Narwhal

Other PEMT sensitivity layers in this region:
Polar Bear | Narwhal | Migratory Birds | Species of Conservation Concern | Traditional Harvesting

Summer
Narwhal - Summer

Winter
Narwhal - Winter

Launch the PEMT for a detailed and interactive view of these and other layers.

Valued Component Features

Rationale for Selection

Narwhals were selected as a focus for this study primarily on the basis of the overlap between their known range and the High Arctic study area. Narwhals are also an important species to Nunavutmuit for subsistence, cultural and economic reasons. Over a five year period from 1996 to 2001, for example, the total annual mean number of harvested narwhals was approximately 734 (Priest and Usher 2004).Their skin and underlying fat (muktuk) is consumed and the tusks are sold and are quite valuable (DFO 1998b, a).

Key habitat

Throughout the Arctic, narwhals prefer deep or offshore waters (Hay and Mansfield 1989). During winter, Canadian narwhals can be predictably found in the winter pack ice of Davis Strait and Baffin Bay along the continental slope. These areas contain ecological parameters that make this habitat favorable including high gradients in bottom temperatures, predictable open water (< 5%) and relatively high densities of Greenland halibut (Laidre, et al. 2004). During the winter, intense benthic feeding occurs in contrast to lower feeding activity during the summer, and therefore may be considered the most important habitat for narwhals (Laidre and Heide-Jorgensen 2005).

Critical physical and biotic habitat factors for narwhals include dense annual pack-ice, shear zone/leads, shelf break, deep ocean basins, estuaries/lagoons/fjords. Important areas to narwhals include open-water and the interface between open-water and pack-ice. Narwhals are also known to use loose annual pack-ice (Laidre, et al. 2008). Areas not categorized as important, or used, by narwhals include shore-fast ice, multi-year pack ice, polynyas, shallow water/continental shelf, pack ice and continental shelf interactions and polynya and shallow-water interactions (Laidre, et al. 2008).

Sustainability Factors

Threats to narwhals include ice entrapment, predation by killer whales and polar bears, disease and parasites, climate change, environmental contaminants, offshore oil and gas activities, shipping, hunting and commercial fisheries (COSEWIC 2004b; Huntington in press).

Susceptibility to Oil and Gas Activities

Environmental contamination could disrupt biological functions, offshore oil and gas exploration may deter animals from preferred habitat, migration routes and increase the risk of oil spills, shipping may also disrupt migration patterns, hunting could deplete stock sizes and commercial fisheries may alter food webs by reducing available prey (Huntington in press).

Increased land development along the coast may cause negative effects on narwhals. Potential increases in shipping and offshore oil and gas development may induce temporary or long term changes in habitat, distribution and migration (Richard 2001; Huntington in press).

Increased vessel traffic and offshore oil development may also negatively affect the narwhal populations through habitat displacement and/or ship strikes (though strikes are less likely with fast moving whales such as the narwhal). Behavioural studies of narwhal reaction suggest narwhals "freeze"(seek shallow water and remain immobile) when approached by vessels (Finley and Evans 1983; COSEWIC 2004c). As well, some Inuit hunters suggest that narwhals are sensitive to and avoid noise from industrial machines and explosions (COSEWIC 2004c).

Potential Effects of Climate Change

Due to their strong association with ice, climate change may induce changes in habitat, migration pattern and predation rates. Changes in primary productivity may alter the location of prey and may cause the occupation of new feeding areas (Moore and Huntington 2008). Narwhals follow ice edges during migration and changes in the timing of ice break-up and freezing may alter their seasonal migratory cycle (Moore and Huntington 2008). Changes in extent and duration of sea-ice has resulted in increased killer whale presence in Nunavut (Laidre, et al. 2006). Due to their predation on narwhals, it is likely that if this trend continues, more narwhals will be killed by killer whales. Such climate changes could also decrease shelter habitat, thus elevating predation risk by killer whales, polar bears, hunters and exposing them to a rough ocean environment of Baffin Bay (Moore and Huntington 2008).

According to Laidre, et al. (2008), narwhals appear to be one of the three most sensitive Arctic marine mammal species most sensitive to climate change (primarily based on their reliance on sea ice and specialized feeding).

