ARCHIVED - 2011-2012 Financial Overview - March 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PowerPoint version   (327 Kb, 15 Pages)

PDF format   (113 Kb, 15 Pages)

 


Table of Contents




Minister's Portfolio ($7.4 billion)

Indian Residential Schools Truth and Reconciliation Commission ($12M) provides an opportunity for those directly or indirectly affected by the legacy of residential school to share their experiences and inform Canadians.

Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency ($44M) helps provide the foundation for a prosperous economic future for those who live, work and support their families in the North. Its primary focus is the provision of integrated business services north of 60.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada ($7,368M) supports Aboriginal people (First Nations, Inuit and Métis) and Northerners in their efforts to improve social well-being and economic prosperity; develop healthier, more sustainable communities; and participate more fully in Canada's political, social and economic development to the benefit of all Canadians.

Canadian Polar Commission ($1M) has a broad mandate related to promotion, development and dissemination of knowledge on the Polar Regions.

Registry of the Specific Claims Tribunal ($3M) facilitates timely access to the Specific Claims Tribunal; ensures the smooth and efficient functioning of hearings; and safeguards the independence of the Specific Claims Tribunal by placing them at arm's length from the Government of Canada.

First Nations Statistical Institute ($5M) provides First Nations and other stakeholders with timely, accurate, and relevant statistical information that supports program and policy development decisions and fiscal transfers relating to First Nations.

Return to Table of Contents





INAC Program Delivery Context

Highly decentralized with 10 regions

South of 60°

North of 60°

Return to Table of Contents





Demographic Realities


Distribution of the Aboriginal Population by Registration Status and Identity, Canada, 2006
Distribution of the Aboriginal Population by Registration Status and Identity, Canada, 2006
Text description of figure 1 - Distribution of the Aboriginal Population by Registration Status and Identity, Canada, 2006

This is an image of a pie chart showing the distribution of the Aboriginal population by registration status and identity as of 2006. The chart indicates that there were: 53.2% were identified as registered Indians; 30.3% as Métis; 11.4% non-status Indians; 4.2% Inuit and: 0.9% as other ("other" refers to individuals who reported more that one Aboriginal group, and those who reported being a Band member with no Aboriginal identity and no registered Indian status. The sources for the data in the chart are the 2006 Census of Population with tabulations done by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada.

* Other refers to individuals who reported more than one Aboriginal group, and those who reported being a Band member with no Aboriginal identity and no Registered Indian status.

Source: 2006 Census of Population, INAC tabulations.

Return to Table of Contents





Geographic Realities - Small Communities


Title of the figure goes here
First Nation Reserves by Population Size, 2006
Text description of figure 2 - First Nation Reserves by Population Size, 2006

This image is of a bar chart showing the distribution of the 865 First Nation reserves by population size based on statistics Canada 2006 information. The chart indicates that 319 reserves have a population of 100 or less; 173 have populations of between 100 and 249; 150 between 250 and 499; 135 between 500 and 999; 67 between 1000 and 1999 and; 21 with populations of more than 2000.

Note: N=865 out of a possible 1,176 First Nation communities delineated by Statistics Canada in 2006. Not included are unpopulated reserves and 22 incompletely enumerated reserves that did not participate in the Census.

Source: INAC derived from 2006 Geosuite, Statistics Canada.

Return to Table of Contents





Geographic Realities - Dispersed Communities


On - Reserve Population by Geographic Zones, 2009
On - Reserve Population by Geographic Zones, 2009
Text description of figure 3 - On - Reserve Population by Geographic Zones, 2009

This image is of a pie chart showing the population distribution by percentage of the on-reserve population by geographic zone. The population distribution is as follows: Rural, 44.6%; Urban, 34.4%; Special Access, 17.3% and; Remote, 3.7%. The definitions for these categories are: Urban: the First Nation is located within 50 km of the nearest service centre with a year-round road access. Rural: the First Nation is located between 50 and 350 km from the nearest service centre with a year-round road access. Remote: the First Nation is located over 350 km from the nearest service centre with year-round road access. Special Access: The First Nation has no year-round road access to a service centre and, as a result, experiences a higher cost of transportation. Source: Indian Register Population by Geographic Zone, 2010.

