Education Partnership in British Columbia

The education partnership in place in British Columbia is long-standing and comprehensive.

In 1998, an Aboriginal Education Partners Group was founded. This was quickly followed up with a February 2, 1999, Memorandum of Understanding on Aboriginal Education which committed the partners to work together "to improve school success for Aboriginal learners in British Columbia." The MOU was signed by the BC Chiefs Action Committee (on behalf of BC Chiefs), the Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs (on behalf of the Government of Canada) and the Minister of Education (on behalf of the Government of BC). Signatories also included the First Nation Schools Association, the BC College of Teachers, the BC School Trustees Association, the BC Teachers' Federation, the BC Principals and Vice Principals' Association.

The MOU led to the formation of a Tripartite Education Committee, which over time, focused primarily on developing a framework through which BC First Nations would assume self-government jurisdiction over education. In addition, the MOU enabled the development of a framework agreement between First Nations and Provincial School Districts promoting the creation of Aboriginal Education Enhancement Agreements. Through these Enhancement Agreements, the Province has made additional investments to improve educational success of Aboriginal students in provincial schools.

In 2003, a tripartite MOU on First Nations education was signed between Canada, BC and the First Nations Education Steering Committee (FNESC) outlining elements of First Nations education jurisdiction. This work led, in 2006, to the signing of an Education Jurisdiction Framework Agreement between the three parties as well as the negotiation of bilateral template agreements that would be signed by First Nations drawing down education jurisdiction. This framework of agreements sets out the structures, processes and undertaking aimed at ensuring the provision of education "so as to allow students to transfer without academic penalty to an equivalent level in another school within the school system of British Columbia."

The 2006 Education Jurisdiction Framework Agreement was formalized by the First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act and the provincial First Nation Education Act.

In November 2009, the Province and FNESC signed a reciprocal tuition agreement, which provides a mechanism whereby BC is able to provide full per-pupil funding for eligible students living off-reserve who are enrolled in band-operated schools, and for eligible non-status students living on reserve lands. This initiative was also an undertaking related to the 2006 Framework Agreement.

In December 2010, the Government of Canada announced a new comparable education approach for First Nations in British Columbia which will ensure that all First Nation students in the province are able to transfer between provincial schools and First Nation schools without academic penalty. First Nations will be able to access this new approach, which includes a new funding model, by signing either an education self-government agreement or by signing onto the Tripartite Education Framework Agreement.

The Tripartite Education Framework Agreement between Canada, FNESC and BC was signed in January 2012.

Partenariat en éducation en Colombie-Britannique

Le vaste partenariat en éducation établi en Colombie-Britannique est en place depuis très longtemps.

En 1998, l'Aboriginal Education Partners Group a été formé. Peu de temps après, soit le 2 février 1999, on a conclu un protocole d'entente (PE) sur l'éducation des Autochtones, qui lie les intervenants ayant pour but commun d'améliorer les chances de succès des élèves autochtones en Colombie-Britannique. Le PE a notamment été signé par le BC Chiefs Action Committee (au nom des chefs de la Colombie-Britannique), le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (au nom du gouvernement du Canada) et le ministre de l'Éducation (au nom du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique). Les autres signataires étaient la First Nation Schools Association, le BC College of Teachers, la BC School Trustees Association, la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de la Colombie-Britannique ainsi que la BC Principals and Vice Principals' Association.

Le PE a mené à la formation du Comité tripartite sur l'éducation, qui au fil du temps, a principalement mis l'accent sur l'élaboration d'un cadre au moyen duquel les Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique pourraient être autonomes en matière d'éducation. De plus, le PE a permis l'établissement d'un accord-cadre entre les Premières nations et les districts scolaires afin de promouvoir la conclusion d'ententes sur l'amélioration des services éducatifs destinés aux Autochtones. Par l'intermédiaire de ces ententes, la province a fait des investissements supplémentaires afin d'accroître la réussite scolaire des étudiants autochtones dans les écoles provinciales.

En 2003, un PE tripartite sur l'éducation des Premières nations, qui précise les éléments pertinents à la compétence en matière d'éducation, a été signé entre le gouvernement du Canada, la Colombie-Britannique et le First Nations Education Steering Committee (FNESC). Les travaux effectués dans le cadre de ce PE ont mené, en 2006, à la signature de l'Entente-cadre sur la compétence en matière d'éducation entre trois parties, ainsi qu'à la négociation d'ententes-modèles bilatérales qui seraient signées par les Premières nations qui détiennent une compétence en matière d'éducation. Cet ensemble d'ententes établit les structures, les processus et l'engagement visant à assurer la prestation de services éducatifs qui « permettent aux étudiants de passer, sans perte de scolarité, à un niveau équivalent dans une autre école du système scolaire de Colombie-Britannique ».

L'Entente-cadre sur la compétence en matière d'éducation de 2006 a été officialisée par la Loi sur la compétence des premières nations en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique et la Loi sur l'éducation des Premières nations.

En novembre 2009, le gouvernement provincial et FNESC ont signé un accord de réciprocité sur les droits de scolarité, dans le cadre duquel la province fournit un financement complet des études pour tous les élèves admissibles vivant hors réserve qui fréquentent une école administrée par la bande et à tous les élèves admissibles n’ayant pas le statut d’Indien vivant dans la réserve. Cette initiative découlait également de l’Accord-cadre de 2006.

En décembre 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé une nouvelle approche pour assurer la comparabilité de l’éducation des Premières Nations de la Colombie‑Britannique afin que tous les élèves de ces dernières puissent passer d’un système à un autre (écoles provinciales et écoles gérées par les Premières Nations) sans pénalité sur le plan scolaire. Les Premières Nations pourront se prévaloir de la nouvelle approche, qui comprend un nouveau modèle de financement, en signant un accord sur l’autonomie gouvernementale en matière d’éducation ou l’Accord-cadre tripartite en matière d’éducation.

Le Canada, FNESC et le gouvernement de la Colombie‑Britannique ont signé l’Accord-cadre tripartite en matière d’éducation en janvier 2012.