ARCHIVED - Backgrounder - Government of Canada Investments in Water and Wastewater on First Nations in Manitoba

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archive: This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

Overview of Investments

Between April 1, 2006 and March 31, 2010, the Government of Canada invested approximately $227 million in water and wastewater infrastructure for Manitoba First Nations through Indian and Northern Affairs Canada's Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program, First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan, and Canada's Economic Action Plan.

INAC Funding for Water & Wastewater:
First Nations in Manitoba
(April 1, 2006 - March 31, 2010)

INAC Funding for Water &  Wastewater: First Nations in Manitoba (April 1, 2006 - March 31, 2010)

This included approximately $132 million in capital expenditures, covering activities such as development of new water and wastewater systems, upgrades of existing systems, system repairs, feasibility studies, and related activities.

Investments also included approximately $24 million per year to cover the annual costs of the operation and maintenance of water and wastewater facilities.

In 2009-2010, $23.9 million in support was provided through Canada's Economic Action Plan, to support three major water and wastewater projects for First Nations in Manitoba. One of these projects, the development of a new $7.2 million sewage lagoon on Pinaymootang First Nation, was completed in December 2009. Work on the remaining two projects is ongoing, and is expected to be completed before March 31, 2011.

Despite these significant investments, the government recognizes that many First Nations communities continue to face challenges in providing and maintaining community infrastructure. As announced in Budget 2010, the government will work with First Nations representatives to explore options for alternative financing approaches that might allow limited resources to be used more efficiently and to look at ways to better manage community infrastructure to extend its lifecycle. 

Roles & Responsibilities

The Government of Canada is committed to helping First Nations in the provision of safe, clean, and reliable drinking water. To achieve this goal, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada provides funding and advice to First Nations to assist in the management and operation of water systems, related to the design, construction, operation and maintenance of water and wastewater systems. It also provides funding for the training and certification of water system operators.

Health Canada works with First Nation communities south of 60° to identify potential drinking water quality problems, including: verification monitoring of the overall quality of drinking water, and reviewing, interpreting and disseminating results to First Nations; providing guidance and recommendations about drinking water safety and safe disposal of onsite domestic sewage; and reviewing water and wastewater infrastructure project proposals from a public health perspective.

Environment Canada provides advice and guidance material in the areas of source water protection and sustainable water use.

First Nations are responsible for the daily operation and management of their systems, which includes the design, construction, operation, maintenance, and monitoring of their water systems. First Nations' authorities issue Drinking Water Advisories (DWAs) in First Nation communities, usually on the recommendation of Health Canada, or on their own initiative in emergency situations.


ANNEX:  EXPENDITURES ON WATER AND WASTEWATER IN MANITOBA*
(April 1, 2006 – March 31, 2010)