Notes: Departmental Definitions

Urban: The First Nation is located within 50 km of the nearest service centre with a year-round road access.
Rural: The First Nation is located between 50 and 350 km from the nearest service centre with a year-round road access.
Remote: The First Nation is located over 350 km from the nearest service centre with year-round road access.
Special Access: The First Nation has no year-round road access to a service centre and, as a result, experiences a higher cost of transportation.

Source: Indian Register Population by Geographic Zone, 2010

Return to Table of Contents





Socio-Economic Realities


Community Well-Being Index (CWB) Average
Community Well-Being Index (CWB) Average
Text description of figure 4 - Community Well-Being Index (CWB) Average

This image is of a line graph showing the average Community Well-Being scores of First Nations, Inuit and other Canadian communities for the years 1981, 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006. The Community Well-Being Index is a method of assessing general well-being of Canadians at the community level in terms of education, labour force activity, income and housing. The scores are plotted on an XY axis chart where the "X" axis are the years 1981 to 2006 and the "Y" is the Community Well-Being Index scores from 30 to 100. The chart shows that the scores for First Nations communities were: 47 (1981); 51 (1991); 55 (1996); 57 (2001); 57 (2006).

The scores for Inuit communities were: 48 (1981); 57 (1991); 60 (1996); 61 (2001); 62 (2006). The scores for other Canadian communities were: 67 (1981); 71 (1991); 72 (1996); 73 (2001); 77 (2006). The source for the data used in the line is Statistics Canada's Census of Population for 1981, 1991, 1996, 2001, 2006.

Source: Statistics Canada,
1981, 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2006 Census of Population.

Return to Table of Contents





Departmental Finances - 2011-12 Main Estimates – Total $7,368 million

 
Departmental Finances - 2011-12 Main Estimates – Total $7,368 million
Text description of figure 5 - Departmental Finances - 2011-12 Main Estimates – Total $7,368 million

This image is of a pie chart showing the breakdown of departmental expenditures for 2011-12. The breakdown is shown as follows: $6,160 million (83.6%) transfer payments; $78 million (1.1%) loans; $12 million (0.2%) capital; $519 million (7.0%) statutory/fiduciary obligations; $242 million (3.3%) program delivery; $64 million (0.9%) negotiation costs; $294 million (4.0%) administrative overhead. The major item in the $519M is $391M for obligations stemming from the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (comprised of $360M for the Independent Assessment Process and $31M in other support). Furthermore, of the $519M, over $300M is for direct payments to recipients including obligations stemming from the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, claims related obligations, Department of Justice costs, out-of-court settlements, etc.

The source for the information for the chart is the 2011-12 Main Estimates. Figures may not add due to rounding.

* The major item in the $519M is $391M for obligations stemming from the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (comprised of $360M for the Independent Assessment Process and $31M in other support). Furthermore, of the $519M, over $300M is for direct payments to recipients including obligations stemming from the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, claims related obligations, Department of Justice costs, out-of-court settlements, etc.

Source: 2011-12 Main Estimates
Figures may not add due to rounding

Return to Table of Contents





2011-12 Main Estimates by Sub-Activity – Total $7,368 million

The Government Total
Governance and Institutions of Government  
Sub-Activities  
406.6
28.3
Total $ 434.9
Co-operative Relationships  
Sub-Activities  
191.8
282.3
2.9
1.9
Total $ 478.9
Treaty Management  
Sub-Activities  
412.2
276.2
0.9
Total $ 689.3
Total $ 1,603.1

 

The People Total
Education  
Sub-Activities  
1,297.0
24.1
325.9
10.3
Total $ 1 ,657.2
Social Development  
Sub-Activities  
817.1
1.3
83.8
632.8
29.4
Total $ 1 ,564.4
Managing Individual Affairs  
Sub-Activities  
17.8
1.3
1.6
1.4
Total $ 22.1
Residential Schools Resolution  
Sub-Activities  
18.2
360.2
10.2
2.6
Total $ 391.1
Total $ 3,634.8

 

