Environmental Studies Research Fund

The Environmental Studies Research Fund (ESRF) is a research program that sponsors environmental and social studies in Canada. Funds are obtained through levies on frontier lands paid by interest holders such as oil and gas companies. The ESRF Management Board consists of members from the federal government, the oil and gas industry, the regional offshore petroleum boards, and the general public.

The ESRF receives its legislative mandate through the Canada Petroleum Resources Act (CPRA). The act regulates interests in petroleum in relation to any lands where the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs has administrative responsibility for natural resources. For this reason, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is a member of the ESRF Management Board and chairs the ESRF Northern Advisory Committee, which advises the Management Board on northern priorities and potential research topics.

On behalf of the Minister of Natural Resources and the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs, the Management Board sets priorities for study topics, determines the program budget, and helps develop study proposals. The ESRF provides a forum for industry and government to develop a common knowledge base and to jointly design a focused study program which addresses the needs of both groups and avoids a repetition of effort and expense. The Management Board assesses the information requirements of government and industry to determine study subject priorities for which a study program for the coming year is developed. Study reports are available on the ESRF publications page.

The ESRF Secretariat is located at Natural Resources Canada.

Date modified:

Fonds pour l'étude de l'environnement

Le Fonds pour l'étude de l'environnement (FEE) est un programme de recherche qui parraine des études environnementales et sociales au Canada. Il est financé au moyen des droits versés par des parties concernées, telles que des sociétés pétrolières et gazières, qui mènent des activités sur les terres domaniales. Le conseil de gestion du FEE est constitué de membres représentant le gouvernement fédéral, l'industrie pétrolière et gazière, les offices des hydrocarbures extracôtiers régionaux et le grand public.

Le FEE est investi d'un mandat législatif en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur les hydrocarbures, qui réglemente les intérêts pétroliers sur les terres dont les ressources naturelles sont placées sous la responsabilité administrative de la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord. Pour cette raison, Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) siège au conseil de gestion du FEE et préside le Comité consultatif pour le Nord du FEE, lequel formule des recommandations à l'intention du conseil de gestion quant aux priorités concernant le Nord et aux éventuels sujets de recherche.

Au nom du ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord, le conseil de gestion établit des priorités concernant les sujets d'étude, détermine le budget du programme et facilite l'élaboration de propositions d'étude. Le FEE offre à l'industrie et au gouvernement une tribune qui leur permet de créer une base commune de connaissances et de concevoir conjointement un programme d'étude ciblé qui aidera à répondre aux besoins des deux groupes et à éviter le chevauchement des efforts et des dépenses. Le conseil de gestion examine les besoins d'information du gouvernement et de l'industrie pour déterminer les programmes d'études prioritaires pour l'année suivante. Les rapports d'étude sont publiés sur la page Publications du FEE.

Le secrétariat du FEE est situé dans les locaux de Ressources naturelles Canada.

Date de modification :