nicholson, H.C. 2002. Arsenic in Plants Important to Two Yukon First Nations: Impacts of Gold Mining and Reclamation Practices. Msc Thesis, University of British Columbia, 2002. 102pp.
  • Gamberg, M. (2008). Arctic Caribou and Moose Contaminant Monitoring Program. Synopsis of Research, Northern Contaminants Program 2007-2008. pp.108-113. Department of Indian and Northern Affairs, Northern Contaminants Program, Ottawa, ON.

The Yukon Contaminants Committee co-ordinates the Northern Contaminants Program for the territory. Its members represent Canada, Yukon and the Council of Yukon First Nations, Yukon Conservation Society, and Yukon College.

Since its establishment in 1991, the Committee has acted as a link between the scientific community and Northerners on contaminants issues. Please direct any comments to the Yukon Contaminants Committee (867) 667-3283 or toll-free 1 (800) 661-0451 ext. 3283.

Update date: March 2010
QS-Y343-000-EE-A
Aussi disponible en français: QS-Y343-000-FF-A1

Métaux Préoccupants Série d'Infofiches : Arsenic

Date: March 2010
QS: Y343-000-FF-A

PDF Version   (365 Ko, 2 Pages)

 

Points Essentiels

  • L'arsenic se trouve à l'état naturel dans des roches et des minéraux comme l'arsénopyrite.
  • L'érosion naturelle, les volcans et les activités minières sont des sources potentielles d'arsenic dans l'environnement.
  • Les microorganismes sont capables de transformer l'arsenic inorganique en arsenic organique.
  • L'arsenic a été utilisé en médecine et comme poison depuis de nombreuses années.
  • L'arsenic peut être ingéré, inhalé ou absorbé par la peau.
  • L'arsenic organique et l'arsenic inorganique peuvent tous deux être excrétés dans l'urine; l'arsenic organique est considéré moins toxique, car le corps l'élimine plus rapidement.
  • On ne retrouve pas l'arsenic à des niveaux inquiétants dans les aliments traditionnels du Yukon.

Qu'est-ce que l'arsenic?

L'arsenic est le vingtième élément le plus abondant dans la croûte terrestre et on le retrouve dans minéraux contenant du cuivre, du plomb, de l'argent ou de l'or. Par combinaison avec de l'oxygène, du soufre ou du chlore, on forme des sels d'arsenic inorganiques. Parmi ceux-ci, on retrouve les minéraux sulfurés arsénopyrite et réalgar. On trouve aussi de l'arsenic de manière naturelle dans l'environnement dans des composés organiques. Ces composés sont généralement formés par des bactéries lors d'un procédé appelé méthylation. L'arsenic métallique ou élémentaire est gris acier, cassant et se trouve rarement ainsi à l'état naturel.

Comment l'arsenic se retrouve-t-il dans l'environnement?

L'arsenic a plusieurs applications industrielles. La plus importante est son utilisation pour la conservation chimique du bois. Quatre-vingt-dix pour cent de l'arsenic utilisé au Canada est de l'arsénate de cuivre chromé utilisé comme agent de conservation du bois. Le bois traité avec ce produit chimique est appelé bois traité sous pression. L'arsenic est aussi utilisé dans des piles, des munitions, des diodes électroluminescentes et des dispositifs électroniques. L'arsenic a aussi été utilisé dans le passé comme fongicide pour des graines et comme insecticides pour des cultures, mais ces utilisations ne sont plus légales.

Certaines des minéralisations de l'arsenic retrouvées au Yukon sont associées aux gisements de minerai d'or, dont celles du mont Freegold, de la montagne Montana et du mont Nansen. Alors que l'érosion naturelle et la météorisation relâchent de l'arsenic dans l'environnement dans ces régions, l'activité minière peut faire augmenter les niveaux naturels. Le Programme de gestion des déchets d'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada a restauré certains sites en recouvrant les résidus miniers. Des études sont en cours pour mesurer l'efficacité de ce procédé à réduire le rejet d'arsenic dans l'environnement.

L'arsenic est-il toxique?

À très haute concentration, l'arsenic peut être toxique ou létal pour de nombreux d'organismes. Après traitement avec des fongicides à l'arsenic, les rendements des cultures décroissent. Des malformations ont été détectées chez des amphibiens dans les zones autour de ces cultures.

L'arsenic peut être inhalé, ingéré ou, à dose moindre, absorbé par la peau. Quand de l'arsenic inorganique pénètre dans le corps humain, la plus grande partie est transformée en arsenic organique (environ 80 %) et est excrétée dans l'urine. L'arsenic inorganique qui n'est pas transformé tend à se concentrer dans les cheveux, la peau et les ongles au cours des deux premières semaines d'exposition, puis des niveaux élevés peuvent être détectés dans le foie, la rate et les tissus musculaires. Les poissons subissent un processus de désintoxication similaire, au cours duquel l'arsenic inorganique est transformé en arsenic organique et excrété dans l'urine. L'arsenic organique est considéré moins toxique que l'arsenic inorganique car il est excrété beaucoup plus vite.

L'arsenic est considéré comme cancérigène, mais est aussi actuellement utilisé dans certains médicaments pour traiter la leucémie, une forme de cancer. Si au cours d'une période prolongée on absorbe plus d'arsenic que le corps ne peut en éliminer, ce métal peut s'accumuler dans le corps. Des personnes qui ont été exposées de manière chronique à de l'arsenic ont souffert de problèmes cutanés, de problèmes circulatoires et ont un risque accru de développer un cancer.

Où trouver plus d'information sur le Web :

Références

  • Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord (1997); Canadian Arctic Contaminants Assessment Report: Jensen J., Adare K. et Shearer R. (Eds.).
  • Nicholson H.C. (2002); Arsenic in Plants Important to Two Yukon First Nations: Impacts of Gold Mining and Reclamation Practices; Thèse de maîtrise, Université de la Colombie-Britannique; 102 p.
  • Gamberg M. (2008); Arctic Caribou and Moose Contaminant Monitoring Program, Synposis of Research; 2007-2008; p. 108-113; ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord, Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord ; Ottawa (ON).

Le Yukon Contaminants Committee coordonne le Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord. Ses membres représentent le Canada, le Yukon et le Council of Yukon First Nations, la Yukon Conservation Society et le Yukon College.

Depuis sa mise sur pied en 1991, ce comité a servi de lien entre la communauté scientifique et les habitants du Nord pour les problèmes liés aux contaminants. Veuillez soumettre tout commentaire au Yukon Contaminants Committee en appelant le 867667-3283 ou en appelant sans frais le 1-800-661-0451 poste 3283.

Date de la mise à jour : mars 2010
QS-Y343-000-FF-A
Also available in English: QS-Y343-000-EE-A