ARCHIVED - Engagement Sessions on Renovating Programs in Support of Lands and Economic Development

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview

During the fall of 2010, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) held engagement sessions to discuss renovating its existing Aboriginal economic development programs. These include programs supporting Aboriginal business development, community economic development and lands and environment management.

The engagement sessions were held to assess how existing programs can better support the strategic priorities of the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development (released in 2009).

Process

Engagement sessions took place across the country. Participants included: national First Nation, Métis and Inuit organizations and associations; program delivery partners; and other expert and advisory groups, such as the National Aboriginal Economic Development Board. Four roundtables were held to ensure the perspectives of Aboriginal women, Aboriginal youth, remote communities and businesses (Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal) were heard.

AANDC committed to studying all input from the sessions when developing options for the renewal of its Aboriginal lands, business and community economic development programs.

Status

Sessions were completed in December 2010. Reports will be made available through AANDC's website in fall 2011.

What information is available?

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Séances de participation sur la refonte des programmes à l'appui du développement économique et des terres

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu

Pendant l'automne 2010, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a tenu des séances de participation visant à discuter de la refonte de ses programmes de développement économique des Autochtones, y compris les programmes qui soutiennent le développement des entreprises autochtones, le développement économique communautaire et la gestion des terres et de l'environnement.

Les séances de participation avaient pour but de déterminer comment les programmes actuels pourraient mieux soutenir les priorités stratégiques du Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones (publié en 2009).

Processus

Les séances de participation ont eu lieu dans tout le pays. Des représentants des organisations et des associations nationales inuites, métisses et des Premières nations, des partenaires en matière de prestation des programmes ainsi que d'autres groupes de spécialistes et de consultation, comme le Conseil national de développement économique des Autochtones, ont assisté à ces séances. On a tenu quatre tables rondes pour s'assurer que le point de vue des femmes et des jeunes autochtones, des collectivités éloignées et des entreprises (autochtones et non autochtones) était entendu.

AADNC s'est engagé à étudier tous les commentaires recueillis pendant les séances dans son  élaboration d'options pour la refonte de ses programmes sur les terres, les entreprises et le développement économique communautaire des Autochtones.

État d'avancement

Les séances ont pris fin en décembre 2010. Les rapports seront accessibles sur le site Web d'AADNC à l'automne 2011.

Renseignements disponibles

Date de modification :