Success Stories

Infrastructure and Housing

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) works with First Nation governments to support affordable and adequate housing, clean drinking water and community infrastructure like roads and schools.

The following stories showcase the successes of a number of Aboriginal communities that have improved their housing situation.

See other Aboriginal success stories from across Canada.

Tallcree First Nation Water Treatment Plant
The Tallcree First Nation, situated in northern Alberta, is providing safe drinking water for community members through its new state-of-the-art water treatment plant. The quality of life for community members has greatly improved as a result of this new facility. Watch this video to see how the new water treatment plant will supply the water needs of the community for generations to come.

The Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada
The Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada is made up of regional fire and emergency service organizations with a focus on delivering fire prevention and other associated programs, such as the National Firefighters Competition, that will help reduce fires and the loss of life.

Penticton Indian Band Eco-Housing Initiative
See how the Penticton Indian Band's Eco Housing Initiative has provided housing for its Band members utilizing energy efficient technology at the least amount of cost.

Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte
The Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte have achieved great success with their housing program. It not only features home ownership and social housing, but also energy-efficient home construction.

Coming Home to Lac La Ronge
Innovative thinking and decisive action by the Lac La Ronge Indian Band in northern Saskatchewan has given families, like the Christiansens, the home of their dreams. At the same time, the band has developed its own innovative way to take control of its housing needs.

Kamloops Indian Band On-reserve Housing Program
Kamloops Indian Band is developing a thriving housing market on its own doorstep.

Fighting Mold: A Story of Three Communities
Kahnawake's children are breathing easier after the First Nations community took decisive action to combat mold in their homes, schools and other buildings. The efforts of Kahnawake's leaders are empowering First Nations communities in places like Manitoulin Island, Ontario, and Hartley Bay, British Columbia, to protect the health and well being of their residents.

Cowichan Tribe Large-Scale Mold Remediation Project
One of Canada's oldest communities, the tight-knit Cowichan Tribe of lower mainland British Columbia, faced a health crisis when they found mold in their homes.

Insurance Pilot Project
The British Columbia Nak'azdli First Nation has taken a leadership role in creating affordable and adequate housing by signing the first trust agreement under Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation's (CMHC's) On-Reserve Homeownership Loan Insurance Pilot product.

CMHC and Seabird Island First Nation
Seabird Island First Nation of British Columbia has taken their respect for the environment to new levels through a bold approach that helped them build seven new environmentally friendly housing units in their community.

Piikani Nation Housing Authority
The Piikani Nation is transforming the lives of its band members through its innovative five year comprehensive housing strategy. New homes are being built; older homes renovated, youth are learning skilled trades and people are proud to live on the Piikani Nation reserve.

Date modified:

Histoires de réussite : Infrastructure et logement

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) collabore avec les gouvernements des Premières Nations au développement de logements abordables et convenables, de systèmes d'eau potable et de l'infrastructure communautaire, comme des routes et des écoles.

Les histoires qui suivent illustrent les succès d'un certain nombre de collectivités autochtones qui ont amélioré leur situation en matière de logement.

Nous vous invitons à visionner d'autres histoires de réussite autochtones de partout au Canada.

Usine de traitement de l'eau de la Première Nation de Tallcree
La Première Nation de Tallcree, située en Alberta, approvisionne ses membres en eau potable grâce à son usine de traitement de l'eau à la fine pointe de la technologie. La construction de cette installation a grandement permis d'améliorer la qualité de vie des membres de la collectivité. Regardez cette vidéo pour voir de quelle manière l'usine de traitement de l'eau répondra aux besoins de la collectivité pour de nombreuses années encore.

L'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada
L'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada est formée d'organisations régionales de lutte contre les incendies et de services d'urgence qui mettent l'accent sur la prévention des incendies ou d'autres programmes connexes, par exemple, le concours national des pompiers, qui contribuent à réduire la fréquence des incendies et le nombre de décès.

Initiative de logements écologiques de la Bande indienne de Penticton
Voyez comment l'initiative de logements écologiques de la Bande indienne de Penticton a permis de fournir des logements à moindres coûts aux membres de la Bande grâce à l'utilisation de technologie écoénergétique.

Mohawks de la baie de Quinte
Les Mohawks de la baie de Quinte ont mis en place un programme de logement qui a connu beaucoup de succès. Le programme offre l'accès à la propriété et au logement social tout en intégrant le concept de rendement énergétique.

Revenir à la maison, à Lac La Ronge
C'est l'approche novatrice et l'action résolue de la bande indienne de Lac La Ronge, dans le nord de la Saskatchewan, qui a permis à des familles, comme celle des Christiansen, de bâtir la maison de leurs rêves. Du même coup, la bande a trouvé un moyen inédit de s'occuper de ses besoins en matière de logement.

Le programme de logement dans la réserve de la bande indienne de Kamloops
La bande indienne de Kamloops est en train de créer un marché florissant du logement dans sa collectivité.

Combattre la moisissure : L'histoire de trois collectivités
Les enfants de Kahnawake respirent plus facilement depuis que la collectivité des Premières Nations a pris des mesures décisives pour enrayer la moisissure dans leurs habitations, les écoles et d'autres immeubles. De plus, les efforts des dirigeants de Kahnawake donnent aux collectivités des Premières Nations le pouvoir d'agir dans des lieux tels que l'île Manitoulin, en Ontario, Hartley Bay, en Colombie-Britannique, afin de protéger la santé et le bien-être de leurs résidants.

Le projet d'élimination de la moisissure à grande échelle d'une tribu Cowichan aide d'autres Premières Nations
Les membres très unis de l'une des plus anciennes communautés du Canada, la Tribu Cowichan du Lower Mainland de la Colombie-Britannique, étaient aux prises avec de graves problèmes de santé causés par la moisissure dans les maisons.

Projet pilote d'assurance
La Première Nation Nak'azdli de la Colombie-Britannique a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la création de logements abordables et adéquats, en signant la première entente de fiducie en marge d'un projet pilote d'assurance prêt pour propriétaires-occupants vivant dans les réserves offert par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement (SCHL).

La SCHL et la Première Nation de Seabird Island
La Première Nation de Seabird Island de la Colombie-Britannique a fait passer son respect pour l'environnement à de nouveaux sommets par le biais d'une audacieuse démarche qui lui a permis de construire sept nouveaux logements respectueux de l'environnement dans sa communauté.

Société de logement de la Nation des Piikani
La Nation des Piikani transforme la vie de ses membres grâce à sa stratégie quinquennale exhaustive pour le logement. On construit de nouvelles maisons et on en rénove d'autres, les jeunes apprennent des métiers spécialisés et les gens sont fiers de vivre dans la réserve de la Nation des Piikani.

Date de modification :