Renewing the relationship: Key documents

As the Government of Canada moves forward in establishing a renewed nation-to-nation relationship with Indigenous Peoples, certain key documents will be consulted and made more available to Canadians through this web page. Visit this page often as we will continue to add to it.

This is not an exhaustive list. These key documents are a part of larger discussions taking place with all Canadians on topics related to Indigenous peoples. For more, please use the Government of Canada's publications index.

Are we missing an important document? Please let us know through our Facebook page.

New fiscal relationship

In July 2016, the Assembly of First Nations and the Government of Canada signed a Memorandum of Understanding to immediately start a joint comprehensive review of their existing fiscal relationship, and develop proposals and recommendations for the design of a new fiscal relationship that moves toward sufficient, predictable and sustained funding, and lifts the 2% cap on annual funding increases to First Nations.

Truth and Reconciliation Commission

The Government of Canada will support the work of reconciliation, continue the necessary process of truth telling and healing, and work with provinces and territories, First Nations, the Métis Nation, and Inuit, to implement the calls to action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Find out more:

  • the 94 calls to action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission released in an executive summary (PDF – 13,321 Kb, 594 pages) in June 2015
  • the Final Report released in December 2015
  • next steps for the Government of Canada

Kelowna Accord

The Government of Canada is committed to renewing the spirit, intent and framework of the Kelowna Accord to help improve today's standard of living and quality of life for Indigenous Peoples.

Consult the Kelowna Accord, also known as the First Ministers and National Aboriginal Leaders Strengthening Relationships and Closing the Gap document (PDF – 75 Kb, 20 pages), on-line with Library and Archives Canada.

Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples

In 1991, four Aboriginal and three non-Aboriginal commissioners were appointed to investigate and report back to the Government of Canada on one over-riding question: What are the foundations of a fair and honorable relationship between the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people of Canada? The Commission held 178 days of public hearings, visited 96 communities, consulted dozens of experts, commissioned scores of research studies, reviewed numerous past inquiries and reports. Their five-volume report was released in 1996.

Consult the summary report (called Highlights in the list below) or the full report (archived on-line with Library and Archives Canada, or PDF version from Queen's University Research and Learning Depository):

First Nations in Canada

This brief history is used widely in schools and is one of the most frequently consulted documents on this website. Its aim is to help readers learn about the significant developments affecting First Nations communities from the pre-Contact era (before the arrival of Europeans) up to the present day. Read it on-line or download it to your e-book reader:

Date modified:

Le renouvellement de la relation entre le Canada et les peuples autochtones : Documents clés

Tandis que le gouvernement du Canada entreprend de renouveler les relations de nation à nation avec les peuples autochtones, certains documents clés seront consultés et rendus davantage accessibles aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens sur cette page Web. Nous vous invitons à visiter cette page régulièrement, car nous continuerons à y ajouter de l'information.

Cette liste n'est pas exhaustive. Ces documents clés reflètent une partie des discussions que nous avons avec l'ensemble de la population canadienne sur des sujets liés aux peuples autochtones. Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter la liste des publications du gouvernement du Canada.

Un document important nous a échappé? Faites-nous en part via notre page Facebook.

Commission de vérité et réconciliation

Le gouvernement du Canada soutiendra le travail de réconciliation, continuera le processus nécessaire de vérité et de guérison et, travaillera en collaboration avec les provinces et les territoires, ainsi qu'avec les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuit, afin de mettre en œuvre les appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Découvrez-en plus sur:

  • les 94 appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation publiées dans un sommaire (Format PDF - 13,307 Ko, 594 pages) en juin 2015
  • le rapport final rendu public le 15 décembre 2015
  • les prochaines étapes à suivre pour le gouvernement du Canada

Accord de Kelowna

Le gouvernement du Canada entend renouveler l'esprit, l'intention et le cadre de l'Accord de Kelowna afin d'améliorer le niveau et la qualité de vie des Autochtones.

Consultez l'Accord de Kelowna, aussi appelé Premiers Ministres et Dirigeants Autochtones Nationaux Renforcer les Relations et Combler l'Écart, (Format PDF - 75 Ko, 20 pages) sur le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones

En 1991, sept commissaires, soit quatre Autochtones et trois non-Autochtones, ont été chargés d'enquêter et de remettre au gouvernement leur rapport sur une question primordiale : quels sont les fondements d'une relation équitable et honorable entre Autochtones et non-Autochtones au Canada? La Commission a tenu 178 jours d'audiences publiques, s'est rendue dans 96 collectivités, a consulté des dizaines d'experts, a commandé quantité d'études et a examiné de nombreux rapports et enquêtes passés. Son rapport en cinq volumes a été publié en 1996.

Consultez le rapport sommaire (intitulé Points saillantts dans la liste ci-dessous) ou le rapport intégral (archivé en ligne sur le site Web de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, ou en version PDF sur le site Web du Research and Learning Depository de l'Université Queen's).

Premières Nations du Canada

Ce bref historique est beaucoup utilisé dans les écoles et figure parmi les documents les plus souvent consultés sur ce site Web. Grâce à ce document, les lecteurs auront une meilleure compréhension des grands événements qui ont touché les collectivités autochtones depuis la période précédant l'arrivée des Européens jusqu'à nos jours. Lisez le en ligne ou téléchargez-le sur votre tablette de lecture.

Date de modification :