First Nation education partnerships and agreements

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Find details on tripartite education agreements and other agreements with provisions for First Nation education between the Government of Canada, First Nations and provinces.

On this page:

Tripartite education agreements

Partnership arrangements between the Government of Canada, First Nations or their delegated organizations and provinces allow for sharing of resources and practices, stronger results and improved outcomes for students. Tripartite agreements also ensure First Nation students who move between on-reserve schools and off-reserve provincial schools are fully supported. Partnership discussions are underway across the country, and a number have already been signed.

The data below is taken from the 2013-2014 Nominal Roll National Database. The student count includes students of all ages and gender.

Tripartite Education Memorandum of Understanding with the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians, Ontario and Canada (2017)
This agreement was signed by the Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (A.I.A.I.), the Government of Ontario and the Government of Canada. It will benefit approximately 790 K-12 First Nations students in five participating Ontario communities represented by A.I.A.I.

Agreement to Support the School Attendance and Academic Success of Innu Youth (2016)

This agreement was signed by the Institut Tshakapesh, the Governments of Canada and Quebec. It will benefit approximately 1,800 Innu students living in seven Innu communities located mainly on Quebec’s North shore.

Mamu Tshishkutamashutau – Innu Education (2015)
This agreement was signed by the province of Newfoundland and Labrador and Mamu Tshishkutamashutau – Innu Education which represents all Innu First Nations in the province and around 700 students that attend band-operated schools in the two communities.

Nishnawbe Aski Nation Memorandum of Understanding (2013)
This agreement is with the province of Ontario and Nishnawbe Aski Nation, which represents 49 First Nations, encompassing around 8,430 students, 7,100 (84%) of whom attend band-operated schools.

Yukon Memorandum of Understanding (2013)
This agreement is with the Yukon Government and the Council of Yukon First Nations (CYFN). The CYFN represents 14 First Nations and this agreement was signed by the Yukon Government and 9 of 14 Yukon First Nations, although 13 of the 14 Yukon First Nations are currently in support of the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). This agreement is not the same as other education agreements, as there are no band-operated schools in the Yukon (all First Nation students attend schools operated by the territorial government).

British Columbia Tripartite Education Framework Agreement (2012)
This agreement is between the province of British Columbia and the First Nations Education Steering Committee (FNESC). The FNESC provides second-level services to approximately 5,200 students (96% of all students attending band-operated schools in British Columbia).

First Nation Education Council Quebec Memorandum of Understanding (2012)
The Agreement to Support the Success of First Nations Students was initially negotiated in 2012 between the First Nation Education Council (FNEC), represented by the Assembly of First Nations Québec-Labrador; the Government of Québec and the Government of Canada. The parties decided to extend the agreement on May 4, 2017 for another five years. The purpose of the Agreement is to improve the academic success of First Nation students that are members of the FNEC. The FNEC represents 22 First Nations, 17 of which are participants under the MOU. The 17 participating communities represent 5,275 students, of which 4,085 (77%) attend band-operated schools.

Alberta Education Memorandum of Understanding (2010)
This agreement is between the province of Alberta and treaty organizations from Treaty 6, Treaty 7 and Treaty 8 (working jointly), which represent 48 First Nations, encompassing 18,227 First Nation students, 11,118 (61%) of whom attend band-operated schools.

Prince Edward Island Memorandum of Understanding (2010)
This agreement covers all of Prince Edward Island, and is with the province of Prince Edward Island and the Mi'kmaq Confederacy of Prince Edward Island (MCPEI). The MCPEI represents two First Nations, encompassing 138 students, 52 (38%) of which attend band-operated schools.

Saskatoon Tribal Council Memorandum of Understanding (2010)
This agreement is with the province of Saskatchewan and the Saskatoon Tribal Council, which represents six First Nations, encompassing 1,160 students, 832 (72 %) of whom attend band-operated schools.

