Polar Bear

Other PEMT sensitivity layers in this region:
Polar Bear | Narwhal | Migratory Birds | Species of Conservation Concern | Traditional Harvesting

Polar Bear

Launch the PEMT for a detailed and interactive view of these and other layers.

You may also be interested in Polar Bear information in other PEMT regions:

BSMD | Eastern Arctic

Valued Component Features

Rationale for Selection

Polar bears are an integral component of the Arctic ecosystem in Nunavut as they are the top predator within the food web. Polar bears also have significant cultural and economic importance to the Inuit and are hunted by almost all communities (Priest and Usher 2004). Over a five year period from 1996 to 2001 the mean number of polar bears taken from hunting was approximately 1339 (Priest and Usher 2004). Hides are sold commercially as luxury items and may bring high prices in the fur market. Inuk guided hunting is also a source of income from the tourist industry and polar bear watching tours have also become popular (COSEWIC 2002).

Key habitat

Polar bears rely on sea ice habitat for survival as it provides them access to the seal species that make up the majority of their diet. For this reason, Polar bear habitat shows the same variability from year to year as the sea ice. When this variability is compounded with the uncertainty of the effects that climate change has on arctic ice patterns, it becomes very difficult to accurately identify the spatial boundaries of polar bear key habitat as they are changing from year to year and decade to decade. Key habitat for polar bears includes areas of active ice (leads, polynyas) in the spring and early summer when access to prey is most critical.

Polar bears prefer productive waters near shorelines, the edge of the pack ice and polynyas as these areas provide access to the seals that they prey on. Landfast ice also provides important foraging habitat for polar bears in the spring when seals and their pups are in their birth lairs. Polar bears tend to return to the same denning area year after year or an area of similar habitat quality (Lunn, et al. 2004; Stirling, et al. 2004). Denning areas in the high arctic study area are concentrated along the coastal regions of Melville Island, Bathurst Island, Ellesmere Island, and Alex Heiberg Island. In portions of the high arctic, polar bears are forced onto the land in the summer as the ice recedes and spend up to several months in summer retreat areas while they wait for the ice to return. These areas have been identified on Bathurst Island and northeastern Devon Island (Figure 4-1).

Sustainability Factors

Limitations to polar bear populations include relatively low reproductive capacity, hunting, environmental contamination, offshore and land-based oil and gas exploration, industrial development and climate change.

Female polar bears have low reproductive rates, which makes them vulnerable to any threat that could impact health and population abundances (COSEWIC 2002).

Polar bears are vulnerable to pollutants directly and indirectly. They are the top predator in Arctic food webs and therefore are susceptible to bioaccumulationFootnote 1. within this ecosystem. These toxins can accumulate in polar bear tissues from the prey items consumed. Pollutants may interfere with hormone regulation, immune system function, and possibly reproduction (Stirling 1990).

Susceptibility to Oil and Gas Activities

Increased human activity, oil and gas exploration and coastal development in the Arctic may diminish important land based maternity denning habitat and possibly spring feeding habitats at the ice edge.

Seismic Exploration

Marine based seismic exploration can only proceed in areas of open water. Although it is not uncommon to see polar bears swimming in open water, adverse interactions with polar bears would be unlikely and effects would be limited. The impact of land-based activities on maternal denning has not been studied.

Ice-based Activities

The presence of stationary drill-ships and drill-sites has been shown to attract polar bears, possibly from seal utilization of rig-induced cracks (Stirling 1998). This may increase access to prey (Richardson, et al. 1995) but may also increase the threat of killing these bears in areas of higher human activities.

Shipping

Polar bears do not seem to be deterred from noise associated with offshore oil activities (even when swimming in the water), construction, ice-breakers or vessel traffic (Richardson, et al. 1995).

Hydrocarbon Release

Physiological studies on the effects of oil on polar bears show there is a high probability that a single major oil spill in a critical habitat area for polar bears may have a significant effect on the population (COSEWIC 2002). Polar bears have been shown to be extremely sensitive to the toxic effects of oil and quickly succumb to kidney failure and death when exposed to situations where their fur became oiled, and oil was ingested while grooming (Stirling 1998).

