Department's Response to the National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The National Assessment

The National Assessment is the most comprehensive and rigorous survey ever undertaken of First Nation water and wastewater systems by a federal government. From July 2009 to spring 2011, independent engineers inspected 4,000 on-reserve systems including 1,300 water and wastewater systems and more than 800 wells and 1,900 septic fields serving 571 First Nation communities.

Subsequently, using Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's (AANDC) Risk Level Evaluation Guidelines, the independent contractor assigned a risk rating to each of the 807 water and 532 wastewater systems inspected.

Additionally, the contractor also provided cost estimates and overall recommendations to assist AANDC with its future financial planning and decision-making processes.

The National Assessment shows an increase in the number of high risk water systems compared to previous reporting. A water or wastewater systems risk rating is a measure of overall system management risk, not necessarily of water safety or quality.

The National Assessment results show the majority of risk is due to capacity issues, although infrastructure issues and lack of enforceable standards are also a factor.

The results highlight the need to work with First Nations to develop a detailed strategy to address these issues. The Government of Canada will work in partnership with First Nations to address training and capacity issues; make better use of new technologies for water and wastewater treatment and for remote monitoring of systems; and to develop and implement a regulatory regime for water and wastewater on reserve through legislation.

The Canada-Ontario First Nations Pilot to Improve Drinking Water Quality is a good example of how we are working with communities to find solutions other than prohibitively costly centralised piped systems.

AANDC's response to the findings of the National Assessment will be further adapted as the department analyzes the results and engages with First Nations and other stakeholders.

Key Findings

Risk Assessment

Water Systems:

Of the 807 water systems inspected, 39 per cent were classified as high overall risk, 34 per cent were labelled medium overall risk and 27 per cent were categorized as low overall risk.

Wastewater Systems:

For the 532 wastewater systems inspected, 14 per cent were evaluated as high overall risk, 51 per cent as medium overall risk, and 35 per cent as low overall risk.

It is important to note that a risk rating of a water or wastewater system is a measure of overall system management risk, not of water safety or quality. Operation and Maintenance (O&M), operator qualification, and record keeping account for 60 per cent of the risk measured. This underscores the vital importance of having trained and certified operators for reducing risk and helping to ensure safe drinking water in First Nations communities.

Costs

The National Assessment also estimated AANDC's financial cost to meet its protocols for safe water and wastewater and the cost, over ten years, of ensuring that First Nation water and wastewater systems are able to grow with communities to meet their needs. The contractor's projected estimated servicing cost, including $1.2 billion to meet AANDC's current protocols, is $4.7 billion.

Of this, the contractor also estimated future servicing costs in excess of $60,000 per home for 55 per cent of the communities.

As this cost per home is high, the contractor also recognized that, at a certain point, the cost of providing a typical servicing solution may begin to exceed the benefits of that solution.

While increasing funding for capital projects may seem like the most obvious solution, design risks only account for 30 per cent of the risk identified in high risk systems.

AANDC's Response to the National Assessment

AANDC's response to the National Assessment findings and recommendations builds on existing programs and initiatives to support First Nation communities in providing residents with the same quality of safe, reliable, and healthy drinking water as other Canadians.

The response identifies immediate activities and future opportunities for action in three key areas:

Between 2006-2007 and 2012-2013, the Government of Canada will have spent approximately $2.5 billion to support First Nation communities improve water and wastewater systems through investments in infrastructure, developing enforceable standards and protocols and capacity building and training.

This includes approximately $1.25 billion in water and wastewater infrastructure funding AANDC transferred to First Nations and First Nation organizations, between April 1, 2006 and March 31, 2010. A total of 130 major water and wastewater projects that cost over $1.5 million were completed over this four year period. Almost 120,000 individuals living in these First Nation communities have benefitted from these investments.

Already this year investments in 15 water systems the National Assessment identified as having a high risk and high overall risk rating are planned or underway, and an additional 57 are planned over the following four years.

At this point in time, response activities will be implemented through existing budgets and regulatory measures.

