Fact Sheet - Water and Wastewater Protocols

The results of the National Assessment of Water and Wastewater Systems for First Nation Communities include the estimated cost of upgrading First Nation water and wastewater systems to meet the Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada’s current water protocols. This fact sheet provides an overview of these protocols which are available in there entirety on the Department’s website.

Overview

The Department has established three protocols for the design, construction, operation, maintenance, and monitoring of water and wastewater systems on reserve:

  • Protocol for Centralised Drinking Water Systems in First Nations Communities
  • Protocol for Centralised Wastewater Systems in First Nations Communities
  • Protocol for Decentralised Water and Wastewater Systems in First Nations Communities

What is a centralized water or wastewater system?

A centralized water system is a communal, piped system with a centralized treatment plant. A centralized wastewater system is a similar system in which wastewater is collected by a piped collector system and transported to a central waste treatment facility.

These protocols are standards that provide direction to First Nation Band Councils on issues such as water treatment, management, and the design of water systems. These protocols compliment local provincial standards or regulations. Should the provincial standards ever be more stringent than the requirements of the Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) protocols, then the higher objective shall be adhered to.

The protocols apply to water and wastewater systems that receive funding through AANDC and are necessary to maintain water quality and to protect the Government's substantial investments in First Nation water and wastewater services.

What is a decentralized water or wastewater system?

The term decentralized system refers to a group or groups of communal on-site water or wastewater systems that are managed by the First Nation bands. These systems do not have central treatment plants. Examples of decentralized systems would include wells, cisterns and septic systems.

Two of the three AANDC protocols are focused on providing standards for centralized drinking water and wastewater systems, such as piped systems with treatment plants. The last protocol is focused on smaller, band-managed decentralized systems.

By continually refining its methodology and approach, AANDC has made considerable progress over the last four years in ensuring that its water and wastewater protocols reflect that which is required to protect water on reserve.

Strengthening the water and wastewater protocols are an important component of the department’s action plan, an immediate response to the findings of the National Assessment. AANDC will be reviewing and updating the protocols over the next year in collaboration with First Nations and other stakeholders. While these protocols and standards are helpful; they are not supported by effective and enforceable regulations. The protocols simply provide guidance to First Nations on the construction and management of their water systems.

The government will reintroduce legislation to support the creation of enforceable standards. This will be done in collaboration with First Nations in order to develop a regulatory regime for on-reserve water and wastewater.

Date: July 14, 2011

Fiche d'information - Protocoles sur l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées

Les résultats de l’Évaluation nationale des systèmes d’aqueduc et d’égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations comprennent une estimation des investissements requis pour améliorer les systèmes d’aqueduc et d’égout des Premières Nations afin de respecter les protocoles actuels d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada relatifs à l’eau. La présente fiche d’information donne un aperçu de ces protocoles, lesquels sont décrits en détail dans le site Web du Ministère.

Aperçu

Le Ministère a établi trois protocoles concernant la conception, la construction, le fonctionnement, l’entretien et la surveillance des systèmes d’aqueduc et d’égout dans les réserves :

  • Protocole pour les systèmes d’eau potable centralisés dans les collectivités des Premières Nations
  • Protocole pour les systèmes d’égout centralisés dans les collectivités des Premières Nations
  • Protocole pour les systèmes décentralisés d’eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations

Ces protocoles énoncent les normes qui guident les conseils de bande des Premières Nations à l’égard du traitement et de la gestion de l’eau ainsi que de la conception des réseaux d’approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées. Ces protocoles s’ajoutent aux normes et règlements provinciaux applicables dans les collectivités. Si les normes provinciales sont plus strictes que les exigences des protocoles d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), alors il faut se conformer aux exigences les plus élevées.

Qu’entend-on par un réseau d’eau potable ou d’égout centralisé?

Un réseau d’eau potable centralisé est un réseau communautaire d’approvisionnement en eau relié à une usine de traitement centrale dont la distribution de l’eau se fait par canalisation ou par camion. Un réseau d’égout centralisé est un système semblable qui recueille les eaux usées par canalisation ou par camion et les achemine vers une usine de traitement centrale.

Les protocoles s’appliquent aux systèmes d’aqueduc et d’égout que finance AADNC et ils sont nécessaires pour maintenir la qualité de l’eau et protéger les importants investissements consentis par le gouvernement dans les services d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations.

Deux des trois protocoles d’AADNC fournissent des normes concernant les systèmes d’eau potable et d’égout centralisés, tels les réseaux reliés à des usines de traitement. L’autre protocole concerne les petits systèmes décentralisés gérés par les bandes.

En améliorant sans cesse sa méthodologie et son approche, AADNC a réalisé d’importants progrès au cours des quatre dernières années pour s’assurer que ses protocoles sur l’eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées reflètent bien ce qu’il faut faire pour protéger l’eau dans les réserves.

Qu’entend-on par système décentralisé d’eau potable ou de traitement des eaux usées?

On entend par système décentralisé un ensemble ou plusieurs ensembles de systèmes communautaires d’eau potable ou de traitement des eaux usées qui sont gérés par les bandes des Premières Nations. Ces systèmes ne sont pas reliés à des usines de traitement centrales. Les puits, les citernes et les fosses septiques sont des exemples de systèmes décentralisés.

Le renforcement des protocoles sur l’eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées constitue un volet important du plan d’action du Ministère et s’inscrit dans sa réponse immédiate aux constatations de l’Évaluation nationale. Au cours de la prochaine année, AADNC procédera à la révision et à la mise à jour des protocoles en collaboration avec les Premières Nations et d’autres intervenants. Bien que ces protocoles soient utiles, ils ne sont appuyés par aucun règlement en vigueur et exécutoire. Les protocoles servent simplement à guider les Premières Nations en ce qui concerne la construction et la gestion de leurs systèmes d’eau potable et d’égout.

Le gouvernement présentera de nouveau un projet de loi pour appuyer l’élaboration de normes exécutoires. Cette démarche se fera en collaboration avec les Premières Nations en vue de mettre en place un régime de réglementation relatif à l’eau potable et au traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves.

Date : le 14 juillet 2011