ARCHIVED - Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Quarterly Financial Report - For the Quarter Ended June 30, 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version   ( 1,461 Kb, 6 Pages)

 


1. Introduction

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is one of the federal departments responsible for meeting the Government of Canada's obligations and commitments to First Nations, Inuit, and Métis, and for fulfilling the federal government's constitutional responsibilities in the North. AANDC's responsibilities are largely determined by numerous statutes, negotiated agreements and legal decisions. Most of the Department's programs representing most of its spending, are delivered through partnerships with Aboriginal communities and federal-provincial or federal-territorial agreements. AANDC also works with urban Aboriginal persons, Métis and Non-Status Indians (many of whom live in rural areas) through the Office of the Federal Interlocutor.

The quarterly financial report has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. It should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates. For purposes of both the Main and Supplementary Estimates, the Department is referred to as Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

Further details on AANDC's authority, mandate and program activities can be found in Part II of the Main Estimates   and the Report on Plans and Priorities  .

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes AANDC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the Department consistent with the Main Estimates for the 2011-12 fiscal year. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes. When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The Department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

The quarterly financial report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

2. Highlights of Fiscal Quarter and Fiscal Year-to-Date (YTD) Results

2.1 Statement of Authorities (Table 1)

The Quarterly Financial Report reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates (A) for which full supply was received on June 27, 2011. As at June 30, 2011, the total authorities available for use were $7,386M compared to $7,485M for the same quarter of the prior year, representing a decrease of $99M as reflected in the Statement of Authorities (Table 1).

The $99M decrease in total authorities is attributed to a combination of new or enhanced programs and programs that expired at the end of the 2010-11 fiscal year. A listing of notable increases / (decreases) are presented below:

  Program Amount ($ millions)
a. Implementation of the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan 159
b. Funding to support the Federal Government's Obligations resulting from the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement 155
c. Funding to meet increase demand for ongoing Indian and Inuit programs providing access to basic services such as education and social support services 97
d. Funding for negotiation, settlement and implementation of specific and comprehensive claims 57
e. Funding to support the First Nations Infrastructure Fund 36
f. Funding to support the First Nations Child and Family Services Program in Manitoba 35
g. Various other small programs 78
h. Funding from Canada's Economic Action Plan to support investments in First Nations infrastructure (289)
i. Funding to support the implementation of the new Arctic Research Station (52)
j. Funding related to the assessment, management and remediation of contaminated sites (199)
k. Funding for initiatives in support of Canada's clean air agenda (10)
l. Decrease related to the dissolution of Parliament for an election and the resulting short period before recess (Note 1) (166)
  Total increase / (decrease) to Departmental Authorities (99)

Note 1: The dissolution of Parliament changed the structure of the Estimates process and only funding for urgently required grant authority increases was received during the first quarter of the fiscal year.

2.2 Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (Table 2)

Departmental spending in the first quarter of 2011-12 was $68M higher than the same period in 2010-11. This increase can be attributed mainly to an increase of $46M in transfer payments (standard object 10) issued to support a Self-Government agreement in the amount of $18M, a comprehensive land claim settlement for $15M, and the Nutrition North Canada Program for $13M, formerly the Food Mail Program.

Additional spending increases are partially related to other subsidies and payments (standard object 12) for payments issued pursuant to decisions rendered through the Department's Independent Assessment Process and Alternative Dispute Resolution in the amount of $18M. Other increases account for the remaining balance of $4M.

Comparison of Budgetary Authorities and Expenditures - June 30

Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

3.1 Risks and Uncertainties

AANDC's operating environment is complex as it funds programs and services to diverse groups of people (First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Northerners) who have varied and distinct priorities and needs, and who live in a vast range of communities throughout the county, from remote settlements with extreme climates in metropolitan urban areas. Further complicating the operating environment is that most of these services are delivered through partnerships with Aboriginal communities, the provinces and the territories. Many are, in fact, delivered by independent community-base services providers with differing levels of capacity to deliver effectively.

Supreme Court and other court rulings on Aboriginal and treaty rights continue to have a significant impact on the Department's mandate and the way it works to fulfill the Crown's legal obligations, as well as having the potential for significant financial liability. To address its legal risks, the Department has been engaged in a number of activities and initiatives throughout the quarter, including active participation in the Assistant Deputy Minister (ADM) level Interdepartmental Working Group on Legal Risk Management and Integrated Risk Management; negotiation of comprehensive land claims, specific claims and self-government agreements; and continuing its work related to the Federal Contaminated Sites Action Plan.

Unforeseen emergency situations significantly above what would normally be expected and at unprecedented costs, such as the recent forest fires and floods experienced in Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario, can be devastating to the health and safety of Aboriginal communities and have a significant impact on the manner in which the Department continues to fulfill its obligations and deliver on its mandate. AANDC has to ensure that it has timely pertinent information for decision making, is capable of responding to such emergency situations and that resources are sourced and properly aligned to support communities at risk while continuing to support the effective and efficient delivery of its mandate.