Key Activities by Priority Area

Infrastructure Investments: Improving technologies and partnerships to ensure the best use of infrastructure funding

  • On July 6, 2011, the Governments of Canada and Ontario announced the Canada-Ontario First Nations Pilot to Improve Drinking Water Quality, a new joint three-year initiative harnessing innovative and alternative drinking water systems to improve water quality in Ontario First Nation communities. If successful, these technologies may be applied to improve on-reserve water systems in First Nation communities across the country.
  • AANDC will work with willing First Nation partners on developing shared water services agreements with municipalities. A two-year project is underway with the Federation of Canadian Municipalities to provide tools and best practices to help First Nations and municipalities develop shared water services.
  • Given the need for the federal government to prioritize investments, we will work with partners to develop cost-effective and sustainable solutions for the provision of water and wastewater systems.
  • AANDC will work with First Nations to develop an initiative to bring existing wells up to standards. In particular, special attention is required to remediate wells serving community buildings such as schools, daycares and band offices.
  • Budget 2010 committed the federal government to review, in partnership with First Nations, the current approach to financing First Nations infrastructure, in order to establish a life-cycle approach to funding capital assets and place the financing system of on-reserve community infrastructure on better footing.

Enhanced Capacity Building and Training

  • AANDC will work with First Nation organizations to restructure the Circuit Rider Training Program (CRTP) in order to: improve program delivery consistency; clarify performance standards and provide direction on the frequency of visits to First Nations; and ensure that trainers have clear minimum qualifications.
  • AANDC is funding the Circuit Rider Trainer Professional Association (CRTPA) to host an annual conference to support professional development and share best practices.

Enforceable Standards and Protocols

  • Following the receipt of the National Assessment measures to strengthen water and wastewater inspection processes and to increase national consistency were immediately implemented.
  • Until there is legislation in place, current standards and protocols will be reviewed, clarified and updated in the short-term to bolster water and wastewater protection in First Nation communities.
  • Legislation will enable the Government of Canada to collaborate with First Nations and other stakeholders to develop a regulatory regime for on-reserve water and wastewater.

Next Steps:

This is an immediate response to the findings of the National Assessment and will be revised further as the department analyzes the results and engages with First Nations and other stakeholders. As this response plan indicates, given the need to prioritize investments, AANDC will work with First Nation partners to develop cost-effective and sustainable solutions. This work will be informed by the unprecedented reference tool the National Assessment provides. The Government of Canada is moving forward with water legislation.

Date modified:

Réponse du ministère à l'Évaluation nationale des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations

L'Évaluation nationale

L'Évaluation nationale se veut l'étude la plus exhaustive et rigoureuse des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout des collectivités des Premières Nations réalisée jusqu'ici par un gouvernement fédéral. Entre juillet 2009 et le printemps 2011, des ingénieurs indépendants ont procédé à l'inspection de 4 000 réseaux situés dans les réserves, dont 1 300 réseaux d'aqueduc et d'égout ainsi que plus de 800 puits et 1 900 fosses septiques qui répondent aux besoins des 571 collectivités des Premières Nations.

En s'appuyant sur les Directives sur l'évaluation du niveau de risque d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), l'entrepreneur indépendant a par la suite attribué une cote de risque à chacun des 807 réseaux d'aqueduc et des 532 réseaux d'égout inspectés.

L'entrepreneur a également fourni les coûts estimatifs et formulé des recommandations globales afin d'aider AADNC dans sa planification financière et ses prises de décisions.

Les résultats de l'Évaluation nationale montrent une augmentation du nombre de réseaux d'eau présentant un risque élevé comparativement aux rapports précédents. La cote de risque attribuée à un système d'aqueduc ou d'égout est une mesure du risque global associé à la gestion du réseau et ne traduit pas nécessairement la salubrité ou la qualité de l'eau.

Les résultats de l'Évaluation nationale indiquent que la plupart des risques sont liés à des questions de capacité, bien que les questions d'infrastructure et le manque de normes exécutoires soient également des facteurs de risque.

Les résultats soulignent le besoin de collaborer avec les Premières Nations pour élaborer une stratégie détaillée afin de régler ces problèmes. Le gouvernement du Canada travaillera en partenariat avec les Premières Nations pour régler les questions liées à la formation et à la capacité, faire un meilleur usage des nouvelles technologies pour l'approvisionnement en eau et le traitement des eaux usées et les systèmes de surveillance à distance, et élaborer et mettre en œuvre un régime réglementaire sur l'approvisionnement en eau et le traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves par l'adoption de mesures législatives.

