Traditional Harvesting

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Other PEMT sensitivity layers in this region:
Polar Bear | Narwhal | Migratory Birds | Species of Conservation Concern | Traditional Harvesting

PEMT screenshot: Traditional Hunting

Launch the PEMT for a detailed and interactive view of these and other layers.

You may also be interested in Polar Bear information in other PEMT regions:

BSMD | Eastern Arctic

Valued Component Features

Rationale for Selection

Traditional harvesting is of significant social, cultural and economic value to the Inuit in the study area. Marine and terrestrial wildlife have provided food and clothing and materials for tools, arts and crafts for Inuit and their ancestors for thousands of years and continue to do so (Nunavut Planning Commission 2000). The availability of traditionally harvested foods lowers the demand for imported food which is both costly and often less nutritious. Additionally, the harvesting of wildlife and subsequent distribution and use of the harvest provides important opportunities to maintain and enhance Inuit culture.

Traditional Harvesting Activities

Nanavut Settlment Area

Information outlining specific harvesting locations is limited. The Nunavut Wildlife Harvest Study provides information about the number of harvesters and harvested species in Nunavut over the five year period between 1996 and 2001; however, the locations of harvest are not available. The Nunavut Atlas (Riewe 1992) provides information on important wildlife areas and harvesting locations for each community in Nunavut. The information in the Nunavut Atlas is dated; however, it is the most comprehensive record of harvesting areas available for Nunavut. Additionally, while the NBRLUP illustrates important areas for wildlife and harvesting, it does not provide detailed information on harvesting locations within the study area. Accordingly, the following summary of traditional harvesting in the study area relies on information from the Nunavut Atlas (Riewe 1992). For a summary of this information, see Table 4-1. Traditional harvest sites are summarized in FigureS 4-13 (winter) and 4-14 (summer).

Bache Peninsula

There is a major travel route between Ellesmere Island and Axel Heiberg Island, through Eureka Sound. This is a snowmobile travel route used occasionally by Grise Fiord hunters to travel between Grise Fiord and Eureka. The intensity of land use in this area is rated as medium. Caribou are occasionally hunted along the east side of Eureka Sound.

Raanes Peninsula and Svendsen Peninsula on the east side of Ellesmere Island as well as Baumann Fiord were reported to be used by Grise Fiord hunters during winter and spring to hunt for polar bears and caribou. The intensity of land use in this area is rated as high. Most caribou are taken along the shores of Blind Fiord, while Baumann Fiord is where polar bears are often found.

Sverdrup Islands

The southern portion of Axel Heiberg Island, along the coast and in Norwegian Bay, has a reported high level of Inuit land use. There are about several camping sites present and Grise Fiord hunters were reported to use this area every year during spring and winter to hunt for polar bears.

King Christian Island

Penny Strait and Queens Channel, east of Bathurst Island as well as the eastern coastline of Bathurst Island are rated as having a medium intensity level of Inuit land use. There are camping sites present on the eastern coastal side of Bathurst Island. This area was used for caribou hunting by Resolute

hunters until 1974; however, due to a rapid decrease in population the Resolute Hunters and Trappers Association (HTA) declared a moratorium on caribou hunting here. Penny Strait and Queens Channel have been occasionally used in March and April by the Resolute hunters for polar bears.

Norwegian Bay

Part of Norwegian Bay has an Inuit land use intensity rating of high. There are several camping sites in the area, as well as a few fishing sites.

Norwegian Bay was reported to be used annually for polar bear hunting during the spring by hunters from Grise Fiord.

Grise Fiord residents conduct caribou hunting on Graham Island, Buckingham Island and the western portion of Ellesmere Island in the spring, and occasionally during the fall.

The northern portion of Devon Island which falls within this study area is used to hunt caribou in August, by hunters from Grise Fiord. There are also some fishing sites in this area where Arctic char are fished for during summer.

Byam Channel

Byam Channel, which lies between Melville Island and Byam Martin Island, has been rated as having a medium intensity level of Inuit land use. This area has been used by Resolute hunters to hunt for polar bears (also in Byam Martin Channel and on the southeast coast of Melville Island).

