ARCHIVED - Implementation Evaluation of the Reserve Land and Environment Management Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2009

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (34 Kb, 4 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2009

Lands and Economic Development - Branch

Implementation Evaluation of the Reserve Land and Environment Management Program (200964)
AEC Approval Date: 02/JUN/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. The planning, design and communication of the Program needs improvement to allow for greater Program results, as follows:

- The vision of RLEMP as an important intermediate step toward the First Nations Land Management Act (FNLMA) requires greater clarification and reinforcement with all stakeholders.

- A gap analysis between communities' land management training needs and RLEMP training is required to improve training design.

- A review of and adjustments in RLEMP's funding formula is necessary as part of this redesign to ensure the Program is addressing needs equitably among participating communities.

- The roles and responsibilities of the various stakeholders, including INAC HQ and regional staff, as well as community leaders and land managers, require clarification.

- Overall, Program communications need improvement to ensure that all stakeholders are being made aware of, and understand the key elements of the Program and their involvement in a timely manner.
Consultations will take place with INAC Regions and Stakeholders to develop a communication strategy that will help to clarify RLEMP's role as a stepping stone toward FNLMA. December 2009 The LED sector is defining a strategic approach to Departmental lands activities. This approach will be presented to the Departmental Senior Executive at the Forum on Strategic Issues in December 2009. All audit action plan activities will be implemented within the context of this newly defined strategic approach to lands.

Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009:
HQ has partnered with NALMA to identify the strategic connections between RLEMP and FNLM. INAC is considering partnering with the LAB/RC to make similar connections. A regional conference call to being consultations is scheduled for the week of Oct 19th.
RLEMP training was developed in cooperation with First Nation land managers to address the capacity requirements for managing lands under the Indian Act. Course curriculum will continue to be reviewed and amended as part of the work of the RLEMP Steering Committee, which includes members from INAC HQ, the National Aboriginal Land Managers Association and the University of Saskatchewan. March 2010 Status: On-going

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009: Curriculum is regularly reviewed as normal practice. Identified issues will be discussed at the next steering committee November 4-5, 2009. Completion of a more comprehensive curriculum review is anticipated to be complete after the early Spring 2010 Steering Committee meeting.
Training needs for individual First Nations will fluctuate based on staff turnover and changes in land use activities on reserve. The option of offering training electives has been explored with participating First Nations. The development of these electives will be based on the availability of funding. March 2010 Status: On-going

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009: Funding has not yet been allocated to take further action on training electives. INAC will consider allocating some of the funding received through the Aboriginal Economic Development Framework (AEDF) for this purpose.
The First Nations Land Management (FNLM) Directorate will continue working with participating First Nations to identify possible adjustments to the current funding formula. The KPMG Cost Benefit Analysis of land management activities will provide important information for assessing different funding options and the true costs of land management on reserve. December 2009 Status: On-going

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009: The FNLMD is currently exploring different funding formula options. A contract to hire an IT Specialist will be drafted to assist in developing the options.
The roles and responsibilities of the various stakeholders were developed in partnership with the National Aboriginal Land Managers Association (NALMA) and participating First Nations, and have been incorporated into the RLEMP Manual and toolkit. Consultations with INAC regions and stakeholders are ongoing and clarification of roles and responsibilities will be incorporated into the manual and toolkit before final printing and distribution. March 31, 2010 Status: On-going

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009: The RLEMP manual and toolkit is in the process of being finalized. The manual and toolkit are a portion of a rigorous communication strategy which will clearly detail the roles and responsibilities between RLEMP stakeholders. The FNLMD has secured funding for this purpose is currently on target to meet this action item.
The RLEMP manual and toolkit will provide further clarification of the key elements of the program. The toolkit will be distributed to all stakeholders, INAC regions and First Nations after a sustainable funding source has been secured and the program has been fully implemented. March 31, 2010 Status: On-going

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009: – see above.
Upon full implementation of RLEMP a fulsome communications strategy and communication package will be developed in consultation with stakeholders and distributed. October 2011 Status: On-going

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009: The FNLMD is currently finalizing the RLEMP implementation plan which will inform a rigorous communication package.
2. RLEMP's training model requires updating as per the revised Program design and program monitoring to ensure continual improvement to the content and delivery of training, as follows:

- A more cost-effective model needs to be implemented that will include a mixed training delivery model to accommodate the next generation of training participants, land managers who are new as a result of turnover in participating communities, and land managers whose capacities are evolving with experience.

- A performance monitoring and reporting system to monitor and report on Program results needs to be implemented and will require alignment with Program redesign.
Alternative training delivery methods (e.g., online courses) will be explored by the FNLM Directorate in partnership with training delivery partners (NALMA and the University of Saskatchewan) and will be discussed at regular Steering Committee meetings.

