Registration and Secure Certificate of Indian Status (in-Canada SCIS) Guarantor Declaration

PDF Version - Fill & Print   (81 Kb, 2 Pages)

PDF Version   (61 Kb, 2 Pages)

The PDF Version - Fill & Print is the recommended format which allows applicants to complete this form electronically.

 


PROTECTED B

Privacy Act Statement

The personal information provided in this document is collected under the authority of the Indian Act to determine the applicant's entitlement to inclusion in the Indian Register and, if applicable, in a Band List maintained by the department of Indian Affairs and Northern development (DIAND), and to obtain an in-Canada format of a Secure Certificate of Indian Status (in-Canada SCIS). The applicant has the right to the protection of and access to his or her personal information under the Privacy Act. The personal information will be retained indefinitely by DIAND. Details of the collection, use, disclosure and retention of personal information are described in the Personal Information Bank INA PPU 110.

General Information

A guarantor is a person other than the applicant (the adult who is applying or the parent/legal guardian who is applying on behalf of a child or dependent adult) who confirms the identity of the applicant.

The guarantor:

  • must perform the following tasks free of charge:
    • Complete and sign the Guarantor Declaration form (83-120E).

    • Write "This is a true likeness of (the name of applicant or child or dependent adult)" on the back of ONE (1) of the two up-to-date passport-style photographs. The guarantor must also sign and date the back of the photograph (as applicable).

    • Sign and date a copy of the front and back of the documents that support the applicant's identity (as applicable).

  • must be 18 years of age or older.

  • must have known the applicant personally for at least TWO (2) years. To know an applicant personally means that the guarantor is able to confirm aspects of the applicant's personal attributes such as name, approximate age, place of birth, physical description and some personal history such as place of residence.

  • must be accessible for INAC to contact.

  • must be residing in Canada or the United States.

If an eligible guarantor who has known the applicant for at least TWO (2) years cannot be located, the applicant must complete a Statutory Declaration in Lieu of Guarantor (83-119E) and provide TWO (2) references who are not relatives. The Registration and Secure Certificate of Indian Status (in-Canada SCIS) Statutory Declaration in Lieu of Guarantor must be completed before a Commissioner for Oaths, Notary Public or Lawyer.

The guarantor must be someone from the following list:

  • Indian Registrar or an Indian Registry Administrator

  • Elected chief or councillor of the applicant's or child/dependent adult's band

  • Dentist, medical doctor, optometrist, pharmacist or chiropractor

  • Judge, magistrate or police officer (reserve, municipal, provincial, territorial or RCMP)

  • Lawyer

  • Mayor

  • Minister of a religion authorized under a provincial or territorial law to perform marriages

  • Notary public

  • Postmaster/Postmistress

  • Principal of a primary or secondary school

  • Professional accountant

  • Professional engineer

  • Senior administrator or teacher in a community college or university

  • Registered social worker

  • Veterinarian

Family members as guarantors

Family members may act as guarantors if they are 18 years of age or older, residing in Canada or the United States, are available to be contacted by INAC for verification, AND meet the criteria above.

Please note that a parent or legal guardian applying for Registration and in-Canada SCIS on behalf of a child or dependent adult cannot act as a guarantor for the child or dependent adult.


NOTICE TO ALL APPLICANTS

The in-Canada SCIS remains at all times the property of the Government of Canada and must be used only by the person in whose name it is issued. Any false or misleading statements on this form or relating to any document in support of this application, including concealment of any material fact, selling the in-Canada SCIS or permitting any other individual or agency to use the in-Canada SCIS may lead to criminal prosecution and is cause for revocation of the in-Canada SCIS and refusal of any future SCIS issuance.

Applicant Information

(Complete in block letters using black or dark blue ink and in the presence of the guarantor)

Note: For purposes of this guarantor declaration, the applicant is the adult applying for registration or the parent/legal guardian applying on behalf of a child (15 years of age or younger) or dependent adult.

Complete the following only if Guarantor Declaration is in support of a Child/Dependent Adult Application:

Guarantor Information and Declaration

3. Address of Permanent Residence:
 (See list above)
 years. (minimum of 2 years)

Instructions for Guarantors: Write "This is a true likeness of (the name of applicant or child or dependent adult)" on the back of ONE (1) of the two photographs. The guarantor must also sign and date the back of the photograph AND sign and date a copy of the front and back of the documents that support the applicant's identity (as applicable).

I solemnly declare that I am at least 18 years of age and that I have known the applicant identified above personally for at least TWO (2) years. I have signed the back of one photo and confirm that the image is a true likeness of the applicant, child or dependent adult, if required. I have signed a copy of each document to support the applicant's identity confirming that I have seen the original(s). I declare that any false or misleading statement on this Guarantor Declaration or relating to any document in support of this application, including concealment of any material fact, may lead to refusal or revocation of a SCIS and be grounds for criminal prosecution.

 

INTER 83-120E 2011-01-31

Inscription et certificat sécurisé de statut d'Indien (CSSI-Canada) déclaration du répondant

Format PDF - Remplir & Imprimer   (82 Ko, 2 pages)

Format PDF   (243 Ko, 2 pages)

Le Format PDF - Remplir & Imprimer est le format recommandé qui permet aux demandeurs de compléter le présent formulaire électroniquement.

 


PROTÉGÉ B

Énoncé sur la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Les renseignements personnels fournis dans le présent document sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens afin de déterminer le droit à l'inscription au Registre des Indiens et le cas échéant, sur une liste de bande tenue par le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC), et d'obtenir un Certificat sécurisé de statut d'Indien pour le Canada (CSSI-Canada). La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels garantit la protection des renseignements personnels des individus et leur droit d'y avoir accès. Le MAINC conservera indéfiniment les renseignements personnels. Les détails sur la collecte, l'utilisation, la divulgation et la conservation des renseignements personnels sont décrits dans le Fichier de renseignements personnels du Conseil du Trésor AIN PPU 110.