Manitoba Letter of Understanding (2009)
This agreement is with the province of Manitoba and the Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre (MFNERC), and covers all First Nations in Manitoba. MFNERC is the organization mandated by the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC), Southern Chiefs Organization (SCO) and Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak (MKO) to implement the Letter of Understanding on behalf of 46 First Nations, encompassing 18,166 students, 16,677 (92%) of whom attend band-operated schools.

New Brunswick Memorandum of Understanding (2008)
This agreement covers all of New Brunswick and is with the province of New Brunswick, the First Nation Education Initiative Incorporated (FNEII) and Three Nation Education Group Incorporated (TNEGI). Together, these groups represent 15 First Nations, encompassing 2,001 students, 867 (43%) of which attend band-operated schools.

Other agreements with provisions for education

Modern treaties may include self-government provisions, and the early comprehensive land claim agreements address education in a manner similar to tripartite education agreements. As well, negotiations between the Government of Canada, Aboriginal organizations, and, in some cases, the provincial or territorial government, have resulted in self-government agreements, which include provisions for the delivery of education. With the possible exception of sectoral agreements (which are subject matter specific), many self-government agreements contain an education provision giving Aboriginal governments law-making authority over education when they are prepared to do so and once all requirements set out in the agreement are met.

The following agreements include provisions for education:

Yale First Nation Final Agreement (2011)
The Yale First Nation government has law making authority in respect of pre-school to Grade 12 education, and notice will be provided to Canada and British Columbia prior to laws coming into effect with respect to K-12 education. No such notice has been received to date.

Maa-Nulth First Nations Final Agreement (2009)
The five Maa-nulth First Nations Governments have law making authority in respect of pre-school to Grade 12 and post-secondary education under sections 13.20.1 and 13.1.1 of the Maa-nulth First Nations Final Agreement, but none have exercised this right to date.

Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement (2007)
The Tsawwassen First Nation government has law making authority in respect of pre-school to Grade 12 and post-secondary education under Chapter 16, sections 77 and 83 of the Tsawwassen First Nation Final Agreement. Tsawwassen has passed an "Education, Health, and Social Development Act".

First Nations Jurisdiction over Education in British Columbia Act (2006)
This legislation enables subsequently negotiated Canada-First Nations Education Jurisdiction Agreements and establishes a First Nation Education Authority. The First Nations that enter into Canada-First Nations Education Jurisdiction Agreements will not be governed by the Indian Act with respect to education. To date, no self-government agreements have been concluded under this legislation.

Labrador Inuit Land Claim Agreement Act
The Nunatsiavut Government has law making authority in respect of pre-school to Grade 12 education (currently under provincial jurisdiction), pursuant to section 17.12 of the Labrador Inuit Final Agreement, but has not exercised this right to date. However, the Nunatsiavut Government has assumed responsibility for some vocational and adult education, including administration of Post-Secondary Education programming.

Tlicho Final Agreement (2005)
Section 7.4.4(j) of the Tlicho Land Claims and Self-Government Agreement gives the Tlicho Government the power to make laws in relation to education, except post-secondary education, for their citizens in either Tlicho communities or on the land, including the teaching of their language, the history and culture of the Tlicho First Nation, but not including the certification of teachers. These provisions were legislated in the Tlicho Land Claims and Self-Government Act.

Westbank First Nation Self-Government Agreement (2003)
Part XVI of the Westbank Agreement provides law making authority to the Westbank First Nation over kindergarten, elementary and secondary education for members on Westbank lands. Until a Westbank law passed under this Part comes into force, Indian Act education provisions will continue to apply. These provisions were legislated in the Westbank First Nation Self-Government Act.

Nisga'a Final Agreement (1999)
The Nisga'a Lisims Government has law making authority over pre-school to Grade 12 education and post-secondary education within Nisga'a Lands, and may operate and provide post-secondary education services outside Nisga'a Lands pursuant to sections 100, 103 and 106 of the Nisga'a Final Agreement's Government Chapter. These provisions were legislated in the Nisga'a Final Agreement Act.