An RMAF/RBAF for RLEMP has been developed outlining the applicable performance indicators. This information will be included in the RLEMP Performance Measurement Strategy and will outline the monitoring and communication requirements.
31/03/2010 Status: On-going

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009:

INAC and NALMA have partnered to develop and pilot an equivalency exam to accelerate the pace at which experienced land mangers can complete the training thereby reducing the time commitment of students and increasing the cost-effectiveness of the training. The possibility of offering e-learning (on-line learning) is also being explored with all partners.

Status: Partially implemented

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009: A draft Performance Measurement Strategy has been developed and is awaiting final approval.
3. Based upon the significant evidence that supports RLEMP's rationale and continued relevance, it is recommended that funding for RLEMP be sustained:

- Specifically, multi-year funding would ensure Program stability and allow for long-term planning.
The FNLM Directorate will be seeking multi-year funding to implement RLEMP as a full program and thereby ensuring program stability to allow for long term planning. 31/03/2010 Status: Implemented

Update/Rationale as of 09/30/2009: RLEMP activities are proceeding through the Aboriginal Economic Development Framework Action Plan. Target date for full implementation is March 31, 2010
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la mise en œuvre du Programme de gestion des terres et de l'environnement dans les réserves - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2009

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (37 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action
Rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 septembre 2009

Terres et Développement Économique – Direction

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre du Programme de gestion des terres et de l'environnement dans les réserves (200964)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 2 juin 2009

Recommandations
du Projet
Plan d'Action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du Programme
1. La planification, la conception et les communications du programme doivent être améliorées pour permettre de meilleurs résultats. Par exemple :

- la vision du PGTER à titre d'importante étape intermédiaire en faveur de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations (LGTPN) requiert une plus grande clarté et un renforcement auprès de tous les intervenants;

- une analyse des lacunes entre les besoins de formation en gestion des terres des collectivités et la formation sur le PGTER est requise pour améliorer la conception de la formation;

- un examen et des ajustements de la formule de financement du PGTER sont nécessaires dans le cadre de cette restructuration pour s'assurer que le programme répond aux besoins des collectivités participantes de façon équitable;

- les rôles et responsabilités des divers intervenants, y compris le personnel de l'AC et régional d'AINC ainsi que les leaders communautaires et les chefs des terres, doivent être clarifiés;

- globalement, les communications du programme doivent être améliorées pour s'assurer que tous les intervenants connaissent et comprennent les éléments clés du programme et leur implication de façon opportune.
Des consultations prendront place avec les régions et les intervenants d'AINC aux fins de l'élaboration d'une stratégie de communication qui aidera à clarifier le rôle du PGTER à titre de point de départ en vertu de la LGTPN. Décembre 2009 Le Secteur des terres et du développement économique (STDE) définit actuellement une approche stratégique par rapport aux activités sur les terres du ministère. Cette approche sera présentée au comité des cadres supérieurs du ministère lors du forum sur les questions stratégiques en décembre 2009. Toutes les activités du plan d'action de vérification seront mises en œuvre dans le contexte de cette nouvelle approche stratégique par rapport aux terres.