First Nation
[Note 1]
Capital Expenditures
[Note 2]
O&M Expenditures
[Note 3]
Total
Barren Lands $ 387,678.42 $1,202,768.47 $1,590,446.89
Berens River $1,221,784.00 $3,268,847.81 $4,490,631.81
Birdtail Sioux $ 173,207.00 $574,139.00 $747,346.00
Bloodvein $ 254,980.00 $1,194,504.02 $1,449,484.02
Brokenhead  Ojibway $ 100,316.00 $ 625,088.00 $725,404.00
Buffalo Point     $ 101,833.00 $ 101,833.00
Bunibonibee Cree $ 1,096,344.00 $3,785,023.43 $4,881,367.43
Canupawakpa Dakota $ 54,116.00 $ 164,401.58 $218,517.58
Chemawawin Cree $ 84,892.00 $1,432.738.00 $1,517,630.00
Cross Lake $93,333.00 $5,261,914.00 $5,355,247.00
Dakota Plains $47,118.00 $ 448,911.48 $ 496,029.48
Dakota Tipi $ 4,033.00 $136,327.84 $140,360.84
Dauphin River $28,228.00 $ 99,648.00 $ 127,876.00
Ebb and Flow $ 176,315.00 $1,084,118.78 $1,260,433.78
Fisher River $13,633,805.00 $ 734,074.00 $14,367,879.00
Fort Alexander $ 3,460,723.00 $2,715,608.72 $6,176,331.72
Fox Lake $ 936,431.00 $ 689,596.00 $1,626,027.00
Gamblers     $ 90,379.69 $ 90,379.69
Garden Hill $26,195,388.90 $2,996,049.02 $29,191,437.92
God's Lake $ 1,174,180.00 $2,591,522.88 $3,765,702.88
Grand Rapids $ 64,876.00 $ 495,692.26 $ 560,568.26
Hollow Water $336,324.00 $780,887.80 $1,171,211.80
Keeseekoowenin $ 3,545,309.00 $1,046,716.61 $4,592,025.61
Keewatin Tribal Council $1,213,500.00 $ 43,482.85 $1,256,982.85
Kinonjeoshtegon $ 34,009.00 $ 339,394.45 $ 373,403.45
Lake Manitoba $ 314,606.64 $ 181,466.41 $ 496,073.05
Lake St. Martin $1,075,803.00 $2,009,524.80 $3,085,327.80
Little Black River $ 108,430.00 $ 601,044.00 $ 709,474.00
Little Grand Rapids $ 1,044,855.00 $2,771,694.03 $3,816,549.03
Little Saskatchewan $448,711.00 $303,973.43 $ 752,684.43
Long Plain $ 204,556.00 $1,719,488.43 $1,924,044.43
Manto Sipi Cree $ 417,957.00 $1,615,516.40 $2,033,473.40
Marcel Colomb $1,046,067.68     $1,046,067.68
Mathias Colomb $ 318,139.00 $1,500,516.96 $1,818,655.96
Mosakahiken Cree $15,239,544.09 $1,277,129.56 $16,516,673.65
Nisichawayasihk Cree $7,016,958.78 $2,496,033.01 $9,512,991.79
Northlands $ 2,122.17 $2,953,025.32 $2,955,147.49
Norway House $1,070,900.00 $7,718,690.00 $8,789,590.00
O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi $43,754.00 $ 346,477.00 $ 390,231.00
Opaskwayak Cree $2,688,645.10 $1,367,707.20 $4,056,352.30
O-Pipon-Na-Piwin Cree Nation $ 97,639.00 $1,810,947.16 $1,908,586.16
Pauingassi First Nation $ 102,038.00 $1,095,589.36 $1,197,627.36
Peguis $ 47,606.00 $ 418,314.00 $ 465,920.00
Pinaymootang $7,570,981.00 $ 738,073.73 $8,309,054.73
Pine Creek $97,721.00 $1,462.302.06 $1,560,023.06
Poplar River $ 217,449.00 $1,608,857.36 $1,826,306.36
Red Sucker Lake $5,375,371.00 $1,283,039.39 $6,658,410.39
Rolling River $4,418,234.00 $ 991,346.95 $5,409,580.95
Roseau River $1,508,639.05 $1,149,932.52 $2,658,571.57
Sandy Bay $ 166,692.00 $2,630,700.27 $2,797,392.27
Sapotaweyak Cree $ 147,723.00 $1,129,017.87 $1,276,740.87
Sayisi Dene $ 565,620.19 $1,676,112.21 $2,241,732.40
Shamattawa $12,002,900.00 $2,368,559.51 $14,371,459.51
Sioux Valley Dakota $6,872,575.21 $ 692,810.30 $7,565,385.51
Skownan4 $1,292,700.00     $1,292,700.00
Skownan $ 333,578.00 $ 869,381.48 $1,202,959.48
Southeast Resource Development $ 500,000.00     $ 500,000.00
St. Theresa Point $ 307,746.79 $2,253,817.88 $2,561,564.67
Swampy Cree Tribal Council     $ 273,300.00 $ 273,300.00
Swan Lake $35,519.00 $ 881,204.00 $ 916,723.00
Tataskweyak Cree $ 1,012,657.00 $1,804,062.00 $2,816,719.00
Tootinaowaziibeeng Treaty $146,782.00 $1,254,090.20 $1,400,872.20
War Lake First Nation $1,223,588.00 $ 102,537.93 $1,326,125.93
Wasagamack $ 554,757.65 $1,798,523.95 $2,353,281.60
Waywayseecappo Treaty Four $35,202.00 $1,592,719.38 $1,627,921.38
West Region Tribal Council $336,140.00 $4,762,634.60 $5,098,774.60
Wuskwi Sipihk First Nation $ 169,111.00 $ 795,373.30 $ 964,484.30
York Factory $1,417,247.00 $926,847.00 $2,344,094.00
Manitoba Total $131 ,914,156.67 $95 ,138,048.65 $226 ,872,205.32