An Agreement with respect to Mi'kmaq Education in Nova Scotia (1997)
The Agreement stipulates that the primary, elementary, secondary programs and services offered by the Mi'kmaw Kina'matnewey (MK) shall be comparable to those provided by other education systems in Canada. This allows for the transfer of students between education systems without academic penalty. These provisions were legislated in the Mi'kmaq Education Act (Canada) and the Mik'maq Education Act (Nova Scotia).

Umbrella Final Agreement between the Government of Canada, the Council for Yukon Indians and the Government of the Yukon (1993)
There are provisions within all of the Yukon First Nation Self-Government Agreements to allow the First Nations to initiate negotiations with the Yukon Government regarding sharing responsibility for design, delivery and administration of education (K-12).

To date no self-governing Yukon First Nation has assumed jurisdiction for K-12 education.

Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (1993)
A political accord, signed by the federal government, territorial government and the Tungavik Federation of Nunavut, created the Nunavut Territorial Government, which has jurisdiction for education, similar to the other territorial governments.

James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement (1975)
Chapters 16 and 17 of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) provided for the establishment of the Cree School Board and the Kativik School Board. Both the Cree and Kativik School Boards operate under provincial jurisdiction and ensure that educational programs are culturally relevant to the First Nation communities and Inuit.

In 1978, the Naskapi of Northern Quebec signed the Northeastern Quebec Agreement (NEQA). Section 11 of the NEQA provides for educational services for the Naskapi through a school created to fulfill their needs, and the Eastern Quebec Regional School Board is responsible for its general administration. The Naskapi Education Committee was also set up and has the same advisory functions as those assigned to school committees under the Quebec Education Act.

Date modified:

Partenariats et ententes avec les Premières Nations dans le domaine de l'éducation

Trouvez de plus amples renseignements sur les ententes tripartites en matière d'éducation et d'autres ententes contenant des dispositions sur l'éducation des Premières Nations conclues entre le gouvernement du Canada, les Premières Nations et les provinces.

Sur cette page :

Ententes tripartites en matière d'éducation

Les ententes de partenariat entre le gouvernement du Canada, les Premières Nations, ou leurs organisations déléguées, et les provinces permettent la mise en commun de ressources et de pratiques et de meilleurs résultats pour les élèves. Elles permettent également de veiller à ce que les élèves des Premières Nations qui doivent passer de l'école de leur réserve à une école provinciale à l'extérieur de leur réserve soient pleinement soutenus. Des discussions concernant de possibles partenariats ont lieu partout au pays, et un certain nombre d'ententes ont déjà été conclues.

Les données mentionnées ci-dessous ont été tirées de la base de données nationale de la liste nominative pour 2013-2014. Le nombre d'élèves comprend les élèves de tous les âges et les sexes.

Protocole d'entente tripartite en éducation avec l'Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians, l'Ontario et le Canada (2017)
Cette entente a été conclue par l'Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (AIAI), le gouvernement de l'Ontario et le gouvernement du Canada. Environ 790 étudiants des Premières Nations de la maternelle à la 12e année bénéficieront de cette entente. Ils sont répartis dans cinq collectivités de l'Ontario représentées par l'Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians.

Entente pour favoriser la persévérance et la réussite scolaires des jeunes Innus (2016)

Cette entente a été conclue par l'Institut Tshakapesh, le gouvernement du Canada et la province de Québec. Celle-ci a pour but de favoriser la persévérance et la réussite scolaire d'environ 1 800 élèves vivant dans 7 collectivités innues desservies par l'lnstitut Tshakapesh, tant ceux qui fréquentent les écoles locales que ceux qui étudient hors de leur collectivité.