Inuvialuit Settlement Region

The following information has been obtained from the Olokhaktomiut Community Conservation Plan (OCCP 2000). Traditional harvesting activities by residents of Uluhaktok which occur in the study area are described below. For a summary of this information, see Table 4-1.

Within this area, the OCCP (OCCP 2000) describes special designation areas. Those which fall into the study area include: 502B, 503B, 504E and 505E. Harvesting activities are described below for each of these special designated areas.

502B - Emangyok Sound Coastline over to Byam Martin Island

This area includes the south-eastern coastline of Melville Island and Byam Channel, which also includes harvesting by Resolute hunters as indicated in Section 4.5.2.2. The people of Uluhaktok and Sachs Harbour also use this area for subsistence hunting from November to May. Year-round, this area provides important habitat for polar bears, ringed seal, and bearded seal and is an important feeding area for beluga. The area has been used by Inuvialuit for generations and is, therefore; an important traditional and cultural site. The OCCP (2000) raises concern that marine traffic would have a negative impact on traditional harvesting in the area.

503B - Coastline, Kangikhokyoak (Liddon)

This area includes the south side of Melville Island, north of Liddon Gulf, as well as the southern portion of Byam Martin Island. This area falls partially in the study area. This area is noted as being important for traditional harvesting from November to May. The OCCP also reports concerns about negative effects of petroleum industry activity on wildlife habitat.

504E - Ibbett Bay to McCormick Inlet

This designated site includes a section of Melville Island inland from the mouth of Ibbett Bay inland heading east to the mouth of McCormick Inlet. The Dorset encampment site, located here, is most north-westerly known Inuit site in the Canadian Arctic.

505E - Prince Patrick - Key Bird Habitat

This area includes the area on the south-eastern part of Prince Patrick Island in the study area. It is important polar bear habitat and for subsistence harvesting.

Table 4-1: Harvested Species by Community and Time of Year – High Arctic Study Area (Riewe 1992; OCCP 2000)

Readers are cautioned that most of the information presented above was collected several decades ago and while traditional harvesting activity remains strong, areas of use, levels of harvest and management actions will have changed over time.

Susceptibility to Oil and Gas Activities

The analysis of susceptibility of traditional harvesting to oil and gas activity is restricted to consideration of routine exploration and development activities. As such, the potential effects of a catastrophic event such as an oil spill is not considered. The study area includes both terrestrial and marine areas, providing for both land based and marine oil and gas activity.

Harvested species and their habitats sensitivity to oil and gas activity will affect the presence and abundance of the species and therefore its availability to be harvested. Sensitivity of wildlife is reported elsewhere in this study. Traditional harvesting activity and oil and gas activity may interact directly when both activities occur in the same area at the same time. Industry activity may be both mobile (seismic) or stationary (drilling, support base) providing opportunities for a number of different direct  interactions with traditional harvesting such as disturbance to harvesting areas, physical barriers, noise propagation breaking of ice, visual disruption, etc., which can potentially negatively affect harvesting.

Seismic Exploration

Seismic activity in the study area could occur on land during winter and summer while marine seismic would be conducted during the summer open water season. Terrestrial seismic activity has the potential to affect wildlife presence and limit access to harvesting opportunities. Within the marine environment, seismic surveys may interfere with migration of marine wildlife and potentially affect the availability of species for harvesting.

Ice-based Activities

Drilling and drilling support activities may be conducted on the ice. Under routine conditions these activities would generate noise under ice and above the ice. This may result in avoidance by wildlife and reduce harvesting opportunity. Depending on the length and timing of drilling season ice breaking by ship may be undertaken. In addition to noise generated by ice breaking, resulting ship tracks can present a safety hazard as a result of open water and rough ice when the tracks freeze.

Shipping

Shipping to support oil and gas activity may disrupt migrations of marine wildlife and consequently their availability for harvest. The presence of marine vessels in a traditional harvesting area may prevent or discourage harvesters from utilizing the areas. Intensive shipping such as regular transits between a shore base and an offshore location may result in traditional harvesters moving to another area if possible.