Potential Effects of Climate Change

Climate change poses a significant threat to polar bears because they rely on the ice for traveling, feeding habitat, and denning. Polar bears rely directly on sea ice as a mechanism to travel around the Arctic and indirectly as habitat for their prey (ringed and bearded seals) (Stirling and Øritsland 1995). They have local site fidelity and fixed home ranges which makes them particularly susceptible to changes in their habitat (Derocher, et al. 2004). Changes in the timing, duration, extent and quality of ice thickness due to climate change and its effect on polar bear health, abundance and range has received notable attention from several researchers (Derocher, et al. 2004; Stirling and Parkinson 2006; Stirling and Derocher 2007; Stirling, et al. In press). The main threat consistently identified is habitat loss of sea ice as a result of climate change (Stirling and Derocher 2007).

With changing ice conditions, polar bears may be forced to coastal land areas earlier on in the summer season (Stirling and Parkinson 2006). This may alter the amount of time they spend foraging on seals and would require a longer time spent not feeding and more time relying on stored body fat (Stirling and Parkinson 2006). Changes in the timing and duration of sea ice may also affect polar bears indirectly by changing the distribution of ringed seals forcing them to search for alternative food sources (Stirling and Parkinson 2006). Polar bears may be forced onto coastal land-based areas with higher human activities. Inuit hunters in Nunavut have reported that they see more polar bears near settlement areas during the open water season in recent years (Stirling and Parkinson 2006). All of these changes would increase the difficulty of survival in an already harsh environment (Derocher, et al. 2004).

Sensitivity Ranking

Winter and Summer sensitivity ranking for Polar bear habitat in the high arctic study area is summarized in Figure 4-2.

High Sensitivity (5)

Habitat defined as highly sensitive for polar bears includes critical habitat as identified under SARA to protect areas that are essential to the survival of species that are listed as threatened or endangered under federal legislations. Critical habitat for polar bears in the high Arctic study area has not yet been identified or protected. Habitat that is legally protected as a park or conservation area is also considered highly sensitive.

Moderate/High Sensitivity (4)

Areas with seasonally dynamic ice, landfast ice, polynyas, and leads provide important feeding areas for polar bears during critical times of the year. These areas are rated as moderate to high sensitivity given that a proportion of the population may be concentrated in the areas at certain times of the year. As sea ice conditions are highly variable from year to year, these areas are rated as moderate/high sensitivity in the summer and winter seasons to indicate that this habitat is important to the polar bear population for periods throughout the year.

Polar bears show high fidelity to denning sites and these areas are essential to the survival of the species. Denning sites are used by polar bears during the open water season for conserving energy while seal hunting is not practical or in the winter for maternity dens.

Areas identified as important polar bear habitat under the Government of Nunavut‘s Wildlife Areas of Special Interest, or under the international Biological Program are also given a rating of moderate/high sensitivity for the summer and winter seasons. There is only one IBP site that falls within the high Arctic Study area.

Moderate Sensitivity (3)

Habitat rated as moderate sensitivity includes areas of dense annual pack ice which provides foraging habitat during non-critical times of the year. This includes the offshore regions of the polar bear core range that are covered in sea ice for most of the winter season.

Low/Moderate Sensitivity (2)

Marine and sea ice habitat outside of the core polar bear range may provide limited denning or foraging use for a lower density of the polar bear population.

Low Sensitivity (1)

Low sensitivity areas include terrestrial habitat and areas outside of the polar bear range.

Mitigation

Polar bears are often curious about development activities and are rarely deterred by the presence of ships, icebreakers, or land-based or ice based facilities, therefore mitigation programs often focus on the prevention of increased interactions between bears and oil and gas activities. As distribution and movement patterns can be variable and dependent on annual ice conditions, monitoring programs are used to ensure that oil and gas activities cause minimal disturbance to bears, and to identify habitat usage in the development area on an ongoing basis. Close communication with local communities and Hunter and trapper organizations, and the use of wildlife monitors onsite during development activities ensure that interactions with bears are minimized and activities do not interfere with critical aspects of habitat use and foraging opportunities.

