ARCHIVED - e-Bulletin, Issue 12 - June 2011

Archive: This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Did you miss an edition of the e-Bulletin? If so, you can read it in the INAC media room

– A summary of recent Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada announcements, opportunities and initiatives –

Department Name Change

Following the May 2011 federal election, Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced that Minister John Duncan will be Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development. The Minister’s statutory responsibilities and the department’s mandate have not changed, however the title of the department is now Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC). Read about the name change.

Message from the Minister

As Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development , I look forward to continuing my duties to support First Nations, Métis, Inuit and Northerners in their efforts to improve social well-being and economic prosperity; to develop healthier, more sustainable communities; and to participate more fully in Canada's political, social and economic agenda. Read the News Release.

Budget 2011

On June 6th, Minister of Finance Jim Flaherty tabled Canada's 2011 Budget. As with all Canadians, Aboriginal people will benefit from measures in Budget 2011 that promote stability, prosperity and security. Budget 2011, the Next Phase of Canada’s Economic Action Plan, builds upon investments since 2006 to support Aboriginal priorities and to address the barriers to social and economic participation that many Aboriginal people face. Visit the Budget website  .

Speech from the Throne, June 2011

On June 3rd, His Excellency the Governor General David Johnston presented the Speech from the Throne, opening the first session of the 41st Parliament. Read the Speech.

Minister Duncan and AFN National Chief Atleo Announce Joint Action Plan

On June 9th, Minister Duncan and the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, Shawn A-in-chut Atleo, announced a Canada–First Nation Joint Action Plan to improve the lives of First Nation people across Canada. The Action Plan identifies four shared priority areas for action: education; accountability, transparency, capacity and good governance; economic development; and negotiation and implementation. Read the News Release.


Indian Residential Schools Common Experience Payment – Important Deadline Approaching

September 19, 2011, is the deadline for former Indian Residential Schools students to apply for a Common Experience Payment   (CEP). The CEP is a component of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement. It is a payment made to former students who lived at a recognized Indian Residential School and who were alive on May 30, 2005. Visit the Service Canada website   or call 1 866 699 1742 for more details.


Statement on the Third Anniversary of the Prime Minister’s Historic Apology to Former Students of Indian Residential Schools

To mark the third anniversary of the historic apology to former students of Indian Residential Schools, Minister Duncan released a statement on June 10th. Read the Statement.

Canada Celebrates Treaty Land Entitlement Milestone with Yellow Quill First Nation and Province of Saskatchewan

On June 10th, Minister Duncan Congratulated Yellow Quill First Nation for celebrating an historic milestone in its Treaty Land Entitlement settlement agreement. Yellow Quill acquired and transferred to reserve its shortfall acreage, an achievement that increased the First Nation's land base by more than 16,700 acres and now opens up a wealth of new economic opportunities. Read the News Release.

Minister Duncan congratulates Yellow Quill First Nation on opening of new water treatment plant

On June 10th, Minister Duncan congratulated the Yellow Quill First Nation on the grand opening of its new water treatment plant. Funded by the department, this $5.26-million water treatment plant replaces the First Nation's previous plant, which was destroyed by fire in 2010. Read the News Release.

Minister Duncan Congratulates Nuxalk Nation on Opening of Newly Renovated Acwsalcta School

On May 26th, Minister Duncan congratulated the Nuxalk Nation on the completion of major renovations to the Acwsalcta School. This project was made possible through an investment of $8.4 million under Canada's Economic Action Plan (CEAP)  . The project, which began construction in March 2010, includes the addition of classroom space, as well as seismic, fire suppression and general building improvements. Read the News Release.

Canada and Four Ontario First Nations Take Major Step toward Claim Settlement

The Government of Canada, the Chippewas of Rama  , the Chippewas of Georgina Island  , the Beausoleil First Nation   and the Chippewas of Nawash   have reached a major milestone in talks to resolve an outstanding specific claim in south-central Ontario. Announced on May 26th, Canada has tabled a settlement offer of approximately $307 million in financial compensation. Read the News Release.

Funding for a New School at Attawapiskat First Nation

On May 19th, Minister Duncan announced that his department has set aside funding over the next three years to accelerate progress on the detailed design and construction phases of a new elementary school for the Attawapiskat First Nation. This front-end investment aims to accelerate the completion of the project and see the opening of the school by 2013. Read the News Release.

Minister Duncan Congratulates Old Massett Village on Completing Multi-Unit Housing Project in British Columbia

On May 13th, Minister Duncan congratulated the Old Massett Village Council on the opening of its 12-unit apartment complex on Haida Gwaii. This project is part of the $400 million investment under Canada’s Economic Action Plan to support First Nations nationally in the construction of new on-reserve housing, renovations and complementary housing activities. Read the News Release.