Sensitivity Ranking

In developing a sensitivity layer for traditional harvesting, consideration was given to the Areas of Importance identified in Appendix G of the NBRLUP, the land use categories presented in the Olokhaktomiut Community Conservation Plan (OCCP 2000) and the frequency and amount of documented harvesting activity. Four levels of importance are defined for areas in the NBRLUP, based on a combination of importance to community harvesting and wildlife productivity. Five categories of lands are designated in the Olokhaktomiut Community Conservation Plan. The Areas of Importance presented in the NBRLUP and the land use categories included in the Olokhaktomiut Community Conservation Plan cover part of the current study area. For that portion of the study area not covered by the NBRLUP or the Olokhaktomiut Community Conservation Plan, sensitivity is considered to be low. Sensitivity ranking for traditional harvest in the high arctic study area is summarized in Figure 4-15.

Sensitivity levels for traditional harvesting are defined as follows:

High Sensitivity (5)

Highly sensitive ratings are given to those areas deemed essential harvesting locations (community cannot survive without the area), an area that provides essential habitat with no alternative available, or an area that supports rare, threatened or endangered species or is protected or proposed for legislative protection (NBRLUP). This rating is also given to Lands and waters where cultural or renewable resources are of extreme significance and sensitivity and no development should be allowed (OCCP).

Moderate/High Sensitivity (4)

Areas of great importance to the community and where much of the community's harvest comes from the area are rated moderately to highly sensitive. This rating also applies to areas that provide important wildlife habitat (however, alternate habitat is available) (NBRLUP), and lands and waters where cultural or renewable resources are of particular significance and sensitivity throughout the year (OCCP).

Moderate Sensitivity (3)

Moderate sensitivity was applied to areas of general harvesting use by the community or where a smaller proportion of harvest comes from these areas than more important areas. Generally there are fewer species present, key habitat for harvested species is not present, and alternate habitat is available (NBRLUP). This rating also applies to lands and waters where cultural or renewable resources are of particular significance and sensitivity during specific times of the year (OCCP).

Low/Moderate Sensitivity (2)

This rating applies to lands where there are cultural or renewable resources of some significance and sensitivity (OCCP), areas where species of harvest interest may be present, but there is limited documented harvesting.

Low Sensitivity (1)

These areas are not used much by the community and little information exists to assess its importance to wildlife (NBRLUP). This includes lands where there are no known significant or sensitive cultural or renewable resources (OCCP)

Mitigation

Traditional harvesting is dependent on the availability of species to harvest and the opportunity to practice harvesting. Species presence depends on the availability of habitat and healthy and viable populations. The opportunity to practice harvesting requires time to participate in the activity, equipment to conduct harvesting and access to species of interest. Many northern industrial activities have developed work schedules that not only reflect the time and cost of accessing work sites, but also provide northern residents sufficient length of time off to pursue traditional harvesting opportunities. Access to species of interest and harvesting areas can be maintained by avoidance of harvesting areas completely, or at times of the year when harvesting activities occur. Compensation may be considered to provide resources for harvesters to travel to different areas or compensate for the loss of access when avoidance is not possible.

Potential Effects of Climate Change

The effects of climate change are not fully understood; however, changes to the northern environment resulting from climate change are being observed. The reduction in ice cover during summer periods has been well documented and may lead to increased activity in the marine environment. Ice also provides habitat for species such as polar bear, a reduction in ice cover can negatively affect wildlife populations and their availability for harvest. Barren-land caribou populations are declining in northern Canada; while a range of factors may be responsible for this decline, climate change effects are noted as one potential cause of the decline. Reduction in species populations resulting from climate change will reduce the opportunity for traditional harvest.

References

See references used for Traditional Harvesting information.

Activités traditionnelles d'exploitation

Autres composantes d'intérêt dans cette région :
Ours blanc | Narval | Oiseaux migrateur | Espèces préoccupantes | Activités traditionnelles d'exploitation

PEMT screenshot: Activités traditionnelles d'exploitation

Lancer l'OGERP pour une vue détaillée et interactive de ces derniers et les autres couches.

