Frequently Asked Questions - About Mediation Services for Claim Negotiations

Why mediation services for claims negotiations?

In June 2007, Canada announced its Specific Claims Action Plan, a decisive new approach to speed up the resolution of specific claims in order to provide justice to First Nations and certainty for all Canadians. As part of these overall efforts, a new approach is being put in place to ensure better access to mediation for the parties involved in these negotiations.

Negotiations continue to be Canada's first choice for resolving claims. Mediation is a cost-effective tool that can help parties in a dispute find a common solution. Canada recognizes that this tool should be used more often to support negotiations and supports increasing its use.

What is mediation?

Mediation is an important and valuable mechanism to assist the parties in a dispute to overcome obstacles or impasses and reach negotiated agreements.

Mediators employ various tools, including facilitated communications, problem-solving and option-building to help the negotiating parties to effectively and efficiently reach mutually acceptable agreements and settlements.  Mediators do not have the authority to impose binding solutions, but instead encourage the parties to resolve issues collaboratively.

Who will provide these mediation services?

These services will be provided by experienced and independent professional mediators with extensive knowledge of dispute resolution.  Four regional rosters are being developed through an open, competitive Request-for-Proposals procurement process. Having these new rosters in place will make it easier and faster for individual negotiating tables to engage the services of independent mediators.

When will mediation services be used?

Mediation services will be used only when all parties to the negotiation voluntarily agree to enlist those services. The decision to seek help from a mediator is a joint one to be made by the parties involved in the negotiation.

How will negotiating tables get access to mediators?

The parties to the individual negotiation table will jointly select a mediator from the roster and will jointly determine the scope of the services to be provided. The mediator will report directly to the negotiation table. The principles of independence, impartiality, accessibility and partnership will guide the mediation process.

Can only specific claim tables access these mediation services?

These mediation services will be primarily available for specific claim negotiating tables on an "as-requested" basis.  However, these services may also be accessed, on a case-by-case basis, by Canada and Aboriginal parties at individual negotiating tables for comprehensive claims, self-government and other agreements. 

What if only one of the parties (the First Nation, for example) wants mediation?

All parties to the negotiation need to agree to seek assistance from a mediator.  This needs to be a joint decision by the parties involved in the negotiation.

What about cases where the provincial/territorial governments are involved in claim negotiations?

Participation in mediation is voluntary and needs to be agreed upon by all parties to a negotiation in order to succeed.  If mediation is proposed in a case where a provincial/territorial government is a party to a negotiating table, their participation would be sought in the process.  If the negotiating table wishes to select a mediator from the roster, the provincial/territorial government would be consulted on the selection of the mediator and in the determination of the scope of services to be provided. 

At which stages of a dispute can mediation be used?

Mediation can be used at any stage in the negotiations where the parties have reached an impasse or disagree on an issue that could be overcome with the help of a mediator. This option can be chosen as the first step towards seeking a resolution of the dispute after any negotiations conducted by the parties alone have failed or they have encountered a specific obstacle. The decision to use mediation is a voluntary one.

When will these services be available?

The goal is to have this service available to negotiation tables by fall 2011.

Who will pay the cost?

As a general rule, Canada will pay the costs of the mediator's services.  If a province/territorial government is party to the negotiations, a cost-sharing arrangement may be considered.

Which negotiation tables need mediation? Are there individual tables that you expect will use these services?

It is up to the negotiation tables themselves to jointly determine first whether they need mediation, and then to agree on the selection of a mediator and the scope of the mediation.  This would include a set time period and the specific issues for the mediation.  The mediator would report directly to the negotiating table.

Most claim negotiations are successful.

Will Canada trigger mediation as a de facto means of meeting the 3 year time frame for negotiating specific claim settlements?

No.  The decision to seek help from a mediator is a joint one to be made by the parties involved in the negotiation – the First Nation and Canada.  It is an option that can now be pursued if negotiations have stalled and both parties agree that mediation is needed to help them find a common solution.

This new approach to mediation delivers on a commitment made in 2007 in Canada's Specific Claims Action Plan. First Nations asked for a faster process with better access to mediation.  Canada is acting to make it easier and faster for negotiating tables to engage the services of independent mediators.

What are the benefits of settling claims through negotiation?

The Government of Canada believes that the best way to resolve outstanding claims is through negotiated settlements. Negotiated agreements lead to "win-win" solutions that balance the interests of all Canadians and bring closure, benefits and certainty to all concerned.

Foire aux questions - À propos de l'accès à des services de médiation dans le cadre des négociations relatives aux revendications

Pourquoi offrir des services de médiation dans le cadre des négociations relatives aux revendications?

En juin 2007, le Canada a annoncé son Plan d'action relatif aux revendications particulières, une nouvelle approche déterminante afin d'accélérer le règlement des revendications particulières, et ce, pour faire justice aux Premières Nations et assurer la certitude pour tous les Canadiens. Dans le cadre de ces efforts généraux, on met actuellement en place une nouvelle approche afin de faciliter l’accès à la médiation pour les parties aux négociations.

Le gouvernement du Canada continue de privilégier la négociation pour régler les revendications. La médiation est un outil rentable qu’on peut utiliser pour aider les parties en conflit à trouver une solution commune. Le Canada reconnaît que cet outil devrait servir plus souvent à soutenir les négociations, et il en appuie une utilisation accrue.

