Fact Sheet - Roles and Responsibilities Water Assessment and Monitoring

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The Government of Canada is committed to helping First Nations in the provision of safe, clean, and reliable drinking water.

To achieve this goal, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) provides funding and advice to First Nations to assist in the management and operation of water systems, related to the design, construction, operation and maintenance of water and wastewater systems. It also provides funding for the training and certification of water system operators.

Health Canada works with First Nation communities south of 60° to identify potential drinking water quality problems, and Environment Canada provides advice and guidance material in the areas of source water protection and sustainable water use.

First Nations are responsible for the daily operation and management of their systems, which includes the design, construction, operation, maintenance, and monitoring of their water systems. First Nations’ authorities issue Drinking Water Advisories in First Nation communities, usually on the recommendation of Health Canada, or on their own initiative in emergency situations.

Annual inspections

Annual inspections of First Nations water systems have been required since the introduction of the Protocol for Centralised Drinking Water Systems in First Nation Communities in 2006. An annual performance inspection is required to ensure that: 

  • the treatment process performs to design standards
  • operator level of certification meets the complexity level of the treatment plant
  • performance of the treatment process is acceptable
  • the potential for contamination is identified and the necessary improvements are made to mitigate this potential

The annual inspections include site visits conducted by a qualified person (licensed consulting engineer, licensed Tribal Council engineer, provincial water system inspector or a water system operator) who must be certified to a level equivalent to the level of the system being inspected and who cannot be a member of the band involved. An evaluation of the management risk levels associated with each system is performed as part of the process.

The annual inspection reports are discussed with and submitted to the band council and to the AANDC regional office. Printed copies of annual inspection reports are to be made available to the public by the band.

Taking Action to Strengthen Annual Inspection Process

Although the Department will not be able to complete an evaluation on the scale of the National Assessment every year, the increased number of high risk systems identified through the National Study shows room for improvement. AANDC has improved the annual inspection process, effective immediately, to increase its national consistency and to improve the reliability of its data. The annual inspection results for 2011-2012 will be from this improved process.

Date: July 14, 2011

Fiche d'information - Rôles et responsabilités - Évaluation et surveillance de la qualité de l'eau

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à aider les Premières Nations à assurer un approvisionnement fiable en eau propre et salubre.

Pour atteindre ce but, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) fournit des fonds et des conseils aux Premières Nations pour les aider à gérer et à exploiter leurs réseaux d'eau (en matière de conception, de construction, de fonctionnement et d’entretien des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées). Il fournit aussi du financement pour la formation et la certification d’opérateurs de réseaux d’eau.

Santé Canada et les collectivités des Premières Nations au sud du 60e parallèle travaillent ensemble à cerner les problèmes potentiels liés à la qualité de l’eau, et Environnement Canada fournit des conseils et des documents d’orientation dans les domaines de la protection des sources d’eau et de l’utilisation durable de l’eau.

Les Premières Nations sont responsables du fonctionnement et de la gestion au quotidien de leurs réseaux, y compris des activités de conception, de construction, de fonctionnement, d’entretien et de surveillance associées à ces réseaux. Les autorités des Premières Nations émettent des avis sur la qualité de l’eau dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, habituellement sur recommandation de Santé Canada, ou de leur propre initiative dans des situations d’urgence.

Inspections annuelles

On doit procéder à des inspections annuelles des réseaux d’eau des Premières Nations depuis la mise en vigueur du Protocole pour les systèmes d’eau potable centralisés dans les collectivités des Premières Nations en 2006. Des inspections annuelles du rendement sont nécessaires pour s’assurer que :

  • le processus de traitement est conforme aux normes de conception;
  • le niveau de certification des opérateurs est adapté au degré de complexité de l’usine de traitement de l’eau;
  • le processus de traitement offre un rendement acceptable;
  • le risque de contamination est établi, et les améliorations nécessaires sont apportées pour atténuer ce risque.

Les inspections annuelles comprennent les visites des lieux effectuées par une personne qualifiée (ingénieur-conseil agréé, ingénieur agréé du conseil tribal, inspecteur provincial des réseaux d’eau ou opérateur provincial de réseau d’eau), qui doit détenir une accréditation correspondant au niveau du réseau inspecté et ne doit pas être membre de la bande concernée. Une évaluation du niveau de risque associé à la gestion est menée pour chaque réseau dans le cadre du processus.

Les rapports d'inspection annuels sont remis au conseil de bande et au bureau régional d’AADNC et font l’objet de discussions. La bande doit offrir au public l’accès à des copies papier de ces rapports.

Agir pour renforcer le processus d’inspection annuelle

Bien que le Ministère ne puisse pas mener chaque année une évaluation aussi importante que l’Évaluation nationale, le nombre accru de réseaux à risque élevé relevé dans l’étude nationale démontre qu’il y a encore place à l’amélioration. AADNC a déjà apporté des améliorations au processus d’inspection annuelle afin d’en accroître l’uniformité à l’échelle nationale et d’améliorer la fiabilité de ses données. Les résultats des inspections annuelles effectuées en 2011‑2012 découleront de ce processus amélioré.

Date : le 14 juillet 2011