The Land and Economy Total
Aboriginal Economic Development  
Sub-Activities  
55.5
177.4
17.1
Total $ 250.0
Federal Administration of Reserve Land  
Sub-Activities  
15.2
22.6
Total $ 37.8
Community Infrastructure  
Sub-Activities  
336.2
276.6
145.8
453.5
0.1
Total $ 1,212.2
Total $ 1,500.0

 

The North Total
Northern Governance and People  
Sub-Activities  
63.5
57.2
Total $ 120.7
Northern Science and Technology  
Sub-Activities  
5.2
5.4
Total $ 10.7
Northern Land, Resources and Environmental Management  
Sub-Activities  
2.5
14.5
21.9
24.2
10.5
Total $ 73.6
Total $ 204.9

 

Office of the Federal Interlocutor Total
Urban Aboriginal Strategy $ 13.5
Métis and Non-status Indian Organizational Capacity Development $ 16.1
Métis Rights Management $ 11.9
Total $ 41.5

 

Internal Services Total
Governance & Management Support $ 261.7
Resource Management Services $ 117.7
Asset management Services $ 4.6
Total $ 384.0

Note 1: Comprised of $294 million for Administrative Overhead and $90 million for Litigation Support.
Source: 2010-11 Main Estimates; additional details at sub-activity level extracted from departmental budget allocations. Figures may not add due to rounding.

Return to Table of Contents





Growth Rate for Indian and Inuit Programming

Return to Table of Contents





Expenditure Trend - Cumulative % Change 1996-97 to 2011-12*

 
Expenditure Trend - Cumulative % Change 1996-97 to 2011-12
Text description of figure 6 - Expenditure Trend - Cumulative % Change 1996-97 to 2011-12

This image is of a line graph of the cumulative percentage change in departmental expenditures annually from fiscal years 1996-97 to 2011-12. The graphs plots the percentage changes for: total expenditures (current dollars); expenditures adjusted for residential schools, claims, northern, the Office of the Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Status Indians, and one-time/time-limited initiatives; and Indian and Inuit programming (constant dollars derived using the Final Domestic Demand Implicit Price Index). The percentages are based on actual budgetary expenditures (1996-97 to 2009-10), current forecast (2010-11) and Main Estimates (2011-12), as follows:

Total current dollars: (0%) 1996-97; (7%) 1997-98; (15%) 1998-99; (10%) 1999-2000; (20%) 2000-2001; (20%) 2001-02; (26%) 2002-03; (28%) 2003-04; (31%) 2004-05; (37%) 2005-06; (42%) 2006-07; (70%) 2007-08; (62%) 2008-09; (73%) 2009-10; (86%) 2010-11; (71%) 2011-12. It should be noted that the current dollar line reflects a number of sharp increases due to the following: 1998-99 includes a $350 million grant to the Aboriginal Healing Foundation; 2007-08 includes a $1.1 billion payment to the Cree of Quebec; and 2010-11 includes increases totalling about $0.9 billion, primarily for the settlement of specific claims, investments in Canada's Economic Action Plan and awards to claimants related to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement.

Actual adjusted for Northern Affairs/Claims/Residential Schools/One-time/Time limited: (0%) 1996-97; (2%) 1997-98; (5%) 1998-99; (10%) 1999-2000; (16%) 2000-2001; (18%) 2001-02; (20%) 2002-03; (24%) 2003-04; (28%) 2004-05; (34%) 2005-06; (39%) 2006-07; (43%) 2007-08; (49%) 2008-09; (63%) 2009-10; (67%) 2010-11; (62%) 2011-12.

Indian and Inuit Programming (constant dollars): (0%) 1996-97; (1%) 1997-98; (2%) 1998-99; (6%) 1999-2000; (9%) 2000-2001; (8%) 2001-02; (8%) 2002-03; (10%) 2003-04; (12%) 2004-05; (15%) 2005-06; (16%) 2006-07; (17%) 2007-08; (19%) 2008-09; (28%) 2009-10; (30%) 2010-11; (24%) 2011-12.