Notes:

  1. Source of data is INAC's internal financial reporting database. Please note that in some instances "First Nation" in this chart may refer to a community where water and wastewater services are being delivered to a Tribal Council or Municipality that provides water and/or sewer services or direct support to a First Nation community or communities. Also take note that First Nations may also have benefited from additional indirect investments where the department has worked with a third party, such as a province or municipality, to construct a facility that provides services to both a First Nation and a neighbouring municipality. (return to source paragraph)

  2. "Capital Expenditures" include both Major and Minor Capital. This includes funding for a wide variety of items including : new water plants or wastewater treatment plants being constructed; feasibility studies for future projects; design work for future projects; repairs and expansions of water and wastewater systems; installing new pipes or pumping stations; service hookups for new housing developments; running a cleaning and disinfection project on existing pipes; replacing valves on fire hydrants; buying water or septic trucks; making loan payments for water trucks; etc.)(return to source paragraph)

  3. "Operations and Maintenance" funding O&M is provided to support First Nations in maintaining and operating systems that received INAC support to construct. First Nations could use this funding for activities such as salaries for plant operators; salaries for water and septic truck drivers; employee benefits; chemical supplies; hardware; uniforms; equipment; laboratory testing of samples; freight and delivery of supplies; minor repairs to water or wastewater treatment systems; insurance; telephone; travel; training and development; utilities (e.g. electricity, waste collection); fuel for vehicles (e.g. water or septic trucks); and miscellaneous expenses. (return to source paragraph)

  4. Cost-shared project with Manitoba Ministry of Finance.

ARCHIVÉE - Document d'information - Investissements du gouvernement du Canada pour l’approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières nations au Manitoba

Archivé: Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

 

Aperçu des investissements

Entre le 1er avril 2006 et le 31 mars 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a investi environ 227 millions de dollars dans l'infrastructure de l'eau potable et des eaux usées des Premières nations du Manitoba grâce au Programme de gestion de l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada.

Fonds versés par AINC pour
l'approvisionnement en eau et
le traitement des eaux usées :
Premières nations du Manitoba
(1er avril 2006 au 31 mars 2010)

Fonds versés par AINC pour l'approvisionnement en eau et le traitement des eaux usées : Premières nations du Manitoba (1er avril 2006 au 31 mars 2010)

Ces investissements comprennent environ 132 millions de dollars de dépenses en capital pour couvrir des activités telles que le développement de nouvelles installations de traitement d'eau potable et des eaux usées, la modernisation et les réparations des installations existantes, des études de faisabilité et les activités connexes.

Ces investissements renferment également environ 24 millions de dollars par an pour couvrir les coûts annuels de l'exploitation et de l'entretien de leurs installations d'eau potable et d'eaux usées.

En 2009-2010, grâce au Plan d'action économique du Canada, le gouvernement du Canada a déboursé un montant supplémentaire de 23,9 millions de dollars pour financer trois importants projets des Premières nations au Manitoba. Un de ces projets, le développement d'un nouvel étang de stabilisation de 7,2 millions de dollars pour la Première nation Pinaymootang, a été achevé en décembre 2009. Les travaux des deux autres projets sont en cours, et devraient se terminer avant le 31 mars 2011.

Malgré ces investissements importants, le gouvernement reconnaît que de nombreuses collectivités des Premières nations continuent à relever des défis dans l'approvisionnement et l'entretien des infrastructures communautaires. Tel qu'annoncé dans le budget de 2010, le gouvernement collaborera avec les représentants des Premières nations pour explorer d'autres modes de financement qui pourraient permettre d'utiliser plus efficacement les ressources limitées et chercher des moyens permettant une meilleure gestion de l'infrastructure communautaire en vue de prolonger son cycle de vie.

Rôles et responsabilités

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à aider les Premières nations à avoir accès à de l'eau potable salubre, propre et sûre, Dans cet esprit, Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada verse des fonds aux Premières nations et leur offre des conseils sur la gestion, le fonctionnement des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et tout ce qui a trait à la conception, la construction, l'exploitation et l'entretien des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées. AINC finance également la formation et la certification des opérateurs de réseaux.

