ARCHIVED - Calculating Interest under the Canada Petroleum Resources Act and Frontier Lands Petroleum Royalty Regulations

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Download the PDF Version (33 Kb, 2 Pages)

Bulletin
Volume 19, Number 4
August 2011

The purpose of this bulletin is to clarify how provisions in the Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA or the Act) and Frontier Lands Petroleum Royalty Regulations (FLPRR) relating to calculating interest are interpreted and applied, on a go-forward basis.

Rate

Under the CPRA and FLPRR, interest and penalties are charged to Interest Holders of production licences on overdue royalties, and interest is payable by the Minister for any overpayments made by Interest Holders on account of royalties, interest or penalties (sections 56 and 66 of the CPRA, respectively).  The FLPRR adopts the prescribed rate of interest for any period contained in sections 4300-4301 in Part XLIII of the Income Tax Regulations (FLPRR 16(1) and 19(1)).

Rates are established every quarter and are based on the average rate paid on 90-day treasury bills during the first month of the preceding quarter ("Base rate"). The prescribed interest rate to be paid by an Interest Holder to the Minister is 4% plus Base rate. As of July 1, 2010 the prescribed rate to be paid by the Minister to an Interest Holder (who is by definition a corporation) is 0% plus Base rate (Income Tax Regulations section 4301). These prescribed rates are published before the beginning of each quarter by the Canada Revenue Agency.

When an Interest Holder makes a payment to the Crown, payments are applied first to penalties payable, second to interest payable and third to royalties payable (FLPRR section 20).

Date to which Interest is Applied

Amounts are overdue if not paid on or before the due dates specified by FLPRR. For royalties, the first installment for a production month is an estimate based on the previous month, and the second instalment or "true-up" (the balance of the actual royalties payable for a production month) is due on the last day of the second month following the production month (FLPRR section 5). For penalties, payment is due on the last day of the month after the month in which they are imposed (FLPRR subsection 17(3)).

Interest payable by an Interest Holder on arrears of royalties, interest or penalties is calculated from the day on which the royalties, interest or penalties were due to the day on which payment is received by the Minister, and are compounded monthly (FLPRR subsection 16(2)).

Where the Minister is paying interest on an amount owing to the Interest Holder, interest is calculated from the end of the second month after the month in which the overpayment was made and is compounded monthly. This means interest is charged from when the transaction took place, not from the date when the overpayment was discovered through the course of an assessment or audit (FLPRR 18(1) describes circumstances in which the Minister shall refund any overpayment made on account of royalties, interest or penalties, and FLPRR 19(2) describes how the calculation is made).

Interest and Audit Assessments

Per section 61 of the CPRA, the Minister shall examine royalty returns, assess the royalty payable and send a notice of assessment to the person who filed the report or return. The assessment is valid and binding upon issuance. The requirement to pay royalties, interest and penalties for a period of twenty calendar days from the date of assessment, if the amounts due are paid in full within this period.  This grace period provides the Interest Holder with time to produce and mail the cheque without incurring additional interest charges during this time.

In calculating the amount due in the assessment, two circumstances may occur: the Interest Holder may owe the Crown interest, or the Minister may owe interest to the Interest Holder.

  1. When the Interest Holder owes the Crown, interest is calculated from the date royalty, interest or penalty was due. The Minister has discretion to waive interest if the underpayment occurred through "no fault" of the Interest Holder. The Minister will consider on a case-by-case basis the circumstances that gave rise to the underpayment. The onus is on the Interest Holder to file accurate royalty submissions, so it is incumbent upon the corporation to provide a detailed explanation for the underpayment and request that the Minister exercise his or her discretion to waive the interest.
  2. When the Minister owes interest, the timing for applying interest described in FLPRR section 19(2) applies, as described above.

In the case where a company disagrees with audit findings, they may file a notice of objection to the assessment or appeal the assessment to the Federal Court (CPRA subsection 62(1) and subsection 63(1) respectively). CPRA subsection 64(2) states that during the period of a notice of objection or appeal, the Minister may suspend the requirement to pay any amount on account of royalty, interest or penalty payable. The Act does not suspend the accrual of royalty, interest or penalties, simply the requirement to pay them during the objection or appeal period.

Once the objection or appeal is resolved, the requirement to pay ceases to be suspended. An updated assessment of royalties, interest and penalties will be issued by the Minister to the Interest Holder, which will include the findings of the objection or appeal. This assessment will include a calculation of royalty, interest or penalty from the period of time payment was originally due.

