ARCHIVED - Evaluation of Indian Government Support Program - Follow-up Status Update as of March 31, 2010

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (37 Kb, 6 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2010

Treaties and Aboriginal Government

Evaluation of Indian Government Support Program (1570-7/08044)
AEC Approval Date: 24/09/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. IGS [Indian Government Support] funding should be continued. The evidence strongly suggests that this is the backbone of First Nation government, and that, without this support, many of the administrations would encounter seriously difficulty. INAC should seek ways to consolidate its delivery of Indian Government Support to create administrative efficiencies both within the Department and for First Nation management. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada agrees.

INAC will propose to renew the IGS program while maintaining its focus on supporting First Nation governments. The proposed new program authorities would aim to improve administrative efficiencies for both the department and First Nations.
  Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:

Comment on entire follow up is as follows in 1.a).

**** As it is unlikely that new funds will be available in 2010-2011, the department will not propose significant new strategic directions for Indian Government Support.

In the meantime the department will take the appropriate steps to ensure that current investments in these programs will continue and propose technical and more moderate modifications to streamline the programs and render them more flexible. ****

AES: Close
(a) INAC, in consultation with First Nations and tribal councils, should revisit IGS [Indian Government Support] component program policies to update program objectives, expectations and anticipated outcomes and ensure that these are clearly stated. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada agrees. To this end, INAC engaged stakeholders between February and June 2009.

INAC will propose a new policy authority by March 2010 which will establish a basis to update the objectives, expectations and anticipated outcomes of the Indian Government Support programs.
31/03/2010 Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:

AES: to continue to monitor
(b) INAC should simplify and modernize BSF [Band Support Funding] and TCF [Tribal Council Funding] program formulae so that they are clearly reflective of program policies and are transparent to First Nation and tribal council administrations. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada agree.

By March 2010 INAC will propose a policy authority to establish the basis for simpler, modern and transparent funding formulae.
31/03/2010 Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:

AES: to continue to monitor
(c) BAS [Band Advisory Services] funding should be blended with the BSF [Band Support Funding]grant. The program policy should state clearly the rationale for only funding large, independent First Nations. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada agrees that Band Advisory Services should be integrated into Band Support Funding as part of the proposed renewed program design.

Providing advisory services to small individual First Nations is not cost effective without the benefit of aggregation. Smaller First Nations continue to have the option of forming tribal councils to access the same advisory services at the aggregate level. First Nations unaffiliated with tribal councils and with populations less than 2000 continue to have access to advisory services through INAC regional offices.

INAC will consider seeking a revised authority to integrate Band Advisory Services into Band Support Funding as part of the Indian Government Support program renewal.

INAC will also consider continuing to support the Tribal Council Funding program as the most cost effective method of providing advisory services to smaller First Nations.

If approved, INAC's proposed revised policy for advisory services in large First Nations will explicitly note the cost effectiveness of funding organizations which serve larger populations.
  Update/Rationale: 
As of 31/03/2010:

AES: to continue to monitor
(d) The composition of advisory services under TCF [Tribal Council Funding] and BAS [Band Advisory Services] funding should be updated to reflect modern administration needs. Consideration might be given to aligning these to the ten functions of government to be consistent with the P&ID program. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada agree.

INAC will propose a new policy authority by March 2010 which will establish a basis to update the list of eligible advisory services under the Tribal Council Funding program. INAC will work with the national working group on the renewal of the Tribal Council Funding program to determine what could be included in this list.
31/03/2010 Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:

AES: to continue to monitor
(e) INAC should continue the process of integrating funding for the BEB [Band Employee Benefits] with its salaried programs, following the Health Canada model. Sufficient time should be given for the conversion process to allow the Minister to seek Cabinet approval for INAC salaried programs to build this into their funding bases. As well, management will have to consider provisions required to "grandfather" funding for the defined benefit plan managed by the RBA in Quebec. At its meetings with First Nation administrators in June, INAC proposed integrating Band Employee Benefits funding with funding for INAC programs which fund salaries, following the Health Canada model. This proposal was not widely supported by participants. The participants' main concern was that integrating pension and benefits dollars into salaried programs would obscure the size of the shortfall in the Band Employee Benefits program budget and would not significantly reduce the administrative burden.

INAC will consider seeking policy and program authorities to continue funding employee benefits packages.
  Update/Rationale: 
As of 31/03/2010:

AES: to continue to monitor
2. INAC, in consultation with funding recipients, should seek to streamline reporting requirements with the goal of freeing up administrative resources within First Nation and tribal council administrations and the INAC regions. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada agree and under the new Policy on Transfer Payments will develop new reporting requirements.

As the new Policy on Transfer Payments will be implemented by March 2011, discussion with First Nations will occur to develop new reporting requirements.
31/03/2011 Update/Rationale: 
As of 31/03/2010:

AES: to continue to monitor
(a) If tribal council advisory services are not specified under a renewed IGS [Indian Government Support] program, consideration should be given to limiting tribal council reporting to the annual audit. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada agree that the administrative burden can be reduced. However, the Policy on Transfer Payments requires that contribution-based funding be justified through reports.

