Beaufort Regional Environmental Assessment

The Beaufort Regional Environmental Assessment (BREA) is a four year (2011 to 2015), multi-stakeholder initiative that is sponsoring regional environmental and socio-economic research to assist in preparing all parties, including the federal government and local communities, to respond to new investments in oil and gas in the Beaufort Sea. The proposal was initiated and is supported by partners from the Inuvialuit Settlement Region, territorial and federal governments, the oil and gas private sector, and academia.

Through multi-stakeholder committees, the BREA is building a regional knowledge base to inform regulatory processes and project-specific environmental assessments related to oil and gas activity in the Beaufort Basin. This is being achieved through the implementation of a targeted research program and working groups that are addressing key regional issues including cumulative effects assessment, information management, regional waste management, oil spill preparedness and response, socio-economic indicators, and climate change.

The initiative is aligned with the Northern Strategy and directly supports the priorities of protecting our environmental heritage and promoting safe and sustainable social and economic development in Canada's North.

For more information, visit: www.BeaufortREA.ca

Évaluation environnementale régionale de Beaufort

L'évaluation environnementale régionale de Beaufort (EERB) est une initiative multilatérale d'une durée de quatre ans (2011 à 2015) qui appuie des recherches environnementales et socioéconomiques régionales. Celles-ci servent à préparer toutes les parties, dont le gouvernement fédéral et les communautés, en vue de nouveaux investissements pétroliers et gaziers dans la mer de Beaufort. La proposition a été initiée et est soutenue par des partenaires de la région désignée des Inuvialuit, des autorités territoriales et fédérales, du secteur pétrolier et gazier privé et du milieu universitaire.

Par l'intermédiaire de comités multipartites, l'EERB  crée une base de connaissance régionale pour guider les processus réglementaires et les évaluations environnementales liés aux activités pétrolières et gazières dans le bassin de Beaufort. Cela se fait par la mise en œuvre d'un programme de recherche ciblé et des groupes de travail qui abordent d'importantes questions régionales, y compris l'évaluation des effets cumulatifs, la gestion de l'information, la gestion régionale des déchets, la préparation et l'intervention en cas de déversement d'hydrocarbures, les indicateurs socioéconomiques et les changements climatiques.

L'initiative s'aligne sur la Stratégie pour le Nord et appuie directement la protection de notre patrimoine naturel et la promotion d'un développement économique et social sûr et durable dans le Nord.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter: www.BeaufortREA.ca