Sensitivity Ranking

Sensitivity rankings for narwhal habitat in the High Arctic study area were developed using two primary types of information: i) known and likely range/distribution of this species (as determined from available literature sources [e.g., COSEWIC status reports]; and ii) ecological sensitivity described recently by Laidre, et al. 2008. Hence, application of the ecological sensitivity components included by Laidre, et al. 2008 may not always be consistent with known locations of narwhal habitat. For example, COSEWIC (2004) states that narwhals are likely found as far north and west (within the Canadian high Arctic region) as ice conditions permit. Thirty year median ice charts, produced by the Canadian Ice Service, were used in applying the ecological sensitivities (as described by Laidre, et al. 2008, and others) and known ice distribution. Lastly, a maximum sensitivity approach was used in differentiating between narwhal habitat types. In other words, if an area could be considered as having two different sensitivity rankings (for one or more months), only the highest sensitivity ranking was mapped. Two sensitivity maps for narwhals in the High Arctic study area were developed: Figure 4.4 for winter and Figure 4.5 for summer.

High Sensitivity (5)

Areas identified as highly sensitive for toothed whales includes areas designated as critical for narwhals and a spatially limited area (< 100 km2) during the summer months that provides specific ecological function essential to narwhals. In the winter months this rating was also given to that provide core overwintering habitat or where very large concentrations of narwhals are known to occur.

Highly sensitive summer or winter narwhal habitat was not identified within the high Arctic study area.

Moderate/High Sensitivity (4)

Areas with moderate to high sensitivity in the summer includes habitat with loose or dense annual pack ice, shear-zone/leads, fjords, shelf-break, or deep ocean basins. In winter, areas where large concentrations of narwhal are known to occur are considered moderately to highly sensitive.

Moderate to highly sensitive summer narwhal habitat was identified primarily for those regions of loose pack ice in July – September. These regions include waters near King Christian Island and Penny Strait; as well as south of Prince Patrick and Melville Island (though narwhals have not been observed in these last two western regions). No moderate to highly sensitive narwhal habitat was identified in the High Arctic study area.

Moderate Sensitivity (3)

Moderate sensitivity during the summer months was given to areas of open water, shelf-break, and the ice-edge (pack ice next to open water). This rating would also apply to areas that contain moderate to large numbers of narwhals. Moderate sensitivity during the winter months was given to areas that contain low to moderate sized concentrations of narwhal, deep water, the shear zone, or leads and polynyas. Moderately sensitive narwhal summer habitat was described primarily to capture the ice edge (pack ice next to open water) region of Queens Channel north of Cornwallis Island. Narwhal have been sighted in this region. According to 30 year median ice charts, leads in November are likely to be present in Penny Strait, Queens Channel, Austin Channel and Cardigan Strait as identified in Figure 4.4, hence some narwhals may use this moderately sensitive habitat in relation to their fall/winter migration out of the Canadian Arctic archipelago.

Low/Moderate Sensitivity (2)

Multiyear pack ice in summer and open-water habitat (>20 km from pack ice or land-fast ice or ice edge) in winter is considered low to moderately sensitive habitat for narwhal. This sensitivity rating also applies to areas with low densities of toothed whales and areas of multiyear pack ice in winter.

Much of the southern region of the High Arctic study area contains multi-year ice and hence is considered as low to moderately sensitive habitat. No records of narwhal in this region were located however 30 year median ice charts suggest summer open water habitat is common and therefore narwhals may occur in the areas identified in Figure 4.5. Winter narwhal habitat of low/moderate sensitivity was not identified in the High Arctic study area.

Low Sensitivity (1)

Low sensitivity habitat includes areas where no narwhal habitat is identified, offshore (> 100km) regions in the open water (summer) season, deep water (non-shelf break), and open-water habitat or winter regions of consistent very dense ice concentration and land-fast ice.

Multi-year pack ice and 100% ice concentrations are expected to be more common and consistent in the northern region of the High Arctic study area; hence narwhal presence during this summer here is less likely. In the winter, the majority of the High Arctic study contains dense concentrations of ice and narwhal habitat sensitivity here was ranked as low.

Mitigation

The most effective available mitigation tool to avoid potential effects to marine mammals is planning which can notably assist in avoiding sensitive spatial and seasonal narwhal habitat. Unfortunately, in the Canadian Arctic, knowledge on sensitive, and biologically important habitat, is at a very coarse level (commensurate with few, and often older, studies). Implementation of dedicated surveys for these animals prior to potential contact with industry will assist proponents and government to more confidently plan and approve project implementation. Other common, minimum standard, mitigations regarding seismic testing are outlined in the Canadian Statement of Practice with respect to the Mitigation of Seismic Sound in the Marine Environment (DFO 2010, internet site). This document outlines such measures as the use of dedicated Marine Mammal Observers aboard related vessels, designation of a marine mammal exclusion zone around active seismic arrays, soft-starts (ramp-ups) and use of Passive Acoustic Monitoring. Vessel speed restrictions and minimum aircraft altitude restrictions are also common best practices with regard to minimizing the potential for mammal – vessel strikes and disturbance.