As with the assessment, the Department has decided to adopt a grace period of 20 days from the date of reassessment, so no additional interest is charged within this time if the amounts due are paid in full within this period.

Please note that to stop the accrual of interest and penalties during the period of objection or appeal, an Interest Holder may make an up-front payment of the amount due in the assessment. In the event that the objection or appeal is resolved in the Interest Holder’s favour, the Minister will refund the up-front payment plus pay interest at the prescribed rate.

For clarification on royalties, penalties and interest, please contact:

Fiscal Policy and Royalty Administration
Oil and Gas Management Directorate
Northern Oil and Gas Branch
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
OTTAWA ON K1A 0H4
Tel: (819) 997-0877; Fax: (819) 953-5828
E-mail: royalty-redevances@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Media Enquiries : (819) 953-1160

Note: This Bulletin is for information purposes only. In the event of an inconsistency between this bulletin and the Canada Petroleum Resources Act and Frontier Lands Petroleum Royalty Regulations, the original statute or regulation prevails to the extent of the inconsistency.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Calcul des intérêts aux termes de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures et du Règlement sur les redevances relatives aux hydrocarbures provenant des terres domaniales

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Télécharger Format PDF (36 Ko, 2 pages)

Bulletin
Volume 19, numéro 4
Août 2011

Le présent bulletin clarifie la façon d'interpréter et d'appliquer les dispositions relatives au calcul des intérêts, contenues dans la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures (LFH ou la Loi) et le Règlement sur les redevances relatives aux hydrocarbures provenant des terres domaniales (RRHTD).

Taux d'intérêt

Aux termes de la LFH et du RRHTD, des intérêts et des pénalités sont imposés aux indivisaires de licences de production sur les redevances en retard. Le ministre est tenu de verser des intérêts pour tout paiement en trop effectué par des indivisaires sur des redevances, intérêts ou amendes (sections 56 et 66 de la LFH, respectivement). Le RRHTD applique le taux d'intérêt prescrit pour toute période visée aux articles 4300 et 4301 de la partie XLIII du Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu (paragraphes 16(1) et 19(1) du RRHTD).

Les taux d'intérêt sont établis chaque trimestre en fonction du taux moyen payé pour les bons du Trésor de 90 jours lors du premier mois du trimestre précédent (taux de base). Le taux d'intérêt prescrit que doit payer un indivisaire au ministre est établi à 4 % plus le taux de base. Depuis le 1er juillet 2010, le taux réglementaire que doit payer le ministre à un indivisaire (qui, par définition, est une société) est fixé à 0 % plus le taux de base (article 4301 du Règlement de l'impôt sur le revenu). Avant le début de chaque trimestre, l'Agence du revenu du Canada publie les taux d'intérêt prescrits sur sur son site Internet.

Lorsqu'un indivisaire verse un paiement à la Couronne, celui­ci est imputé aux amendes dues, aux intérêts dus et aux redevances à payer, selon cet ordre (article 20 du RRHTD).

Date à laquelle les intérêts s'appliquent

Les montants sont en souffrance s'ils ne sont pas payés au plus tard à la date d'échéance prévue par le RRHTD. Pour ce qui est des redevances, le premier versement pour un mois de production est une estimation fondée sur le mois précédent; le second versement ou « égalisation » (solde des redevances actuelles à payer pour un mois de production donné) est dû le dernier jour du deuxième mois suivant le mois de production (article 5 du RRHTD). Toute amende est exigible le dernier jour du mois suivant celui au cours duquel elle a été imposée (paragraphe 17(3) du RRHTD).

Les intérêts à payer par l'assujetti sur les arrérages de redevances, d'intérêts et d'amendes sont calculés pour la période commençant à la date à laquelle les redevances, les intérêts ou les amendes, selon le cas, étaient exigibles et se terminant à la date où ils ont été reçus par le ministre; ils sont composés mensuellement (paragraphe 16(2) du RRHTD).

Lorsque le ministre paie des intérêts sur le montant dû à l'assujetti, les intérêts sont calculés à compter du dernier jour du deuxième mois suivant le mois au cours duquel le trop-payé a été effectué; ils sont composés mensuellement. Cela signifie que les intérêts sont calculés à compter de la date à laquelle la transaction a eu lieu, et non à compter de la date à laquelle le trop­payé a été découvert dans le cadre d'une évaluation ou d'une vérification. (Le paragraphe 18(1) du RRHTD décrit les circonstances dans lesquelles le ministre doit rembourser le trop-payé des redevances, intérêts ou amendes, tandis que le paragraphe 19(2) du RRHTD décrit la méthode de calcul des intérêts).