* 1996-97 to 2009-10 based on actual budgetary expenditures; 2010-11 based on current forecast; 2011-12 based on Main Estimates
** Adjusted using Final Domestic Demand Implicit Price Index

Overall departmental expenditures have grown by about 71%, in current dollars since 1996-97.

Return to Table of Contents





Annual Estimates Cycle

 
Annual Estimates Cycle
Text description of figure 7 - Annual Estimates Cycle

This is an image of a bar graph showing the dollar amounts in the annual estimates cycle for the department including the dollar amounts for the Main Estimates, Report on Plans and Priorities, Main and Supplementary Estimates and the actual expenditures for the fiscal years of 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12. The dollar amounts for the actual expenses for fiscal years 2010-11 and 2011-12 are not included. The dollar amounts for the Report on Plans and Priorities and the Main and Supplementary Estimates are not included for 2011-12.

For 2007-2008 the figures are: $6.3 billion, Main Estimates: $6.8 billion, Report on Plans and Priorities; $7.4 billion, Main and Supplementary Estimates; $7.3 actual expenses.

For 2008-2009 the figures are: $6.3 billion, Main Estimates: $6.9 billion, Report on Plans and Priorities; $7.3 billion, Main and Supplementary Estimates; $7.0 actual expenses.

For 2009-2010 the figures are: $6.9 billion, Main Estimates: $7.3 billion, Report on Plans and Priorities; $7.8 billion, Main and Supplementary Estimates; $7.4 billion actual expenses.

For 2010-2011 the figures are: $7.3 billion, Main Estimates: $7.3 billion, Report on Plans and Priorities; $8.3 billion, Main and Supplementary Estimates.

For 2011-2012 the figure is: $7.4 billion, Main Estimates.

Return to Table of Contents





Major Cost Drivers

Existing Federal Obligations

Demographic and Inflationary Pressures

Policy Commitments

Claims, Treaties and Rights

Devolution Issues

Return to Table of Contents





Financial and Performance Management

The department has undertaken a number of initiatives to support stronger financial and performance management including:

Return to Table of Contents




In Summary

Return to Table of Contents


Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Survol de la situation financière pour 2011-2012 - Mars 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PowerPoint   (427 Ko, 15 pages)

PDF format   (119 Ko, 15 pages)

 


Table des matières




Portefeuille du ministre (7,4 milliards de dollars)

La Commission de vérité et de réconciliation relative aux pensionnats indiens (12 M$) donne l'occasion aux personnes touchées directement ou indirectement par les séquelles des pensionnats indiens de faire part de leur expérience et d'informer les Canadiens.

L'Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord (44 M$) aide à fournir les bases d'un avenir économique prospère aux personnes qui vivent, travaillent et subviennent aux besoins de leurs familles dans le Nord. Sa priorité fondamentale est d'offrir des services intégrés aux entreprises situées au nord du 60e parallèle.

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (7 368 M$) soutient les peuples autochtones (Premières nations, Inuits et Métis) et du Nord dans leurs efforts visant à améliorer le bien-être social et la prospérité économique, à favoriser le développement de collectivités en santé et plus durables et à permettre à ces dernières de participer pleinement au développement social, économique et politique du Canada, et ce, au profit de tous les Canadiens.

La Commission canadienne des affaires polaires (1 M$) a un mandat élargi lié à la promotion, au développement et à la diffusion des connaissances sur les régions polaires.

Le greffe du Tribunal des revendications particulières (3 M$) facilite l'accès rapide au Tribunal des revendications particulières, assure la bonne marche des audiences avec efficacité et protège l'indépendance du Tribunal des revendications particulières en veillant à ce qu'il n'y ait pas de lien de dépendance entre celui-ci et le gouvernement du Canada.

L'Institut de la statistique des Premières nations (5 M$) procure aux Premières nations et aux autres parties intéressées des renseignements statistiques opportuns, exacts et pertinents afin d'appuyer la prise de décisions touchant l'élaboration de programmes et de politiques ainsi que les transferts financiers liés aux Premières nations.

