ARCHIVED - Roots & Shoots Engages Aboriginal Youth

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Developed as a pilot program in 2009, and delivered through the Jane Goodall Institute of Canada , the Roots & Shoots for Aboriginal Youth  initiative is a program that engages youth in learning, participation, and leadership in sustainable development.

Students plant trees as part of Project Kinade. (Photo by: Jane Goodall Institute)

The Roots & Shoots Program is a globally recognized program, with the main purpose of implementing positive change in the environment, protecting and caring for animals, and helping youth develop self-respect and confidence in themselves.  These goals are achieved because the program is based on a cyclic structure of knowledge, compassion and action.

AANDC has provided funding of over $155,000 for this special program.  It is geared to helping Aboriginal youth make more connections to their land, people and cultural identity, and be empowered to create change in their communities.

Ms. Petahtegoose (far left) with students. (Photo by: Northernlife.ca)

As such, Roots & Shoots for Aboriginal Youth offers financial contribution by means of small grants of up to $2,000 for projects developed by First Nations, Inuit and Métis schools, cultural centres and communities that are members of the Roots & Shoots Aboriginal Youth Program. These grants are provided to groups who demonstrate an existing commitment to Roots & Shoots for Aboriginal Youth and express a clear plan for executing community action projects.

Jennifer Petahtegoose, a teacher at St. Charles College in Sudbury, has received funding from Roots & Shoots for Aboriginal Youth  since its beginning and has made the initiative a pivotal part of her curriculum. Each semester, she and her students undertake a different project through the initiative.

Roots & Shoots on Traditional Ecological Knowledge (TEK)

The initiative strives to educate Aboriginal youth about Traditional Ecological Knowledge (TEK) by connecting them to their Elders and local environment. TEK plays an important role in ensuring that Aboriginal peoples will be able to meet their economic, residential, social and cultural needs from the land while preserving the environment at the same time. Today, it is central to the development of management plans that guide Aboriginal peoples toward sustainable use of their lands to benefit their communities.

One of these learning projects was "Project Kinade", meaning "Everything that you see around you is from the heart of the Creator." Project Kinade provided an opportunity for students to connect with their Elders and learn about sustainable land use principles. The students planted sage, strawberries and trees. They also removed garlic mustard seed, an invasive plant in the area. Finally, they participated in a drumming circle led by an Elder. The project allowed them to learn about their First Nation's culture and give back to the environment.

"Roots & Shoots has been a wonderful learning opportunity for my students", says Petahtegoose. "It totally complements the learning we strive for in Native Studies and really does help the kids learn about responsible stewardship of our land, taking pride in our Anishnabe culture and traditional ways of life, and helping them to see how they are connected to everything around them. It's been a great way for my students to connect to our global community and helps our young people see how they can truly make a difference."

Although Roots & Shoots for Aboriginal Youth is a youth-based program, anyone who is interested in taking action to make the world a better place can get involved. People around the world have been sharing knowledge and starting their own groups, contributing to a global sustainable community.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Roots & Shoots encourage la participation des jeunes Autochtones

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Élaboré à titre de projet pilote en 2009 et offert par le Jane Goodall Institute of Canada  (site Web non disponible en français), Roots & Shoots pour les jeunes Autochtones  (site Web non disponible en français) est un programme qui incite les jeunes à apprendre, à participer et à faire preuve de leadership dans le domaine du développement durable.

Les élèves plantent des arbres dans le cadre du projet Kinade. (Photo par : Jane Goodall Institute)

Le programme Roots & Shoots est reconnu partout dans le monde, et ses objectifs principaux sont de mettre en œuvre des changements positifs dans l'environnement, de protéger et de prendre soin des animaux et d'aider les jeunes à gagner de l'estime de soi et de la confiance. Ces objectifs sont atteints, car le programme est basé sur une structure cyclique de connaissance, de compassion et d'action.

AADNC a versé un financement de plus de 155 000 $ à ce programme spécial. Il vise à aider les jeunes Autochtones à créer des liens plus étroits avec leurs terres, leur peuple et leur identité culturelle, tout en étant habilités à apporter des changements dans leurs collectivités.

Mme Petahtegoose (tout à gauche) avec des élèves. (Photo par : Northernlife.ca)

À l'heure actuelle, le programme Roots & Shoots pour les jeunes Autochtones verse une contribution financière sous la forme de petites subventions allant jusqu'à 2 000 $ pour les projets élaborés par les écoles dans les collectivités inuites, métisses et des Premières Nations, les centres culturels et les collectivités qui sont membres du programme Roots & Shoots pour les jeunes Autochtones. Ces subventions sont versées aux groupes qui démontrent déjà un engagement à l'égard du programme Roots & Shoots pour les jeunes Autochtones et qui présentent un plan clair pour mener des projets communautaires.

Jennifer Petahtegoose, une enseignante au Collège St. Charles à Sudbury, reçoit un financement depuis le début du programme Roots & Shoots pour les jeunes Autochtones  (site Web non disponible en français) et a fait de l'initiative une composante clé de son programme d'enseignement. Chaque session, ses élèves et elle mènent un projet différent dans le cadre de l'initiative.

Roots & Shoots et les connaissances écologiques traditionnelles

L'initiative vise à éduquer les jeunes Autochtones au sujet des connaissances écologiques traditionnelles en leur permettant de créer des liens avec leurs aînés et l'environnement local. Les connaissances écologiques traditionnelles jouent un rôle important pour veiller à ce que les Autochtones puissent répondre à leurs besoins économiques, résidentiels, sociaux et culturels en exploitant les terres tout en préservant l'environnement. De nos jours, ces connaissances sont essentielles pour l'élaboration de plans de gestion qui guideront les Autochtones vers l'utilisation durable de leurs terres au profit de leurs collectivités.

Un de ces projets d'apprentissage a été le projet Kinade, qui signifie « tout ce que tu vois autour de toi vient du cœur du Créateur ». Le projet Kinade a offert l'occasion aux élèves d'établir des liens avec leurs aînés et d'apprendre au sujet des principes de l'utilisation durable des terres. Les élèves ont planté de la sauge, des fraises et des arbres. Ils ont aussi enlevé de l'herbe à l'ail, une plante envahissante de la région. Finalement, ils ont participé à un cercle de tambour avec un aîné. Le projet leur a permis d'apprendre au sujet de leur culture des Premières Nations et de faire de bons gestes pour l'environnement.

« Le programme Roots & Shoots a été une merveilleuse occasion d'apprentissage pour mes élèves, a dit Mme Petahtegoose. Il complète parfaitement les connaissances que nous souhaitons obtenir en études sur les Autochtones et il aide vraiment les jeunes à en apprendre plus sur la gérance de nos terres, à être fiers de notre culture anishnabe et de nos modes de vie traditionnels, en plus de les aider à comprendre comment ils sont reliés à tout ce qui les entoure. C'est un excellent moyen pour mes élèves de créer des liens avec notre communauté globale et d'aider nos jeunes à comprendre comment ils peuvent réellement changer les choses. »

Le programme Roots & Shoots pour les jeunes Autochtones est un programme axé sur les jeunes, mais tous les gens qui souhaitent contribuer à créer un monde meilleur peuvent y participer. Partout sur la planète, des personnes partagent leurs connaissances et lancent leurs propres groupes, contribuant ainsi à une économie communautaire mondiale durable.

 

Date de modification :