3.2 Risk Mitigating Strategies

Risk mitigating strategies are to be more responsive to the diversity of circumstances among Aboriginal groups and regions. This includes, for example, using more tri-partite based approaches that strengthen Aboriginal and government relationships. Another strategy is the creation of a community development approach that takes into account the varying sizes, resources and levels of political evolution of First Nations.

Budget 2010 announced that departmental operating budgets would be frozen at their 2010-11 level for the fiscal years 2011-12 and 2012-13. In order to address resource alignment risks, the Department sets priorities for each fiscal year and monitors expenditures and emerging pressures through regularly reporting in an effort to realign resources as required in a manner that best meets the needs of communities and supports the Department's mandate.

4. Significant changes in relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs

There were no significant changes in relation to Operations, Personnel and Programs during the first quarter of fiscal year 2011-12.

5. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved, as required by the Treasury Board Policy on Financial Resource Management, Information and Reporting:

_____________________________
Michael Wernick
Deputy Minister

_________________________
Susan MacGowan, CMA
Chief Financial Officer

Gatineau, Canada
August 22, 2011

Table 1

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)
  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
(in thousands of dollars) Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended
June 30, 2011
Year to date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2011* Used during the quarter ended
June 30, 2010
Year to date used at quarter-end
             
Vote 1 - Operating Expenditures 1,042,799 211,000 211,000 1,056,678 188,172 188,172
Vote 5 - Capital Expenditures 12,194 148 148 6,431 - -
Vote 10 - Transfer payments 6,067,689 1,464,692 1,464,692 6,187,116 1,434,144 1,434,144
             
(S) Budgetary statutory authorities: Operating Expenditures 75,821 17,923 17,923 69,622 18,427 18,427
(S) Budgetary statutory authorities: Transfer Payments 109,803 39,328 39,328 87,357 23,956 23,956
             
Total Budgetary authorities 7,308,306 1,733,091 1,733,091 7,407,204 1,664,699 1,664,699
             
Non-budgetary authorities 77,803 3,655 3,655 77,803 4,992 4,992
Total authorities 7,386,109 1,736,746 1,736,746 7,485,007 1,669,691 1,669,691

* Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Table 2

Statement of Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)
  Fiscal year 2011-2012 Fiscal year 2010-2011
(in thousands of dollars) Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2012
Expended during the quarter ended
June 30, 2011
Year to date used at quarter-end Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2011
Expended during the quarter ended
June 30, 2010
Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:            
01  Personnel 466,533 119,762 119,762 461,367 116,480 116,480
02  Transportation and communications 54,024 5,333 5,333 57,501 8,396 8,396
03  Information 13,748 400 400 22,364 741 741
04  Professional and special services 257,155 14,227 14,227 322,431 16,997 16,997
05  Rentals 11,525 940 940 12,338 1,036 1,036
06  Repair and maintenance 5,083 231 231 6,539 507 507
07  Utilities, materials and supplies 8,496 685 685 8,980 663 663
08  Acquisition of land, buildings and works 12,194 - - 6,431 - -
09  Acquisition of machinery and equipment 20,000 798 798 20,000 428 428
10  Transfer payments 6,177,492 1,504,019 1,504,019 6,274,473 1,458,101 1,458,101
12  Other subsidies and payments 282,056 86,696 86,696 214,780 61,350 61,350
Total budgetary expenditures 7,308,306 1,733,091 1,733,091 7,407,204 1,664,699 1,664,699

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Affaires autochones et Développement du Nord Canada - Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF   (1,667 Ko, 7 pages)

 


1. Introduction

1.1 Pouvoirs, mandat et activités de programme

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est l'un des ministères du gouvernement fédéral chargés de s'acquitter des obligations et engagements du gouvernement du Canada envers les Premières nations, les Inuits et les Métis et d'assumer les responsabilités constitutionnelles du gouvernement fédéral dans le Nord. Ses responsabilités sont en grande partie établies par divers textes législatifs, accords négociés et décisions légales. La plupart des programmes d'AADNC, qui génèrent la majorité de ses dépenses, sont exécutés dans le cadre de partenariats avec des collectivités autochtones et d'accords fédéraux‑provinciaux ou fédéraux‑territoriaux. Le Ministère travaille également avec les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits (dont bon nombre habitent dans des régions rurales) par l'entremise du Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral.

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction selon l'article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Dans ces budgets, l'appellation Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada a été conservée.

De plus amples détails sur les pouvoirs, le mandat et les activités de programme d'AADNC sont fournis dans la partie II du budget principal des dépenses   et dans le rapport sur les plans et priorités  .