Vous pourriez également être intéressé par des informations sur les Ours blanc dans d'autres régions de l'OGERP :

Mer de Beaufort & delta du Mackenzie | l'Arctique de l'Est

Caractéristiques des composantes valorisées

Justification du choix

Les activités traditionnelles d'exploitation - chasse, piégeage et pêche - revêtent une grande importance sociale, culturelle et économique pour les Inuit de la zone d'étude. Depuis des millénaires et aujourd'hui encore, la faune marine et terrestre fournit aux Inuit des aliments, des vêtements et des matériaux permettant de créer des outils, des œuvres d'art et des produits d'artisanat (Commission d'aménagement du Nunavut, 2000). La disponibilité des aliments récoltés traditionnellement réduit la demande d'aliments importés qui sont à la fois coûteux et souvent moins nutritifs. En outre, la récolte d'animaux sauvages et la distribution et l'utilisation ultérieures de cette récolte offrent d'importantes occasions de maintenir et de valoriser la culture inuite.

Activités traditionnelles d'exploitation

Région du Nunavut

L'information décrivant des emplacements d'exploitation particuliers est limitée. L'Étude sur la récolte des ressources fauniques dans le Nunavut fournit de l'information sur le nombre d'exploitants et les espèces récoltées au Nunavut au cours de la période de cinq ans s'étendant de 1996 à 2001; cependant, aucune information n'est disponible sur les lieux de récolte. L'atlas du Nunavut (Riewe, 1992) fournit de l'information sur d'importantes zones fauniques et d'exploitation pour chaque collectivité du Nunavut. Bien que désuète, l'information contenue dans cet atlas demeure le dossier le plus complet sur les secteurs d'exploitation au Nunavut. En outre, même si le Plan d'aménagement de la région nord de l'île de Baffin (PARNIB) illustre d'importantes zones fauniques et d'exploitation, il ne fournit pas d'informations détaillées sur les sites d'exploitation dans la zone d'étude. Ainsi, le résumé suivant des activités traditionnelles d'exploitation dans la zone d'étude s'appuie sur des renseignements provenant de l'atlas du Nunavut (Riewe, 1992). Ces renseignements sont résumés au tableau 4-1, et les sites d'exploitation traditionnels sont résumés à la figure 4-13 (hiver) et à la figure 4 14 (été).

Presqu'île Bache

Il existe une route importante entre l'île d'Ellesmere et l'île Axel Hei, dans le détroit d'Eureka. Il s'agit d'une route de motoneige que les chasseurs de Grise Fiord empruntent occasionnellement pour voyager entre le fjord Grise et Eureka. L'utilisation du territoire dans cette zone est d'intensité moyenne. On chasse parfois le caribou sur le rivage est du détroit d'Eureka.

On a indiqué que la péninsule Raanes et la péninsule Svendsen, sur la côte est de l'île d'Ellesmere, ainsi que le fjord Baumann étaient utilisées par les chasseurs de Grise Fiord durant l'hiver et le printemps pour la chasse à l'ours blanc et au caribou. L'utilisation du territoire dans cette zone est d'intensité élevée. La plupart des caribous sont attrapés sur les rivages du fjord Blind, alors que le fjord Baumann est l'endroit où l'on trouve souvent les ours blancs.

îles Sverdrup

On a signalé une intensité élevée d'utilisation du territoire par les Inuit de la portion sud de l'île Axel Hei, le long de la côte et dans la baie Norwegian. Plusieurs campements s'y trouvent, et on a indiqué que les chasseurs de Grise Fiord utilisaient cette zone chaque année, au printemps et à l'hiver, pour chasser l'ours blanc.

île King Christian

Le détroit de Penny et le chenal Queens, à l'est de l'île Bathurst, ainsi que la côte est de l'île Bathurst font l'objet d'une utilisation du territoire de niveau moyen par les Inuit. On trouve des campements sur la côte est de l'île Bathurst. Les chasseurs de Resolute ont chassé le caribou dans cette région jusqu'en 1974; cependant, après une diminution rapide de la population, l'Association des chasseurs et des trappeurs (ACT) de Resolute a décrété un moratoire sur la chasse au caribou à cet endroit. Les chasseurs de Resolute ont parfois chassé l'ours blanc, en mars et en avril, au détroit de Penny et au chenal Queens.

Baie Norwegian

Une partie de la baie Norwegian présente une intensité élevée d'utilisation du territoire par les Inuit. Il y a plusieurs campements et quelques sites de pêche dans la région.