Retournez à la table des matières





Contexte d'exécution des programmes d'AINC

Grande décentralisation : 10 régions

Au sud du 60e parallèle

Au nord du 60e parallèle

Retournez à la table des matières





Conditions démographiques


Répartition de la population autochtone selon l'inscription et l'identité, Canada, 2006
Répartition de la population autochtone selon l'inscription et l'identité, Canada, 2006
La description textuelle de la figure 1 - Répartition de la population autochtone selon l'inscription et l'identité, Canada, 2006

Il s'agit d'un diagramme à secteurs qui montre la répartition de la population autochtone en fonction du statut d'inscription et de l'identité en date de 2006. Le diagramme indique que les gens s'identifiaient de la façon suivante : 53,2 % étaient des Indiens inscrits; 30,3 %, des Métis; 11,4 %, des Indiens non inscrits; 4,2 %, des Inuit, et 0,9 % comme autre. (« Autres » renvoie aux personnes ayant déclaré appartenir à plus d'un groupe autochtone et à celles ayant affirmé être membres d'une bande, sans identité autochtone et sans statut d'Indien inscrit.) Les données du diagramme sont tirées du recensement de 2006, et les tableaux ont été effectués par Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada.

* « Autres » renvoie aux personnes ayant déclaré appartenir à un groupe autochtone et à celles ayant affirmé être membres d'une bande, sans identité autochtone et sans statut d'Indien inscrit.

Source : Statistique Canada. Recensement de la population de 2006, totalisations d'AINC.

Retournez à la table des matières





Conditions géographiques - petites collectivités


Réserves des Premières nations selon la population, 2006
Réserves des Premières nations selon la population, 2006
La description textuelle de la figure 2 - Réserves des Premières nations selon la population, 2006

Il s'agit d'un diagramme à barres horizontales qui montre la répartition des 865 réserves des Premières nations en fonction de la taille de la population. Les données proviennent de travaux réalisés en 2006 par Statistique Canada. Le diagramme indique que 319 réserves ont une population inférieure à 100 résidants; 173 réserves ont une population entre 100 et 249 résidants; 150 réserves, une population entre 250 et 499 résidants; 135 réserves, une population entre 500 et 999 résidants; 67 réserves, une population entre 1 000 et 1 999 résidants; 21 réserves, une population de plus de 2 000 résidants.

Remarque : N=865 sur un total possible de 1 176 réserves des Premières nations délimitées par Statistiques Canada en 2006. Ce nombre ne comprend pas les réserves non habitées ni les 22 réserves incorrectement énumérées qui n'ont pas participé au recensement.

Source : AINC, tiré de Statistique Canada, GéoSuite 2006.

Retournez à la table des matières





Conditions géographiques - collectivités dispersées


Population dans les réserves par zones géographiques, 2009
Population dans les réserves par zones géographiques, 2009
La description textuelle de la figure 3 - Population dans les réserves par zones géographiques, 2009

Il s'agit d'un diagramme à secteurs qui montre la répartition de la population en pour cent pour la population vivant dans les réserves par zone géographique. La répartition est la suivante : rurale, 44,6 %; urbaine, 34,4 %; accès spécial, 17,3 %; éloignée, 3,7 %. Les définitions de ces catégories : Urbaine : Première nation vivant dans un rayon de 50 km d'un centre de services accessible par route toute l'année. Rurale : Première nation vivant dans un rayon de 50 km à 350 km d'un centre de services accessible par route toute l'année. Éloignée : Première nation vivant à plus de 350 km d'un centre de services accessible par route toute l'année. Accès spécial : Le centre de services n'est pas accessible par route toute l'année; la Première nation doit donc composer avec des coûts de transport élevés. Source : Population d'Indiens inscrits par zones géographiques, 2009.

Remarques : Définitions ministérielles

Urbaine : Première nation vivant dans un rayon de 50 km d'un centre de services accessible par route toute l'année.
Rurale : Première nation vivant dans un rayon de 50 km à 350 km d'un centre de services accessible par route toute l'année.
Éloignée : Première nation vivant à plus de 350 km d'un centre de services accessible par route toute l'année.
Accès spécial : Le centre de services n'est pas accessible par route toute l'année; la Première nation doit donc composer avec des coûts de transport élevés.