References

See references used for Narwhal information.

Narval

Autres composantes d'intérêt dans cette région :
Ours blanc | Narval | Oiseaux migrateur | Espèces préoccupantes | Activités traditionnelles d'exploitation

Été
Narval - Été

Hiver
Narval - Hiver

Lancer l'OGERP pour une vue détaillée et interactive de ces derniers et les autres couches.

Caractéristiques des composantes valorisées

Justification du choix

On a choisi le narval comme espèce d'intérêt particulier dans le cadre de la présente étude principalement parce que son aire de répartition connue se superpose à la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique. Le narval est aussi une espèce importante pour la population du Nunavut à des fins de subsistance et pour des motifs d'ordre culturel et économique. Ainsi, au cours d'une période de cinq ans, soit de 1996 à 2001, le nombre moyen annuel total de narvals récoltés s'est élevé à environ 734 individus (Priest et Usher, 2004). Leur peau et leur graisse (muktuk) sont consommées, et leurs défenses, qui sont très précieuses, sont vendues (MPO, 1998b, a).

Habitat essentiel

Dans tout l'Arctique, les narvals préfèrent les eaux profondes ou extracôtières (Hay et Mansfield, 1989). Pendant l'hiver, les narvals canadiens se retrouvent, de façon prévisible, dans la banquise hivernale du détroit de Davis et de la baie de Baffin, le long de la pente continentale. Ces régions présentent des paramètres écologiques qui rendent cet habitat favorable, notamment des gradients élevés des températures de fond, des eaux libres prévisibles (< 5 %) et des densités relativement élevées de flétan noir (ou flétan du Groenland) (Laidre et al., 2004). L'hiver, les narvals se nourrissent intensivement dans les milieux benthiques, par contraste avec une activité d'alimentation réduite pendant l'été, ce qui fait que les milieux marins benthiques peuvent être considérés comme l'habitat le plus important pour les narvals (Laidre et Heide-Jorgensen, 2005).

Les facteurs physiques et biotiques de l'habitat essentiel du narval comprennent la banquise saisonnière serrée, la zone de cisaillement et les chenaux, le rebord continental, les bassins océaniques profonds et les estuaires/lagunes/fjords. Les zones importantes pour le narval comprennent les eaux libres et l'interface entre les eaux libres et la banquise. On sait que les narvals utilisent aussi la banquise saisonnière lâche (Laidre et al., 2008). Les régions non catégorisées comme étant importantes ou comme étant utilisées par les narvals comprennent la glace de rive, la banquise permanente, les polynies, les eaux peu profondes/le plateau continental, les zones d'interaction entre la banquise et le plateau continental, et les zones d'interaction entre les polynies et les eaux peu profondes (Laidre et al., 2008).

Facteurs de viabilité

Les menaces pour les narvals comprennent l'emprisonnement dans les glaces, la prédation par les épaulards et les ours blancs, les maladies et les parasites, les changements climatiques, la contamination de l'environnement, les activités d'exploration et d'exploitation pétrolières et gazières extracôtières, la navigation, la chasse et la pêche commerciale (COSEPAC, 2004b; Huntington, sous presse).

Vulnérabilité aux activités pétrolières et gazières

La contamination de l'environnement pourrait perturber les fonctions biologiques; l'exploration pétrolière et gazière extracôtière pourrait éloigner le narval de son habitat préféré et de ses couloirs de migration en plus d'accroître le risque de déversements d'hydrocarbures; la navigation pourrait aussi perturber le comportement migratoire; la chasse pourrait réduire les stocks; et, la pêche commerciale pourrait altérer les réseaux d'alimentation en réduisant les proies disponibles (Huntington, sous presse).

Il se pourrait qu'un accroissement de l'aménagement des terres le long de la côte ait des effets négatifs sur les narvals. Des augmentations potentielles de la navigation et du développement pétrolier et gazier pourraient entraîner des modifications temporaires ou à long terme de l'habitat, de la répartition et de la migration (Richard, 2001; Huntington, sous presse).

Un accroissement du trafic maritime et des activités de développement pétrolier extracôtier pourrait aussi avoir des effets négatifs sur les populations de narvals, à cause de l'empiètement sur leur habitat et/ou de collisions avec des navires (bien que les collisions soient moins probables dans le cas de baleines qui se déplacent rapidement comme le narval). Les études comportementales des réactions du narval indiquent qu'il fige, se repliant vers les eaux peu profondes et demeurant immobile, quand des navires les approchent (Finley et Evans, 1983; COSEPAC, 2004c). En outre, selon des chasseurs inuits, les narvals sont sensibles au bruit des machines industrielles et des explosions et les fuient (COSEPAC 2004c).