Renseignements généraux

Un répondant est une personne autre que le demandeur (dans le cadre du présent formulaire, le demandeur est l’adulte qui fait la demande d’inscription ou le parent/tuteur légal qui fait la demande au nom d’un enfant (15 ans et moins) ou d’un adulte à charge) qui confirme l’identité du demandeur.

Le répondant :

  • doit exécuter les tâches suivantes gratuitement :
    • Remplir et signer le formulaire de Déclaration du répondant (83-120F).

    • Écrire « Je confirme que cette photo est une photo authentique de (nom du demandeur ou de l’enfant ou adulte à charge) » au verso d'UNE (1) des deux photos récentes format passeport. Le répondant doit également apposer sa signature et indiquer la date au verso de la photo (s'il y a lieu).

    • Apposer sa signature et indiquer la date au recto et au verso des documents à l'appui de l'identité du demandeur (s'il y a lieu).

  • doit être âgé de 18 ans ou plus.

  • doit connaître le demandeur depuis au moins DEUX (2) ans; un répondant qui connaît une personne est en mesure de confirmer différents détails propres au demandeur, notamment son nom, son âge approximatif, son lieu de naissance, sa description physique et certains antécédents, comme le lieu de résidence.

  • doit pouvoir être contacté par AINC.

  • doit résider au Canada ou aux États-Unis.

Si un répondant admissible qui connaît le demandeur depuis au moins DEUX (2) ans n’est pas repéré, le demandeur doit fournir une Déclaration solennelle faute de répondant (83-119F) et indiquer DEUX (2) personnes, à titre de référence, qui ne sont pas apparentées
au demandeur. Ce formulaire doit être rempli en présence d’un commissaire à l'assermentation, d’un notaire ou d’un avocat.

Le répondant doit faire partie de la liste de gens suivante :

  • Registraire des Indiens ou administrateur du Registre des Indiens

  • Chef ou conseiller élu de la bande du demandeur ou de l'enfant/l'adulte à charge

  • Dentiste, médecin, optométriste, pharmacien ou chiropraticien

  • Juge, magistrat ou agent de police (police de réserve, municipale, provinciale, territoriale ou de la GRC)

  • Avocat

  • Maire

  • Ministre d'une religion autorisé à célébrer des mariages en vertu d'une loi provinciale ou territoriale

  • Notaire

  • Maître de poste

  • Directeur d'une école primaire ou secondaire

  • Expert-comptable

  • Ingénieur

  • Cadre supérieur ou enseignant d'un collège communautaire ou d'une université

  • Travailleur social autorisé

  • Vétérinaire

Membre de la famille agissant à titre de répondant

Un membre de la famille peut faire office de répondant s'il est âgé de 18 ans ou plus, s'il réside au Canada ou aux États-Unis, s'il peut être contacté par AINC à des fins de vérification ET s'il respecte les critères ci-dessus.

Notez qu’un parent ou un tuteur légal qui présente une demande d’inscription et de CSSI-Canada au nom d’un enfant ou un adulte à charge ne peut pas servir de répondant pour cet enfant ou adulte à charge.


AVIS À TOUS LES DEMANDEURS

Le CSSI-Canada demeure en tout temps la propriété du gouvernement du Canada et seul le titulaire est habilité à l'utiliser. Toute déclaration fausse ou trompeuse sur ce formulaire ou dans les documents accompagnant cette demande, ainsi que l'acte de dissimuler un fait substantiel, de vendre un CSSI-Canada ou de permettre à une autre personne ou organisme d'utiliser un CSSI-Canada peut mener à des poursuites criminelles et constitue un motif de révocation du CSSI-Canada et de refus subséquent de tout CSSI.


Renseignements sur le demandeur

(Écrire en lettres moulées, à l'encre noire ou bleu foncé)

Note :Dans le cadre du présent formulaire, le demandeur est l’adulte qui fait la demande d’inscription ou le parent/tuteur légal qui fait la demande au nom d’un enfant (15 ans et moins) ou d’un adulte à charge.

Remplir seulement si une déclaration du répondant est fournie en appui à la demande d’un enfant ou d’un adulte à charge :

Renseignements sur le répondant et déclaration

3. Adresse de la résidence permanente :
 (voir la liste ci-dessus)
 ans. (au moins 2 ans)

Instructions à l’intention du répondant :Le répondant doit apposer sa signature, indiquer la date et écrire « Je confirme que cette photo représente véritablement (nom du demandeur ou de l’enfant ou adulte à charge) » au verso d’UNE (1) des deux photos. Le répondant doit également apposer sa signature ET indiquer la date sur une copie (recto et verso) des documents qui confirment l’identité du demandeur (s’il y a lieu).

Je déclare solennellement que j'ai au moins 18 ans, que le demandeur a rempli ce formulaire en ma présence et que je le connais personnellement depuis au moins DEUX (2) ans. J'ai signé le verso d'une photo qui représente véritablement le demandeur, l'enfant ou l'adulte à charge (au besoin). J'ai signé une copie de chaque document qui confirme l'identité du demandeur et je confirme que j'ai vu les originaux de ce ou ces documents. Je reconnais que toute déclaration fausse ou trompeuse dans le présent formulaire ou relatif à tout document fourni en appui de la demande, y compris la dissimulation de tout fait important, peut entraîner des poursuites judicaires et justifie la révocation du CSSI et le refus d'accorder d'un CSSI.

 

INTER 83-120F 2011-01-31