On a indiqué que chaque année, au printemps, les chasseurs de Grise Fiord chassent l'ours blanc dans cette baie.

Les habitants de Grise Fiord chassent le caribou sur les îles Graham et Buckingham, et sur la portion ouest de l'île d'Ellesmere au printemps, et parfois à l'automne.

La portion nord de l'île Devon, qui se trouve dans la présente zone d'étude, est utilisée pour la chasse au caribou en août par les chasseurs de Grise Fiord. Il y a aussi quelques sites dans cette région, où l'on pêche l'omble chevalier durant l'été.

Détroit de Byam

Le détroit de Byam, qui se trouve entre l'île Melville et l'île de Byam Martin, présente une intensité moyenne d'utilisation du territoire par les Inuit. Les chasseurs de Resolute ont utilisé cette région pour la chasse à l'ours blanc (en plus du détroit de Byam Martin et de la côte sud est de l'île Melville).

Région des Inuvialuit

Les renseignements suivants ont été obtenus à partir du plan de conservation de la collectivité d'Olokhaktomuit (Olokhaktomuit Community Conservation Plan –OCCP, 2000). Les activités traditionnelles d'exploitation des habitants d'Uluhaktok qui ont lieu dans la zone d'étude sont décrites ci-dessous. Pour obtenir un sommaire de cette information, voir le tableau 4-1.

À l'intérieur de cette région, l'OCCP (2000) décrit certaines zones désignées. Celles qui se trouvent dans la zone d'étude sont les suivantes : 502B, 503B, 504E et 505E. On trouve ci-dessous la description des activités d'exploitation pour chacune de ces zones.

502B - Ligne de côte d'Emangyok Sound jusqu'à l'île de Byam Martin

Cette zone englobe la côte sud-est de l'île Melville et le détroit de Byam, qui comprend aussi la zone de récolte des chasseurs de Resolute, comme il est indiqué dans la section 4.5.2.2. Les habitants d'Uluhaktok et de Sachs Harbour utilisent également cette région pour la chasse de subsistance de novembre à mai. Durant toute l'année, cette région constitue un habitat important pour l'ours blanc, le phoque annelé et le phoque barbu, en plus d'être une aire d'alimentation appréciable pour le béluga. Les Inuvialuit tirent parti de cette région depuis des générations; celle-ci constitue donc un lieu traditionnel et culturel de premier plan. L'OCCP (2000) soulève des préoccupations quant au trafic maritime, qui pourrait avoir une incidence négative sur l'exploitation traditionnelle dans la région.

503B - Ligne de côte, Kangikhokyoak (Liddon)

Cette zone comprend le coté sud de l'île Melville, le nord du golfe Liddon ainsi que la portion sud de l'île de Byam Martin. Ce secteur se trouve en partie dans la zone d'étude. On considère qu'il est important pour l'exploitation traditionnelle de novembre à mai. L'OCCP signale également des préoccupations au sujet des effets négatifs des activités de l'industrie pétrolière sur l'habitat faunique.

504E - Ibbett Bay jusqu'à McCormick Inlet

Ce lieu désigné englobe une portion de l'île Melville, de l'embouchure d'Ibbett Bay vers l'est jusqu'à l'embouchure de McCormick Inlet. Le site de campement Dorset, situé à cet endroit, est un site inuit du nord-ouest bien connu dans l'Arctique canadien.

505E - île Prince-Patrick - Habitat essentiel pour les oiseaux

Ce secteur, qui comprend la partie sud-est de l'île Prince-Patrick dans la zone d'étude, constitue un habitat important pour l'ours blanc et une zone pour la récolte de subsistance.

Tableau 4-1 : Espèces récoltées par collectivité et période de l'année – Zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique (Riewe, 1992; OCCP 2000)

Les lecteurs doivent garder à l'esprit que la plupart des renseignements présentés ci‑dessus ont été recueillis il y a plusieurs décennies. Bien que les activités de récolte traditionnelles restent élevées, les zones d'utilisation, les niveaux d'exploitation et les mesures de gestion pourraient avoir changé au fil des ans.

