Osoyoos Indian Band

Situated in the Okanagan Valley in British Columbia, the Osoyoos Indian Band has a strong vision for its future, which it is realizing through initiatives in agriculture, eco-tourism, and commercial, industrial and residential developments. The combination of rich agricultural land and desert tracts provides ideal conditions for many of the Band's businesses, most notably their vineyards and winery.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: Osoyoos Indian Band

The Osoyoos Indian Band is a model of progress and initiative with its determined focus on self-sustaining economic development.

Under the direction of its long-time Chief, Clarence Louie, the Band has become a multi-faceted corporation that employs hundreds of people from on and off reserve, in its many successful business and commercial operations.

I believe a chief's responsibility is to look after the immediate needs of their people, and that starts with having a job.

We have so many opportunities here… I think that is the greatest success…there's so many jobs and careers and… just things for people to do…we keep active…there's always new things happening …

The majority of the Osoyoos Indian Band's 465 members live on reserve, where their territory stretches across 32,000 acres in southern British Columbia. The combination of rich agricultural land and desert tracts provides ideal conditions for many of the OIB's businesses; most notably its vineyards and winery.

Overlooking the shores of Osoyoos Lake, Nk'Mip Cellars is North America's first Aboriginal winery.

My position basically is training me and grooming me for management of the winery…so that is the …the goal in the future…is that one day I'll have the skills necessary to run the winery.

Being an Aboriginal winemaker and working for our company, I talk to the chief quite often and he gives me the idea that, or the feeling that I'm fairly important and a good ....I guess mentor for younger people to get into something and show what you can do.

I'm definitely proud that I'm a winemaker for the band, for sure…it's our own company and I feel that it's the best thing for us.

The Osoyoos Indian Band also administers its own health, social, educational and municipal services while respecting, preserving and promoting its Okanagan culture and heritage.

The Osoyoos Indian Band is doing very well here, not just for business, economic development, but for what we're doing here for our First Nations History and Culture. We're teaching, we're talking about it…the land, the people and the culture.

We don't operate our businesses here on a strictly corporate Canada method or philosophy, we contribute socially, culturally, we hire our people sooner, we keep them longer and we use our business profits to fund all of our social cultural programs.

Chief Clarence Louie has been invited to many other communities in Canada and globally to speak about economic development, and what First Nations can do to rise above their circumstances and prosper.

We've got to start standing on our own two feet and creating our own jobs and making our own money…that's First Nations self-sufficiency…that's how you bring back First Nations pride…

Date modified:

Bande indienne d’Osoyoos

Située dans la vallée de l'Okanagan en Colombie-Britannique, la Bande indienne d'Osoyoos a de grandes ambitions pour son avenir qu'elle concrétise dans le cadre d'initiatives dans les domaines de l'agriculture, de l'écotourisme et du développement commercial, industriel et résidentiel. La combinaison d'une riche terre agricole et de terrains désertiques fournit une formule idéale pour un grand nombre d'entreprises de la Bande, plus particulièrement ses vignobles et ses vineries.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript: Bande indienne d'Osoyoos

La Bande indienne d'Osoyoos est un modèle de progrès et d'initiative en raison de sa détermination d'atteindre l'autosuffisance grâce au développement économique.

Sous la direction de son chef de longue date, Clarence Louie, la Bande est devenue une société à plusieurs facettes qui emploie des centaines de personnes, dans les réserves et hors réserve, dans de nombreuses entreprises et opérations commerciales couronnées de succès.

Je crois que la responsabilité d'un chef est de répondre aux besoins immédiats de son peuple et pour ça, il faut avoir des emplois.

Nous avons ici énormément d'occasions... Je crois que c'est là notre plus grand succès. Il y a tellement d'emplois et de possibilités de carrières ainsi que de choses à faire pour nous garder actifs. Il se produit toujours du nouveau.

La majorité des 465 membres de la Bande indiennes d'Osoyoos vivent dans la réserve dont le territoire s'étend sur 32 000 acres dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique. La combinaison d'une riche terre agricole et de terrains désertiques fournit une formule idéale pour un grand nombre d'entreprises de la Bande, plus précisément ses vignobles et ses vineries.

Nk'Mip Cellars, qui donne sur les berges du lac Osoyoos, constitue la première vinerie autochtone en Amérique du Nord.

En fait, j'acquiers ma formation en effectuant mes tâches et je me prépare en vue de gérer la vinerie... C'est mon objectif pour l'avenir. Un jour, j'aurai les compétences nécessaires pour gérer l'entreprise.

Comme je suis un vinificateur autochtone et que je travaille pour notre compagnie, je parle très souvent au chef, et il me donne l'impression que je suis assez important et un bon mentor pour les jeunes. Je leur montre qu'ils peuvent s'engager et démontrer ce qu'ils peuvent faire.

C'est sûr que je suis fier d'être un vinificateur pour la Bande. C'est notre propre compagnie, et je trouve que c'est ce qu'il y a de mieux pour nous.

La Bande indienne d'Osoyoos administre également ses propres services de santé, sociaux, éducatifs et municipaux, tout en respectant, préservant et promouvant sa culture et son patrimoine de l'Okanagan.

La Bande indienne d'Osoyoos réussit très bien ici, pas seulement au niveau des affaires et du développement économique, mais aussi au niveau de ce que l'on fait pour l'histoire et la culture de nos Premières Nations. Nous enseignons et nous parlons de la terre, des gens et de la culture.

Nous ne gérons pas nos entreprises, ici, en suivant strictement les méthodes ou la philosophie canadiennes : nous contribuons au niveau social et culturel, nous embauchons nos employés plus tôt, nous les gardons plus longtemps, et nous utilisons nos profits d'entreprises pour financer tous nos programmes sociaux et culturels.

Le chef Clarence Louie a été invité dans de nombreuses autres collectivités, au Canada et à l'étranger, pour parler du développement économique et de ce que peuvent faire les Premières Nations pour améliorer leur situation et prospérer.

Nous devons d'abord nous prendre en charge en créant nos propres emplois et en gagnant notre propre argent. C'est l'autonomie des Premières Nations... et c'est la façon de ramener la fierté des Premières Nations.

Date de modification :