ARCHIVED - Success Reaches New Heights with First Air

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

First Air  is the leading airline of the Canadian North, transporting over 200,000 passengers and 20,000,000 kilograms of cargo to northern destinations each year. This innovative airline has been in operation for over 64 years and now serves 30 northern communities with connections to Edmonton, Winnipeg, Ottawa and Montreal.

(Photo by: Makivik. Makivik Archives)

The significance of this airline is found in its 100 per cent Inuit-ownership. The Makivik Corporation , an Inuit-owned enterprise, was able to purchase First Air in 1990 with land-claim compensation funds transferred to Inuit of Northern Quebec following the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) of 1975. This historical land-claim agreement awarded $225 million to the James Bay Cree and Inuit of Northern Quebec, paid out by the governments of Canada and Quebec. With the monies received from the JBNQA, the Makivik Corporation has been able to acquire several businesses that help sustain life in the North.

Negotiations of the 1975 James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement. (Photo by: Makivik. Makivik Archives)

The Makivik Corporation has been able to utilize the success of First Air to improve the lives of Inuit in the North. "A key strategy for Makivik's First Air is to support all aboriginal groups in all the communities we serve," explains Chris Ferris, Vice President of Marketing & Sales for First Air. "We do this with meaningful employment opportunities, investment in infrastructure, sponsorships and discounted transportation for beneficiary groups in the regions we serve." As the largest carrier of food cargo to northern communities in Canada, the airline continues to support the North. "Last year, First Air acquired a Boeing 767 for the primary purpose of providing northern communities with shipments of food, five days a week, year round," Ferris gladly reports.

First Air. (Photo by: Makivik. Makivik Archives)

"First Air is proud to be an equal opportunity employer. We employ over 450 Northerners, of which approximately 25 per cent are Aboriginal," says Ferris. "This year, we are working to increase our Inuit employment throughout our network of operations. We will be hosting an open house in Iqaluit later this year to showcase the vast array of employment opportunities with First Air." 

Following the Makivik Corporation's purchase of First Air, the airline has continued to grow. First Air has been able to expand its fleet, and the communities it serves through the acquisition of Ptarmigan Airways and NWT Air. "Through offering efficient services, opportunities for economic development, meaningful employment and community reinvestment, First Air continues to be the leader in northern transportation services," says Scott Bateman, President & C.E.O. of First Air.

Businesses like First Air help to improve the lives of Northerners in Canada. Dedication to Aboriginal employment and keeping the needs of Northerners a priority is what flies First Air above the competition.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Le succès atteint de nouveaux sommets avec First Air

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

First Air  est la principale compagnie aérienne dans le Nord canadien. Chaque année, elle transporte plus de 200 000 passagers et 20 000 000 de kilogrammes de cargo vers des destinations du Nord. Cette compagnie aérienne novatrice, qui existe depuis plus de 64 ans, dessert maintenant plus de 30 collectivités du Nord et offre des liaisons pour Edmonton, Winnipeg, Ottawa et Montréal.

(Photo par : Archives de la Société Makivik)

Ce qui est remarquable de cette compagnie c'est qu'elle soit la propriété exclusive d'Inuit. La Société Makivik , une entreprise appartenant aux Inuit, a pu acheter First Air en 1990 grâce au fonds d'indemnité transféré aux Inuit du Nord du Québec après la signature de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois (CBJNQ), en 1975. Cet accord historique sur les revendications territoriales accordait 225 millions de dollars aux Cris de la baie James et aux Inuit du Nord du Québec, payés par les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec. Grâce à l'argent reçu dans le cadre de la CBJNQ, la Société Makivik a pu acquérir plusieurs entreprises qui contribuent à la durabilité de la vie dans le Nord.

Négociations de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois de 1975. (Photo par : Archives de la Société Makivik)

La Société Makivik a été en mesure de tirer profit du succès de First Air pour améliorer la vie des Inuit dans le Nord. « Une stratégie clé pour la compagnie aérienne First Air de la Société Makivik est d'appuyer tous les groupes autochtones dans les collectivités que nous desservons, explique Chris Ferris, vice-président du marketing et des ventes pour First Air. Nous nous y employons en fournissant des possibilités d'emploi significatives, en investissant dans les infrastructures, en offrant des commandites et en proposant des tarifs préférentiels pour le transport des groupes bénéficiaires dans les régions que nous desservons. » En tant que plus grand transporteur de cargo alimentaire dans les collectivités du Nord du Canada, la compagnie aérienne continue d'appuyer le Nord. « L'année dernière, First Air a acheté un Boeing 767 principalement afin de fournir aux collectivités du Nord des livraisons de nourriture, cinq jours par semaine, toute l'année », ajoute avec entrain M. Ferris.

First Air. (Photo par : Archives de la Société Makivik)

« First Air est fier d'être un employeur qui donne des chances égales à tous les candidats, affirme M. Ferris. Nous employons plus de 450 résidants du Nord, et environ 25 pour cent d'entre eux sont Autochtones. Cette année, nous cherchons à augmenter le nombre de nos employés inuits dans tout notre réseau de fonctionnement. Nous organiserons des portes ouvertes à Iqaluit plus tard cette année pour présenter la grande variété d'emplois au sein de First Air. »

Après l'achat de First Air par la Société Makivik, la compagnie aérienne a continué de croître. First Air a réussi à élargir sa flotte et d'accroître le nombre de collectivités qu'elle dessert, grâce à l'acquisition de Ptarmigan Airways et de NWT Air. « En offrant des services efficaces, des possibilités de développement économique et des emplois enrichissants et en réinvestissant dans les collectivités, First Air continue d'être un chef de file des services de transport dans le Nord, » a déclaré Scott Bateman, président‑directeur-général de First Air.

Les entreprises comme First Air contribuent à améliorer la vie des résidants du Nord du Canada. First Air se démarque de ses compétiteurs, car elle se voue à l'emploi des Autochtones et met toujours à l'avant-plan les besoins des résidants du Nord.

 

Date de modification :