Emergency Management

Emergency management responsibilities in Canada are shared by federal, provincial, territorial and First Nation governments and their partners, including individual citizens who have a responsibility to be prepared for disasters and contribute to community resiliency.

In an emergency, the first response is almost always by the First Nation or local authorities or at the provincial or territorial level because disasters occur most often locally. Should a provincial or territorial government require resources beyond their capacity to cope in an emergency or disaster, the federal government responds rapidly to requests for assistance by a provincial or territorial government.

What is an Emergency?

An Emergency Management Framework for Canada defines an emergency as a present or imminent event that requires prompt coordination of actions concerning persons or property to protect the health, safety or welfare of people, or to limit damage to property or the environment.

AANDC’s Emergency Management Assistance Program

AANDC supports all four pillars of emergency management—mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery—as well as forest fire suppression activities.

Under AANDC’s Emergency Management Assistance Program, the department works with provincial and territorial governments and non-government organizations to support First Nations and ensure they have access to comparable emergency assistance services available to other residents in their respective jurisdiction.

The objectives of AANDC’s Emergency Management Assistance Program are to:

  • protect the health and safety of First Nations individuals and their infrastructure from natural or accidental hazards; and,
  • assist in the remediation of critical infrastructure and community assets affected by emergency events. This is done through timely assessment of emergency management needs and facilitation of an appropriate emergency response from emergency management partners and stakeholders or other areas within AANDC or the Government of Canada.

Emergency Management Funding

AANDC’s Emergency Management Assistance Program reimburses provincial and territorial governments, First Nations and non-government organizations for eligible costs incurred in the delivery of emergency management services to First Nations.

The Emergency Management Assistance Program manages all of the department’s emergency management funding with the exception of the structural mitigation component, which is delivered through AANDC’s Capital Facilities and Maintenance Program.

As part of a more comprehensive approach to emergency management on-reserve, the Government of Canada has introduced a single window to secure funding for First Nation emergency costs. On April 1, 2014, AANDC assumed responsibility for costs for on reserve emergency events which previously may have been eligible for reimbursement under Public Safety Canada’s Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements. This single window provides First Nations, provinces and territories with improved access to emergency funding when needed.

AANDC is working with provincial and territorial governments to update or put in place agreements related to the delivery of emergency management services to First Nations. These agreements will ensure First Nations have access to comparable emergency assistance and will also provide certainty regarding eligible First Nation emergency management costs so that responses can be implemented rapidly and without unnecessary delay.

Eligibility for the Emergency Management Assistance Program

To be eligible for funding under the Emergency Management Assistance Program, an emergency event must take place on, or affect a First Nation located on:

  • a reserve, as defined in s. 2 (1) of the Indian Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. I 5;
  • lands set apart as defined in s. 36 of the Indian Act, R.S.C., 1985, c. I 5; or
  • lands formerly defined as a reserve which now form part of modern treaty settlement lands.

AANDC National Emergency Management Plan

AANDC’s National Emergency Management Plan describes the roles and responsibilities of the department and its partners in emergency management as well as the concept of operations for responding to and managing an emergency affecting First Nations.

Contact Us:

For general information regarding AANDC's role in emergency management, please contact:

AANDC Public Enquiries Contact Centre
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Terrasses de la Chaudière
10 Wellington Street, North Tower
Gatineau, Quebec
Postal Address:
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H4

Email: InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Phone: (toll-free) 1-800-567-9604
Fax: 1-866-817-3977
TTY: (toll-free) 1-866-553-0554

Additional Information

Gestion des urgences

Au Canada, la responsabilité de la gestion des urgences est assumée conjointement par les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et des Premières Nations et leurs partenaires, y compris les citoyens, à qui il incombe de se préparer à faire face à d’éventuelles catastrophes et de contribuer à la résilience de leur collectivité.

En situation d'urgence, les administrations locales ou des Premières Nations ou les autorités provinciales ou territoriales sont presque toujours les premières à intervenir, étant donné que les catastrophes surviennent le plus souvent à l’échelle locale. Le gouvernement fédéral répond sans tarder aux demandes d’aide présentées par un gouvernement provincial ou territorial qui a besoin de ressources supplémentaires afin d’intervenir lors d’une urgence ou d’une catastrophe.

Qu’est-ce qu’une urgence?

Le document Un cadre de sécurité civile pour le Canada définit une urgence comme une situation présente ou imminente requérant des actions rapides et coordonnées touchant des personnes ou des biens, pour protéger la santé, la sécurité et le bien­être des personnes ou limiter les dommages aux biens ou à l'environnement.

Le Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences

AANC appuie les quatre piliers de la gestion des urgences, à savoir l’atténuation, la préparation, l’intervention et le rétablissement, de même que les activités de lutte contre les incendies de forêt.

Sous le régime du Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences, le Ministère collabore avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et des organisations non gouvernementales afin de soutenir les Premières Nations et de veiller à ce qu’elles aient accès à des services d’aide d’urgence comparables à ceux offerts aux autres résidants de leur compétence respective.

Le Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences d’AANC vise les objectifs suivants :

Financement de la gestion des urgences

Le Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences d’AANC rembourse aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, aux organisations non gouvernementales et aux Premières Nations les coûts admissibles engagés pour la prestation des services de gestion des urgences aux Premières Nations.

L’ensemble des fonds destinés à la gestion des urgences au Ministère sont administrés par l’entremise du Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences, sauf la composante concernant l’atténuation structurelle, qui relève plutôt du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien d’AANC.

Dans le contexte d’une approche globale de la gestion des urgences dans les réserves, le gouvernement du Canada a mis en place un guichet unique afin d’assurer le financement des dépenses liées aux urgences dans les Premières Nations. Depuis le 1er avril 2014, AANC assume la responsabilité des coûts associés aux situations d’urgence dans les réserves qui auraient auparavant pu être admissibles à un remboursement dans le cadre des Accords d’aide financière en cas de catastrophe de Sécurité publique Canada. Ce guichet unique donnera aux Premières Nations, aux provinces et aux territoires un meilleur accès au financement réservé aux urgences en cas de besoin.

AANC collabore avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux afin d’actualiser ou de mettre en place des ententes visant la prestation de services de gestion des urgences aux Premières Nations. Ces ententes garantiront à ces dernières l’accès à des services d’aide d’urgence comparables; elles assureront en outre la certitude quant aux coûts de gestion des urgences admissibles pour les Premières Nations, de sorte que les interventions se fassent rapidement, sans délais inutiles.

Admissibilité au Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences

Pour ouvrir droit à du financement aux termes du Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences, la situation d’urgence doit se produire dans un des lieux suivants, ou toucher une Première Nation qui y est située :

Plan national de gestion des urgences d’AANC

Le Plan national de gestion des urgences d’AANC décrit les rôles et les responsabilités du Ministère et de ses partenaires en matière de gestion des urgences et définit le concept de l’intervention et de la gestion en cas d’urgence touchant les Premières Nations.

Pour nous joindre

Pour de l'information générale sur le rôle d'AANC en ce qui concerne la gestion des urgences, prière de s’adresser au :

Centre de contacts de renseignements du public d'AANC
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Terrasses de la Chaudière
10, rue Wellington, Tour Nord
Gatineau (Québec)
Adresse postale :
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H4

Courriel : InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Téléphone : (sans frais) 1-800-567-9604
Télécopieur : 1-866-817-3977
ATS : (sans frais) 1-866-553-0554

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :