ARCHIVED - Uncovering Lost Potential at Jean Marie River First Nation

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Jean Marie River First Nation is committed to achieving self-sufficiency, and with help from the Government of Canada's Strategic Investments in Northern Economic Development (SINED) and the First Nations Forestry Program (FNFP), they are well on their way.

Eric Bertrand, Loader Operator at the Jean Marie River First Nation Sawmill. (Photo by: Jean Marie River First Nation)

Over 15 years ago, a fire devastated the sawmill at Jean Marie River First Nation and it remained unused until the Community Sawmill Opportunities Study brought new life to the old operation. Between 2002 and 2003, the Study team travelled to several First Nations sawmills across the Northwest Territories to assist communities in reviving forgotten economic potential in their sawmill operations. The Study was made possible from a contribution of $26,500 through SINED and $24,000 from INAC's FNFP that helped several northern communities increase their economic potential. 

Todd Minoza, Sawyer. (Photo by: Jean Marie River First Nation)

As a result of the Community Sawmill Opportunities Study, FPInnovations-Forintek, Canada's national wood products research institute, was brought in to the community of Jean Marie River First Nation to offer training to residents on various aspects of the sawmilling process. Community members received training not only on the safe operation of sawmilling equipment but also on the tracking and recording of costs as an integral part of effective business management.

The Jean Marie River First Nation Sawmill in action. (Photo by: Jean Marie River First Nation)

"The community is now better positioned to operate a more efficient, productive sawmill" says Natural Resources Canada's Forest Liaison Manager, Lorne West.

This rejuvenated sawmill business has helped the community think locally in their pursuit of self-sufficiency and economic sustainability. "In the future, more can be provided from local products as opposed to imports from down south." explains West. The return to operation of the Jean Marie River First Nation Sawmill has brought the community a source of quality lumber. "People have lots of firewood, lots of rough lumber. They are building sheds and cabins on their land." says Arnold Gargan, Jean Marie River's Economic Development Officer. 

Thanks to the support offered by CanNor and INAC, this project has allowed the community to look forward to future possibilities and opportunities close to home.

 

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Retrouver le potentiel oublié de la Première Nation de Jean Marie River

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La Première Nation de Jean Marie River souhaite ardemment devenir autonome et, grâce à l'aide offerte par le gouvernement du Canada par le truchement des Investissements stratégiques dans le développement économique du Nord (ISDEN) et le Programme forestier des Premières Nations (PFPN), elle est près d'y arriver.

Eric Bertrand, opérateur de chargeuse à la scierie de la Première Nation de Jean Marie River. (Photo par : Première nation de Jean Marie River)

Il y a plus de 15 ans, un feu a détruit la scierie de la Première Nation de Jean Marie River, qui est demeurée vacante jusqu'à ce qu'une étude sur les possibilités pour les scieries communautaires vienne faire revivre l'établissement. Entre 2002 et 2003, l'équipe chargée de l'étude a visité plusieurs scieries dans les Premières Nations des Territoires du Nord-Ouest pour aider les collectivités à redonner du souffle au potentiel économique oublié de leur exploitation de scierie. Il a été possible de réaliser l'étude grâce à une contribution de 26 500 $ tirée des ISDEN et de 24 000 $ provenant du PFPN d'AINC, aidant ainsi plusieurs Premières Nations à accroître leur potentiel économique.

Todd Minoza, bûcheron. (Photo par : Première Nation de Jean Marie River)

À la suite de l'étude sur les possibilités pour les scieries communautaires, on a invité FPInnovations-Forintek, l'institut de recherche sur les produits du bois du Canada, dans la collectivité de la Première Nation de Jean Marie River pour offrir une formation aux résidants sur les divers aspects du processus du sciage de bois d'œuvre. Les membres de la collectivité ont reçu une formation sur le fonctionnement sécuritaire de l'équipement de scierie, mais aussi sur le suivi et la compilation des coûts, un aspect essentiel de la gestion efficace d'une entreprise.

La scierie de la Première Nation de Jean Marie River fonctionne. (Photo par : Première Nation de Jean Marie River)

« La collectivité est maintenant mieux en mesure de gérer une scierie plus efficace et productive », a déclaré Lorne West, gestionnaire de la Liaison forestière à Ressources naturelles Canada.

Le renouveau de la scierie a aidé la collectivité à penser localement pour sa quête de l'autonomie et de la durabilité économique. « À l'avenir, il sera possible d'obtenir plus à partir de produits locaux, et non à partir de produits importés du Sud », explique M. West. La réouverture de la scierie de la Première Nation de Jean Marie River a permis à la collectivité d'obtenir du bois d'œuvre de qualité. « Les gens ont beaucoup de bois de chauffage, beaucoup de bois d'œuvre. Ils construisent des cabanons et des chalets sur leur terrain », affirme Arnold Gargan, agent du développement économique de la Première Nation de Jean Marie River.

Grâce à l'appui offert par CanNor et par AINC, ce projet a permis à la collectivité de songer aux possibilités et aux occasions d'avenir qui s'offrent localement.

 

Date de modification :