Protocole d'entente pour l'éducation avec Mamu Tshishkutamashutau – Innu Education (2015)
Cette entente a été conclue par la province de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et Mamu Tshishkutamashutau – Innu Education, qui représente toutes les Premières Nations innues de la Province, et environ 700 élèves qui fréquentent une école administrée par une bande dans les deux collectivités.

Protocole d'entente pour l'éducation avec la Nation Nishnawbe Aski (2013)
Cette entente a été conclue avec la province de l'Ontario et la Nation Nishnawbe Aski (site Web non disponible en francais), qui représente 49 Premières Nations, soit 8 430 élèves dont 7 100 (84 %) fréquentent une école administrée par une bande.

Protocole d'entente de partenariat en éducation au Yukon (2013)
Il s'agit d'une entente avec le gouvernement du Yukon et le Conseil des Premières Nations du Yukon. Le Conseil représente 14 Premières Nations et cette entente a été signée par le gouvernement du Yukon et 9 des 14 Premières Nations du Yukon, malgré que 13 de ces 14 Premières Nations du Yukon sont actuellement en faveur du protocole d'entente. Cette entente diffère des autres ententes en matière d'éducation puisqu'au Yukon aucune école n'est administrée par une bande (tous les élèves des Premières Nations fréquentent une école administrée par le gouvernement territorial).

Accord-cadre tripartite sur l'éducation en Colombie-Britannique (2012)
Cet accord a été conclu entre le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique et le Comité de coordination de l'éducation des Premières Nations (site Web non disponible en francais). Le Comité prévoit la prestation de services complémentaires auprès d'environ 5 200 élèves (96 % de tous les élèves fréquentant une école administrée par une bande en Colombie-Britannique).

Protocole d'entente avec le Conseil en éducation des Premières Nations (2012)
L'Entente pour favoriser la réussite des élèves des Premières Nations a été initialement conclue en 2012 pour une durée de cinq ans entre le Conseil en éducation des Premières Nations (CEPN), représenté par l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador; le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement du Canada. Les parties ont décidé de prolonger l'Entente le 4 mai 2017 pour un autre cinq ans. L'Entente vise à accroître la réussite scolaire des élèves des Premières Nations membres du CEPN. Le CEPN représente 22 Premières Nations, parmi lesquelles 17 sont adhérentes à l'Entente. On compte dans les 17 collectivités participantes 5 275 élèves, dont 4 085 (77%) fréquentent une école administrée par une bande.

Protocole d'entente sur l'éducation des Premières Nations en Alberta (2010)
Cette entente a été conclue entre la province de l'Alberta et des organisations issues des traités nos 6, 7 et 8 (lesquelles travaillent en collaboration). Ensemble, ces organisations représentent 48 Premières Nations comptant 18 227 élèves, dont 11 118 (61 %) fréquentent une école administrée par une bande.

Protocole d'entente à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (2010)
Cette entente couvre toute l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard; elle a été conclue par la province et la Confédération des Mi'kmaq de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (site Web non disponible en francais). La Confédération représente deux Premières Nations, qui comprennent 138 élèves, dont 52 (38 %) fréquentent une école administrée par une bande.

Protocole d'entente avec le Conseil tribal de Saskatoon (2010)
Ce protocole d'entente a été conclu avec la province de la Saskatchewan et le Conseil tribal de Saskatoon (site Web non disponible en francais), qui représente six Premières Nations comptant 832 élèves (72 %) qui fréquentent une école administrée par une bande.

Lettre d'entente au Manitoba (2009)
Cette entente a été conclue avec la province du Manitoba et le Centre de ressources éducationnelles des Premières Nations du Manitoba (site Web non disponible en francais) et concerne toutes les Premières Nations de la province. Le Centre de ressources est l'organisme mandaté par l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba (site Web non disponible en francais), l'Organisation des chefs du Sud (site Web non disponible en francais) et Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak (site Web non disponible en francais) pour mettre en œuvre le document au nom de 46 Premières Nations comptant 18 166 élèves, dont 16 677 (92 %) fréquentent une école administrée par une bande.

