Chronology - Water

February 17, 2014

Economic Action Plan 2014 committed to the continued implementation of the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan with $323.4 million over two years to improve water and wastewater infrastructure in First Nation communities.

November 1, 2013

The Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act comes into force.

June 19, 2013

Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act receives Royal Assent.

June 10, 2013

Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act receives third reading in the House of Commons and amendments are concurred on by the Senate.

May 30, 2013

Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act is adopted by the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development with an amendment. During clause-by-clause consideration, Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development amends the bill to remove the opt-in provisions.

May 21, 23 and 28, 2013

Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development holds hearings on Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act. The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and government officials, as well as First Nation organizations and experts from across the country, appear before the committee.

May 8, 2013

Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act receives second reading in the House and is referred to the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.

November 2012

Second reading debates on Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act begin.

June 2012

Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, is referred to the House of Commons after having been adopted by the Senate of Canada without amendments.

June 11, 13 and 18, 2012

Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act third reading debate and passage in the Senate.

June 7, 2012

Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples reports Bill S-8 to the Senate without amendments and with observations.

May 1, 8, 9, 16 and 29 and June 6, 2012

Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples holds hearings on Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act. The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and government officials, as well as First Nation organizations and experts from across the country, appear before the committee.

April 25, 2012

Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act receives second reading in the Senate and is referred to the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples.

March 2012

Economic Action Plan 2012 proposes $330.8 million over two years to build and renovate water infrastructure on-reserve and to support the development of a long-term strategy to improve water quality in First Nations communities.

March 7, 2012

Bill S-8 second reading debate in the Senate.

February 29, 2012

Government of Canada introduces in the Senate Bill S-8, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act, to protect drinking water in First Nation communities.

October 2010 – October 2011

The Government and First Nation organizations continue to hold discussions on proposed legislation.

July 14, 2011

Department releases independent National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems. Report states the need for a water and wastewater regulatory regime and standards on-reserve. The Assessment shows that the operation and maintenance, operator qualification, and record keeping account for 60 per cent of risk measured.

March 26, 2011

Bill S-11, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act dies on the Order Paper in the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples when the 40th Parliament is dissolved.

February 2 – March 9, 2011

Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples holds hearings on Bill S-8. The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development and government officials, as well as First Nation organizations and experts from across the country, appear before the Committee.

December 14, 2010

Senate refers Bill S-11, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act to the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples.

June 1 – December 14, 2010

Bill S-11, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act second reading debate in the Senate.

May 26, 2010

Introduction of Bill S-11, the Safe Drinking Water for First Nations Act in the Senate.

March 4, 2010

In Budget 2010, Leading the Way on Jobs and Growth, the Government extends the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan (FNWWAP) for two more years for an additional $330 million.

September 2, 2009

Discussions begin with regional First Nations and First Nation organizations on specific regional issues regarding the legislative proposal.

June 8, 2009

A fourth annual progress report on water is released by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC).

May 25, 2009

AANDC announces the awarding of a contract to conduct the National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems.

March 19, 2009

AANDC announces 14 of the 18 water and wastewater projects as part of the $165 million for water included in the $1.4 billion investment for Aboriginal peoples under Canada's Economic Action Plan.

February – March, 2009 

Engagement sessions on the development of a federal legislative framework for drinking water and wastewater in First Nation communities begin in Whitehorse, Yukon, and continue across the country in nine regions. This is part of the Government's commitment identified in FNWWAP to consult with First Nations on a legislative framework for water and wastewater in First Nation communities.

January 27, 2009

In Budget 2009, Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Government of Canada announces $515 million over two years to accelerate infrastructure projects in First Nation communities, including $165 million targeted for water and wastewater projects.

April 15, 2008

AANDC and Health Canada announce details of the $330 million two-year investment identified in Budget 2008 in the FNWWAP that outline new measures to improve drinking water for First Nation communities. The government commits to: nearly double the number of trainers in the Circuit Rider Training Program; conduct a National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Service needs in all First Nation communities; clarify standards by revising the existing water protocol and developing additional protocols for wastewater systems and small systems (such as wells and septic systems); and consult with First Nation communities and organizations to develop a legislative framework for water and wastewater.

The Government's response to the eighth report of the Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples entitled Safe Drinking Water for First Nations is tabled in the Senate.

February 26, 2008

In Budget 2008, an investment of approximately $330 million over two years to improve drinking water on First Nation lands is announced.

January 17, 2008

A third annual progress report on the Plan of Action for Drinking Water in First Nations Communities is released by AANDC.

May 2007

The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples holds hearings to examine and report on recent work completed in relation to drinking water in First Nation communities.

May 31, 2007

The Standing Senate Committee on Aboriginal Peoples tables its eighth report Safe Drinking Water for First Nations.

April 2007

A joint workshop is held between AANDC officials and the Assembly of First Nations Technical Water Expert Group. The purpose of the workshop is to engage AFN technical experts in a discussion on the federal government's proposed legislative framework. The facilitated, two day workshop focuses on information sharing, principal challenges, solutions and engagement.

March 22, 2007

Another progress report on water is released by AANDC and Health Canada.

