Consultation and engagement at Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) seeks input from First Nations, Inuit, Métis, Northerners and the public to help shape its policies, programs and legislative initiatives.

Choose a topic:

About consultation and engagement

The Government of Canada is committed to renewing the relationship with Indigenous peoples, based on recognition of rights, respect, co-operation and partnership. Consultation and engagement activities are a reflection of the government's commitment to a whole-of-government approach to Nation-to-Nation and Inuit-to-Crown relationships. These activities help to develop better informed and more effective policies and programs for Canadians.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) engages in dialogue with individuals, associations, organizations and other levels of government through online surveys and feedback forms, face-to-face discussions, focus groups and other forums. In some cases, minor legislative changes are based on feedback and informal discussion that reflects regular conversations with First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Northerners.

Ongoing consultation and engagement activities

If the consultation or engagement you are looking for is not listed, please contact the INAC Public Enquiries Contact Centre.

Completed consultation and engagement activities

If the consultation or engagement you are looking for is not listed, please contact the INAC Public Enquiries Contact Centre.

The Government of Canada and the duty to consult

The Government of Canada has a duty to consult, and where appropriate, accommodate Aboriginal groups when it considers conduct that might adversely impact potential or established Aboriginal or Treaty rights. To find out more, visit the Government of Canada and the duty to consult.

Consulting with Canadians

To find out more about Government of Canada consultations and engagement activities, please visit Consulting with Canadians.

Date modified:

Consultation et activités de mobilisation à Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) sollicite l’avis des Premières Nations, des Inuit, des Métis, des résidants du Nord et du public pour l’aider à orienter ses politiques, ses programmes et ses initiatives législatives.

Choisir un sujet

À propos de la consultation et des activités de mobilisation

Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à renouveler la relation avec les Autochtones, une relation fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la collaboration et le partenariat. Les activités de consultation et de mobilisation sont le reflet de l'engagement du gouvernement quant à l'approche gouvernementale à l'égard de la relation de nation à nation, et celle entre la Couronne et les Inuit.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) entame le dialogue avec des personnes, des associations, des organismes et d'autres ordres de gouvernement par le biais de sondages en ligne et de fiches de commentaires, de rencontres en personne, de groupes de discussion et d'autres forums. Dans certains cas, des modifications législatives mineures s'appuient sur la rétroaction reçue et les discussions informelles qui témoignent du dialogue constant avec les Premières Nations, les Inuit, les Métis et les résidants du Nord.

Activités de consultation et de mobilisation en cours

Si le processus de consultation ou de mobilisation que vous cherchez n'est pas énuméré, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de contacts de demandes de renseignements du public d'AANC.

Activités de consultation et de mobilisation achevées

Si le processus de consultation ou de mobilisation que vous cherchez n'est pas énuméré, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre de contacts de demandes de renseignements du public d'AANC.

Le gouvernement du Canada et l’obligation de consulter

Le gouvernement du Canada a l'obligation de consulter et, s'il y a lieu, d'accommoder les groupes autochtones lorsqu'il envisage des mesures susceptibles d'avoir un effet préjudiciable sur des droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, établis ou potentiels. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez la section Le gouvernement du Canada et l'obligation de consulter.

Consultations auprès des Canadiens

Pour en savoir davantage sur les activités de consultation et de mobilisation du gouvernement du Canada, consultez la page Consultations auprès des Canadiens.

Date de modification :