Source : Population d'Indiens inscrits par zones géographiques, 2009

Retournez à la table des matières





Conditions socioéconomiques


IBC moyen, 1981-2006
Indice de bien-être des collectivités (IBC) moyen, 1981-2006
La description textuelle de la figure 4 - IBC moyen, 1981-2006

Il s'agit d'un graphique linéaire simple qui montre les moyennes des indices de bien être des collectivités dans les collectivités inuites, des Premières nations et les autres collectivités canadiennes pour les années 1981, 1991, 1996, 2001 et 2006. L'indice de bien-être des collectivités est une méthode permettant d'évaluer le bien-être général des Canadiens à l'échelle communautaire en ce qui a trait à l'éducation, à la participation à la population active, au revenu et au logement. Les résultats sont inscrits dans un graphique. L'axe des X donne les années de 1981 à 2006 et l'axe des Y les résultats de l'indice de bien-être des collectivités de 30 à 100. Le graphique indique les résultats pour les collectivités des Premières nations : 47 (1981); 51 (1991); 55 (1996); 57 (2001); 57 (2006).

Les résultats pour les collectivités inuites étaient de : 48 (1981); 57 (1991); 60 (1996); 61 (2001); 62 (2006). Les résultats pour les autres collectivités canadiennes étaient de : 67 (1981); 71 (1991); 72 (1996); 73 (2001); 77 (2006). La source des données de cette ligne est les recensements de Statistique Canada de 1981, 1991, 1996, 2001 et 2006.

Source : Statistique Canada,
Recensement de la population de 1981, 1991, 1996, 2001 et 2006.

Retournez à la table des matières





Budget principal des dépenses de 2011-2012 - au Ministère - Total de 7,368 milliards

 
Budget principal des dépenses de 2011-2012 - au Ministère - Total de 7,368 milliards
La description textuelle de la figure 5 - Budget principal des dépenses de 2011-2012 - au Ministère - Total de 7,368 milliards

Il s'agit d'un diagramme à secteurs qui montre la ventilation des dépenses pour 2011 2012. La ventilation est la suivante : 6 160 millions de dollars (83,6 %) paiements de transfert; 78 millions de dollars (1,1 %) prêts; 12 millions de dollars (0,2 %) capital; 519 millions de dollars (7 %) obligations légales et fiduciales; 242 millions de dollars (3,3 %) prestation des programmes; 64 millions de dollars (0,9 %) frais de négociation; 294 millions de dollars (4 %) frais administratifs généraux. L'élément principal dans les 519 millions de dollars est les 391 millions de dollars pour les obligations découlant de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (soit 360 millions de dollars pour le Processus d'évaluation indépendant et 31 millions de dollars pour d'autres efforts de soutien). De plus, des 519 millions de dollars, plus de 300 millions de dollars sont réservés aux paiements directs aux bénéficiaires, y compris les obligations découlant de la Convention de règlement, celles liées aux revendications, les coûts du ministère de la Justice, les règlements à l'amiable, etc.

Les données du diagramme sont tirées du Budget principal des dépenses de 2011 2012. En raison des arrondissements, les chiffres sont peut-être inexacts.

* L'élément principal dans le 519 M$ est le 391 M$ pour les obligations découlant de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (soit 360 M$ pour le Processus d'évaluation indépendant et 31 M$ pour d'autres efforts de soutien). De plus, des 519 M$, plus de 300 M$ sont réservés aux paiements directs aux bénéficiaires, y compris les obligations découlant de la Convention de règlement, celles liées aux revendications, les coûts du ministère de la Justice, les règlements à l'amiable, etc.

Source : Budget principal des dépenses de 2011-2012
En raison des arrondissements, les chiffres sont peut-être inexacts.

