First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan

The First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan (FNWWAP) was introduced in 2008. FNWWAP provided $330 million in water and wastewater funding over two years for treatment facility construction and renovation, operation and maintenance of facilities, training of operators and related public health activities on-reserve. On May 26, 2010, the Government of Canada announced that FNWWAP was extended for two more years until 2012, providing an additional $330 million to improve drinking water in First Nations communities.

Through the FNWWAP, the Government of Canada is improving the health and quality of life of people in First Nation communities by assisting First Nations to provide better water and wastewater services to their residents. The two lead federal departments are Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) and Health Canada.

Key components of FNWWAP include:

  • investments in infrastructure projects to address water and wastewater needs and to maintain existing systems;
  • investments in the on-going operations and maintenance of water and wastewater systems;
  • funding for the hands-on training of treatment plant operators, to increase the number of certified water treatment system operators;
  • water quality monitoring in accordance with the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality (GCDWQ);
  • support for water and wastewater-related public health activities in First Nation communities on reserve; and
  • funding for third-party water and wastewater systems operation under the Safe Water Operations Program, when required.

Progress on Water Initiatives

The National Assessment surveyed the water and wastewater systems of 97 per cent of First Nation communities in Canada. Site visits in the 571 participating First Nations began in September 2009, concluded in November 2010. The National Assessment was released in July 2011.

On July 14, 2011, the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development announced the results of the National Assessment which are guiding the First Nations and the Department investments on priorities to improve the provision of safe drinking water in First Nation communities.

Bill S-11, the proposed Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act was introduced in Parliament in May 2010 and died in committee on Second reading on March 26, 2011, as a result of the dissolution of Parliament.

Proposed Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act

The proposed Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act was introduced in Parliament on February 29, 2012.

While the spirit of the new proposed legislation is the same as former Bill S-11, the Government has incorporated significant changes to the current bill based on feedback received from First Nations, Senators and Members of Parliament.

This enabling legislation is a vital step towards ensuring First Nations have the same health and safety protections for drinking water as other Canadians.

After due consideration, the Senate referred Bill S-8 to the House of Commons in June 2012 without amendment. On June 19, 2012 Bill S-8 received first reading in the House of Commons. On November 1, 2012, second reading debates began of Bill S-8. On November 1, 2012, second reading debates began of Bill S-8.

Subject to the proposed legislation receiving Royal Assessment, this bill will allow the Government to develop, in partnership with First Nations, enforceable federal regulations to ensure access to safe, clean and reliable drinking water; the effective treatment of wastewater; and the protection of sources of water on First Nation lands.

Construction and Upgrades of Water and Wastewater Systems

Through contribution agreements with First Nation communities, AANDC funds the construction and upgrading of water and wastewater infrastructure systems on-reserve. This includes water intakes, water and wastewater treatment and distribution systems. Related work around introducing standards and a protocol for small water and wastewater systems (including individual and community wells, trucked water and septic systems) will permit the funding of small systems, where appropriate. The Water and Wastewater Policy and Level of Service Standards guides these investments. Health Canada assists with the review of system design from a public health perspective.

Improvements to Operation and Maintenance Practices

Through contribution agreements with First Nation communities, AANDC is providing funding to improve operation and maintenance (O&M) practices for water and wastewater facilities.

Expansion and Enhancement of Training

AANDC continues to provide funding to train more water operators and to increase the number of trainers in the Circuit Rider Training Program (CRTP). The Circuit Rider Training Program (CRTP) is an important vehicle by which First Nations operators receive hands-on, on-site training and mentoring on how to operate their drinking water and wastewater systems. AANDC continues to fund the Circuit Rider Train ing Program (CRTP) to ensure the services are available to all First Nations communities that require them. As of fall 2012, there were 66 Circuit Rider Trainers.

The CRT Program plays a large role in the increase of certified on- reserve water and wastewater system operators. The 2011 National Assessment concluded that 51 per cent of water systems and 42 per cent of wastewater systems were managed by operators certified to the level of the system that they operated. One year later, the Annual Performance Inspections (APIs) of the same systems indicated that 60.1 per cent of water treatment systems and 53.9 per cent of wastewater systems were managed by operators certified to the level of the system.

Monitoring and Public Awareness

Health Canada assists communities to monitor distribution systems with five or more connections, cisterns and community wells, consistent with the Guidelines for Canadian Drinking Water Quality   and best management practices. Health Canada is also planning to enhance monitoring activities, including a National Wastewater Program and public awareness and risk communication activities.

What Information is Available?

You may also be interested in:

Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations

Le Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières nations a été lancé en 2008. Grâce au Plan d'action pour l'eau, 330 millions de dollars ont été investis sur deux ans dans les réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées pour la construction, la réparation, l'exploitation et l'entretien des installations d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées, la formation des opérateurs et les activités connexes de santé publique dans les réserves. Le 26 mai 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé que le financement du Plan d'action pour l'eau était prolongé de deux ans (jusqu'en 2012) et que le programme fournira un montant additionnel de 330 millions de dollars pour l'amélioration de l'approvisionnement de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action pour l'eau, le gouvernement du Canada améliore la santé et la qualité de vie des résidants des collectivités des Premières Nations. En ce sens, il aide les Premières Nations à offrir de meilleurs services d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées à leurs résidants. Affaires autochtones et développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) et Santé Canada sont les deux principaux ministères responsables de ce dossier.