Évaluations des intérêts et de la vérification

Conformément à l'article 61 de la LFH, le ministre examine les déclarations de redevances, évalue les redevances payables, et envoie un avis de cotisation à l'auteur des rapports ou déclarations. L'avis de cotisation est valide et lie l'assujetti dès son envoi. Le Ministère a décidé de suspendre l'obligation de payer des redevances, des intérêts et des amendes pendant une période de vingt jours calendrier à compter de la date d'évaluation, si les montants dus sont entièrement payés au cours de cette période. Ce délai de grâce donne le temps aux indivisaires de produire et de poster leur chèque sans que des frais d'intérêt ne leur soient imposés pendant cette période.

Dans le calcul de la somme due, deux situations peuvent se produire : l'indivisaire peut devoir des intérêts à la Couronne ou le ministre peut devoir des intérêts à l'indivisaire.

  1. Lorsque l'indivisaire doit payer des intérêts à la Couronne, ceux-ci sont calculés pour la période commençant à la date à laquelle la redevance, les intérêts ou l'amende étaient exigibles. Le ministre a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de renoncer aux intérêts si le versement d'un paiement insuffisant n'est pas imputable à une faute de l'assujetti. Le ministre examinera au cas par cas les circonstances à l'origine du paiement insuffisant. Comme l'indivisaire est tenu de présenter des déclarations de redevances précises, il incombe à la société de fournir une explication détaillée pour le paiement insuffisant et de demander au ministre d'exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire de renoncer aux intérêts.
  2. Lorsque le ministre doit payer des intérêts, la période visée pour le calcul des intérêts, décrite au paragraphe 19(2) du RRHTD, s'applique tel qu'il est indiqué ci­dessus.

Dans le cas où une entreprise n'est pas d'accord avec les résultats de la vérification, elle peut déposer un avis d'opposition à la cotisation ou interjeter appel de la cotisation auprès de la Cour fédérale (paragraphes 62(1) et 63(1) respectivement de la LFH). Selon le paragraphe 64(2) de la LFH, pour la durée de l'affaire, le ministre peut lever l'obligation de payer les redevances, intérêts ou amendes. La Loi ne suspend pas l'accumulation des redevances, intérêts et amendes, elle ne fait que suspendre l'obligation de les payer pendant la période d'opposition ou d'appel.

Dès que la question visée par l'opposition ou l'appel est réglée, la période de suspension de l'obligation de payer les redevances, intérêts ou amendes prend fin. Le ministre enverra un nouvel avis de cotisation pour les redevances, intérêts et amendes à l'indivisaire. Cet avis renfermera les conclusions du processus d'opposition ou d'appel, de même que le calcul des redevances, intérêts ou amendes à compter de la date à laquelle le paiement était initialement dû.

Comme pour la cotisation, le Ministère a décidé d'accorder un délai de grâce de 20 jours à compter de la date de la réévaluation, de sorte qu'aucun intérêt supplémentaire ne soit imposé pendant ce temps si les montants dus sont entièrement payés au cours de cette période.

Veuillez noter que pour interrompre l'accumulation des intérêts et des amendes pendant la période d'opposition ou d'appel, un indivisaire peut effectuer le paiement forfaitaire de la somme due selon l'avis de cotisation. Si la question visée par l'opposition ou l'appel est réglée en faveur de l'indivisaire, le ministre remboursera le paiement forfaitaire et paiera les intérêts correspondants au taux prescrit.

Pour obtenir des précisions au sujet des redevances, des amendes et des intérêts, veuillez vous adresser à :

Administration de la politique financière et des redevances
Gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières
Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord
Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H4
Téléphone : 819-997-0877 Télécopieur : 819-953-5828
Courriel : royalty-redevances@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Demandes de renseignements des médias : 819-953-1160

Remarque : Le présent bulletin est publié à des fins d'information seulement. Les dispositions de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures et du Règlement sur les redevances relatives aux hydrocarbures provenant des terres domaniales d'origine l'emportent sur les dispositions incompatibles du présent bulletin, dans la mesure de l'incompatibilité.

Date de modification :