Roles and responsibilities

Responsibilities for drinking water in First Nations communities in Canada are determined by location:

On reserves south of the 60th parallel

Drinking water quality management on reserves south of the 60th parallel is shared by:

Chiefs and councils manage the day-to-day water and wastewater systems on reserves. This includes:

Indigenous Services Canada provides funding and advice for water systems on First Nations reserves. For water systems, this includes:

Indigenous Services Canada provides independent public health advice and guidance to communities and supports monitoring programs for drinking water quality. We:

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada also helps to protect water quality in Canada's North  and is responsible for managing water resources in and around Nunavut and some of the Northwest Territories. The Government of the Northwest Territories is responsible for the rest of the water in the Northwest Territories while the Government of Yukon is responsible for its water resources.

In consultation with the provinces and territories and other federal departments, Health Canada develops guidelines for drinking water quality. The Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality are used by every jurisdiction in Canada to establish drinking water quality requirements.‎

British Columbia

The First Nations Health Authority, as part of the 2013 British Columbia Tripartite Framework Agreement on First Nations Health Governance, has taken on the responsibility for providing independent public health advice and guidance to BC First Nations communities and provides funding and technical support to enable effective monitoring programs for drinking water quality. 

Territories

In the territories, territorial governments provide safe drinking water in all communities, including First Nations and Inuit communities.

Date modified:

Rôles et responsabilités

Les responsabilités liées à l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations du Canada sont déterminées en fonction de la région, à savoir :

Réserves au sud du 60e parallèle

Les responsabilités relatives à la gestion de la qualité de l’eau potable dans les réserves au sud du 60e parallèle sont partagées entre :

Les chefs et les conseils assurent la gestion courante des systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves, ce qui comprend :

Services aux Autochtones Canada fournit des fonds et des conseils concernant les systèmes  d'aqueduc et d'égout dans les réserves des Premières Nations, y compris :

Services aux Autochtones Canada fournit aux collectivités des orientations et des conseils indépendants en matière de santé publique et appuie les programmes de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau potable. Le Ministère :

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada contribue également à la protection de la qualité de l'eau dans le Nord canadien et est chargé de gérer les ressources en eau du Nunavut, de certaines ressources des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et de leurs environs. Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est responsable du reste des ressources en eau de ses territoires, alors que le gouvernement du Yukon est responsable des ressources en eau de son territoire.

À la suite de consultations avec les provinces, territoires et d'autres ministères fédéraux, Santé Canada a élaboré des recommandations concernant la qualité de l'eau potable. Les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada sont utilisées par toutes les administrations canadiennes et constituent la base pour l'établissement des exigences concernant la qualité de l'eau potable.

Colombie-Britannique

Conformément à l'Accord-cadre tripartite de la Colombie-Britannique sur la gouvernance de la santé des Premières Nations conclu en 2013, la Régie de la santé des Premières Nations est chargée de fournir des orientations et des conseils indépendants en matière de santé publique aux collectivités des Premières Nations de la Colombie-Britannique, et offre une aide financière et technique permettant d'assurer l'efficacité des programmes de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau potable. 

Territoires

Dans les territoires, les gouvernements territoriaux fournissent de l’eau potable et salubre dans toutes les collectivités, y compris celles des Premières Nations et des Inuit. 

Date de modification :