Santé Canada collabore avec les Premières nations au sud du 60e parallèle afin d'identifier les problèmes potentiels liés à la qualité de l'eau, notamment par la vérification de la qualité globale de l'eau potable, l'analyse, l'interprétation et la diffusion des résultats aux Premières nations, l'offre de conseils, de directives et de recommandations concernant la sécurité de l'eau potable et l'élimination sécuritaire des eaux usées domestiques, et l'examen des propositions d'infrastructure de traitement de l'eau et des eaux usées du point de vue de la santé publique.

Environnement Canada fournit du matériel d'orientation technique et de formation sur la protection de la source d'eau et l'usage durable des eaux.

Les Premières nations assument la responsabilité de l'exécution et de la gestion des activités quotidiennes relatives à leurs réseaux, y compris la conception, la construction, l'exploitation, l'entretien et la surveillance de leurs réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau. L'administration des Premières nations émet des avis concernant la qualité de l'eau potable (AQEP) aux collectivités des Premières nations, habituellement sur recommandation de Santé Canada ou de leur propre initiative en cas d'urgence.

ANNEXE : DÉPENSES POUR L'EAU ET LE TRAITEMENT DES EAUX USÉES AU MANITOBA
(1er avril 2006 – 31 mars 2010)*

Premières nation
[Note 1]
Dépenses en immobilisations
[Note 2]
Dépenses exploitation & entretien
[Note 3]
Total
Barren Lands 387 678,42 1 202 768,47 1 590 446,89
Berens River 1 221 784 3 268 847,81 4 490 631,81
Birdtail Sioux  173 207 574 139 747 346
Bloodvein  254 980 1 194 504,02 1 449 484,02
Brokenhead  Ojibway  100 316  625 088 725 404
Buffalo Point      101 833  101 833
Bunibonibee Cree 1 096 344 3 785 023,43 4 881 367,43
Canupawakpa Dakota  54 116  164 401,58 218 517,58
Chemawawin Cree  84 892 1 432 738 1 517 630
Cross Lake 93 333 5 261 914 5 355 247
Dakota Plains 47 118  448 911,48  496 029,48
Dakota Tipi  4 033 136 327,84 140 360,84
Dauphin River 28 228  99 648 00  127 876
Ebb and Flow  176 315 1 084 118,78 1 260 433,78
Fisher River 13 633 805  734 074 14 367 879
Fort Alexander  3 460 723 2 715 608,72 6 176 331,72
Fox Lake  936 431  689 596 1 626 027
Gamblers      90 379,69  90 379,69
Garden Hill 26 195 388,90 2 996 049,02 29 191 437,92
God's Lake  1 174 180 2 591 522,88 3 765 702,88
Grand Rapids  64 876  495 692,26  560 568,26
Hollow Water 336 324 780 887,80 1 171 211,80
Keeseekoowenin  3 545 309 1 046 716,61 4 592 025,61
Keewatin Tribal Council 1 213 500  43 482,85 1 256 982,85
Kinonjeoshtegon  34 009  339 394,45  373 403,45
Lake Manitoba  314 606,64  181 466,41  496 073,05
Lake St. Martin 1 075 803 2 009 524,80 3 085 327,80
Little Black River  108 430  601 044  709 474
Little Grand Rapids  1 044 855 2 771 694,03 3 816 549,03
Little Saskatchewan 448 711 303 973,43  752 684,43
Long Plain  204 556 1 719 488,43 1 924 044,43
Manto Sipi Cree  417 957 1 615 516,40 2 033 473,40
Marcel Colomb 1 046 067,68     1 046 067,68
Mathias Colomb  318 139 1 500 516,96 1 818 655,96
Mosakahiken Cree 15 239 544,09 1 277 129,56 16 516 673,65
Nisichawayasihk Cree 7 016 958,78 2 496 033,01 9 512 991,79
Northlands  2 122,17 2 953 025,32 2 955 147,49
Norway House 1 070 900 7 718 690 8 789 590
O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi 43 754  346 477  390 231
Opaskwayak Cree 2 688 645,10 1 367 707,20 4 056 352,30
O-Pipon-Na-Piwin Cree Nation  97 639 1 810 947,16 1 908 586,16
Pauingassi First Nation  102 038 1 095 589,36 1 197 627,36
Peguis  47 606  418 314  465 920
Pinaymootang 7 570 981  738 073,73 8 309 054,73
Pine Creek 97 721 1 462 302,06 1 560 023,06
Poplar River  217 449 1 608 857,36 1 826 306,36
Red Sucker Lake 5 375 371 1 283 039,39 6 658 410,39
Rolling River 4 418 234  991 346,95 5 409 580,95
Roseau River 1 508 639,05 1 149 932,52 2 658 571,57
Sandy Bay  166 692 2 630 700,27 2 797 392,27
Sapotaweyak Cree  147 723 1 129 017,87 1 276 740,87
Sayisi Dene  565 620,19 1 676 112,21 2 241 732,40
Shamattawa 12 002 900 2 368 559,51 14 371 459,51
Sioux Valley Dakota 6 872 575,21  692 810,30 7 565 385,51
Skownan4 1 292 700   1 292 700
Skownan  333 578  869 381,48 1 202 959,48
Southeast Resource Development  500 000    500 000
St  Theresa Point  307 746,79 2 253 817,88 2 561 564,67
Swampy Cree Tribal Council    273 300  273 300
Swan Lake 35 519  881 204  916 723
Tataskweyak Cree  1 012 657 1 804 062 2 816 719
Tootinaowaziibeeng Treaty 146 782 1 254 090,20 1 400 872,20
War Lake First Nation 1 223 588  102 537,93 1 326 125,93
Wasagamack  554 757,65 1 798 523,95 2 353 281,60
Waywayseecappo Treaty Four 35 202 1 592 719,38 1 627 921,38
West Region Tribal Council 336 140 4 762 634,60 5 098 774,60
Wuskwi Sipihk First Nation  169 111  795 373,30  964 484,30
York Factory 1 417 247 926 847 2 344 094
Manitoba Total 131 914 156,67 95 138 048,65 226 872 205,32