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L'état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Ministère, de manière cohérente avec le budget principal des dépenses pour l'exercice 2011‑2012. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d'information financière à l'égard de l'utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l'autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l'entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l'entremise de lois, sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées. Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d'une élection générale, l'article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à émettre un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l'exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d'exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d'une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel n'a pas fait l'objet d'une vérification externe ou d'un examen.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

2.1 État des autorisations (tableau 1)

Le rapport financier trimestriel d'AADNC illustre les résultats de l'exercice courant en conformité avec le budget principal des dépenses et le budget supplémentaire (A), pour lequel la totalité des crédits ont été accordés le 27 juin 2011. Au 30 juin 2011, les autorisations totales disponibles se chiffraient à 7 386 M$, comparativement à 7 485 M$ à la même période l'année précédente, ce qui constitue une diminution de 99 M$, comme l'indique l'état des autorisations (tableau 1).

La diminution de 99 M$ affectant les autorisations totales est attribuable à la fois à la mise en place de nouveaux programmes, à l'amélioration de programmes existants et à l'arrivée à échéance de programmes à la fin de l'exercice 2010‑2011. Les augmentations et diminutions importantes sont présentées ci‑après :

  Programme Montant (millions $)
a. Mise en œuvre du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières nations 159
b. Financement visant à soutenir les obligations du gouvernement fédéral découlant de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens 155
c. Financement pour répondre à la demande croissante à l'égard des programmes destinés aux Indiens et aux Inuits visant à donner accès aux services de base, comme l'éducation et les services de soutien social 97
d. Financement pour les négociations, le règlement et la mise en œuvre des revendications particulières et globales 57
e. Financement pour soutenir le Fonds d'infrastructure des Premières nations 36
f. Financement pour soutenir le Programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières nations au Manitoba 35
g. Divers autres petits programmes 78
h. Financement dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada pour soutenir les investissements dans l'infrastructure des Premières nations (289)
i. Financement pour appuyer la mise en œuvre de la nouvelle station de recherche dans l'Extrême Arctique (52)
j. Financement lié à l'évaluation, à la gestion et à la restauration des sites contaminés (199)
k. Financement des initiatives appuyant le Programme de l'air pur du Canada (10)
l. Diminution liée à la dissolution du Parlement en vue d'une élection et donnant lieu à une courte période avant la suspension des travaux (Note 1) (166)
  Augmentation (diminution) totale des autorisations ministérielles (99)

Note 1 : La dissolution du Parlement a modifié la structure du processus entourant le budget des dépenses; seul le financement pour couvrir les augmentations absolument nécessaires aux autorisations de subvention a été reçu durant le premier trimestre de l'exercice.

2.2       État des dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (tableau 2)

On constate une augmentation de 68 M$ dans les dépenses ministérielles au cours du premier trimestre de 2011‑2012, comparativement à la même période en 2010‑2011. Cette augmentation est principalement attribuable à une augmentation de 46 M$ dans les paiements de transfert (article courant 10) accordée en vue de soutenir un accord de règlement sur l'autonomie gouvernementale (18 M$), le règlement d'une revendication territoriale globale (15 M$) ainsi que le programme Nutrition Nord Canada (13 M$), autrefois appelé Aliments‑poste.

Les dépenses liées aux autres subventions et paiements (article courant 12) ont également augmenté (18 M$) afin de couvrir les paiements découlant des décisions rendues dans le cadre du Processus d'évaluation indépendant et du Mode alternatif de règlement des conflits du Ministère. Les augmentations visant les autres articles courants se chiffrent à 4 M$.

Comparaison des autorisations et dépenses budgétaires au 30 juin

La version textuelle de ce diagramme se trouve sur une page séparée.

3. Risques et incertitudes

3.1 Risques et incertitudes

Le contexte opérationnel d'AADNC est complexe, puisque le Ministère finance des programmes et des services destinés à divers groupes de personnes (Premières nations, Inuits, Métis et résidants du Nord) qui ont des priorités et des besoins diversifiés et distincts et qui proviennent d'une gamme étendue de collectivités partout au pays, des établissements éloignés où sévissent des conditions climatiques extrêmes aux zones urbaines métropolitaines. Pour ajouter à la complexité de cet environnement opérationnel, la plupart des services sont offerts en partenariat avec les collectivités autochtones, les provinces et les territoires. Bon nombre sont en réalité dispensés par des fournisseurs de services communautaires indépendants, qui n'ont pas tous la même capacité à offrir ces services efficacement.

