ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Strategic Investments for Northern Economic Development - Follow-up Status Update as of September 30, 2009

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (22 Kb, 2 Pages)

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2009

Northern Affairs Organization - Northern Economic Development Directoriate

Evaluation of the Strategic Investments for Northern Economic Development (200751)
AEC Approval Date: 25/09/2008

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Create a program-specific RMAF and logic model which clearly defines the connections between funded activities and expected outcomes. The performance measurement strategy should include indicators and a plan to determine how longer-term results will be measured. INAC HQ will create a SINED specific performance measurement and reporting framework as part of the SINED renewal process. The performance measurement strategy will include a plan to measure the longer-term impact of SINED investments. April 2009, subject to program renewal Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009


On August 18, 2009, CanNor was officially created. At that point, responsibility and accountability for the implementation of SINED action plan shifted from INAC to CanNor.
2. Establish closer linkages between individual projects, Investment Plans and SINED outcomes and ensure that they are aligned with SINED strategic objectives. a. INAC HQ will work with Regional Director-Generals in Nunavut, NWT and Yukon to update Investment Plans and incorporate them into an improved logic model.

b. INAC HQ and Regional Director Generals will document intended impacts of individual projects on SINED strategic outcomes.
April 2009 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


CanNor is working to develop the structures and mechanisms required to properly fulfill its audit and evaluation responsibilities.

AES Comment: INAC will convene a meeting with CanNor to establish follow up responsibilities and report to the February INAC Evaluation Committee.
3. Consider options for aggregating project data for reporting to management and for use in future evaluations. INAC HQ will work to aggregate data in the context of the performance measurement strategy (above). April 2009 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2008:
4. Review operating resources to ensure effective monitoring and professional development of staff. INAC HQ will develop a business case for increased operating resources in the context of renewal. April 2009 Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:
5. Explore options that would allow for greater flexibility and strategic investment in multi-year funding activities. INAC HQ will explore options for increasing flexibility in the disbursement of project funding while strengthening accountability. April 2009 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:
6. Continue to work with federal and territorial governments and other private sector and non-governmental organizations engaged in economic development in the North INAC HQ and Regional Director-Generals in Nunavut, NWT and Yukon will work to improve engagement with a network of stakeholders including government, private sector, and non-governmental organizations in the economic development of the territories. April 2009 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation des investissements stratégiques pour le développement économique du Nord - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2009

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (24 Ko, 3 pages)

 


Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 septembre 2009

Organisation des affaires du nord - Direction générale des ressources naturelles et du développement économique

Évaluation des investissements stratégiques pour le développement économique du Nord (200751)
DATE D'APPROBATION DU CVÉ : 25/09/2008

Recommandation du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Créer un cadre de gestion et de responsabilisation axé sur les résultats et un modèle logique propres au programme, qui définissent de façon claire le rapport entre les activités financées et les résultats attendus. La stratégie de mesure du rendement devrait comprendre des indicateurs et un plan visant à déterminer de quelle façon les résultats à plus long terme seront mesurés. Dans le processus de renouvellement d'ISDEN, l'AC d'AINC créera un cadre de mesure du rendement et un cadre de rapport qui lui sera propre. La stratégie de mesure du rendement comprendra un plan pour mesurer les effets à plus long terme des investissements faits dans le cadre d'ISDEN. Avril 2009, sous réserve du renouvellement du programme État :

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Le 18 août 2009, CanNor a été officiellement créé. À ce moment, la responsabilité de mise en œuvre et la reddition des comptes du plan d'action d'ISDEN est passée d'AINC à CanNor.
2. Établir des liens plus étroits entre les divers projets, les plans d'investissement et les résultats d'ISDEN et veiller à ce qu'ils correspondent aux objectifs stratégiques du programme. a. L'AC d'AINC collaborera avec les directeurs généraux régionaux au Nunavut, aux T.N.-O. et au Yukon pour actualiser les plans d'investissement et les incorporer à un modèle logique amélioré.

b. L'AC d'AINC et les directeurs généraux régionaux consigneront les effets escomptés des divers projets sur les résultats stratégiques d'ISDEN.
Avril 2009 État :

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


CanNor travaille à l'élaboration de structure et de mécanismes requis pour remplir adéquatement ses responsabilités de vérification et d'évaluation.

Commentaire du SVÉ : AINC convoquera une réunion avec CanNor pour établir des responsabilités de suivi et présenter un rapport au Comité d'évaluation d'AINC de février
3. Examiner les possibilités de regrouper les données relatives aux projets en vue de rendre compte à la direction et pour utilisation lors d'évaluations futures. L'AC d'AINC travaillera au regroupement des données dans le contexte de la stratégie de mesure du rendement (voir ci-dessus). Avril 2009 État :

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :
4. Revoir les ressources de fonctionnement pour assurer la surveillance efficace et le perfectionnement professionnel du personnel. L'AC d'AINC établira une analyse de rentabilisation pour l'accroissement des ressources de fonctionnement dans le contexte du renouvellement. Avril 2009

État :

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :

5. Examiner des possibilités qui offriraient une souplesse accrue et permettraient de faire des investissements stratégiques dans des activités de financement sur plusieurs années. L'AC d'AINC examinera des possibilités permettant d'accroître la souplesse relativement au financement de projets tout en renforçant la reddition de comptes. Avril 2009 État :

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :
6. Continuer de collaborer avec les gouvernements fédéral et territoriaux et d'autres organisations non gouvernementales et du secteur privé qui contribuent au développement économique du Nord. L'AC d'AINC et les directeurs généraux régionaux au Nunavut, aux T.N.-O. et au Yukon travailleront à l'amélioration de la participation avec un réseau d'intervenants, dont le gouvernement, le secteur privé et des organisations non gouvernementales qui contribuent au développement économique des territoires. Avril 2009 État :

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :

 

Date de modification :