Le Projet pilote Canada-Ontario pour l'amélioration de la qualité de l'eau potable dans les Premières Nations est un bon exemple de la manière dont nous travaillons avec les collectivités pour trouver des solutions autres que la construction de réseaux centralisés canalisés extrêmement coûteux.

La réponse d'AADNC aux constatations de l'Évaluation nationale sera adaptée davantage au fil de l'analyse des résultats et des consultations que mènera le Ministère auprès des Premières Nations et des autres intervenants.

Principales constatations

Évaluation des risques

Réseaux d'aqueduc :

Des 807 réseaux d'aqueduc inspectés, 39 % présentaient un risque global élevé, 34 %, un risque global moyen, et 27 %, un risque global faible.

Réseaux d'égout :

Des 532 réseaux d'égout inspectés, 14 % présentaient un risque global élevé, 51 %, un risque global moyen, et 35 %, un risque global faible.

Il est important de souligner que la cote de risque attribuée à un réseau d'aqueduc ou d'égout est une mesure du risque global lié à la gestion du réseau et non une mesure de la salubrité ou de la qualité de l'eau. Le fonctionnement et l'entretien, les compétences de l'opérateur et la tenue des dossiers comptent pour 60 % du risque mesuré. Il est donc primordial que les opérateurs soient dûment formés et accrédités si l'on veut réduire les risques et contribuer à assurer la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Coûts

Dans le cadre de l'Évaluation nationale, on a également estimé ce qu'il en coûterait à AADNC pour respecter ses protocoles sur l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées ainsi que ce qu'il en coûterait au Ministère, sur une période de 10 ans, pour assurer que les systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout des Premières Nations peuvent s'adapter à la croissance des collectivités afin de répondre à leurs besoins. L'entrepreneur a évalué les coûts d'entretien courant à 4,7 milliards de dollars, montant qui inclut la somme de 1,2 milliard de dollars nécessaire pour respecter les protocoles actuels d'AADNC.

Ce montant comprend également l'estimation des coûts futurs d'entretien courant dans 55 % des collectivités, lesquels s'élèvent à plus de 60 000 $ par logement.

Ce coût par logement étant élevé, l'entrepreneur a reconnu que les coûts associés à la mise en place d'une solution usuelle de l'entretien courant pourraient, à un certain moment, dépasser les avantages de cette solution.

Bien qu'une augmentation du financement des projets d'immobilisations puisse sembler la solution la plus évidente, les risques liés à la conception ne comptent en fait que pour 30 % du risque évalué pour les réseaux présentant un risque élevé.

Réponse d'AADNC à l'Évaluation nationale

La réponse d'AADNC aux constatations et aux recommandations de l'Évaluation nationale s'appuie sur les initiatives et les programmes existants qui aident les collectivités des Premières Nations à fournir à leurs résidants une eau potable salubre et fiable, de la même qualité que celle dont jouissent les autres Canadiens.

La réponse du Ministère établit les activités immédiates ainsi que les futures possibilités d'action dans trois principaux secteurs :

Entre 2006-2007 et 2012-2013, le gouvernement du Canada aura dépensé environ 2,5 milliards de dollars pour aider les collectivités des Premières Nations à améliorer leurs systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout grâce à des investissements dans l'infrastructure, à l'adoption de normes et de protocoles exécutoires ainsi qu'au renforcement des capacités et à la formation.

Cela comprend un financement des infrastructures d'aqueduc et d'égout de près de 1,25 milliard de dollars qu'AADNC a transféré aux Premières Nations et aux organisations des Premières Nations entre le 1er avril 2006 et le 31 mars 2010. Au total, 130 projets majeurs d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées, qui ont coûté plus de 1,5 million de dollars, ont été réalisés au cours de cette période de quatre ans. Quelque 120 000 personnes résidant dans ces collectivités des Premières Nations bénéficient de ces investissements.