Les décisions de la Cour suprême et des autres tribunaux concernant les droits ancestraux et issus de traités continuent d'avoir des répercussions sérieuses sur le mandat du Ministère et les mesures qu'il prend pour s'acquitter des obligations légales de la Couronne. Ces décisions peuvent également créer un passif financier considérable. Pour tenir compte de ces risques légaux, le Ministère a pris part à diverses activités et initiatives durant le trimestre, notamment la participation active au groupe de travail interministériel (niveau des SMA) sur la gestion des risques juridiques et la gestion intégrée des risques, la négociation d'accords sur les revendications territoriales globales et particulières et l'autonomie gouvernementale, ainsi que la poursuite des travaux liés au Plan d'action pour les sites contaminés fédéraux.

Des situations urgentes imprévues, plus graves que ce à quoi on pourrait s'attendre et entraînant des coûts sans précédent — comme les récents incendies de forêt et les inondations en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba en Ontario — peuvent avoir des conséquences désastreuses sur la santé et la sécurité des collectivités autochtones et sérieusement affecter la façon dont AADNC s'acquitte de ses obligations et réalise son mandat. AADNC doit s'assurer qu'il possède l'information pertinente nécessaire pour prendre des décisions, qu'il est capable de donner suite aux situations urgentes et que ses ressources sont financées et adéquatement harmonisées pour pouvoir soutenir les collectivités à risque tout en continuant de réaliser son mandat de façon efficace et rentable.

3.2 Stratégies d'atténuation des risques

Les stratégies d'atténuation des risques doivent être mieux adaptées à la diversité des circonstances propres aux groupes autochtones et aux régions. Pour ce faire, on privilégie le recours accru aux approches tripartites qui renforcent les relations entre les Autochtones et le gouvernement, de même que l'élaboration d'approches du développement communautaire qui tiennent compte des différences de taille, de ressources et de degré d'évolution politique des Premières nations.

Dans le budget de 2010, on annonçait que les budgets de fonctionnement des ministères pour 2012‑2013 et 2013‑2014 seraient gelés au niveau de 2010‑2011. Pour prévoir les risques au plan de l'harmonisation des ressources, le Ministère établit ses priorités en prévision de chaque exercice et surveille les dépenses et les nouvelles pressions au moyen de rapports réguliers pour pouvoir réaligner les ressources et ainsi mieux répondre aux besoins des collectivités et soutenir la réalisation de son mandat.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Aucun changement important n'a été apporté quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes durant le premier trimestre de 2011‑2012.

5. Approbation des cadres supérieurs

Le rapport a été approuvé, comme l'exige la Politique sur la gestion financière des ressources, l'information et les rapports financiers, comme suit :

_____________________________
Michael Wernick
Sous-ministre

_________________________
Susan MacGowan, CMA
Dirigeante principale des finances

Gatineau, Canada
22 août 2011

Tableau 1

État des autorisations (non vérifié)
  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
(en milliers de dollars) Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011* Crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre se terminant le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
             
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 1 042 799 211 000 211 000 1 056 678 188 172 188 172
Crédit 5 – Dépenses en capital 12 194 148 148 6 431 - -
Crédit 10 – Paiements de transfert 6 067 689 1 464 692 1 464 692 6 187 116 1 434 144 1 434 144
             
(L) Autorisations législatives budgétaires : dépenses de fonctionnement 75 821 17 923 17 923 69 622 18 427 18 427
(L) Autorisations législatives budgétaires : paiements de transfert 109 803 39 328 39 328 87 357 23 956 23 956
             
Autorisations budgétaires totales 7 308 306 1 733 091 1 733 091 7 407 204 1 664 699 1 664 699
             
Autorisations non budgétaires 77 803 3 655 3 655 77 803 4 992 4 992
Total des autorisations 7 386 109 1 736 746 1 736 746 7 485 007 1 669 691 1 669 691

* Comprend seulement les autorisations disponibles et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Tableau 2

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)
  Exercice 2011-2012 Exercice 2010-2011
(en milliers de dollars) Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2011 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2010 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses            
01 Personnel 466 533 119 762 119 762 461 367 116 480 116 480
02 Transports et communications 54 024 5 333 5 333 57 501 8 396 8 396
03 Information 13 748 400 400 22 364 741 741
04 Services professionnels et spéciaux 257 155 14 227 14 227 322 431 16 997 16 997
05 Location 11 525 940 940 12 338 1 036 1 036
06 Services de réparation et d'entretien 5 083 231 231 6 539 507 507
07 Matériel et fournitures 8 496 685 685 8 980 663 663
08 Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 12 194 - - 6 431 - -
09 Acquisition de terrains, de bâtiments et ouvrages 20 000 798 798 20 000 428 428
10 Paiements de transfert 6 177 492 1 504 019 1 504 019 6 274 473 1 458 101 1 458 101
12 Autres subventions et paiements 282 056 86 696 86 696 214 780 61 350 61 350
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 7 308 306 1 733 091 1 733 091 7 407 204 1 664 699 1 664 699

 

Date de modification :