État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
L'AC s'est jointe à la NALMA pour déterminer les liens stratégiques entre le PGTER et la GTPN. AINC envisage un partenariat avec le Conseil consultatif des terres (CCT) et le CR afin d'établir des liens similaires. Une conférence téléphonique régionale aux fins de consultations est prévue pour la semaine du 19 octobre.
La formation sur le PGTER a été élaborée en collaboration avec les chefs des terres des Premières nations pour répondre aux exigences de capacité en matière de gestion des terres en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens. Le programme de formation continuera d'être évalué et modifié dans le cadre des activités du comité directeur du PGTER, qui sera formé de membres de l'AC d'AINC, de la National Aboriginal Land Managers Association et de la University of Saskatchewan. Mars 2010 État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
Le programme fait l'objet de révisions régulières à titre de pratique courante. Les problèmes décelés seront abordés lors de la prochaine réunion du comité directeur les 4 et 5 novembre 2009. L'exécution d'une révision du programme plus complète est prévue après la réunion du comité directeur du début du printemps 2010.
Les besoins de formation individuels des Premières nations varieront en fonction du roulement de personnel et des changements dans les activités d'utilisation des terres sur les réserves. La possibilité d'offrir des options de formation a été explorée avec les Premières nations participantes. Le développement de ces options sera basé sur la disponibilité des fonds. Mars 2010 État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
Le financement n'a pas encore été attribué en ce qui concerne les options de formation. AINC envisage l'affectation d'une partie des fonds obtenus par le biais du Cadre de développement économique des Autochtones à cette fin.
La Direction de la gestion des terres des Premières nations (GTPN) continuera de travailler avec les Premières nations participantes à la détermination d'ajustements possibles à la formule de financement actuelle. L'analyse coût-avantage des activités de gestion des terres de KPMG fournira de l'information importante pour l'évaluation des différentes options de financement et des coûts réels de la gestion des terres sur les réserves. Décembre 2009 État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
La direction de la GTPN explore actuellement différentes options de formule de financement. Une ébauche de contrat visant l'embauche d'un spécialiste en TI sera préparée afin de favoriser l'élaboration d'options.
Les rôles et les responsabilités des divers intervenants ont été élaborés en partenariat avec la National Aboriginal Land Managers Association (NALMA) et les Premières nations participantes, et ont été incorporées au manuel et à la trousse d'outils du PGTER. Des consultations avec les régions et les intervenants d'AINC sont en cours et les rôles et responsabilités clarifiés seront incorporés au manuel et à la trousse d'outils avant l'impression et la distribution finales. 31 Mars 2010 État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
Le manuel et la trousse d'outils du PGTER sont en cours de finalisation. Le manuel et la trousse d'outils constituent une partie d'une stratégie de communication rigoureuse qui définira clairement et en détail les rôles et responsabilités entre les intervenants du PGTER. La GTPN a garanti que le financement est sur le point d'atteindre cette mesure à prendre.
Le manuel et la trousse d'outils du PGTER procureront davantage d'éclaircissements en ce qui a trait aux éléments clés du programme. La trousse d'outils sera distribuée à tous les intervenants, aux régions d'AINC et aux Premières nations lorsqu'une source de financement durable aura été garantie et que le programme aura été totalement mis en œuvre. 31 Mars 2010 État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 : – Voir ci-dessus
Une fois la mise en œuvre complète du PGTER terminée, une stratégie et une trousse de communications seront élaborées en consultation avec les intervenants, puis distribuées. Octobre 2011 État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
La DGTPN finalise actuellement le plan de mise en œuvre du PGTER qui procurera de l'information pour une trousse de communications rigoureuse.
2. Le modèle de formation sur le PGTER requiert une mise à jour conformément à la conception de programme révisée et à la surveillance du programme afin d'assurer l'amélioration continuelle du contenu et de la prestation. Par exemple :

- un modèle plus rentable qui comprendra un mode de prestation de formation mixte visant à répondre aux besoins de la prochaine génération de participants, des nouveaux chefs des terres découlant du roulement de personnel dans les collectivités participantes et des chefs des terres dont les capacités évoluent avec l'expérience doit être mis en œuvre;

- un système de surveillance du rendement et de production de rapports destiné à surveiller et faire rapport des résultats doit être mis en œuvre et devra être en alignement avec la restructuration du programme.
Des méthodes de prestation de formation alternatives (ex. cours en ligne) seront explorés par la Direction de la GTPN en collaboration avec les partenaires de prestation de la formation (NALMA et University of Saskatchewan) et seront abordées lors des réunions régulières du comité directeur.

Un CGRR/CVAR pour le PGTER a été élaboré et décrit les indicateurs de rendement applicables. Cette information sera incluse dans la stratégie de mesure du rendement du PGTER et précisera les exigences en matière de surveillance et de communication.
31/03/2010 État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
AINC et la NALMA ont travaillé ensemble à l'élaboration et aux essais d'un examen d'équivalence pour accélérer le rythme auquel les chefs des terres expérimentés peuvent compléter la formation et ainsi réduire le temps consacré par les élèves et augmenter la rentabilité de la formation. La possibilité d'offrir du cyberapprentissage (apprentissage en ligne) est également explorée avec tous les partenaires.

État : Partiellement mis en œuvre.

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
Une stratégie de mesure du rendement provisoire a été élaborée et est en attente d'une approbation finale.
3. En fonction des éléments probants qui soutiennent la justification et la pertinence continue du PGTER, il est recommandé que le financement du PGTER soit maintenu :

- particulièrement, un financement pluriannuel devrait assurer la stabilité du programme et permettre une planification à long terme.
La Direction de la GTPN cherchera un financement pluriannuel en vue de la mise en œuvre du PGTER à titre de programme complet, assurant ainsi la stabilité de ce dernier afin de permettre une planification à long terme. 31/03/2010 État : Mis en œuvre

Mise à jour/justification en date du 30 septembre 2009 :
Les activités du PGTER sont en cours au moyen du Cadre de développement économique des Autochtones. La date cible de la mise en œuvre complète est le 31 mars 2010.
 
 
Date de modification :