Effets potentiels des changements climatiques

En raison de leur forte association avec la glace, les changements climatiques pourraient provoquer des modifications de l'habitat, des habitudes migratoires et des taux de prédation. Les changements de la productivité primaire pourraient modifier l'emplacement des proies et entraîner l'occupation de nouvelles aires d'alimentation (Moore et Huntington, 2008). Les narvals suivent les lisières des glaces durant la migration, et des changements quant au moment où surviennent la débâcle et le gel pourraient modifier leur cycle migratoire saisonnier (Moore et Huntington, 2008). Des changements dans l'étendue et la durée de la glace de mer ont entraîné une présence accrue des épaulards au Nunavut (Laidre et al., 2006). En raison de leur prédation des narvals, il est probable que, si cette tendance se maintient, davantage de narvals seront tués par les épaulards. De tels changements climatiques pourraient aussi réduire l'habitat ou le couvert d'abri, augmentant ainsi le risque de prédation par les épaulards, les ours blancs et les chasseurs, et exposant les narvals au rude milieu marin de la baie de Baffin (Moore et Huntington, 2008).

Selon Laidre et al. (2008), les narvals semblent être l'une des trois espèces de mammifères marins arctiques les plus sensibles aux changements climatiques (principalement en raison de leur dépendance à la glace de mer et de leur alimentation spécialisée.

Cotes de sensibilité

Les cotes de sensibilité de l'habitat du narval dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique ont été établies à partir de deux principaux types d'informations : i) l'aire de répartition/distribution connue et probable de cette espèce (déterminée à partir des sources documentaires disponibles [p. ex. : les rapports de situation du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada/COSEPAC]); et ii) la sensibilité écologique décrite récemment par Laidre et al. (2008). Ainsi, l'application des éléments de sensibilité écologique inclus par Laidre et al. (2008) pourrait ne pas toujours être cohérente avec les emplacements connus de l'habitat du narval. Par exemple, selon un document du COSEPAC (2004), il est probable que les narvals atteignent des aires aussi loin au nord et à l'ouest, dans l'Extrême‑Arctique canadien, que le permettent les conditions de glace. Les cartes illustrant la médiane sur 30 ans de la concentration des glaces produites par le Service canadien des glaces ont été utilisées pour appliquer les sensibilités écologiques (décrites par Laidre et al., 2008, et d'autres) et la distribution connue des glaces.

Enfin, une approche de sensibilité maximum a été utilisée pour différencier les types d'habitat du narval. En d'autres termes, si une région peut être considérée comme ayant deux cotes de sensibilité différentes (pour un mois ou plus), seule la cote de sensibilité la plus élevée a été cartographiée.

On a dressé deux cartes de l'habitat sensible du narval dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique, une pour l'hiver, présentée à la figure 4.4, et l'autre pour l'été, présentée à la figure 4.5.

Sensibilité élevée (5)

Les secteurs répertoriés comme étant de sensibilité élevée pour les baleines à dents comprennent les zones désignées comme étant essentielles pour toutes les espèces de narvals ainsi qu'une région spatialement limitée (< 100 km2) durant les mois d'été qui assure une fonction écologique spécifique essentielle aux narvals. Cette cote a aussi été attribuée, pour les mois d'hiver, aux zones qui constituent le principal habitat d'hivernage du narval ou à des régions où l'on trouve de grandes concentrations de narvals.

Aucun habitat d'estivage ou d'hivernage de sensibilité élevée n'a été répertorié pour le narval dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique.

Sensibilité modérée à élevée (4)

Pendant l'été, les régions de sensibilité modérée à élevée comprennent l'habitat de banquise annuelle lâche ou serrée, la zone de cisaillement et les chenaux, les fjords, le rebord continental et les bassins océaniques profonds. L'hiver, ce sont les régions où l'on trouve de grandes concentrations de narvals.

Un habitat d'été de sensibilité modérée à élevée pour le narval a été recensé principalement dans des régions de banquise lâche pour la période allant de juillet à septembre. Il s'agit notamment des eaux près de l'île King Christian et du chenal Penny ainsi que de la région au sud des îles Prince‑Patrick et Melville (bien que l'on n'ait pas observé de narval dans ces deux dernières régions situées à l'ouest). Aucun habitat de sensibilité modérée à élevée n'a été répertorié pour le narval dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique.