Les principales composantes du Plan d'action pour l'eau sont :

  • d'appuyer les projets de construction pour répondre aux besoins en matière d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées et entretenir les réseaux actuels;
  • de financer l'exploitation et l'entretien continus des systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées;
  • de financer la formation pratique des opérateurs des installations de traitement de l'eau, et ce, afin d'augmenter le nombre d'opérateurs qualifiés;
  • de surveiller la qualité de l'eau selon les Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada;
  • de mener des activités de santé publique liées à l'eau potable et aux eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations dans les réserves;
  • de financer, dans le cadre du Programme des opérations de salubrité de l'eau, un tiers parti pour assurer le fonctionnement des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées, lorsque nécessaire.

Progrès réalisés dans le cadre des projets sur l'eau

Le gouvernement du Canada continue d'aller de l'avant avec plusieurs des améliorations annoncées au programme  en 2008, telles que la mise en œuvre de l'évaluation nationale de l'eau et aux eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières nations et l'élaboration d'un cadre législatif fédéral pour l'eau potable.

L'Évaluation nationale a recueilli des données sur 97 p. cent des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des collectivités des Premières Nations. Les visites des sites des 571 Premières Nations participantes ont commencé au mois de septembre 2009 et se sont terminées au mois de novembre 2010. Les résultats de l'Évaluation nationale ont été publiés en juillet 2011.

Le 14 juillet 2011, le ministre des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada a annoncé les résultats de l'Évaluation nationale, lesquels permettent aux Premières Nations et au Ministère de concentrer les investissements sur les priorités et d'améliorer l'approvisionnement en eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Déposé au Parlement en mai 2010, le projet de loi S-11, la Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières nations, est mort au Feuilleton, en deuxième lecture, le 26 mars 2011, en raison de la dissolution du Parlement.

Loi concernant la salubrité de l'eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations

Le projet de loi, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable sur les terres des Premières Nations, a été déposé au Parlement le 29 février 2012.

Bien que l'esprit du nouveau projet de loi soit le même que celui de l'ancien projet de loi S-11, le gouvernement a apporté d'importants changements en fonction de commentaires reçus de la part des Premières Nations, des sénateurs et des députés.

Cette loi habilitante est une mesure cruciale pour faire en sorte que les collectivités des Premières Nations jouissent des mêmes dispositions sur la santé et la sécurité de l'eau potable que tous les autres Canadiens.

En juin 2012, après avoir étudié le projet de loi S-8 comme il se doit, le Sénat l'a confié à la Chambre des communes sans le modifier. Le 19 juin 2012, le projet de loi a fait l'objet d'une première lecture à la Chambre des communes. Le 1er novembre 2012, les débats en deuxième lecture du projet de loi S-8 ont débuté.

Sous réserve que la loi proposée reçoive la sanction royale, cette loi permettra au gouvernement d'élaborer, en partenariat avec les Premières Nations, des règles fédérales exécutoires garantissant l'accès à une eau potable salubre et fiable et un traitement efficace des eaux usées ainsi que la protection des sources d'eau situées sur les terres des Premières Nations.

Construction et mise à niveau des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées

Conformément aux accords de contribution conclus avec les Premières Nations, AADNC finance la construction et la mise à niveau de réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves. Ce projet vise notamment les prises d'eau et les réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées ainsi que les systèmes de distribution. Les efforts déployés en vue de présenter des normes et un protocole régissant les petits réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées (dont les puits individuels et communautaires, l'approvisionnement en eau par camion et les fosses septiques) permettront de financer de petits réseaux, s'il y a lieu. La politique et les normes sur les niveaux de services pour l'eau potable et les eaux usées orientent ces investissements. Santé Canada participera à l'examen de la conception des réseaux dans l'optique de la santé publique.

Amélioration des pratiques d'exploitation et d'entretien

Dans le cadre des accords de contribution conclus avec les Premières Nations, des fonds seront accordés en vue d'améliorer les pratiques d'exploitation et d'entretien des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées.

Augmentation et amélioration de la formation

AADNC continue de financer le Programme de formation itinérante pour permettre l'embauche de plus formateurs itinérants afin d'augmenter le nombre d'opérateurs. Le Programme de formation itinérante est un important moyen grâce auquel les opérateurs des Premières Nations ont accès à une formation continue, sur place, et à du mentorat pour apprendre à exploiter leurs réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées. AADNC a continué à financer le Programme de formation itinérante afin que toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations puissent en bénéficier. À l'automne 2012, le nombre de formateurs atteignait 66.

Le Programme de formation itinérante est un facteur de premier plan dans l'augmentation du nombre d'opérateurs des systèmes d'eau et d'eaux usées accrédités dans les réserves. L'Évaluation nationale de 2011 concluait que 51 p. cent des systèmes d'eau et 42 p. cent des systèmes d'eaux usées étaient gérés par des opérateurs possédant l'accréditation appropriée. Un an plus tard, les inspections annuelles du rendement des mêmes systèmes montraient que 60,1 p. cent des systèmes d'eau et 53,9 p. cent des systèmes d'eaux usées étaient gérés par des opérateurs possédant l'accréditation appropriée.

Surveillance et sensibilisation du public

Santé Canada offre son soutien pour la surveillance des réseaux d'approvisionnement dotés d'au moins cinq raccordements, les réservoirs et les puits communautaires, conformément aux Recommandations pour la qualité de l'eau potable au Canada   et aux pratiques exemplaires de gestion. Santé Canada prévoit également accroître ses activités de surveillance. Il investira, entre autres, dans un programme national des eaux usées ainsi que dans des activités de sensibilisation du public et de communication des risques.

Autres liens d'intérêt :