ARCHIVED - Arctic Council Oil and Gas Assessment

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

In 2004, Arctic Council Ministers requested that the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Working Group prepare an updated assessment of oil and gas activities in the Arctic, in follow-up to the hydrocarbon chapter in the 1997-1998 Assessment Report "Arctic Pollution Issues". Norway and the United States led the preparation of the assessment of oil and gas activities in the Arctic. Experts from Canada, Denmark/Greenland/Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States, together with experts from indigenous and other organizations participated in the assessment. The Northern Oil and Gas Branch of Indian and Northern Affairs Canada took the lead in coordinating Canada's input to the assessment, and a number of Canadian scientists and experts contributed to the scientific report.

This Arctic oil and gas assessment took a much broader perspective than the previous assessment, by including a chapter on past, present and future oil and gas activities in the Arctic. It examined the environmental, social, economic and human health effects of current oil and gas activities in the Arctic and also considered potential impacts related to future oil and gas development.

The summary report entitled "Arctic Oil and Gas 2007" includes an Executive Summary highlighting main findings, conclusions and recommendations. An in depth scientific assessment report "Oil and Gas Activities in the Arctic: Effects and Potential Effects," will be published separately.

The summary report states that while extensive oil and gas activity has taken place in the Arctic, there is still considerable potential for oil and gas development in the future. The pace of activity will be influenced by economic factors, societal considerations, regulatory processes and technical advances. The report acknowledges that technological improvements and regulations have greatly reduced the impacts of oil and gas activity, significantly minimizing the environmental footprint. However, environmental risks cannot be completely eliminated. Petroleum hydrocarbon concentrations are generally low in the Arctic, and findings indicate that natural seeps are the major source of hydrocarbon contamination.

In terms of effects, physical disturbances have the largest effect on terrestrial environments, whereas oil spills pose the greatest threat in marine environments. Responding to major oil spills remains a challenge in remote icy environments. The report indicated that impacts on people, communities and governments can be both positive and negative across the circumpolar region. Further research is required into the potential human health affects that result from oil and gas activities. In addition, planning, monitoring and research to fill scientific knowledge gaps across the circumpolar region are necessary for future assessments.

View the Arctic Oil and Gas 2007 summary report. Published chapters of the scientific assessment can be accessed at the same site by clicking on the link for "Assessment 2007 - Oil and Gas in the Arctic: Effects and Potential Effects".

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation des activités pétrolières et gazières du Conseil de l'Arctique

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

En 2004, les ministres du Conseil de l'Arctique ont demandé au Progamme de surveillance et d'évaluation de l'Arctique (PSEA) de préparer une évaluation à jour des activités pétrolières et gazières menées dans l'Arctique, afin de donner suite au chapitre sur les hydrocarbures du rapport d'évaluation de 1997-1998 intitulé Arctic Pollution Issues. La Norvège et les états Unis ont mené la préparation de cette évaluation des activités pétrolières et gazières dans l'Arctique. Des experts du Canada, du Danemark-Groenland-îles Féroé, de la Finlande, de l'Islande, de la Norvège, de la Russie, de la Suède et des états Unis, en collaboration avec des experts d'organismes autochtones et autres, ont pris part à l'évaluation. La Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien a coordonné la contribution du Canada à l'évaluation, et un certain nombre de scientifiques et de spécialistes canadiens ont participé à la rédaction du rapport scientifique.

L'évaluation des activités pétrolières et gazières dans l'Arctique s'est appuyée sur une perspective beaucoup plus large que l'évaluation précédente, en incluant notamment un chapitre sur les activités pétrolières et gazières passées, présentes et à venir dans l'Arctique. Dans le cadre de ce processus, on a examiné les effets des activités pétrolières et gazières actuelles dans l'Arctique sur la santé humaine ainsi que sur le plan environnemental, social et économique, et on s'est penché sur les effets potentiels des futures activités d'exploitation.

Le rapport sommaire, intitulé Arctic Oil and Gas 2007, comprend un résumé des principales constatations, conclusions et recommandations de l'étude. Un rapport d'évaluation scientifique détaillé, intitulé Oil and Gas Activities in the Arctic: Effects and Potential Effects, sera publié séparément.

On peut lire, dans le rapport sommaire, que malgré les activités pétrolières et gazières intensives qui ont déjà été réalisées dans l'Arctique, le potentiel d'exploitation futur demeure considérable. Le rythme des activités sera fonction de facteurs économiques et sociaux, des processus réglementaires et des progrès techniques. Les auteurs du rapport reconnaissent que les améliorations technologiques et la réglementation ont grandement contribué à réduire les effets des activités pétrolières et gazières ainsi que leur empreinte écologique. Cependant, il est impossible d'éliminer totalement les risques pour l'environnement. Les concentrations d'hydrocarbures pétroliers sont généralement faibles dans l'Arctique, et les recherches indiquent que le suintement naturel constitue la principale source de contamination par les hydrocarbures.

En termes d'effets, les perturbations de nature physique sont celles qui ont la plus forte incidence sur les milieux terrestres, alors que ce sont les déversements d'hydrocarbures qui constituent la plus grande menace en milieu marin. Les interventions en cas de déversements majeurs d'hydrocarbures demeurent problématiques dans les régions éloignées et glacées du Nord. Selon le rapport, les répercussions sur les individus, les collectivités et les gouvernements peuvent être à la fois positives et négatives à l'échelle de la région circumpolaire. Il faudra réaliser d'autres travaux de recherche sur les effets possibles des activités pétrolières et gazières sur la santé humaine. En outre, des activités de planification, de surveillance et de recherche seront nécessaires pour combler les lacunes en matière de données scientifiques sur la région circumpolaire dans le cadre des évaluations futures.

On peut consulter le rapport sommaire de l'Arctic Oil and Gas 2007 (disponible en anglais seulement). Sur le même site, le lien Assessment 2007 - Oil and Gas in the Arctic: Effects and Potential Effects donne accès aux chapitres de l'évaluation scientifique qui ont été publiés.

Date de modification :