References

See references used for polar bear information.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Bioaccumulation is the process of accumulationof a substance leading to progressively higher concentrations of a contaminant up through a food chain, via predators ingesting prey that have previously accumulated contaminants in their body tissue

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Ours blanc

Autres composantes d'intérêt dans cette région :
Ours blanc | Narval | Oiseaux migrateur | Espèces préoccupantes | Activités traditionnelles d'exploitation

Polar Bear

Lancer l'OGERP pour une vue détaillée et interactive de ces derniers et les autres couches.

Vous pourriez également être intéressé par des informations sur les Ours blanc dans d'autres régions de l'OGERP :

Mer de Beaufort & delta du Mackenzie | l'Arctique de l'Est

Caractéristiques des composantes valorisées

Justification du choix

L'ours blanc fait partie intégrante de l'écosystème arctique du Nunavut, car il est le prédateur se trouvant au sommet du réseau trophique. L'ours blanc revêt aussi une grande importance culturelle et économique pour les Inuit et il est chassé par presque toutes les collectivités (Priest et Usher, 2004). Au cours d'une période de cinq ans, soit de 1996 à 2001, le nombre moyen d'ours blancs tués par des chasseurs s'établissait approximativement à 1 339 (Priest et Usher, 2004). Les peaux sont vendues commercialement comme articles de luxe et peuvent atteindre des prix élevés dans le marché de la fourrure. Les excursions de chasse avec des guides inuits constituent aussi une source de revenus de l'industrie touristique et les excursions d'observation sont également devenues populaires (COSEPAC, 2002).

Habitat essentiel

L'ours blanc dépend, pour sa survie, de la glace de mer qui lui permet d'accéder aux espèces de phoques qui constituent l'essentiel de son alimentation. C'est pour cette raison que l'habitat de l'ours blanc présente, d'année en année, la même variabilité que la glace de mer. Lorsque cette variabilité est combinée à l'incertitude des effets que les changements climatiques ont sur le régime des glaces de l'Arctique, il devient très difficile de délimiter correctement les frontières spatiales de l'habitat clé de l'ours blanc, car elles changent d'année en année et d'une décennie à une autre. Le principal habitat de l'ours blanc comprend les eaux de glace active (chenaux, polynies) au printemps et au début de l'été, quand l'accès aux proies est d'une importance cruciale.

L'ours blanc préfère les eaux riches en nourriture près des rives, à la lisière de la banquise et des polynies étant donné que ces zones lui permettent d'accéder aux phoques dont il se nourrit. La banquise côtière constitue aussi une importante zone d'alimentation pour l'ours blanc au printemps, quand les phoques et leurs petits sont dans leurs tanières de mise bas. Les ours blancs ont tendance à revenir à la même aire de mise bas d'année en année ou à un habitat de qualité (Lunn et al., 2004; Stirling et al., 2004). Les aires de mise bas dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique sont concentrées le long de la région côtière des îles Melville, Bathurst, d'Ellesmere et Axel‑Heiberg. Dans certaines parties de l'Extrême‑Arctique, les ours blancs sont forcés d'aller sur la terre ferme l'été en raison du retrait de la glace et de passer parfois plusieurs mois dans des zones de refuge d'été en attendant que la glace se soit reformée. On a répertorié de telles aires sur l'île Bathurst et dans le nord-est de l'île Devon (figure 4-1).

Facteurs de viabilité

Les facteurs limitatifs influant sur les populations d'ours blancs comprennent une capacité reproductive relativement faible, la chasse, la contamination de l'environnement, l'exploration pétrolière et gazière côtière et extracôtière, le développement industriel et les changements climatiques.

Les femelles ont de faibles taux de reproduction, ce qui les rend vulnérables à toute menace susceptible d'avoir une incidence sur la santé et l'abondance des populations (COSEPAC, 2002).

L'ours blanc présente une vulnérabilité directe et indirecte aux polluants. Étant le prédateur de premier ordre des réseaux trophiques arctiques, il est sujet à la bioaccumulation bioaccumulationFootnote 1. dans cet écosystème. Les toxines contenues dans les proies consommées peuvent s'accumuler dans les tissus de l'ours blanc. Les polluants peuvent perturber la régulation hormonale, le fonctionnement du système immunitaire et éventuellement la reproduction (Stirling, 1990).

