National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems – 2009-2011

Budget 2016 proposes to address health and safety needs, ensure proper facility operation and maintenance, and end long-term drinking water advisories on reserves within five years by investing an additional $1.8 billion over five years, starting in 2016-17.

The National Assessment is a rigorous and comprehensive assessment of water and wastewater systems serving 571 participating First Nations that was conducted between 2009 and 2011. On July 14, 2011, the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development announced the results of the assessment, enabling First Nations and the Department to focus resources on priorities and improve the provision of safe drinking water in First Nation communities.

The following page contains:

Understanding the Results of the national assessment

The national assessment results provide a substantial amount of information, much of which is fairly complicated and technical in nature. To help clarify the results and what they mean to First Nations, the Department has developed a series of informative fact sheets, including:

These fact sheets are supported by a list of detailed Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) addressing all aspects of the national assessment process.

Reports

The results of the assessment are compiled by individual community, as well as regionally and nationally. While the reports are fairly lengthy and contain meticulous details, a series of fact sheets have been developed to summarize the results and explain what they mean to First Nation communities across Canada.

The detailed regional and national reports are available below, each with an accompanying fact sheet:

National Report

Regional Reports

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's Response to the National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems – 2009-2011

In response to the findings and recommendations of the national assessment, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada has developed a response plan, which builds on existing programs and initiatives to support First Nation communities in providing residents with safe, reliable, and healthy drinking water.

What Information is Available?

You may also be interested in:

Date modified:

Évaluation nationale des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout des Premières Nations – 2009–2011

L'Évaluation nationale, qui a été menée de 2009 à 2011, est un examen rigoureux et exhaustif des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées desservant 571 Premières Nations participantes. Le 14 juillet 2011, le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord canadien a annoncé les résultats de cette évaluation, qui permet aux Premières Nations et au Ministère de concentrer leurs ressources sur les priorités et d'améliorer l'approvisionnement en eau potable saine dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

La page suivante comprend :

Comprendre les résultats de l'Évaluation nationale

Les résultats de l'Évaluation nationale contiennent beaucoup d'information, et une bonne partie de cette information est de nature technique et assez complexe. Pour clarifier les résultats et expliquer ce qu'ils signifient pour les Premières Nations, le Ministère a élaboré une série de fiches d'information :

Ces fiches d'information sont appuyées par une série de foires aux questions détaillées qui abordent tous les aspects du processus de l'Évaluation nationale.

Rapports

Les résultats de l'Évaluation nationale sont compilés à l'échelle des différentes collectivités, ainsi qu'à l'échelle régionale et nationale. Bien que ces rapports soient assez exhaustifs et contiennent des détails pointus, on a élaboré une série de fiches d'information qui résument les résultats et expliquent leur signification pour les collectivités des Premières Nations de tout le Canada.

Les rapports régionaux et le rapport national détaillés sont disponibles ci dessous. Ils sont tous accompagnés d'une fiche d'information :

Rapport national

Rapports régionaux


Réponse d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada à l'Évaluation nationale des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout des Premières Nations

En réponse aux conclusions et aux recommandations de l'Évaluation nationale, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada a élaboré un plan d'intervention qui fait fond sur les initiatives et les programmes existants afin d'aider les collectivités des Premières Nations à fournir à leurs résidants une source fiable d'eau propre et salubre.

Renseignements disponibles

Autres sujets d'intérêts :