Canada and the Caldwell First Nation Achieve Win-Win Solution to Conclude Longstanding Claim

On March 25th, the Government and Chief Louise Hillier of the Caldwell First Nation announced the final settlement of a 200-year-old land claim in southwestern Ontario. The negotiated settlement provides the First Nation with $105 million to resolve the claim. Read the News Release.

Financial Agreement with the Innu of Labrador

On March 21st, a financial agreement was signed between the Government of Canada, the Innu Nation of Labrador and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador. The agreement marks an historic step toward completion of the Innu Land Claim. Read the News Release.

Nunavut Sivuniksavut – A Success Story

Nunavut Sivuniksavut is a unique eight-month college program based in Ottawa. In combination with traditional and cultural teachings, the program provides students with an opportunity to learn about Inuit history, organizations, land claims and other issues relevant to their future careers in Nunavut. Watch or read about this school.

New Vignettes: Specific Claims Success Stories

Three new success story videos, in support of the Specific Claims Action Plan, are now available on the Department’s website. These new vignettes feature settled specific claims in British Columbia, Manitoba and Quebec. Watch these and other specific claims success videos.

Distribution Note

Please note: subscribing to the RSS feed will not remove you from the email distribution list; to be removed from the email list, unsubscribe.

Bulletin électronique, numéro 12 - Juin 2011

Avez-vous manqué un numéro du Bulletin électronique? Si c'est le cas, vous pouvez le lire dans la salle des médias d'AINC.



– Un résumé des annonces, des possibilités et des initiatives récentes d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada –

Changement de nom du Ministère

Après la tenue des élections fédérales en mai 2011, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé que le ministre John Duncan portera le titre de ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien. Les obligations législatives du ministre et le mandat du Ministère demeurent inchangés. Seul change le nom du Ministère, qui s’appellera désormais Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC). Lire l’article sur le changement de nom.

Message du ministre

En ma qualité de ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, je suis heureux de poursuivre mes fonctions afin d’appuyer les Premières nations, les Métis, les Inuit et les résidants du Nord dans leurs efforts visant à améliorer leur bien-être social et leur prospérité économique, de bâtir des collectivités saines et durables, et de participer pleinement au programme social, politique et économique du Canada. Lire le communiqué.

Budget de 2011

Le 6 juin, le ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, a déposé le budget fédéral de 2011. Comme l’ensemble des Canadiens, les Autochtones profiteront des mesures du budget de 2011 qui favorisent la stabilité, la prospérité et la sécurité. Annoncée dans le budget de 2011, la prochaine phase du Plan d’action économique du Canada renforce les investissements réalisés depuis 2006 pour appuyer les priorités liées aux Autochtones et pour éliminer les obstacles qui entravent la participation sociale et économique de nombreux Autochtones. Consulter le site Web sur le Budget de 2011  .

Discours du Trône, juin 2011

Le 3 juin, Son Excellence le gouverneur général David Johnston a prononcé le discours du Trône inaugurant la première session de la 41e législature. Lire le discours  .

Le ministre Duncan et M. Atleo, chef national de l’APN, annoncent un plan d’action commun

Le 9 juin, le ministre Duncan et le chef national de l’Assemblée des Premières nations (APN), Shawn A in-chut Atleo, ont annoncé un plan d’action commun Canada–Premières nations visant à améliorer la qualité de vie des membres de Premières nations de partout au pays. Le plan d’action cerne quatre domaines d’action prioritaire communs : éducation; responsabilisation, transparence, capacité et saine gouvernance; développement économique; négociations et mise en œuvre. Lire le communiqué.

Avis

Paiement d’expérience commune pour les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens – La date limite approche

Les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens ont jusqu’au 19 septembre 2011 pour présenter leur demande de Paiement d'expérience commune   (PEC). Le PEC est un des volets de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens. Il s’agit d’un paiement versé à tous les anciens élèves ayant résidé dans un pensionnat indien reconnu et qui étaient vivants le 30 mai 2005. Consulter le site Web de Service Canada   ou téléphoner au 1 866 699 1742 pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Nouvelles

Déclaration sur le troisième anniversaire des excuses historiques que le premier ministre a présentées aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens

Le 10 juin, le ministre Duncan a publié une déclaration pour souligner le troisième anniversaire des excuses historiques présentées aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens. Lire la déclaration.

Le Canada célèbre le jalon atteint dans le règlement des droits fonciers issus de traités avec la Première nation de Yellow Quill et la province de la Saskatchewan

Le 10 juin, le ministre Duncan a transmis ses félicitations à la Première nation de Yellow Quill qui a atteint un jalon historique dans son accord de règlement sur les droits fonciers issus de traités. La Première nation de Yellow Quill a acheté les terres manquantes et les a converties en terres de réserve, ce qui a agrandi son territoire de plus de 16 700 acres et a ouvert la voie à une multitude de nouvelles possibilités économiques. Lire le communiqué.