With input from a national working group on the renewal of the Tribal Council Funding program, INAC will consider new reporting requirements which would aim to gather relevant outcomes-based data while minimizing the administrative burden
  Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:
3. INAC should establish a performance measurement regime for the IGS [Indian Government Support] suite of programs. INAC agrees that all new or renewed programs have performance management regimes.

INAC will propose a performance measurement strategy for the new program authority.
  Update/Rationale: 
As of 31/03/2010:

AES: to continue to monitor
(a) In the area of performance monitoring and reporting, INAC should begin to identify sources for outcome-related measurement and establish a system of performance measurement to support regularized collection and assessment of data on impacts and outcomes. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada agrees. In June 2009, officials held discussion sessions with over 450 First Nation administrators on how to improve performance measurement under a renewed program.

INAC will take into consideration discussions held with First Nation administrators when establishing a performance measurement strategy to monitor the impacts and outcomes of a renewed program.
  Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:
4. Future IGS [Indian Government Support] program design and delivery should support efforts to increase First Nation governance capacity. INAC agrees.

INAC will consider seeking program authorities for a renewed program which increases First Nation capacity.
  Update/Rationale: 
As of 31/03/2010:
a) As the only departmental program targeted specifically to strengthening governance capacity, P&ID should be given a longer-term dimension to enable funding support for more complex multi-year projects. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada appreciate the benefits of multi-year funding for capacity development projects.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada will consider using the new Policy on Transfer Payments to offer multi-year funding for governance capacity development projects based on recipient governance capacity development plans.
  Update/Rationale: 
As of 31/03/2010:
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation de l'appui aux gouvernements indiens - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (41 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation (CVÉ), de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2010

Traités et gouvernement autochtone

Évaluation de l'appui aux gouvernements indiens (1570-7/08044)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 24/09/2009

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. On doit maintenir le financement dans le cadre de l'Appui aux gouvernements indiens [AGI]. Les éléments de preuve démontrent clairement qu'il s'agit de la pierre angulaire du gouvernement des Premières nations et que, sans ce soutien, bon nombre des administrations éprouveraient de sérieuses difficultés. AINC doit chercher des façons de consolider son appui aux gouvernements indiens en vue d'atteindre une efficacité administrative au sein du Ministère et pour la gestion des Premières nations. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada est d'accord.

AINC proposera d'étudier le programme d'AGI tout en se concentrant sur l'appui des gouvernements des Premières nations. Les nouveaux pouvoirs en matière de programme permettront d'améliorer l'efficacité administrative du Ministère et des Premières nations.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :

Les commentaires sur le suivi complet au point 1.a) se lisent ainsi :

**** Puisqu'il est peu probable que de nouveaux fonds soient accordés en 2010-2011, le Ministère ne proposera aucune nouvelle orientation stratégique importante en ce qui concerne les programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens.

En attendant, le Ministère prendra les mesures nécessaires pour veiller à ce que les investissements actuels dans ces programmes se poursuivent, et il proposera des changements de nature technique et moins importants visant à simplifier les programmes et à les assouplir. ****

Commentaires du SVE : Fermeture du dossier.
a) AINC, en consultation avec les Premières nations et les conseils tribaux, devrait examiner de nouveau les politiques des volets du programme d'Appui aux gouvernements indiens [AGI] en vue de mettre à jour les objectifs de travail, les attentes et les résultats attendus et de veiller à ce qu'ils soient énoncés de façon claire. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada est d'accord. À cette fin, AINC a sollicité les services d'intervenants de février à juin 2009.

D'ici mars 2010, AINC proposera de nouveaux pouvoirs stratégiques qui serviront de base pour la mise à jour des objectifs, des attentes et des résultats prévus dans le cadre des Programmes d'appui aux gouvernements indiens.
31/03/2010 Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :

Commentaire du SVE : Poursuite de la surveillance.
b) AINC doit simplifier et moderniser la formule de programme pour le FSB [Financement du soutien des bandes] et le PFCT [Programme de financement des conseils tribaux] de sorte qu'ils tiennent clairement compte des politiques des programmes et qu'ils soient transparents pour les administrations des Premières nations et des conseils tribaux. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada est d'accord.

D'ici mars 2010, AINC proposera un pouvoir politique visant à jeter les bases d'une formule de financement plus simple et plus transparente.
31/03/2010 Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :

Commentaire du SVE : Poursuite de la surveillance.
c) On doit intégrer le financement des SCB [Services consultatifs des bandes] à la subvention du FSB [Financement du soutien des bandes]. La politique du programme doit mentionner de façon claire la justification du financement des Premières nations importantes et indépendantes seulement. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada approuve le fait que les Services consultatifs des bandes doivent être intégrés dans le cadre de la proposition de conception de programme renouvelée.