With the release of the progress report, the Water is a Treasure school activity kit is also launched. The kit is produced to increase awareness among First Nation children from Kindergarten to Grade 6 about the importance of clean, safe, and reliable water.

December 7, 2006

Report of the Expert Panel on Safe Drinking Water for First Nations released. This fulfilled a commitment made as part of the Plan of Action for Drinking Water in First Nation Communities, announced on March 21, 2006.

January 2007

The Government of Canada tables a progress report outlining progress made on all aspects of its 2006 five-point plan of action.

June – August, 2006

The Expert Panel on Safe Drinking Water for First Nations holds hearings in nine locations across Canada to engage with First Nations and other stakeholders.

May 31, 2006

AANDC, together with the AFN, Health Canada and Environment Canada, announces the creation of the Expert Panel to provide advice on options for an appropriate regulatory framework, including new legislation for drinking water and wastewater on First Nation lands.

May 2, 2006

Budget 2006 identified $450 million for First Nation communities to improve water supply, housing, education outcomes, and socio-economic conditions for Aboriginal women, children and families.

March 21, 2006

The Government of Canada launches a five-point Plan of Action for Drinking Water in First Nation Communities to: 1) address the most serious water quality problems on First Nation communities; 2) to establish national standards for the operation of treatment facilities; 3) to ensure mandatory training for all treatment plant operators; 4) to establish a panel of experts to advise on the appropriate regulatory framework; and 5) to report on progress.

Chronologie - Eau

17 février 2014

Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2014, on s'engage à poursuivre la mise en œuvre du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations grâce à un financement de 323,4 millions de dollars sur deux ans visant à améliorer l'infrastructure d'eau et d'eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

1 novembre 2013

La Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations entre en vigueur.

19 juin 2013

Le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations reçoit la sanction royale.

10 juin 2013

Le projet de loi S-8 fait l'objet d'une troisième lecture à la Chambre des communes et les amendements sont acceptés par le Sénat.

30 mai 2013

Le projet de loi est adopté par le Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord avec un amendement. Pendant l'examen article par article, le Comité permanent amende le projet de loi pour retirer les dispositions sur l'option d'adhésion.

21, 23 et 28 mai 2013

Le Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord tient des audiences sur le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations. Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, des représentants du gouvernement, des représentants des organisations des Premières Nations et des experts de partout au pays témoignent devant le Comité.

8 mai 2013

Le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations fait l'objet d'une deuxième lecture à la Chambre et est référé au Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord.

Novembre 2012

Début des débats en deuxième lecture du projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations.

Juin 2012

Le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations, est confié à la Chambre des communes après son adoption tel quel par le Sénat.

11, 13 et 18 juin 2012

Le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations fait l'objet d'un débat à la troisième lecture et est adopté par le Sénat.

7 juin 2012

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones réfère le projet de loi S-8 au Sénat sans amendements et avec des observations.

1er, 8, 9, 16 et 29 mai et 6 juin 2012

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones tient des audiences sur le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations. Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, des représentants du gouvernement, des représentants des organisations des Premières Nations et des experts de partout au pays témoignent devant le Comité.

25 avril 2012

Le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations fait l'objet d'une deuxième lecture au Sénat et est transféré au Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones.

Mars 2012

Le Plan d'action économique 2012 propose un investissement de 330,8 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour construire ou rénover des infrastructures d'eau dans les réserves et pour appuyer l'élaboration d'une stratégie à long terme visant à améliorer la qualité de l'eau dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

7 mars 2012

Le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations fait l'objet du débat à la deuxième lecture au Sénat.

29 février 2012

Le gouvernement du Canada dépose le projet de loi S-8, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations, au Sénat dans le but de protéger la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Octobre 2010-octobre 2011

Le gouvernement et les organisations des Premières Nations poursuivent leurs discussions sur les lois proposées.

14 juillet 2011

Le Ministère publie les résultats de l'Évaluation nationale des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Ce rapport établit la nécessité de créer un régime de réglementation et des normes sur l'eau et les eaux usées dans les réserves. L'Évaluation montre que le fonctionnement et l'entretien, la certification des opérations et la tenue des registres représentent 60 % des risques mesurés.

26 mars 2011

Le projet de loi S-11, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations meurt au feuilleton pendant l'examen du Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones lors de la dissolution de la 40e législature.

2 février-9 mars 2011

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones tient des audiences sur le projet de loi S-11, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations. Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien, des représentants du gouvernement, des représentants des organisations des Premières Nations et des experts de partout au pays témoignent devant le Comité.

14 décembre 2010

Le Sénat envoie le projet de loi S-11, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations au Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones.

1er juin-14 décembre 2010

Le Sénat procède à une deuxième lecture du projet de loi S-11, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations.

26 mai 2010

Le projet de loi S-11, Loi sur la salubrité de l'eau potable des Premières Nations, est déposé au Sénat.

4 mars 2010

Dans le budget de 2010 : Tracer la voie de la croissance et de l'emploi, le gouvernement prolonge la durée du Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations pour deux ans et y consacre 330 millions de dollars supplémentaires.