Vulnérabilité aux activités pétrolières et gazières

L'augmentation de l'activité humaine, de l'exploration pétrolière et gazière et du développement côtier dans l'Arctique peut réduire d'importantes aires de mise bas situées sur la terre ferme et peut-être aussi des aires d'alimentation printanières à la lisière des glaces.

Exploration sismique

L'exploration sismique en mer ne peut se faire qu'en eaux libres. Bien qu'il ne soit pas rare de voir des ours blancs nager en eaux libres, il est peu probable que l'exploration sismique ait des interactions néfastes avec les ours blancs, et les effets seraient limités. Les effets des activités terrestres sur les aires de mise bas n'ont pas été étudiés.

Activités sur la glace

Il a été révélé que la présence de navires de forage stationnaires et de sites de forage attire les ours blancs, probablement à cause de l'utilisation par les phoques des fissures provoquées par les appareils de forage (Stirling, 1998). Cela pourrait accroître l'accès aux proies (Richardson et al., 1995), mais aussi augmenter le risque de mortalité pour ces ours dans les zones où les activités humaines sont plus intensives.

Navigation

L'ours blanc ne semble pas être repoussé par le bruit associé aux activités pétrolières extracôtières (même quand il nage en eaux libres), à la construction ou à la circulation des brise-glaces ou des navires (Richardson et al., 1995).

Rejets d'hydrocarbures

Des études physiologiques portant sur les incidences du pétrole sur les ours blancs révèlent une forte probabilité qu'un seul déversement important d'hydrocarbures dans une zone critique pour les ours blancs pourrait entraîner une réduction importante des effectifs (COSEPAC, 2002). Il a été révélé que les ours blancs sont extrêmement sensibles aux effets toxiques des hydrocarbures et meurent rapidement d'insuffisance rénale lorsque leur fourrure est enduite de pétrole et qu'ils ingèrent du pétrole en nettoyant leur pelage (Stirling, 1998).

Effets potientiels des changements climatiques

Les changements climatiques constituent une menace importante pour l'ours blanc, car il dépend de la glace pour se déplacer, s'alimenter et mettre bas. L'ours blanc dépend directement de la glace de mer pour se déplacer dans l'Arctique et, indirectement, du fait qu'elle constitue l'habitat de ses proies (phoques annelés et phoques barbus) (Stirling et Øritsland, 1995). Il est fidèle à des sites locaux et a des domaines vitaux fixes, ce qui le rend particulièrement vulnérable aux modifications de son habitat (Derocher et al., 2004). Les changements survenant dans le moment de formation, la durée, l'étendue et la qualité de l'épaisseur de la glace attribuables aux changements climatiques et leurs effets sur la santé, sur les effectifs et sur l'aire de répartition de l'ours blanc ont reçu une attention considérable de la part de plusieurs chercheurs (Derocher et al., 2004; Stirling et Parkinson, 2006; Stirling et Derocher, 2007; Stirling et al., sous presse). La principale menace systématiquement répertoriée est la perte d'habitat de glace de mer causée par les changements climatiques (Stirling et Derocher, 2007).

À cause de l'évolution de l'état des glaces, l'ours blanc pourrait être forcé de se replier sur les terres côtières plus tôt pendant l'été (Stirling et Parkinson, 2006). Cela pourrait réduire la période de temps qu'il passe à chasser le phoque et le forcer à passer plus de temps sans s'alimenter et à dépendre de ses réserves de graisse (Stirling et Parkinson, 2006). Des changements survenant dans la formation et la durée de la glace de mer pourraient aussi avoir un effet indirect sur l'ours blanc en modifiant la répartition des phoques annelés et en le forçant à chercher d'autres sources d'alimentation (Stirling et Parkinson, 2006). L'ours blanc pourrait être forcé de se déplacer vers des zones terrestres côtières où il y a davantage d'activités humaines. Au Nunavut, des chasseurs inuits ont indiqué qu'au cours des dernières années ils voyaient davantage d'ours blancs près des zones habitées durant la saison des eaux libres (Stirling et Parkinson, 2006). Tous ces changements accroîtraient la difficulté de survivre dans un environnement déjà très rude (Derocher et al., 2004).

Cotes de sensibilité

Les cotes de sensibilité de l'habitat de l'ours blanc, en hiver et en été, dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême Arctique sont résumées à la figure 4-2.

