Fact Sheet - Mediation Services for Claim Negotiations

Negotiations continue to be Canada's first choice for resolving claims. Concrete results have been achieved to date to speed up claims resolution. As part of these overall efforts, a new approach is being put in place to ensure better access to mediation for the parties involved in these negotiations.

Delivering on a commitment to speed up claims resolution

This new approach to mediation delivers on a commitment made in Canada's Specific Claims Action Plan.  First Nations asked for a faster process with better access to mediation and Canada is now making it easier and faster for individual negotiating tables to engage the services of independent mediators.

These mediation services will be available primarily for specific claim negotiating tables on an "as-requested" basis. However, these services may also be accessed, on a case-by-case basis, by Canada and Aboriginal parties at individual negotiating tables for comprehensive claims, self-government and other agreements. 

Cost-effective measure to help negotiators reach a resolution

Mediation is a cost-effective tool that can be used to help parties in a dispute to reach mutually beneficial agreements. Canada recognizes that this tool should be used more often to support claim negotiations and supports increasing its use. In cases where negotiations stall, Canada and First Nations will now have the option to jointly ask an independent mediator to help them find a common solution.

Both parties must agree to mediation services and which mediator to use

Four regional rosters of independent and experienced mediators are being developed through an open competitive selection process. The parties to the negotiation, Canada and the First Nation, must first agree to seek mediation services and both parties must agree upon which mediator on the roster they will use and the scope of the services to be provided. This would include a set time period and the specific issues for the mediation. The independent mediator will report directly to the negotiating table.

The goal is to have this service available to negotiation tables by fall 2011.

The benefits of resolving claims through negotiations

The Government of Canada believes that the best way to resolve outstanding claims is through negotiated settlements. Negotiated settlements lead to "win-win" situations that balance the interests of all Canadians and bring closure, benefits and certainty to all concerned.

You may also be interested in…

Fiche d'information - Accès à des services de médiation dans le cadre des négociations relatives aux revendications

Le gouvernement du Canada continue de privilégier la négociation pour régler les revendications. À date nous avons obtenu des résultats concrets afin d’accélérer le règlement des revendications. Dans le cadre de ces efforts généraux, on met actuellement en place une nouvelle approche afin de faciliter l’accès à la médiation pour les parties aux négociations.

Faire suite à l’engagement d’accélérer le règlement des revendications

Cette nouvelle approche de la médiation fait suite à un engagement présenté dans le Plan d’action relatif aux revendications particulières du Canada. Les Premières Nations ont demandé qu’on mette au point un processus plus rapide facilitant l’accès à la médiation. Par conséquent, le Canada simplifie et accélère les processus par lesquels les tables de négociation peuvent retenir les services d’un médiateur indépendant.

Les services de médiation seront d’abord disponibles pour les tables de négociation des revendications particulières qui en font la demande. Cependant, le Canada et les groupes autochtones qui participent à des tables de négociation des revendications globales, de l’autonomie gouvernementale et des autres ententes auront aussi accès à ces services selon le principe du cas par cas.

Mesures rentables aidant les négociateurs à conclure un règlement

La médiation est un outil rentable qu’on peut utiliser pour aider les parties en conflit à conclure des accords mutuellement avantageux. Le Canada reconnaît que cet outil devrait être utilisé plus souvent pour soutenir les négociations des revendications, et il en appuie une utilisation accrue. Désormais, lorsqu’une négociation sera dans une impasse, le Canada et les Premières Nations auront la possibilité de faire appel conjointement à un médiateur indépendant pour les aider à trouver une solution commune.

Les deux parties doivent s’entendre sur l’utilisation de la médiation et sur le choix du médiateur

On dressera quatre listes régionales de médiateurs indépendants d’expérience au moyen d’un processus de sélection ouvert et concurrentiel. Les parties aux négociations, le Canada et la Première Nation, doivent d’abord accepter de faire appel aux services de médiation et doivent toutes deux s'entendre sur le choix du médiateur présent sur la liste, ainsi que sur la portée des services offerts, notamment l’établissement d’un calendrier de médiation et une liste des points à aborder. Le médiateur indépendant rendra des comptes directement à la table de négociation.

Notre objectif est que ce service soit offert aux tables de négociation dès l'automne 2011.

Les avantages de résoudre les revendications par la négociation

Le gouvernement du Canada croit que les règlements négociés constituent le meilleur moyen de résoudre les revendications en suspens. Les règlements négociés mènent à des solutions avantageuses pour tous qui tiennent compte des intérêts de l’ensemble des Canadiens en plus de permettre aux parties concernées de tourner la page tout en leur offrant des avantages et de la certitude.

Autres liens d’intérêt