 




Nota :

  1. Les donnéessont tirées de la base de données interne des rapports financiers d'AINC. Veuillez noter que dans ce tableau, le terme « Première nation » peut faire référence à la collectivité à qui les services d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées sont offerts. Dans certains cas, le financement peut être versé au conseil tribal ou à la municipalité qui offrent des services d'approvisionnement en eau ou des étangs de stabilisation aux collectivités des Premières nations en vertu d'une entente municipale. Les Premières nations peuvent également avoir profité d'investissements indirects, par exemple, dans les cas où le Ministère a collaboré avec une tierce partie, comme une province ou une municipalité, pour la construction d'une installation qui dessert à la fois une Première nation et une municipalité voisine. (retourner au paragraphe source)

  2. « Dépenses en immobilisations » englobe les grands et petits projets d'immobilisations. Ceci inclut le financement pour un nombre varié de projets comme la construction de nouveaux réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau ou des réseaux de traitement des eaux usées; les études de faisabilité pour des projets à venir; la conception pour ces derniers; la réparation et l'agrandissement des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et traitement des eaux usées; l'installation d'une nouvelle canalisation ou de stations de pompage; le service de raccordement pour les nouveaux développements immobiliers; le nettoyage et la désinfection de la tuyauterie en place; le remplacement des robinets des bornes d'incendie; l'achat de camions-citernes à eau et de camions de vidange de fosses septiques, le paiement des prêts pour l'achat des camions-citernes à eau, etc.(retourner au paragraphe source)

  3. Le financement pour « Exploitation & entretien » est versé aux Premières nations pour l'exploitation et l'entretien des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées dont la construction a été financée par AINC. Les Premières nations peuvent utiliser ces fonds pour diverses dépenses comme les salaires des opérateurs de réseaux; les salaires des chauffeurs de camion-citerne à eau et de camion de vidange de fosses septiques; les avantages sociaux des employés, le ravitaillement des substances chimiques; la quincaillerie; les uniformes; l'équipement; les tests en laboratoire des échantillons; le fret et la livraison des marchandises; les réparations mineures des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et traitement des eaux usées; les assurances; les services de téléphonie; les services publics (électricité, collecte des déchets); l'essence pour les véhicules (camions-citernes à eau ou camions de vidange de fosses septiques) et autres dépenses diverses.(retourner au paragraphe source)

  4. Coûts du projet partagés avec le ministère des Finances du Manitoba.