ARCHIVED - Global Partnership in Renewable Energy for Membertou First Nation

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

In 2010, Membertou First Nation , in Nova Scotia, entered into a joint-venture business partnership with GrupoGuascor , a global player in renewable energies technologies located in the Basque region of Spain. Together the groups formed Anaia Global Renewable Energies, a company that will market renewable energy across North America. Initial marketing efforts will focus on the Pacific Southwest of the United States and the Canadian Province of Nova Scotia.

Renewable energy technologies

The company offers a full range of renewable energy technologies, including solar, wind, bio-energy equipment and applications equipment designed specifically for small rural communities and remote parts of Canada and the United States.

Rodrigo Moura, Lead Business Director for Anaia Global Renewable Energies, says that Anaia is operated on the concept of a "treaty economy", based on partnership in equity, and the beliefs of transferring knowledge, creating jobs, sharing risks and involving the community in the partnerships. One of the keys to success is ensuring that Aboriginal people become owners of each project involving their community. The building of skills and capacities subsequently facilitates the creation of a regional hub for other renewable energies companies to do business, allowing long term success for communities.

The partnership between Membertou First Nation and GrupoGuascor embodies the values and ethics of the community according to Membertou First Nation Chief Terry Paul. "Membertou has worked for many years to create partnerships that build on innovations of today but still integrate the principles of respect for the environment, conservation and sustainability of resources. Partnering with GrupoGuascor has provided the opportunity to do this and stay true to our beliefs as a Mi'kmaq community."

Initial Experience to Take Place in Nova Scotia

In connection with the province of Nova Scotia's renewable electricity plan, Anaia Global Renewable Energies will help encourage development of renewable energy projects by First Nations and local municipalities. The Province's goal is to increase renewable energy projects by 25 per cent by the year 2015.

There are high expectations that the joint venture partnership will spawn other business opportunities. With new business ties made in the Basque region, other businesses from Spain are now looking into the North American market. This could have positive effects on other First Nations and Nova Scotia for future generations. "What is good for Membertou is good for Nova Scotia and what is good for Nova Scotia is good for Membertou," says Chief Paul.

Anaia Global Renewable Energies sets the tone for sustainable development's future.  It recognizes the linkages between social, economic, and environmental factors that ensure a healthy and prosperous future for generations to come.

"A partnership based on the views and perspectives of the community is crucial to long term sustainable development. That involves working with the community so that it is central to the plan and can continue to build from it for future generations," says Moura. "We believe that the future success of Anaia Global is based on the sharing of the renewable energy experience with other bands together with Membertou".

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Partenariat mondial dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables avec la Première Nation de Membertou

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

En 2010, la Première Nation de Membertou  (site Web non disponible en français), en Nouvelle‑Écosse, a conclu un partenariat avec GrupoGuascor  (site Web non disponible en français), un acteur de calibre mondial dans le domaine des technologies d'exploitation des énergies renouvelables de la région du Pays Basque, en Espagne. Ensemble, les deux parties ont créé Anaia Global Renewable Energies, une entreprise qui commercialisera les énergies renouvelables dans toute l'Amérique du Nord. Les premiers efforts de commercialisation seront axés sur la région sud‑ouest/pacifique des États-Unis et la province canadienne de la Nouvelle‑Écosse.

L'entreprise offre un vaste éventail de technologies d'exploitation des énergies renouvelables, y compris de l'équipement pour l'exploitation de l'énergie solaire et éolienne, et de la bioénergie ainsi que de l'équipement conçu précisément pour les petites collectivités rurales et les zones éloignées du Canada et des États‑Unis.

Rodrigo Moura, le directeur en chef d'Anaia Global Renewable Energies, affirme que l'entreprise sera gérée selon le principe de l'« économie de traité », dans le cadre d'un partenariat à part entière, et devrait permettre un échange de connaissances, la création d'emplois, le partage des risques et la participation de la collectivité à des partenariats. Un des principaux facteurs de réussite est de donner aux Autochtones l'occasion de devenir propriétaires des projets réalisés dans leurs collectivités. Le renforcement des capacités et des compétences qui s'ensuivra facilitera la création d'un centre régional pour d'autres entreprises œuvrant dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables, ce qui assurera un succès à long terme pour les collectivités.

Selon Terry Paul, le chef de la Première Nation de Membertou, le partenariat entre la Première Nation et GrupoGuascor traduit bien les valeurs et les principes éthiques de la collectivité. « La Première Nation de Membertou travaille depuis de nombreuses années à la création de partenariats qui tirent profit des concepts novateurs d'aujourd'hui, mais qui intègrent aussi les principes de respect de l'environnement, de conservation et de gestion durable des ressources. Notre partenariat avec GrupoGuascor nous offre l'occasion de concilier ces deux idées et de respecter nos croyances en tant que collectivité mi'kmaq. »

Première expérience débutera en Nouvelle Écosse

En conjonction avec le plan de production d'électricité renouvelable de la Nouvelle Écosse, Anaia Global Renewable Energies encouragera la réalisation de projets d'exploitation des énergies renouvelables par les Premières Nations et les municipalités. Le but de la province est d'accroître le nombre de projets d'exploitation des énergies renouvelables de 25 % d'ici 2015.

Les gens ont grand espoir que la coentreprise générera d'autres possibilités d'affaires. Grâce aux liens qui ont été créés avec la région du Pays Basque, d'autres entreprises de l'Espagne commencent maintenant à s'intéresser au marché de l'Amérique du Nord. Ce projet pourrait avoir des effets positifs sur d'autres Premières Nations et en Nouvelle‑Écosse pour les prochaines générations. « Ce qui est bon pour la Première Nation de Membertou est bon pour l'ensemble de la Nouvelle‑Écosse, et vice‑versa », a expliqué le chef Paul.

Anaia Global Renewable Energies jette les bases d'un avenir axé sur le développement durable. Elle reconnaît les rapports entre les facteurs sociaux, économiques et environnementaux qui permettent d'assurer un avenir sain et prospère pour les prochaines générations.

« Un partenariat fondé sur les perspectives et les vues de la collectivité est essentiel au développement durable, a déclaré M. Moura. Nous devons travailler avec les collectivités et nous assurer qu'elles occupent un rôle central dans les projets et peuvent continuer d'en tirer profit à l'avenir. Nous croyons que le succès d'Anaia Global est fondé sur le partage des expériences avec les énergies renouvelables entre la Première Nation de Membertou et d'autres bandes. »

 

Date de modification :