2 septembre 2009

Les discussions sur les aspects du projet de loi propres aux régions débutent avec les Premières Nations dans les régions et les organisations des Premières Nations.

8 juin 2009

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) publie un quatrième rapport d'étape annuel sur l'eau.

25 mai 2009

AADNC annonce l'octroi d'un marché pour la réalisation de l'Évaluation nationale des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

19 mars 2009

AADNC annonce 14 des 18 projets d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées financés grâce aux 165 millions de dollars affectés à l'eau tirés de l'investissement de 1,4 milliard de dollars pour les Autochtones dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada.

Février-mars 2009

Des séances de mobilisation pour l'élaboration d'un cadre législatif relatif à l'eau potable et aux eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières Nations sont lancées à Whitehorse (Yukon) et se poursuivent dans neuf régions du pays. Cette mesure fait partie de l'engagement qu'a pris le gouvernement dans le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations, et qui consistait à consulter les Premières Nations sur le cadre législatif régissant l'eau potable et les eaux usées pour les collectivités des Premières Nations.

27 janvier 2009

Dans le budget de 2009, le Plan d'action économique du Canada, le gouvernement du Canada annonce un financement de 515 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour accélérer la réalisation de projets d'infrastructure dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, y compris un investissement de 165 millions dans des projets liés à l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées.

15 avril 2008

AADNC et Santé Canada annoncent le détail de l'investissement de 330 millions de dollars sur deux ans dans le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations prévu dans le budget de 2008. Le Plan prévoit de nouvelles mesures pour améliorer la qualité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Le gouvernement s'engage à : presque doubler le nombre de formateurs dans le cadre du Programme de formation itinérante; mener une évaluation nationale sur les besoins en matière de services d'aqueduc et d'égout de toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves; clarifier les normes en revoyant le protocole actuel sur l'eau et en élaborant d'autres protocoles pour les réseaux d'égout et les petits réseaux (comme les puits et les fosses septiques); consulter les collectivités et les organisations des Premières Nations en vue de mettre sur pied un cadre législatif pour l'approvisionnement en eau et le traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves.

Le gouvernement présente au Sénat sa réponse au huitième rapport intitulé L'approvisionnement en eau potable sécuritaire pour les Premières Nations du Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones.

26 février 2008

Dans le budget de 2008, on annonce un investissement de 330 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour améliorer la qualité de l'eau sur les terres des Premières Nations.

17 janvier 2008

AADNC publie un troisième rapport d'étape annuel sur le Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Mai 2007

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones organise des audiences afin d'étudier les travaux récemment terminés sur l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations et d'en rendre compte.

31 mai 2007

Le Comité sénatorial permanent des peuples autochtones dépose son huitième rapport intitulé L'approvisionnement en eau potable sécuritaire pour les Premières Nations.

Avril 2007

Un atelier conjoint a lieu entre les représentants d'AADNC et le groupe d'experts technique sur l'eau de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations. Le but de l'atelier est de faire participer les experts techniques de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations aux discussions concernant le cadre législatif proposé par le gouvernement. L'atelier animé de deux jours met l'accent sur l'échange d'information, les principaux défis, les solutions et la consultation.

22 mars 2007

AADNC et Santé Canada publient un autre rapport d'étape sur l'eau.

Parallèlement à la publication de ce rapport, la trousse scolaire L'eau est un trésor est lancée. Cette trousse est conçue pour sensibiliser les enfants des Premières Nations de la maternelle à la sixième année à l'importance d'avoir accès à une eau propre, salubre et fiable.

7 décembre 2006

Publication du Rapport du groupe d'experts sur la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Ce rapport vient remplir un engagement pris dans le cadre du Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations, annoncé le 21 mars 2006.

Janvier 2007

Le gouvernement du Canada dépose un rapport d'étape décrivant les progrès réalisés pour chacun des aspects de son plan d'action de 2006.

Juin-août 2006

Le groupe d'experts sur la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations organise des audiences à neuf endroits au Canada afin de discuter avec les Premières Nations et d'autres intervenants.

31 mai 2006

AADNC, l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, Santé Canada et Environnement Canada annoncent conjointement la création d'un groupe d'experts chargé de fournir des conseils sur les options à envisager pour l'élaboration d'un cadre de réglementation approprié, y compris une nouvelle législation sur les systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égout sur les terres des Premières Nations.

2 mai 2006

Dans le budget de 2006, 450 millions de dollars étaient consacrés à l'amélioration de l'approvisionnement en eau, du logement dans les réserves, de la scolarité et des conditions socioéconomiques des femmes, des enfants et des familles autochtones.

21 mars 2006

Le gouvernement du Canada lance le Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Ce plan d'action en cinq volets visait les objectifs suivants : 1) régler les problèmes de qualité de l'eau les plus urgents dans les collectivités des Premières Nations; 2) établir des normes nationales pour l'exploitation des installations de traitement; 3) offrir une formation obligatoire à tous les opérateurs d'usine de traitement; 4) créer un groupe d'experts chargé de fournir des conseils sur le cadre de réglementation qui devrait être appliqué; 5) préparer des rapports sur les progrès.