Déjà cette année, des investissements sont prévus ou engagés dans 15 réseaux d'aqueduc évalués comme présentant un risque élevé et ayant reçu une cote de risque global élevé dans le cadre de l'Évaluation nationale. On prévoit également des investissements dans 57 autres réseaux au cours des quatre prochaines années.

Pour le moment, la mise en œuvre des activités établies dans la réponse du Ministère sera financée à même les budgets existants et s'appuiera sur les mesures réglementaires existantes.

Activités principales par secteur prioritaire

Investissements dans l'infrastructure : amélioration des technologies et des partenariats pour garantir l'utilisation optimale des fonds pour l'infrastructure

  • Le 6 juillet 2011, les gouvernements du Canada et de l'Ontario ont annoncé la mise sur pied du Projet pilote Canada-Ontario pour l'amélioration de la qualité de l'eau potable dans les Premières Nations, une nouvelle initiative conjointe de trois ans misant sur des réseaux novateurs et modernes d'approvisionnement en eau potable pour améliorer la qualité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations de l'Ontario. Si le projet est couronné de succès, ces nouvelles technologies pourront être utilisées pour améliorer les systèmes d'aqueduc dans les réserves, et ce, dans les collectivités des Premières Nations partout au pays.
  • Avec les partenaires des Premières Nations qui le désirent, AADNC travaillera à l'élaboration d'ententes de services d'eau partagés avec les municipalités. Un projet de deux ans est en cours avec la Fédération canadienne des municipalités visant à fournir aux Premières Nations et aux municipalités des outils et des pratiques exemplaires pour les aider à mettre sur pied des services d'aqueduc et d'égout partagés.
  • Étant donné que le gouvernement fédéral doit établir l'ordre de priorité de ses investissements, nous collaborerons avec des partenaires à la conception de solutions rentables et viables en ce qui concerne les systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout.
  • AADNC travaillera avec les Premières Nations à la mise sur pied d'une initiative visant à rendre les puits existants conformes aux normes. Il faut notamment porter une attention particulière à la décontamination des puits qui desservent les édifices communautaires comme les écoles, les garderies et les bureaux des bandes.
  • Dans le budget de 2010, le gouvernement fédéral s'engageait à examiner, en partenariat avec les Premières Nations, l'approche actuelle au financement des infrastructures des Premières Nations. L'objectif est de mettre au point une approche du cycle de vie pour le financement des immobilisations et de donner plus de stabilité au système de financement des infrastructures dans les réserves.

Amélioration du renforcement des capacités et de la formation

  • En collaboration avec les organisations des Premières Nations, AADNC apportera des changements au Programme de formation itinérante afin d'améliorer l'uniformité de la prestation des programmes, de préciser les normes de rendement, de fournir une orientation sur la fréquence des visites aux Premières Nations et de s'assurer que les formateurs possèdent les qualifications minimales requises.
  • AADNC finance l'Association professionnelle des formateurs itinérants afin qu'elle accueille une conférence annuelle destinée à favoriser le perfectionnement professionnel et l'échange de pratiques exemplaires.

Normes et protocoles exécutoires

  • Après la réception de l'Évaluation nationale, les mesures visant à renforcer les processus relatifs aux inspections des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout et à accroître l'uniformité à l'échelle nationale ont été mises en œuvre immédiatement.
  • Jusqu'à ce qu'une loi soit adoptée, les normes et les protocoles actuels seront révisés, précisés et mis à jour afin de renforcer la protection des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.
  • La loi permettra au gouvernement du Canada de collaborer avec les Premières Nations et d'autres intervenants à l'élaboration de règlements régissant l'approvisionnement en eau et le traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves.

Prochaines étapes :

Ce plan constitue une réponse immédiate aux constatations de l'Évaluation nationale. Il sera révisé de nouveau au fil de l'analyse des résultats et des échanges entre le Ministère, les Premières Nations et les autres intervenants. Comme l'indique le présent plan, étant donné qu'il faut établir l'ordre de priorité des investissements, AADNC travaillera avec les partenaires des Premières Nations à l'élaboration de solutions rentables et viables, en s'appuyant sur l'outil de référence sans précédent que constitue l'évaluation nationale. Le gouvernement du Canada va de l'avant avec le projet de loi sur l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées.

Date de modification :