Vulnérabilité aux activités pétrolières et gazières

L'analyse de la susceptibilité de l'exploitation traditionnelle aux activités pétrolières et gazières se limite à l'examen de l'exploration courante et des activités de développement. Ainsi, les effets potentiels d'un événement catastrophique, comme un déversement de pétrole, ne sont pas envisagés. La zone d'étude englobe les secteurs terrestres et marins et prend donc en compte les activités pétrolières et gazières terrestres et marines.

La sensibilité des espèces récoltées et de leurs habitats aux activités pétrolières et gazières nuit à la présence et à l'abondance des espèces, donc à leur disponibilité d'exploitation. La sensibilité des espèces fauniques est décrite ailleurs dans cette étude. Les activités de récolte traditionnelles et les activités pétrolières et gazières peuvent entrer en interaction directe quand les deux types d'activités se produisent au même moment dans la même région. Les activités industrielles peuvent être mobiles (exploration sismique) ou stationnaires (forage, base de soutien), ce qui ouvre la voie à plusieurs interactions directes différentes avec la récolte traditionnelle; la perturbation des aires d'exploitation, les barrières physiques, la propagation du bruit, le déglaçage, les perturbations visuelles, etc., sont potentiellement nuisibles à la récolte.

Exploration sismique

Les activités d'exploration sismique terrestres dans la zone d'étude peuvent avoir lieu durant l'hiver et l'été, alors que les activités d'exploration sismique marines peuvent se faire l'été, durant la saison d'eau libre. Les activités d'exploration sismique terrestres peuvent nuire à la présence d'espèces fauniques et limiter l'accès à la récolte. Dans l'environnement marin, les levés sismiques peuvent interférer avec la migration de la faune marine et, potentiellement, compromettre la disponibilité des espèces pour l'exploitation.

Activités sur la glace

Le forage et les activités de soutien au forage peuvent s'effectuer sur la glace. Dans des circonstances normales, ces activités génèrent du bruit sous la glace et sur la glace. Ce bruit pourrait inciter la faune à éviter les lieux, ce qui provoquerait une réduction des possibilités de récolte. Selon la durée et le moment de la saison de forage, on peut entreprendre le déglaçage par bateau. En plus du bruit généré par le déglaçage, les sillages des bateaux peuvent constituer un risque d'accident lorsque l'eau libérée et la glace rugueuse gèlent.

Navigation

La navigation à l'appui des activités pétrolières et gazières pourrait perturber la migration des espèces fauniques marines et, par conséquent, leur disponibilité pour les activités de récolte. La présence de navires dans une zone de récolte traditionnelle pourrait empêcher ou décourager les exploitants d'utiliser cette zone. La navigation intensive, comme les navettes régulières entre une base terrestre et une installation extracôtière, pourrait amener les exploitants traditionnels à se déplacer dans une autre zone, si cela est possible.

Effets potentiels des changements climatiques

On ne comprend pas parfaitement les effets des changements climatiques, mais on observe des modifications de l'environnement nordique découlant de ces changements. La réduction du couvert de glace pendant l'été a été bien documentée et pourrait mener à une activité accrue dans l'environnement marin. Du fait que la glace constitue aussi un habitat pour des espèces comme l'ours blanc, une réduction du couvert de glace peut avoir un effet négatif sur les populations fauniques et sur leur disponibilité pour la récolte. Les populations de petits rennes arctiques sont en déclin dans le nord du Canada; bien que ce déclin puisse être attribuable à divers facteurs, les effets des changements climatiques sont signalés comme l'une des causes potentielles. La réduction des populations d'espèces découlant des changements climatiques diminuera les possibilités de récolte traditionnelle.

Cotes de sensibilité

Lors de l'élaboration d'une échelle de sensibilité pour la récolte traditionnelle, on a pris en considération les aires d'importance répertoriées à l'annexe G du PARNIB, les catégories d'utilisation du territoire présentées dans l'OCCP (2000) et la fréquence et l'ampleur des activités d'exploitation documentées. Quatre niveaux d'importance sont définis pour les aires retenues dans le PARNIB, en fonction d'une combinaison de l'importance pour la récolte par les collectivités et de l'importance pour la productivité des espèces sauvages. Cinq catégories de territoire sont désignées dans l'OCCP. Les aires d'importance présentées dans le PARNIB et les catégories d'utilisation du territoire comprises dans l'OCCP couvrent une partie de la présente zone d'étude. Quant à la portion de la zone d'étude non couverte par le PARNIB ou l'OCCP, on considère que la sensibilité est faible. Le classement de la sensibilité de l'exploitation traditionnelle dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême Arctique est résumé à l'image 4-15.