Le ministre Duncan félicite la Première nation de Yellow Quill pour l’ouverture de sa nouvelle usine de traitement des eaux

Le 10 juin, le ministre Duncan a félicité la Première nation de Yellow Quill à l’occasion de l’ouverture de sa nouvelle usine de traitement des eaux. Cette installation, qui a coûté 5,26 millions de dollars, a été financée par le Ministère. Elle remplace l’ancienne usine de la Première nation, qui a été détruite par le feu en 2010. Lire le communiqué.

Le ministre Duncan félicite la Première nation des Nuxalk pour l’ouverture de l’école Acwsalcta

Le 26 mai, le ministre Duncan a félicité la Première nation des Nuxalk pour les travaux de rénovation majeurs exécutés à l’école Acwsalcta. Ce projet a été réalisé grâce à un investissement de 8,4 millions de dollars fait dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada (PAEC)  . Les travaux, qui ont commencé en mars 2010, visaient, entre autres, à ajouter des salles de classe, à renforcer la protection contre les séismes et les incendies et à apporter des améliorations générales aux installations. Lire le communiqué.

Le Canada et quatre Premières nations de l’Ontario franchissent une étape importante dans le règlement d’une revendication

Le gouvernement du Canada, les Chippewas de Rama   (site Web non disponible en français), les Chippewas de Georgina Island   (site Web non disponible en français), la Première nation de Beausoleil   (site Web non disponible en français) et les Chippewas de Nawash   (site Web non disponible en français) ont atteint un jalon important dans les pourparlers visant à régler une revendication particulière en suspens dans le centre-sud de l’Ontario. Le 26 mai, on a annoncé que le Canada a présenté une offre de règlement comprenant une indemnité financière d’environ 307 millions de dollars. Lire le communiqué.

Octroi d’un financement pour la construction d’une nouvelle école dans la Première nation d’Attawapiskat

Le 19 mai, le ministre Duncan a annoncé que le Ministère a réservé un financement sur trois ans pour accélérer les phases de conception détaillée et de construction d’une nouvelle école primaire dans la Première nation d’Attawapiskat. Cet investissement initial vise à accélérer la réalisation du projet afin que l’école puisse ouvrir ses portes d’ici 2013. Lire le communiqué.

Le ministre Duncan félicite le village d’Old Massett pour la construction d’un complexe d’habitation à logements multiples en Colombie-Britannique

Le 13 mai, le ministre Duncan a félicité le conseil du village d’Old Massett pour l’inauguration d’un complexe d’habitation de 12 logements à Haida Gwaii. Ce projet fait partie d’un investissement de 400 millions de dollars fait dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique du Canada qui a pour but d’aider les Premières nations de partout au pays à construire ou à rénover des logements ainsi qu’à mener des activités complémentaires liées à l’habitation. Lire le communiqué.

Le Canada et la Première nation de Caldwell s’entendent sur une solution mutuellement avantageuse pour régler une revendication de longue date

Le 25 mars, le gouvernement fédéral et Mme Louise Hillier, chef de la Première nation de Caldwell, ont annoncé le règlement définitif d’une revendication territoriale vieille de 200 ans dans la région du sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Le règlement négocié comprend le versement à la Première nation d’une somme de 105 millions de dollars afin de régler la revendication. Lire le communiqué.

Entente financière avec les Innus du Labrador

Le 21 mars, une entente financière a été conclue entre le gouvernement du Canada, les Innus du Labrador et le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Cette entente constitue une étape historique vers le règlement de la revendication territoriale des Innus. Lire le communiqué.

Nunavut Sivuniksavut – Un exemple de réussite

Nunavut Sivuniksavut est un programme collégial unique de huit mois offert à Ottawa. En plus de fournir des enseignements traditionnels et culturels, ce programme offre aux étudiants l’occasion d’en apprendre davantage au sujet de l’histoire, des organisations et des revendications territoriales des Inuit ainsi que sur d’autres questions pertinentes pour leur future carrière au Nunavut. Lire le texte ou regarder la vidéo au sujet de cette école.

Nouvelles capsules : Réussites en matière de revendications particulières

Le site Web du Ministère propose trois nouvelles vidéos présentant des histoires de réussite à l’appui du Plan d’action relatif aux revendications particulières. Ces nouvelles capsules présentent des revendications particulières qui ont été réglées en Colombie-Britannique, au Manitoba et au Québec. Regarder les vidéos sur des histoires de réussite en matière de revendications particulières.




Options de distribution

Veuillez noter que l'abonnement au fil RSS ne vous soustrait pas automatiquement de la liste de distribution par courriel; pour ce faire, veuillez cliquer sur désabonnement.