Qu'est-ce que la médiation?

La médiation est un mécanisme important et précieux pour aider les parties en conflit à surmonter les obstacles ou à dénouer les impasses dans les négociations afin de conclure un accord négocié.

Les médiateurs utilisent divers outils, y compris les communications facilitées, la résolution de problèmes et l’élaboration d’options, pour aider les parties aux négociations à conclure efficacement des accords et règlements avantageux pour tous. Les médiateurs n’ont pas le pouvoir d’imposer des solutions ayant force exécutoire. Ils encouragent plutôt les parties à résoudre leurs problèmes par la collaboration.

Qui fournira ces services de médiation?

Ces services seront offerts par des médiateurs professionnels indépendants d’expérience qui possèdent une connaissance approfondie de la résolution de conflits. On dressera quatre listes régionales au moyen d’un processus de demandes de proposition ouvert et concurrentiel. Grâce à ces nouvelles listes, les tables de négociations pourront plus facilement et plus rapidement retenir les services d’un médiateur indépendant.

À quel moment utilisera-t-on les services de médiation?

On fera appel aux services de médiation seulement si toutes les parties aux négociations en conviennent ainsi. La décision de recourir à l’aide d’un médiateur est une décision conjointe qui doit être prise par les parties aux négociations.

Par quel processus les tables de négociation auront-elles accès aux médiateurs?

Les parties à la table de négociation choisiront ensemble un médiateur dans la liste et décideront conjointement de la portée des services à demander. Le médiateur rendra des comptes directement à la table de négociation. Le processus de médiation s’appuiera sur les principes d’indépendance, d’objectivité, d’accessibilité et de partenariat.

Les services de médiation sont-ils réservés aux tables de négociation des revendications particulières?

Les services de médiation seront d’abord disponibles pour les tables de négociation des revendications particulières qui en font la demande. Cependant, le Canada et les groupes autochtones qui participent à des tables de négociation des revendications globales, de l’autonomie gouvernementale et des autres ententes auront aussi accès à ces services selon le principe du cas par cas.

Qu’arrive-t-il si une seule partie, par exemple la Première Nation, souhaite avoir recours à la médiation?

Il est nécessaire que toutes les parties aux négociations conviennent de faire appel à un médiateur. Cette décision doit être prise conjointement par les parties.

Qu’en est-il des cas où les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux participent aux négociations entourant la revendication?

La participation à un processus de médiation est facultative, et toutes les parties doivent convenir d’y participer pour le mener à bien. Lorsqu’on propose de recourir à la médiation et qu’un gouvernement provincial ou territorial est partie à la table de négociation visée, il sera consulté quant à sa participation. Si la table désire faire appel à un médiateur de la liste, le gouvernement provincial ou territorial concerné devra être consulté sur le choix du médiateur et la portée des services demandés.

À quelles étapes peut-on recourir à la médiation?

Il est possible d’avoir recours à la médiation à n’importe quel stade des négociations si les parties sont dans une impasse ou ne parviennent pas à s’entendre sur un point qu’un médiateur pourrait aider à résoudre. Cette option peut constituer la première étape vers un règlement si les parties n’ont pu s’entendre en négociant ou si elles font face à un obstacle précis. La médiation est un processus volontaire.

Quand ces services seront-ils disponibles?

Notre objectif est d’offrir ce service aux tables de négociation dès l'automne 2011.

Qui assumera le coût des services de médiation?

En règle générale, le Canada assumera le coût des services de médiation. Si un gouvernement provincial ou territorial est partie aux négociations, il est possible qu’on envisage un partage de coûts.

Quelles tables de négociation doivent recourir à la médiation? Vous attendez-vous à ce que certaines tables le fassent?

Il appartient aux parties à la table de négociation de décider si elles doivent avoir recours à la médiation, et de s’entendre sur le choix d’un médiateur et sur la portée du processus, notamment l’établissement d’un calendrier de médiation et une liste des points à aborder. Le médiateur rendra des comptes directement à la table de négociation.

La plupart des processus de négociations sont couronnés de succès.

Le Canada rendra-t-il la médiation obligatoire dans le but de respecter le délai de trois ans établi pour la négociation des revendications particulières?

Non. La décision de faire appel à un médiateur est une décision conjointe prise par les parties aux négociations, c’est-à-dire, la Première Nation et le Canada. Désormais, les parties peuvent avoir recours à la médiation si les négociations sont dans une impasse et qu’elles conviennent toutes deux de la nécessité de la médiation pour parvenir à une solution commune.

Cette nouvelle approche de la médiation fait suite à un engagement du Plan d’action relatif aux revendications particulières du Canada en 2007. Les Premières Nations ont demandé qu’on mette au point un processus plus rapide qui facilite l’accès à la médiation. Par conséquent, le Canada prend des mesures pour simplifier et accélérer les processus par lesquels les tables de négociation peuvent retenir les services d’un médiateur indépendant.

Quels sont les avantages qui découlent des règlements négociés?

Le gouvernement du Canada croit que les règlements négociés constituent le meilleur moyen de résoudre les revendications en suspens. Les règlements négociés mènent à des solutions avantageuses pour tous qui tiennent compte des intérêts de l’ensemble des Canadiens en plus de permettre aux parties concernées de tourner la page tout en leur offrant des avantages et de la certitude.