Les niveaux de sensibilité des activités de récolte traditionnelles sont définis ci-après :

Sensibilité élevée (5)

Une cote de sensibilité élevée a été attribuée aux aires considérées comme étant des lieux de récolte essentiels (la survie de la collectivité en dépend), aux aires constituant un habitat essentiel unique et sans solution de rechange, ou aux aires qui assurent la survie d'espèces rares, menacées ou en voie de disparition, ou qui sont protégées ou dont la protection législative est proposée (Plan d'aménagement de la région nord de l'île de Baffin). Cette cote est aussi attribuée aux terres et aux plans d'eau où les ressources culturelles ou renouvelables revêtent une importance et une sensibilité extrêmes et où aucun développement ne devrait être permis (OCCP).

Sensibilité modérée à élevée (4)

Les aires de grande importance pour la collectivité et d'où provient une grande partie des espèces exploitées sont cotées comme étant de sensibilité modérée à élevée. Cette cote s'applique également aux aires qui procurent un important habitat faunique (cependant, un habitat de remplacement est disponible) (PARNIB) ainsi qu'aux terres et aux plans d'eau où les ressources culturelles ou renouvelables revêtent une importance et une sensibilité particulières à longueur d'année (OCCP).

Sensibilité modérée (3)

La cote de sensibilité modérée a été attribuée aux aires d'exploitation générale utilisées par la collectivité ou aux aires d'où provient une plus petite proportion des espèces récoltées. Généralement, il y a moins d'espèces présentes, il n'y a pas d'habitat essentiel pour les espèces exploitées et un habitat de remplacement est disponible (PARNIB). Cette cote s'applique également aux terres et aux plans d'eau où les ressources culturelles ou renouvelables revêtent une importance et une sensibilité particulières durant des moments spécifiques de l'année (OCCP).

Sensibilité faible à modérée (2)

Ce classement s'applique aux terres et aux plans d'eau où les ressources culturelles ou renouvelables relèvent d'une certaine importance et d'une certaine sensibilité (OCCP) ainsi qu'aux aires où on pourrait trouver un intérêt pour les espèces exploitables; cependant, l'exploitation est peu documentée pour cette aire.

Faible sensibilité (1)

Les aires de faible sensibilité ne sont pas beaucoup utilisées par la collectivité et il existe très peu d'information permettant d'en évaluer l'importance pour les espèces sauvages (Plan d'aménagement de la région nord de l'île de Baffin). Cette cote inclut des terres où il n'y a aucune ressource culturelle ou renouvelable d'importance ou sensible connue (OCCP).

Mesures d'atténuation

Les activités de récolte traditionnelles dépendent de la disponibilité des espèces à récolter et de la possibilité d'exercer ces activités. La présence d'espèces dépend de la disponibilité des habitats et de la présence de populations en santé et viables. Pour exercer les activités de récolte, il faut avoir du temps, l'équipement nécessaire et l'accès aux espèces d'intérêt. Dans le Nord, de nombreuses activités industrielles ont aménagé des horaires de travail qui non seulement tiennent compte du temps et du coût nécessaires pour accéder aux lieux de travail, mais offrent aussi aux résidants suffisamment de temps libre pour exercer leurs activités de récolte traditionnelles. Il est possible de maintenir l'accès aux espèces d'intérêt et aux aires de récolte en évitant ces régions complètement ou en les évitant pendant les périodes de l'année où se pratiquent les activités de récolte traditionnelles. Il est aussi possible d'envisager un dédommagement pour fournir aux exploitants les ressources nécessaires pour se rendre dans d'autres régions ou pour compenser la perte d'accès quand il est impossible d'éviter ces zones.

Références

Voir les références utilisées pour l'information des activités traditionnelles d'exploitation