Sample Letter of Credit

PDF Version   (24 Kb, 1 Page)

 


(DATE OF ISSUE)

IRREVOCABLE STANDBY LETTER OF CREDIT NO. (L/C NO.) FOR ($ AMOUNT CAD.)

BENEFICIARY
THE RECEIVER GENERAL FOR CANADA
AS REPRESENTED BY THE DIRECTOR,
OIL AND GAS MANAGEMENT DIRECTORATE,
NORTHERN OIL AND GAS BRANCH
DEPARTMENT OF INDIAN AFFAIRS AND NORTHERN DEVELOPMENT
OTTAWA ON K1A OH4

APPLICANT
(Name & Address)

AMOUNT $___________________CAD.
(amount in words)---00/100 Canadian Dollars

EXPIRY DATE
at our counters in OTTAWA, Ontario

At the request of and for the account of our customer (Applicant - Name and Address) the "Customer", we hereby establish in the Beneficiary's favour our Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit number (L/C NO.) for a sum not exceeding in the aggregate amount of (Amount in Words)--00/100 Canadian Dollars ($_________________ CAD.).

This Credit is given in support of the Customer's agreement with the Oil and Gas Management Directorate, Northern Oil and Gas Branch, Northern Affairs Sector, Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, and Exploration Licence No #________ (the "Licence") and relates to the Terms and Conditions in the Licence dated (Date of Licence), equal in the amount to the sum of this Credit.

(In the event that the Exploration Licence has not yet been issued, then refer to the Parcel No._________ and Call for Bids name, date, and indicate that an Exploration Licence will be issued for this Parcel).

Our obligation to pay is irrevocable, absolute and unconditional and, in furtherance and support thereof and without limiting the irrevocable, absolute and unconditional nature of our obligations to the Beneficiary hereunder, any demand by the Beneficiary shall be honoured without any inquiry as to the Beneficiary's rights to make such demand, without regard to or recognition of any contractual rights, claims or defences (legal or equitable) of the Customer against the Beneficiary and without regard to any other defence to the Beneficiary's demand for payment, arising as a result of any dispute between the Beneficiary and the Customer or between the Customer and ourselves.

Payment under this Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit shall be available to the Beneficiary on sight against presentation by the Beneficiary to (issuing Bank, name and address) of a written demand for payment, which demand we shall honour without inquiring whether the Beneficiary has a right as between the Beneficiary and the Customer to make such a demand, without recognizing any claims of the Customer and without raising any defence arising as between the Customer and ourselves, accompanied by a certification signed by the Beneficiary or an authorized representative that the Customer is in default under the terms of the Licence.

Partial drawings are permitted.

It is understood that the Bank is obligated under this Credit to the payment of monies only and not the performance of the Licence.

It is a condition of this Letter of Credit that it shall be deemed to be automatically extended without amendment, for one year from the present or any future expiration date hereof, unless one hundred and twenty (120) days prior to any such date, we shall notify the Beneficiary in writing at the address noted above, by Certified Mail that we elect not to consider this Letter of Credit renewed for any such additional period. Upon receipt by you of such notice, you may draw by means of your written demand accompanied by your above written certificate.

This Irrevocable Standby Letter of Credit is subject to the Uniform Customs and Practices for Documentary Credits (1993 Revision), International Chamber of Commerce Publication No. 500. Notwithstanding Article 17 of said Publication, if this Documentary Credit expires during an interruption of business as described in Article 17, we agree to effect payment if this Documentary Credit is drawn on us within fifteen (15) days after resumption of business.