Retournez à la table des matières





Budget principal des dépenses 2011-2012 - par sous-activité (en milliers de $) - Total de 7,368 milliards de $

Le gouvernement Total
La gouvernance et les institutions gouvernementales  
Sous-activités  
406,6
28,3
Total 434,9 $
Les relations de coopération  
Sous-activités  
191,8
282,3
2,9
1,9
Total 478,9 $
Gestion des traités  
Sous-activités  
412,2
276,2
0,9
Total 689,3 $
Total 1 603,1 $

 

Les gens Total
L'éducation  
Sous-activités  
1 297,0
24,1
325,9
10,3
Total 1 657,2 $
Le développement social  
Sous-activités  
817,1
1,3
83,8
632,8
29,4
Total 1 564,4 $
La gestion des affaires des particuliers  
Sous-activités  
17,8
1,3
1,6
1,4
Total 22,1 $
Le règlement des pensionnats indiens  
Sous-activités  
18,2
360,2
10,2
2,6
Total 391,1 $
Total 3 634,8 $

 

Les terres et l'économie Total
Le développement économique des Autochtones  
Sous-activités  
55,5
177,4
17,1
Total 250,0 $
L'administration fédérale des terres de réserve  
Sous-activités  
15,2
22,6
Total 37,8 $
L'infrastructure communautaire  
Sous-activités  
336,2
276,6
145,8
453,5
0,1
Total 1 212,2 $
Total 1 500,00 $

 

Le Nord Total
La gouvernance et les gens dans le Nord  
Sous-activités  
63,5
57,2
Total 120,7 $
La science et la technologie dans le Nord  
Sous-activités  
5,2
5,4
Total 10,7 $
Gestion des terres, des ressources et de l'environnement du Nord  
Sous-activités  
2,5
14,5
21,9
24,2
10,5
Total 73,6 $
Total 204,9 $

 

Le Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral Total
La stratégie pour les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain 13,5 $
Le développement des capacités organisationnelles des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits 16,1 $
La gestion des droits des Métis 11,9 $
Total 41,5 $

 

Services internes Total
Soutien à la gouvernance et à la gestion 261,7 $
Services de gestion des ressources 117,7 $
Services de gestion des actifs 4,6 $
Total 384,0 $

Note 1 : Comprend 294 millions de dollars pour les frais généraux administratifs et 90 millions de dollars pour le soutien juridique.
Source : Budget principal des dépenses de 2010-2011; des données additionnelles au sujet des sous-activités ont été tirées des allocations budgétaires du Ministère. En raison des arrondissements, les chiffres sont peut-être inexacts.

Retournez à la table des matières





Plafond de financement pour les programmes destinés aux Indiens et aux Inuits

Retournez à la table des matières





Évolution des dépenses - Changement cumulatif en pourcentage (de 1996-1997 à 2011-2012)*

 
Évolution des dépenses - Changement cumulatif en pourcentage (de 1996-1997 à 2011-2012)
La description textuelle de la figure 6 - Évolution des dépenses - Changement cumulatif en pourcentage (de 1996-1997 à 2011-2012)

Il s'agit d'un graphique linéaire simple du changement cumulatif en pourcentage des dépenses ministérielles annuelles entre les exercices 1996-1997 et 2011-2012. Le graphique indique les changements en pourcentage pour : les dépenses totales (dollars actuels); les dépenses ajustées liées aux pensionnats indiens, aux revendications, au Nord et au Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral pour les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits; les initiatives ponctuelles à durée limitée; les programmes pour les Indiens et les Inuit (dollars indexés obtenus en utilisant l'Indice implicite de prix de la demande intérieure finale). Les pourcentages sont basés sur les dépenses budgétaires actuelles (1996-1997 à 2009-2010), les prévisions actuelles (2010-2011) et le Budget principal des dépenses (2011-2012) :

Total des dollars actuels : (0 %) 1996-1997; (7 %) 1997-1998; (15 %) 1998-1999; (10 %) 1999-2000; (20 %) 2000-2001; (20 %) 2001-2002; (26 %) 2002-2003; (28 %) 2003-2004; (31 %) 2004-2005; (37 %) 2005-2006; (42 %) 2006-2007; (70 %) 2007 2008; (62 %) 2008-2009; (73 %) 2009-2010; (86 %) 2010-2011; (71 %) 2011 2012. Il faut noter que la ligne des dollars actuels reflète un certain nombre d'augmentations importantes pour les raisons suivantes : 1998-1999 comprend une subvention de 350 millions de dollars versée à la Fondation autochtone de guérison; 2007-2008 comprend un paiement de 1,1 milliard de dollars versé aux Cris du Québec; 2010-2011 comprend des augmentations totalisant environ 0,9 milliard de dollars, principalement pour le règlement de revendications particulières, les investissements faits dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada et les montants octroyés aux demandeurs liés à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens.