Protocole d'entente au Nouveau-Brunswick (2008)
Cette entente qui vise toutes les Premières Nations du Nouveau-Brunswick a été conclue avec le gouvernement provincial, la First Nation Education Initiative Incorporated (FNEII) (site Web non disponible en francais) et Three Nation Education Group Incorporated (TNEGI) (site Web non disponible en francais) . Ensemble, ces groupes représentent 15 Premières Nations et comptent 2 001 élèves, dont 867 (43 %) fréquentent une école administrée par une bande.

Autres ententes contenant des dispositions relatives à l'éducation

Les traités modernes peuvent comprendre des dispositions sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, et les premières ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales traitent de la question de l'éducation d'une manière semblable aux ententes tripartites sur l'éducation. De plus, les négociations entre le gouvernement du Canada, les organisations autochtones et, dans certains cas, le gouvernement provincial ou territorial ont donné lieu à des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale qui comportent des dispositions sur la prestation de l'éducation. À l'exception, peut-être, des ententes sectorielles (qui portent sur un domaine précis), beaucoup d'ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale comprennent des dispositions sur l'éducation qui donnent aux gouvernements le pouvoir de légiférer en matière d'éducation quand ils sont prêts à le faire, lorsque toutes les exigences décrites dans l'entente ont été respectées.

Les ententes suivantes contiennent des dispositions sur l'éducation :

Accord définitif de la Première Nation de Yale (2011)
Le gouvernement de la Première Nation de Yale a le pouvoir d'adopter des lois sur l'éducation de la prématernelle à la 12e année, et il devra fournir un avis au gouvernement du Canada et à la Colombie-Britannique lors de l'entrée en vigueur de lois à cet effet. Aucun avis à cet égard n'a encore été reçu.

Accord définitif des Premières Nations Maa-Nulth (2009)
Les cinq gouvernements des Premières Nations maa-nulthes ont le pouvoir d'adopter des lois concernant l'éducation de la prématernelle à la 12e année et l'éducation postsecondaire en vertu des articles 13.20.1 et 13.1.1 de cet accord, mais aucune des Premières Nations n'a encore exercé ce pouvoir.

Accord définitif de la Première Nation de Tsawwassen (2007)
Le gouvernement de la Première Nation de Tsawwassen a le pouvoir d'adopter des lois concernant l'éducation de la prématernelle à la 12e année et l'éducation postsecondaire en vertu du chapitre 16, articles 77 et 83, de l'Accord définitif de la Première Nation de Tsawwassen. La Première Nation a adopté une loi sur l'éducation, la santé et de développement social intitulée Education, Health, and Social Development Act.

Loi sur la compétence des premières nations en matière d'éducation en Colombie-Britannique (2006)
Cette loi habilite les accords sur la compétence en matière d'éducation conclus par la suite et établit l'Autorité scolaire des premières nations. La Première Nation qui signe une telle entente avec le Canada n'est plus assujettie aux dispositions en matière d'éducation de la Loi sur les Indiens. Jusqu'à maintenant, aucune entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale n'a été conclue en vertu de cette loi.

Loi sur l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Labrador
Le gouvernement du Nunasiavut a le pouvoir d'adopter des lois dans le domaine de l'éducation de la prématernelle à la 12e année (actuellement relevant de la compétence provinciale) en vertu de l'article 17,12 de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales des Inuit du Labrador, mais il n'a pas encore utilisé ce pouvoir. Cependant, le gouvernement du Nunatsiavut a assumé la responsabilité de certains volets de la formation professionnelle et pour les adultes, y compris l'administration des programmes d'éducation postsecondaire.