__________________
(Authorized Signature)

Countersigned:

__________________
(Authorized Signature)

Exemple d'une lettre de crédit

Format PDF   (26 Ko, 1 page)

  


(DATE DE DÉLIVRANCE)

LETTRE DE CRÉDIT DE SOUTIEN IRRÉVOCABLE NO  (NUMÉRO DE LA LETTRE) AU MONTANT DE  (MONTANT) $ CAN

BÉNÉFICIAIRE
Le receveur général du Canada,
représenté par le directeur, Gestion
des ressources pétrolières et gazières
Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz
du Nord
Ministère des Affaires indiennes et
du Nord canadien
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A OH4

DEMANDEUR
(Nom & Adresse)

MONTANT ___________________$ CAD.
(montant en toutes lettres)---00/100 dollars canadiens

DATE D'EXPIRATION
à nos guichets d'OTTAWA (Ontario)

À la demande de notre client, (demandeur – nom et adresse) (ci-après le « client »), et pour son compte, nous établissons par la présente, en faveur du bénéficiaire, la lettre de crédit de soutien irrévocable numéro (numéro de la lettre de crédit) pour un montant n’excédant pas la somme totale de (montant en toutes lettres)--00/100 dollars canadiens (.................. $ CAN).

Ce crédit est fourni relativement à l’accord conclu par le client avec la Direction de la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières, Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord, Secteur des affaires du Nord, ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, et au permis de prospection no ........... (ci-après le « permis ») et vise les modalités du permis en date du (date du permis), pour un montant égal à la somme du crédit.

(Si le permis de prospection n'a pas encore été délivré, il faut renvoyer à la parcelle no ........... ainsi qu'au titre et à la date de l'appel d'offres, et préciser qu'un permis de prospection sera délivré pour cette parcelle.)

Notre obligation de paiement est irrévocable, absolue et inconditionnelle et, en conséquence et sans limiter le caractère irrévocable, absolu et inconditionnel de nos obligations envers le bénéficiaire en vertu de la présente, toute demande du bénéficiaire doit être honorée sans que le droit du bénéficiaire de soumettre une telle demande ne soit mis en question, sans égard à ou sans reconnaissance de tout droit contractuel, réclamation ou défense (au plan juridique ou de l’équité) du client contre le bénéficiaire et sans égard à toute autre défense relative à la demande de paiement du bénéficiaire, découlant de tout différend entre le bénéficiaire et le client ou entre le client et nous.

Aux termes de cette lettre de crédit de soutien irrévocable, les fonds sont payables au bénéficiaire à vue, pour autant que ce dernier présente à (banque émettrice – nom et adresse) une demande écrite de paiement, laquelle sera honorée sans qu’on vérifie si le bénéficiaire a le droit de soumettre une telle demande dans le cadre de sa relation avec le client, sans reconnaissance de toute réclamation du client et sans qu’on invoque de défense entre le client et nous. La demande doit être accompagnée d’une attestation signée par le bénéficiaire ou un représentant autorisé indiquant que le client ne respecte pas les modalités du permis.

Les prélèvements partiels sont permis.

Il est entendu qu’aux termes de ce crédit, la banque est tenue de verser des fonds uniquement, et non d’assurer l’exécution de toute obligation en vertu du permis.

La présente lettre de crédit est reconduite automatiquement, sans modification, pour un an à compter de la date d’expiration actuelle ou de toute date d’expiration future, à moins que cent vingt (120) jours avant cette date, nous informions le bénéficiaire, par un avis écrit expédié par courrier recommandé à l’adresse susmentionnée, que nous avons choisi de ne pas la reconduire. Dès réception d’un tel avis, vous pourrez effectuer un prélèvement au moyen d’une demande écrite accompagnée de l’attestation susmentionnée.

Cette lettre de crédit de soutien irrévocable est assujettie aux Règles et usances uniformes relatives aux crédits documentaires, révision de 1993, publication n° 500 de la Chambre de commerce internationale. Nonobstant l’article 17 de cette publication, si ce crédit documentaire vient à expiration pendant une interruption des activités conformément à l’article 17, nous convenons d’effectuer le paiement lorsque le crédit documentaire est demandé dans les quinze (15) jours suivant la reprise des activités.

__________________
(Signataire autorisé)

Contresigné :

__________________
(Signataire autorisé)