Sensibilité élevée (5)

Les zones de sensibilité élevée pour l'ours blanc comprennent l'habitat essentiel défini en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril afin de protéger les zones qui sont essentielles à la survie des espèces inscrites comme étant menacées ou en voie de disparition aux termes des lois et règlements fédéraux. L'habitat essentiel de l'ours blanc dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême Arctique n'a pas encore été déterminé ou protégé. Les habitats qui sont protégés par la loi sous forme de parcs ou d'aires de conservation sont aussi considérés comme étant de sensibilité élevée.

Sensibilité modérée à élevée (4)

Les zones où l'on retrouve de la glace dynamique saisonnière, de la banquise côtière, des polynies et des chenaux constituent d'importantes aires d'alimentation pour l'ours blanc durant les périodes critiques de l'année. Ces zones sont cotées comme étant de sensibilité modérée à élevée, du fait qu'une proportion de la population peut y être concentrée à certaines périodes de l'année. Étant donné que l'état de la glace de mer varie considérablement d'une année à l'autre, ces régions sont cotées comme étant de sensibilité modérée à élevée pendant l'été et l'hiver, pour indiquer que cet habitat est important pour la population d'ours blancs pendant certaines périodes tout au long de l'année.

L'ours blanc est très fidèle à ses tanières, et ces zones sont essentielles à la survie de l'espèce. L'ours blanc utilise ces sites durant la saison des eaux libres afin de conserver son énergie quand la chasse au phoque n'est pas possible ou pendant l'été en tant que tanières de mise bas.

Les zones répertoriées comme étant un important habitat de l'ours blanc dans le cadre des Réserves d'espèces sauvages d'intérêt spécial du gouvernement du Nunavut ou dans le cadre du Programme biologique international (PBI) sont aussi cotées comme étant de sensibilité modérée à élevée pendant l'été et l'hiver. Il n'y a qu'un seul site inscrit au PBI qui se situe dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique.

Sensibilité modérée (3)

L'habitat de sensibilité modérée comprend les zones de banquise annuelle serrée offrant des aires d'alimentation durant les périodes non critiques de l'année. Cet habitat comprend les régions extracôtières de l'aire de répartition principale de l'ours blanc qui sont couvertes de glace de mer pendant la majeure partie de l'hiver.

Sensibilité faible à modérée (2)

L'habitat marin et les zones de glace de mer qui ne font pas partie de l'aire de répartition principale de l'ours blanc peuvent être utilisés de façon limitée en tant que tanière ou aire d'alimentation pour une population d'ours blancs de plus faible densité.

Faible sensibilité (1)

L'habitat de faible sensibilité comprend l'habitat terrestre et les zones extérieures à l'aire de répartition de l'ours blanc.

Mesures d'atténuation

Les ours blancs sont souvent attirés par les activités de développement et sont rarement repoussés par la présence de navires, de brise-glaces ou d'installations aménagées sur la terre ferme ou sur la banquise, de sorte que les programmes d'atténuation mettent souvent l'accent sur la prévention des interactions accrues entre les ours et les activités pétrolières et gazières. Du fait que les schémas de répartition et de déplacements peuvent varier et dépendent de l'état annuel des glaces, des programmes de surveillance sont mis en œuvre pour faire en sorte que les activités pétrolières et gazières perturbent le moins possible les ours ainsi que pour déterminer l'utilisation de l'habitat dans la zone de développement sur une base continue. Le maintien de communications étroites avec les collectivités locales et les organisations de chasseurs et de trappeurs, et la présence de surveillants de la faune durant les activités de développement permettent de réduire au minimum les interactions avec les ours et d'éviter que les activités aient des incidences négatives sur des aspects essentiels de l'utilisation de l'habitat et les possibilités d'alimentation.

Références

Voir les références utilisées pour l'information des ours blancs

Notes en bas de page :

Footnote 1

La bioaccumulation est le processus d'accumulationd'une substance menant à des concentrations progressivement plus élevées d'un contaminant au fur et à mesure qu'on remonte la chaîne alimentaire, ce qui est le cas des prédateurs qui ingèrent des proies ayant déjà accumulé des contaminants dans leurs tissus.

Return to footnote 1 referrer