Dollars indexés ajustés pour les Affaires du Nord/revendications/pensionnats indiens/initiatives ponctuelles/initiatives à durée limitée : (0 %) 1996-1997; (2 %) 1997 1998; (5 %) 1998-1999; (10 %) 1999-2000; (16 %) 2000-2001; (18 %) 2001-2002; (20 %) 2002-2003; (24 %) 2003-2004; (28 %) 2004-2005; (34 %) 2005-2006; (39 %) 2006-2007; (43 %) 2007-2008; (49 %) 2008-2009; (63 %) 2009-2010; (67 %) 2010 2011; (62 %) 2011-2012.

Programmes pour les Indiens et les Inuit (dollars indexés) : (0 %) 1996-1997; (1 %) 1997 1998; (2 %) 1998-1999; (6 %) 1999-2000; (9 %) 2000-2001; (8 %) 2001-2002; (8 %) 2002 2003; (10 %) 2003-2004; (12 %) 2004-2005; (15 %) 2005-2006; (16 %) 2006-2007; (17 %) 2007 2008; (19 %) 2008-2009; (28 %) 2009-2010; (30 %) 2010 2011; (24 %) 2011-2012.

* Les données pour 1996-1997 à 2009-2010 sont fondées sur les dépenses réelles; pour 2010-2011, sur la prévision actuelle; pour 2011-2012, sur le Budget principal des dépenses
** Ajusté à l'aide de l'Indice implicite de prix de la demande intérieure finale

Depuis 1996-1997, les dépenses globales du Ministère, en dollars d'aujourd'hui, ont grimpé d'environ 71 %.

Retournez à la table des matières





Cycle du budget des dépenses

 
Cycle du budget des dépenses
La description textuelle de la figure 7 - Cycle du budget des dépenses

Il s'agit d'un diagramme à barres horizontales qui montre les montants en dollars du cycle du budget des dépenses pour le Ministère, soit les montants du Budget principal des dépenses, du Rapport sur les plans et les priorités, le Budget principal des dépenses plus le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses, et les dépenses réelles pour les exercices 2007-2008, 2008-2009, 2009 2010, 2010-2011 et 2011-2012. Les dépenses réelles de 2010-2011 et 2011-2012 ne sont pas indiquées. Les montants pour le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités, le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses pour 2011-2012 ne sont pas inclus.

Montants de 2007-2008 : 6,3 milliards (Budget principal des dépenses), 6,8 milliards (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités), 7,4 milliards (Budget principal des dépenses plus le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses) et 7,3 milliards (dépenses réelles).

Montants de 2008-2009 : 6,3 milliards (Budget principal des dépenses), 6,9 milliards (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités), 7,3 milliards (Budget principal des dépenses plus le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses) et 7 milliards (dépenses réelles).

Montants de 2009-2010 : 6,9 milliards (Budget principal des dépenses), 7,3 milliards (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités), 7,8 milliards (Budget principal des dépenses plus le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses) et 7,4 milliards (dépenses réelles)

Montants de 2010-2011 : 7,3 milliards (Budget principal des dépenses), 7,3 milliards (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités) et 8,3 milliards de dollars (Budget principal des dépenses plus le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses).

Montant pour 2011-2012 : 7,4 milliards (Budget principal des dépenses).

Retournez à la table des matières





Principaux générateurs de coûts

Obligations fédérales actuelles

Pressions démographiques et inflationnistes

Engagements stratégiques

Revendications, traités et droits

Questions de transfert des responsabilités

Retournez à la table des matières





Gestion du rendement et des finances

Le Ministère a pris un certain nombre de mesures en vue de renforcer la gestion du rendement et des finances, notamment :

Retournez à la table des matières





Résumé

Retournez à la table des matières


Date de modification :