Roles and Responsibilities during Emergencies

Introduction

The Emergency Management Assistance Program of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is consistent with Public Safety Canada's Federal Emergency Response Plan (FERP) and An Emergency Management Framework for Canada. These documents ensure that emergency management roles and activities are carried out in a responsible manner at all levels of society in Canada. Legal and policy frameworks and other arrangements establish guidelines and standards to ensure that due diligence is exercised and accountability is respected in the conduct of emergency management activities. Emergency management responsibilities in Canada are shared by Federal/Provincial/Territorial governments and their partners, including individual citizens who have a responsibility to be prepared for disasters and contribute to community resiliency.

In an emergency, the first response is almost always by the individual or local authorities because disasters occur most often locally. Once a community is overwhelmed it will request assistance at the provincial or territorial level. Should a provincial or territorial government require resources beyond their capacity to cope in an emergency or disaster, the federal government responds rapidly to any request for assistance by a provincial or territorial government.

First Nation Community Members' Responsibilities

Community members should make every effort to protect their health, safety and personal property during emergencies. Public Safety Canada's Get Prepared website for emergency preparedness suggests being ready to take care of yourself and your family for at least 72 hours during an emergency if you are able to remain in your home. Even when evacuations are expected, First Nation community members should be prepared to take care of their immediate needs for 72 hours in case of delays or unforeseen circumstances.

First Nation Communities' Responsibilities

Effective emergency management starts at the local level. AANDC encourages First Nation Communities to create and implement emergency management plans.

When there is an actual or impending emergency that could threaten life, property or the environment, the Chief and Council are responsible for using all available local resources to respond. They are also responsible for notifying AANDC and provincial or territorial emergency management officials if a threat is beyond their community's response capacity.

AANDC's Responsibility

AANDC works with Public Safety Canada to ensure the safety and well being of First Nations on reserves through the promotion of the four pillars of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.

AANDC's Role

AANDC works with provincial and territorial governments to ensure First Nations have access to comparable emergency assistance services available to other residents in their respective jurisdiction. The provinces are responsible for emergency management within their areas of jurisdiction and therefore have the expertise and capacity to deliver these services on behalf of AANDC.

How AANDC Supports First Nation Communities during Emergencies

To ensure First Nations have the assistance they need within the broader provincial or territorial emergency management system, AANDC is in regular contact with provincial and territorial emergency management officials.

During an emergency, AANDC provides advice and support within its mandate and authority as requested by the affected province or territory. After the emergency, the Government of Canada reimburses the province or territory for eligible costs associated with emergency response and recovery.

In the event of property or critical infrastructure damage in a community, AANDC works with the Chief and Council to assess the situation, determine the most effective way to repair damage and ensure ongoing program and service delivery to the community. AANDC remains in contact with the First Nation until the situation has been thoroughly assessed.

To deliver emergency management services to First Nation communities, there are various funding arrangements or agreements between AANDC and the provinces/territories. The agreements also assure provinces/territories that AANDC will cover emergency assistance costs in First Nation communities so that emergency response is conducted without undue delay.

Legislation

In accordance with the Emergency Management Act and An Emergency Management Framework for Canada, AANDC is working diligently to establish an all-hazards approach for responding to emergencies that affect First Nation communities. The term "all hazards" covers natural and man-made hazards and threats from flooding and forest fires to national security events.

More Information

For additional information on emergency management, please contact:

Email: InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Phone: (toll-free) 1-800-567-9604
Fax: 1-866-817-3977
TTY: (toll-free) 1-866-553-0554

Date modified:

Rôles et responsabilités pendant les urgences

Introduction

Le Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) correspond au Plan fédéral d'intervention d'urgence (PFIU) et au document Un cadre de sécurité civile pour le Canada de Sécurité publique Canada. Ces documents veillent à s'assurer que les rôles et les activités en matière de sécurité civile sont assumés et réalisés de façon responsable à tous les niveaux de la société canadienne. Des cadres législatifs, des politiques et autres dispositifs établissent les lignes directrices et les exigences permettant d'assurer que la conduite des activités en sécurité civile respecte les principes d'obligation de rendre compte et de diligence raisonnable. Les responsabilités en matière de gestion des urgences au Canada sont partagées par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, leurs partenaires et des citoyens qui ont la responsabilité d'être prêts à faire face aux catastrophes et de contribuer à la résilience de la collectivité.