Sensibilité modérée (3)

Pendant les mois d'été, la cote de sensibilité modérée a été attribuée aux zones d'eaux libres, au rebord continental et à la lisière des glaces (banquise adjacente aux eaux libres). Cette cote s'applique aussi aux régions contenant des nombres modérés à élevés de narvals. Durant les mois d'hiver, la cote de sensibilité modérée a été attribuée aux régions qui renferment des concentrations faibles à modérées de narvals, aux zones d'eaux profondes ou de cisaillement, et aux chenaux et polynies.

L'habitat d'été de sensibilité modérée pour les narvals a été décrit principalement comme englobant la région de lisière des glaces (la banquise adjacente aux eaux libres) du chenal Queens, au nord de l'île Cornwallis. On a observé des narvals dans cette région. Selon les cartes illustrant la médiane sur 30 ans de la concentration des glaces, il y a probablement des passages libres en novembre dans les chenaux Penny, Queens, Austin et Cardigan, ainsi qu'il est indiqué à la figure 4.4, de sorte qu'il se pourrait que des narvals utilisent cet habitat de sensibilité modérée lors de leur migration automnale et hivernale hors de l'archipel arctique canadien.

Sensibilité faible à modérée (2)

La banquise permanente en été et les eaux libres (> 20 km de la banquise, de la glace de rive ou de la lisière des glaces) en hiver sont considérées comme un habitat de sensibilité faible à modérée pour les baleines à dents. Cette cote de sensibilité s'applique aussi aux zones présentant de faibles concentrations de baleines à dents et les zones de banquise permanente en hiver.

Une bonne partie de la portion sud de la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique est recouverte par une banquise permanente et est, de ce fait, considérée comme un habitat de sensibilité faible à modérée. Il n'y a aucune mention de la présence de narvals dans cette région; cependant, les cartes illustrant la médiane sur 30 ans de la concentration des glaces laissent supposer que l'on y trouve couramment un habitat constitué d'eaux libres l'été et, conséquemment, les narvals peuvent être présents dans les aires indiquées à la figure 4.5. Aucun habitat d'hivernage des narvals de sensibilité faible à modérée n'a été répertorié dans la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique.

Faible sensibilité (1)

L'habitat de faible sensibilité comprend les régions où aucun habitat du narval n'a été recensé, les régions (l'été) situées au large (> 100 km) en eaux libres, les régions d'eaux profondes (ailleurs qu'au rebord continental) et en eaux libres, ou les régions caractérisées, en hiver, par une concentration de glace toujours très serrée et par la présence de banquise côtière.

On s'attend à ce que les zones de banquise permanente et celles où la concentration de glace est de 100 % soient plus courantes et constantes dans la portion nord de la zone d'étude de l'Extrême‑Arctique; par conséquent, la présence de narvals y est moins probable. L'hiver, la plus grande partie de la zone d'étude comprend des concentrations denses de glace et, de ce fait, une cote de faible sensibilité est accordée à l'habitat du narval.

Mesures d'atténuation

La mesure d'atténuation la plus efficace pour éviter les effets potentiels sur les mammifères marins est la planification, qui peut grandement aider à éviter l'habitat spatial et saisonnier sensible du narval. Malheureusement, dans l'Arctique canadien, la connaissance des habitats sensibles et biologiquement importants est très rudimentaire (correspondant à peu d'études qui, souvent, remontent à un certain temps). La réalisation de relevés spécialisés de ces mammifères avant tout contact potentiel avec des activités industrielles aidera les promoteurs à mieux planifier les projets et les gouvernements à approuver leur mise en œuvre avec plus de certitude. D'autres mesures minimales courantes d'atténuations en ce qui a trait aux essais sismiques sont décrites dans l'Énoncé des pratiques canadiennes d'atténuation des ondes sismiques en milieu marin (site Internet du MPO, 2010). Dans ce document, on présente des mesures comme le recours à des observateurs des mammifères marins qualifiés à bord des navires concernés, la désignation d'une zone d'exclusion de mammifères marins autour des ensembles de sismographes, le démarrage progressif (intensification) des opérations sismiques et la surveillance acoustique passive. La limitation de vitesse des navires et la limitation de l'altitude minimum des aéronefs sont aussi au nombre des pratiques exemplaires courantes auxquelles on a recours pour réduire au minimum les risques de perturbations et de collisions entre les mammifères et les navires.

Références

Voir les références utilisées pour l'information du narval