The Exploratory Process on Indian Registration, Band Membership and Citizenship

When the Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act was tabled on March 11, 2010, in response to the McIvor decision, the Government announced its intention to launch an exploratory process to examine the broader issues on Indian registration, Band membership and First Nations citizenship that went beyond the scope of the decision and the legislative amendments passed under the Act.

The Government of Canada recognizes the importance of these issues to First Nations and other Aboriginal groups. The Government also recognizes that issues surrounding Indian registration, Band membership and citizenship are complex and that First Nations and other Aboriginal groups hold diverse views on these matters. It is clear that broader reform cannot be achieved overnight or in isolation as it requires the collection of information and the identification of critical issues for discussion prior to embarking on any process for substantive change.

With the passage of the Act into law in January 2011, the Exploratory Process on Indian Registration, Band Membership and Citizenship was officially launched. The purpose of the initiative was to identify, examine and discuss the broader issues associated with registration, membership and citizenship that go beyond the Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act amendments. The process was to be inclusive and structured to encourage the participation of First Nations and Métis groups, organizations and individuals at the national, regional and local levels.

A total of twenty (20) national Aboriginal and regional First Nations organizations received funding to lead activities under this initiative. Each organization decided how to engage their constituents and prepared materials to inform and guide discussion. These organizations undertook a variety of activities at the national, regional and local levels, which involved broad participation from First Nations and Métis groups across Canada.

The Exploratory Process formally ended in December 2011 and participating organizations have submitted their findings to the Department. The information shared will help inform the Government's next steps on these matters.

For more information on activities that were led by First Nations and other Aboriginal organizations under the Exploratory Process, visit the following links:

Learn More

Highlights of the findings and recommendations of participating organizations under the Exploratory Process are available by consulting the following document:

Individual reports submitted by participating organizations under the Exploratory Process are available by consulting Reports of Participating Organizations:

To learn more about the background of the Exploratory Process please consult the Frequently Asked Questions reference document:

  • Frequently Asked Questions: Exploratory Process

Le processus exploratoire sur l'inscription des Indiens, l'appartenance à une bande et la citoyenneté

Lors du dépôt de la Loi sur l'Équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens le 11 mars 2010, pour faire suite à la décision McIvor, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de lancer un processus exploratoire de traiter des grandes questions sur l'inscription des Indiens, l'appartenance à une bande et la citoyenneté qui dépassent la portée de la décision et des modifications législatives adoptées dans la Loi.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l'importance de ces questions pour les Premières Nations et les autres groupes autochtones. Le gouvernement reconnaît également que les questions portant sur l'inscription des Indiens, l'appartenance à une bande et la citoyenneté sont complexes et que les Premières Nations et les autres groupes autochtones ont des points de vue divergents. Il est clair que des réformes générales ne peuvent être apportées du jour au lendemain ou isolément. Il faudra d'abord recueillir des renseignements et cerner les questions essentielles devant faire l'objet de discussions avant d'entreprendre un processus menant à des changements considérables.

Le Processus exploratoire sur l'inscription des Indiens, l'appartenance à une bande et la citoyenneté a été lancé officiellement lors de la promulgation de la Loi en janvier 2011. L'initiative avait pour but de définir et d'étudier les grandes questions associées à l'inscription à l'appartenance et à la citoyenneté qui vont au-delà de la Loi sur l'Équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens et d'en discuter. Il s'agissait de mettre sur pied un processus inclusif afin d'encourager la participation des groupes, des organisations et des membres des Premières Nations et des Métis, et ce, aux échelles nationale, régionale et locale.

Au total, 20 organisations nationales et régionales autochtones et des Premières Nations ont reçu un financement pour exécuter des activités dans le cadre de cette initiative dirigée par les Premières Nations et les Métis. Ces organisations ont décidé comment discuter avec leurs membres et ont présenté du matériel pour documenter et orienter les discussions. Ces organisations ont mené diverses activités nationales, régionales et locales qui sollicitaient une participation massive des groupes des Premières Nations et des Métis de partout au Canada.

Le Processus exploratoire a officiellement pris fin en décembre 2011 et les organisations participantes s'affairent à clore leurs activités et à présenter leurs conclusions au Ministère. L'information ainsi recueillie aidera le gouvernement à documenter les mesures à venir à cet égard.

Pour obtenir plus d'information sur les activités qui ont été menées par les organisations des Premières Nations et d'autres organisations Autochtones dans le cadre du Processus exploratoire, visitez les liens suivants :

En savoir plus

Les faits saillants des conclusions et des recommandations des organisations participantes dans le cadre du Processus exploratoire sont disponibles en consultant le document suivant:

Les rapports individuels soumis par les organisations participantes dans le cadre du Processus exploratoire sont disponibles en consultant les rapports des organisations participantes :

Consulter le document de référence Foire aux questions pour obtenir plus d'information sur le contexte du Processus exploratoire: