ARCHIVED - Implementation Evaluation of the Reserve Land and Environment Management Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2010

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (35 Kb, 5 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2010

Lands and Economic Development - Branch

Implementation Evaluation of the Reserve Land and Environment Management Program (200964)
AEC Approval Date: 02/Jun/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. The planning, design and communication of the Program needs improvement to allow for greater Program results, as follows:

- The vision of RLEMP as an important intermediate step toward the First Nations Land Management Act (FNLMA) requires greater clarification and reinforcement with all stakeholders.

- A gap analysis between communities' land management training needs and RLEMP training is required to improve training design.

- A review of and adjustments in RLEMP's funding formula is necessary as part of this redesign to ensure the Program is addressing needs equitably among participating communities.

- The roles and responsibilities of the various stakeholders, including INAC HQ and regional staff, as well as community leaders and land managers, require clarification.

- Overall, Program communications need improvement to ensure that all stakeholders are being made aware of, and understand the key elements of the Program and their involvement in a timely manner.
Consultations will take place with INAC Regions and Stakeholders to develop a communication strategy that will help to clarify RLEMP's role as a stepping stone toward FNLMA. December 2009 Status: Ongoing
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:


HQ has partnered with NALMA and the LAB/RC to identify the strategic connections between RLEMP and FNLM. For example, INAC is developing complementary entry criteria and training programs for RLEMP and the FNLM regime. It is expected that these connections will be solidified by second quarter 2010 -11.
RLEMP training was developed in cooperation with First Nation land managers to address the capacity requirements for managing lands under the Indian Act. Course curriculum will continue to be reviewed and amended as part of the work of the RLEMP Steering Committee, which includes members from INAC HQ, the National Aboriginal Land Managers Association and the University of Saskatchewan. March 2010 Status: Ongoing
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:


Curriculum is regularly reviewed as normal practice. The next opportunity to review the curriculum will be fall 2010. HQ is currently exploring alternative methods to improve the environmental capacity development components of the RLEMP training program. Final recommendations are expected during first quarter 2010 -11.
Training needs for individual First Nations will fluctuate based on staff turnover and changes in land use activities on reserve. The option of offering training electives has been explored with participating First Nations. The development of these electives will be based on the availability of funding. March 2010 Status: Ongoing
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:

Funding has not yet been allocated to take further action on training electives. Currently, as a staffing succession plan for First Nations, INAC permits First Nations to access the training program on a self-funded basis to train additional land managers.
The First Nations Land Management (FNLM) Directorate will continue working with participating First Nations to identify possible adjustments to the current funding formula. The KPMG Cost Benefit Analysis of land management activities will provide important information for assessing different funding options and the true costs of land management on reserve. December 2009 Status: Ongoing
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:


LAB/RC is currently developing a new operational funding formula for the FNLM regime which takes into consideration the preliminary findings of the KPMG cost benefit analysis. It is anticipated that the development of the new FNLM funding formula will take the greater part of the 2010-2011 fiscal year. INAC will subsequently explore the possibility of applying the principles of this new formula to RLEMP.
The roles and responsibilities of the various stakeholders were developed in partnership with the National Aboriginal Land Managers Association (NALMA) and participating First Nations, and have been incorporated into the RLEMP Manual and toolkit. Consultations with INAC regions and stakeholders are ongoing and clarification of roles and responsibilities will be incorporated into the manual and toolkit before final printing and distribution. March 31, 2010 Status: Ongoing
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:


The RLEMP Manual and toolkit is in final approval stages and distribution will occur by end of first quarter 2010 -11.
The RLEMP manual and toolkit will provide further clarification of the key elements of the program. The toolkit will be distributed to all stakeholders, INAC regions and First Nations after a sustainable funding source has been secured and the program has been fully implemented. March 31, 2010 Status: Ongoing
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:


RLEMP Communication Strategy has been approved and outlines the timelines for development of a communication package. A press release concerning the funding announcement for RLEMP is scheduled for April 26, 2010.
Upon full implementation of RLEMP a fulsome communications strategy and communication package will be developed in consultation with stakeholders and distributed. October 2011 Status: Ongoing
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:

INAC and NALMA have partnered to develop and pilot an equivalency exam to accelerate the pace at which experienced land managers can complete the training thereby reducing the time commitment of students and increasing the cost-effectiveness of the training. The feasibility of conducting an equivalency exam pilot project will be developed during 2010-11. The pilot project may be postponed to the 2011-12 fiscal year. Additionally, INAC is currently exploring the financial and programmatic feasibility of applying alternative learning approaches to the training program. A final report regarding the feasibility of applying the alternatives is expected in May 2010.

AES:
2. RLEMP's training model requires updating as per the revised Program design and program monitoring to ensure continual improvement to the content and delivery of training, as follows:

- A more cost-effective model needs to be implemented that will include a mixed training delivery model to accommodate the next generation of training participants, land managers who are new as a result of turnover in participating communities, and land managers whose capacities are evolving with experience.

- A performance monitoring and reporting system to monitor and report on Program results needs to be implemented and will require alignment with Program redesign.
Alternative training delivery methods (e.g., online courses) will be explored by the FNLM Directorate in partnership with training delivery partners (NALMA and the University of Saskatchewan) and will be discussed at regular Steering Committee meetings.

An RMAF/RBAF for RLEMP has been developed outlining the applicable performance indicators. This information will be included in the RLEMP Performance Measurement Strategy and will outline the monitoring and communication requirements.
31/03/2010 Status: Ongoing
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:


Status – On-going
A draft Performance Measurement Strategy has been developed and is awaiting final approval.

AES Comment: Underway
3. Based upon the significant evidence that supports RLEMP's rationale and continued relevance, it is recommended that funding for RLEMP be sustained:

- Specifically, multi-year funding would ensure Program stability and allow for long-term planning.
The FNLM Directorate will be seeking multi-year funding to implement RLEMP as a full program and thereby ensuring program stability to allow for long term planning. 31/03/2010 Status: Implemented
Update/ Rationale as of 10/31/2010:


RLEMP received 4 years of funding in October 2009.

AES: Close
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de la mise en ouvre du Programme de gestion des terres et de l'environnement dans les réserves - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (38 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en oeuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation (CVÉ), de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2010

Terres et développement économique - Direction générale

Évaluation de la mise en œuvre du Programme de gestion de l'environnement et des terres de réserve (200964)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 02/06/2009

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
>Réponse
du programme
1. Améliorer la planification et la conception du Programme de même que la communication de la façon suivante afin d'en améliorer les résultats :

- Il est nécessaire de clarifier et de faire valoir auprès des intervenants la vision du PGETR comme une étape intermédiaire vers la mise à exécution de la Loi sur la gestion des terres des premières nations (LGTPN).

- Il faut, pour motiver l'apport d'améliorations à la conception du programme, mener une analyse de l'écart entre la formation offerte par le PGETR et les besoins des collectivités en matière de formation sur la gestion des terres.

- AINC doit, dans le cadre de ces changements, revoir la formule de financement du PGETR pour s'assurer que le Programme répond de manière équitable aux besoins des collectivités participantes.

- Il faut clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités des différents intervenants, y compris ceux de l'administration centrale et des bureaux régionaux d'AINC, des dirigeants communautaires et des gestionnaires fonciers.

- Dans l'ensemble, on doit améliorer la communication pour s'assurer que tous les intervenants connaissent et comprennent les éléments principaux du Programme et peuvent agir en temps opportun.
On consultera les bureaux régionaux d'AINC et les intervenants en vue de concevoir une stratégie de communication qui contribuera à clarifier le rôle du PGETR à titre de point de départ vers la LGTPN. Décembre 2009 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


L'AC a conclu un partenariat avec l'Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones (NALMA) et le Centre de ressources du Conseil consultatif des terres (CR-CCT) en vue de déterminer les liens stratégiques entre le PGETR et la GTPN. Par exemple, AINC élabore actuellement des critères d'admissibilité et des programmes de formation complémentaires pour le PGETR et le régime de la LGTPN. On prévoit que ces liens se consolideront d'ici le deuxième trimestre de 2010-2011.
La formation sur le PGETR a été élaborée en collaboration avec les gestionnaires des terres des Premières nations afin de répondre aux besoins en matière de capacité relativement à la gestion des terres sous le régime de la Loi sur les Indiens. Le programme de formation sera examiné et modifié au besoin dans le cadre des travaux du Comité directeur du PGETR, qui regroupe des membres de l'AC d'AINC, de l'Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones (NALMA) et de l'Université de la Saskatchewan. Mars 2010 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


Le programme fait l'objet d'examens réguliers, comme le veut l'usage. Le prochain examen prévu se fera à l'automne 2010. L'AC étudie actuellement d'autres méthodes qui permettraient d'améliorer les éléments du programme de formation sur le PGETR relatifs au développement de la capacité en matière d'environnement. Les recommandations finales sont attendues pour le 1er trimestre de 2010‑2011.
Les besoins de formation des Premières nations dépendront du taux de roulement du personnel et des changements liés aux activités d'aménagement des terres dans la réserve. On a envisagé la possibilité d'offrir de la formation facultative avec les Premières nations participantes. L'élaboration de ces cours facultatifs dépendra de la disponibilité des fonds. Mars 2010 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


Aucun financement n'a encore été attribué qui permettrait de prendre de nouvelles mesures de formation facultative.
Actuellement, à titre de mesure de préparation de la relève, AINC permet aux Premières nations de se prévaloir à leurs frais du programme de formation pour assurer la formation de gestionnaires des terres additionnels.
La Direction de la gestion des terres des Premières nations (DGTPN) continuera à collaborer avec les Premières nations participantes afin de déterminer les rajustements possibles à apporter à la formule de financement actuelle. L'analyse coût-avantage des activités de gestion foncière menée par KPMG procurera des données importantes pour l'évaluation des différentes options de financement et les coûts réels de la gestion des terres de réserve. Décembre 2009 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


Le CR-CCT est actuellement à élaborer une nouvelle formule de financement opérationnel pour le régime de GTPN qui tient compte des constatations préliminaires de l'analyse coût-avantage menée par KPMG. Il est prévu que l'élaboration de la nouvelle formule de financement de la GTPN occupera la majeure partie de l'exercice 2010-2011. AINC étudiera par la suite la possibilité d'appliquer les principes de cette nouvelle formule au PGETR.
Les rôles et responsabilités des divers intervenants ont été définis en partenariat avec la NALMA et les Premières nations participantes, puis intégrés au manuel et à la trousse d'outils du PGETR. Des consultations sont menées auprès des bureaux régionaux d'AINC et des intervenants, et toute précision quant aux rôles et aux responsabilités sera incorporée dans le manuel et la trousse d'outils avant l'impression et la distribution des versions finales. 31 mars 2010 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


Le Manuel du PGETR et la trousse qui l'accompagne en sont à l'étape de l'approbation finale, et leur diffusion est attendue pour la fin du premier trimestre de 2010‑2011.
Le manuel et la trousse d'outils du PGETR fourniront d'autres précisions sur les éléments clés du Programme. Tous les intervenants, les régions d'AINC et les Premières nations recevront la trousse une fois qu'on aura trouvé une source de financement viable et que le Programme aura été pleinement mis en œuvre. 31 mars 2010 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


La Stratégie de communication concernant le PGETR a été approuvée; elle fait état des échéances pour l'élaboration d'une trousse de communication. Un communiqué de presse concernant l'annonce du financement pour le PGETR est attendu pour le 26 avril 2010.
Par suite de la mise en œuvre complète du PGETR, on produira, avec l'aide des intervenants, une stratégie de communication détaillée ainsi qu'une trousse de communication à distribuer. Octobre 2011

État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


AINC et la NALMA ont noué un partenariat en vue de la préparation et de l'essai d'un examen d'équivalence dans le but d'accélérer le rythme auquel les gestionnaires fonciers d'expérience peuvent compléter la formation, de façon à réduire le coût du processus de formation. La faisabilité de mener un projet pilote concernant l'examen d'équivalence sera élaboré pendant l'exercice 2010‑2011. Le projet pilote pourrait être repoussé à l'exercice 2011‑2012. De plus, AINC étudie actuellement la possibilité, du point de vue des finances et du programme, de recourir à d'autres formules d'apprentissage pour le programme de formation. Un rapport final sur la question est attendu pour mai 2010.

Commentaire du SVE :

2. Actualiser le modèle de formation du PGETR d'après les changements apportés à la conception du Programme et assurer la surveillance de celui-ci, afin de garantir l'amélioration continue du contenu et de la prestation de la formation :

- Il faudrait utiliser une formule plus rentable qui comprendrait un modèle de formation mixte adaptée aux nouveaux participants et aux gestionnaires fonciers qui commencent leur emploi en raison du roulement du personnel dans les collectivités participantes tout comme aux gestionnaires fonciers qui cherchent à perfectionner leurs compétences.

- Il est nécessaire de mettre en place un système qui permettra de surveiller les résultats du Programme et d'en rendre compte. Ce système devra être adapté aux changements apportés au Programme.
La DGTPN explorera d'autres modes de prestation de la formation (p. ex. cours en ligne) avec ses partenaires (NALMA et Université de la Saskatchewan). On en discutera aux réunions ordinaires du Comité directeur.

On a produit un CGRR/CVFR pour le PGETR qui exposait les indicateurs du rendement applicables. Cette information figurera dans la stratégie de mesure du rendement du PGETR; on y trouvera les exigences en matière de suivi et de communication.
31/03/2010 État : En cours
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


État – En cours
Une version préliminaire de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement a été préparée et est en attente d'approbation finale.

Commentaire du SVE  - En cours
3. Obtenir un financement à long terme puisque des preuves tangibles attestent la raison d'être et la pertinence du PGETR :

- Plus particulièrement, un financement pluriannuel pourrait assurer la stabilité du Programme et permettre d'effectuer des planifications à long terme.
La DGTPN cherchera à obtenir du financement pluriannuel pour mettre en œuvre le PGETR en tant que programme à part entière, ce qui assurera du coup sa stabilité et permettra la planification à long terme.  31/03/2010 État : Mis en œuvre
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 septembre 2010


En octobre 2009, le PGETR a reçu un financement pour quatre ans.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé
 
 
Date de modification :