Lors d'une situation d'urgence, les autorités du lieu touché ou les autorités locales sont presque toujours les premières à intervenir étant donné que les catastrophes surviennent le plus souvent à l'échelle locale. Lorsque la collectivité est dépassée par l'ampleur de la situation, elle demande l'aide des autorités provinciales ou territoriales. Le gouvernement fédéral répond rapidement à toute demande d'aide présentée par un gouvernement provincial ou territorial lorsque ce dernier a besoin de ressources supplémentaires à celles dont il dispose pour intervenir lors d'une urgence ou d'une catastrophe.

Responsabilités des membres des collectivités des Premières Nations

Les membres des collectivités des Premières Nations doivent s'efforcer de protéger leur santé, leur sécurité et leurs biens personnels dans les situations d'urgence. Le site Web Préparez-vous de Sécurité publique Canada sur la préparation aux situations d'urgence recommande d'être prêt à prendre soin de soi-même et de sa famille durant au moins 72 heures en cas de situation d'urgence, si l'on peut rester dans son domicile. Même si des évacuations sont prévues, les membres des collectivités des Premières Nations devraient être prêts à prendre soin de leurs besoins immédiats durant 72 heures en cas de retards ou d'imprévus.

Responsabilités de la collectivité des Premières Nations

La gestion des urgences efficace commence à l'échelle locale. AADNC encourage les collectivités des Premières Nations à concevoir et à mettre en œuvre des plans de gestion des situations d'urgence.

Lorsqu'une situation d'urgence survient ou est imminente et qu'elle pourrait mettre en danger la vie, la propriété ou l'environnement, le chef et le conseil ont la responsabilité d'utiliser toutes les ressources disponibles pour faire face à la situation. Si un danger éventuel dépasse les capacités d'intervention de la collectivité, ils ont également la responsabilité d'en aviser les représentants des services de gestion des urgences d'AADNC et de la province ou du territoire.

Responsabilité d'AADNC

AADNC collabore avec Santé publique Canada afin d'assurer la sécurité et le bien-être des Premières Nations dans les réserves grâce à la promotion des quatre piliers de la gestion des urgences : atténuation, préparation, intervention et rétablissement.

Rôle d'AADNC

AADNC collabore avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux afin de veiller à ce que les Premières Nations aient accès à des services d'aide d'urgence comparables à ceux accessibles aux autres résidents de leur province ou territoire. Les provinces sont responsables des activités de gestion des urgences dans leur secteur de compétence et, par conséquent, ont l'expertise et la capacité nécessaires pour offrir ces services au nom d'AADNC.

Le soutien offert par AADNC aux collectivités des Premières Nations en situation d'urgence

Afin de s'assurer que les Premières Nations reçoivent l'aide dont elles ont besoin dans le cadre du régime provincial ou territorial de gestion des urgences, AADNC maintient un contact régulier avec les services de gestion des urgences des provinces et des territoires.

Au cours d'une situation d'urgence, AADNC offre (à la demande de la province ou du territoire touché) des conseils et un soutien, dans les limites de son mandat et de son pouvoir. Lorsque la situation d'urgence est réglée, le gouvernement du Canada rembourse à la province ou au territoire les coûts admissibles associés aux mesures d'intervention et de retour à la normale.

Dans le cas de dommages critiques aux biens et aux infrastructures de la collectivité, AADNC travaille avec le chef et le conseil pour évaluer la situation, déterminer le moyen le plus efficace de réparer les dommages et assurer le maintien des programmes et des services offerts à la collectivité. AADNC demeure en contact avec la Première Nation jusqu'à ce que l'évaluation rigoureuse de la situation soit achevée.

Afin d'assurer la prestation des services de gestion des urgences aux collectivités des Premières Nations, AADNC et les provinces et territoires ont conclu diverses ententes de financement. Ces ententes garantissent également aux provinces et territoires qu'AADNC paiera les coûts associés à l'aide en situation d'urgence dans les collectivités des Premières Nations pour que l'on intervienne sans retard injustifié.

Législation

Conformément à la Loi sur la gestion des urgences et au document intitulé Un cadre de sécurité civile pour le Canada, AADNC travaille assidûment à l'établissement d'une approche tous risques pour intervenir lors des urgences qui touchent les collectivités des Premières Nations. Le terme « tous risques » désigne les aléas et les catastrophes d'origine naturelle et humaine, que ce soient des inondations, des incendies de forêt ou des menaces à la sécurité nationale.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Courriel : InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Téléphone (sans frais) : 1-800-567-9604
Télécopieur : 1-866-817-3977
ATS (sans frais) : 1-866-553-0554

Date de modification :