Accord définitif tlicho (2005)
L'alinéa 7.4.4j) de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales et l'autonomie gouvernementale du peuple tlicho confère au gouvernement tlicho le pouvoir d'adopter des lois en lien avec l'éducation, à l'exception de l'éducation postsecondaire, pour ses citoyens résidant soit dans une collectivité ou sur les terres des Tlichos, y compris pour ce qui est de l'enseignement de la langue, de l'histoire et de la culture des Tlichos, mais pas pour l'accréditation des enseignants. Ces dispositions sont entrées en vigueur par la Loi sur les revendications territoriales et l'autonomie gouvernementale du peuple tlicho.

Accord sur l'autonomie gouvernementale de la Première Nation de Westbank (2003)
La partie XVI de cet accord confère à la Première Nation de Westbank le pouvoir d'adopter des lois sur la maternelle de même que sur l'éducation primaire et secondaire pour les membres dans les limites de ses terres. Les dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens continueront de s'appliquer jusqu'à ce que la Première Nation de Westbank adopte une loi en vertu de cette partie. Ces dispositions sont entrées en vigueur par la Loi portant mise en vigueur de l'Accord d'autonomie gouvernementale de la première nation de Westbank.

Accord définitif Nisga'a (1999)
Le gouvernement Nisga'a Lisims a le pouvoir d'adopter des lois sur l'éducation de la prématernelle à la 12e année et sur l'éducation postsecondaire à l'intérieur des terres des Nisga'a. Il peut aussi administrer et fournir des services d'éducation postsecondaire à l'extérieur des terres des Nisga'a en vertu des articles 100, 103 et 106 du chapitre sur le gouvernement de l'Accord définitif nisga'a. Ces dispositions sont entrées en vigueur par la Loi sur l'Accord définitif nisga'a.

Convention concernant le financement de l'éducation des bandes de Micmacs en Nouvelle-Écosse (1997)
L'Entente stipule que les programmes et les services d'éducation primaire, élémentaire et secondaire offerts par le Mi'kmaw Kina'matnewey (MK) (site Web non disponible en francais) doivent être comparables à ceux offerts par les autres systèmes d'éducation au Canada, ceci dans le but de permettre aux élèves de passer d'un système à l'autre sans qu'ils soient pénalisés. Ces dispositions sont entrées en vigueur par la Loi sur l'éducation des Mi'kmaq (Canada) et la Mik'maq Education Act (Nouvelle-Écosse).

Accord-cadre définitif entre le gouvernement du Canada, le Conseil des Indiens du Yukon et le gouvernement du Yukon (1993)
Il s'agit des dispositions contenues dans tous les accords sur l'autonomie gouvernementale des Premières Nations du Yukon qui permettent aux Premières Nations d'entamer des négociations avec le gouvernement du Yukon au sujet du partage des responsabilités pour la conception, la prestation et l'administration de l'éducation (maternelle à la 12e année).

Aucune Première Nation du Yukon n'a assumé jusqu'à maintenant de compétence sur l'éducation de la maternelle à la 12e année.

Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut (1993)
Un accord politique entre le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement territorial et la Fédération Tungavik du Nunavut a créé le gouvernement territorial du Nunavut, qui exerce la compétence en matière d'éducation, comme les autres gouvernements territoriaux.

Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois (1975)
Les articles 16 et 17 de la Convention ont permis la création de la Commission scolaire crie et de la Commission scolaire Kativik. Les deux commissions scolaires sont de compétence provinciale et voient à ce que les programmes scolaires respectent les cultures des collectivités des Premières Nations et des Inuit.

En 1978, les Naskapis du Nord-du-Québec ont signé la Convention du Nord-Est québécois. L'article 11 de la Convention prévoit la prestation de services d'éducation aux Naskapis dans une école créée pour répondre à leurs besoins, et dont l'administration générale est assurée par la Commission scolaire régionale Eastern Québec. Le Comité naskapi de l'éducation a également été mis sur pied et a les mêmes fonctions que celles qui sont assignées aux conseils d'établissement en vertu de la Loi sur l'instruction publique du Québec.

Date de modification :