La prestation de services de consultation aux petites Premières nations n'est pas efficiente sans l'avantage du regroupement/de la fusion. Les Premières nations de petite taille ont encore la possibilité de mettre sur pied des conseils de bandes en vue d'accéder aux mêmes services de consultations au niveau regroupé. Les Premières nations non affiliées à un conseil de bande ayant une population inférieure à 2 000 personnes ont toujours accès aux services de consultations au moyen des bureaux régionaux d'AINC.

AINC examinera la possibilité de chercher un pouvoir révisé pour intégrer les Services consultatifs des bandes au Financement du soutien des bandes dans le cadre du renouvellement des programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens.

De plus, AINC examinera la possibilité de continuer à soutenir le Programme de financement des conseils tribaux à titre de méthode la plus efficiente d'assurer des services de consultations aux Premières nations de petite taille.

Si elle est approuvée, la proposition de la politique révisée d'AINC en matière de services de consultation dans les Premières nations de grande taille indiquera explicitement l'efficience des organismes de financement qui servent les populations plus nombreuses.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :

Commentaire du SVE : Poursuite de la surveillance.
d) On doit mettre à jour la composition du financement des services de consultation en vertu du PFCT [Programme de financement des conseils tribaux] et des SCB [Services consultatifs des bandes] de sorte qu'il tienne compte des besoins modernes sur le plan de l'administration. On doit examiner l'harmonisation de ces programmes avec les dix fonctions du gouvernement afin qu'ils correspondent au Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel (Programme DPI). Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada est d'accord.

D'ici mars 2010, AINC proposera un nouveau pouvoir politique qui jettera les bases pour la mise à jour de la liste des services de consultations admissibles en vertu du Programme de financement des conseils tribaux. AINC travaillera avec le groupe national de travail sur le renouvellement du Programme de financement des conseils tribaux en vue de déterminer les services qui pourraient s'ajouter à la liste.
31/03/2010 Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :

Commentaire du SVE : Poursuite de la surveillance.
e) AINC doit poursuivre le processus d'intégration du financement pour les ASEB [avantages sociaux des employés des bandes] à ses programmes aux salariés, en s'inspirant du modèle de Santé Canada. On doit allouer suffisamment de temps pour le processus de conversion afin que le ministre puisse obtenir l'approbation du Cabinet que les programmes aux salariés d'AINC intègrent le processus à leurs bases de financement. De plus, la direction devra examiner les dispositions obligatoires en matière de financement acquis en ce qui concerne le plan de prestations déterminées géré par l'Entente bilatérale régionale (EBR) au Québec. En juin, dans le cadre de ses réunions avec les administrateurs des Premières nations, AINC a proposé l'intégration des avantages sociaux des employés des bandes avec le financement pour les programmes d'AINC qui financent les salaires en s'inspirant du modèle de Santé Canada. Les participants n'ont pas appuyé cette proposition en grand nombre. La principale préoccupation des participants est que l'intégration des dollars accordés aux prestations de pension aux programmes aux salariés, risque de masquer la taille du déficit dans le budget du Programme d'avantages des employés sociaux des employés des bandes et ne réduirait pas de façon importante le fardeau administratif.

AINC étudiera la possibilité de chercher des pouvoirs stratégiques et en matière de programme visant à poursuivre le financement les ensembles des avantages sociaux des employés.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :

Commentaire du SVE : Poursuite de la surveillance.
2. AINC, en consultation avec des bénéficiaires de financement, doit chercher à simplifier les exigences en matière d'établissement de rapports en vue de libérer les ressources administratives au sein des Premières nations, des administrations des conseils de bande et des régions d'AINC. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada est d'accord. De plus, en vertu de la nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert, AINC définira de nouvelles exigences en matière d'établissement de rapports.

D'ici mars 2011, on mettra en œuvre la nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert et on entamera alors des discussions avec les Premières nations en vue d'élaborer de nouvelles exigences en matière d'établissement de rapports.
31/03/2011 Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :

Commentaire du SVE : Poursuite de la surveillance.
a) Si les services de consultations aux conseils de bande ne sont pas précisés en vertu d'un programme renouvelé d'Appui aux gouvernements indiens [AGI], on doit examiner la possibilité de limiter la présentation de rapports du conseil de bande dans le cadre de l'évaluation annuelle. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada approuve le fait que l'on puisse réduire le fardeau administratif. Toutefois, la Politique sur les paiements de transfert exige que l'on justifie dans un rapport le financement fondé sur les subventions.

En tenant compte des commentaires du groupe national de travail à l'égard du renouvellement du Programme de financement des conseils tribaux, AINC examinera de nouvelles exigences en matière d'établissement de rapports visant à recueillir des données fondées sur les résultats pertinentes tout en minimisant le fardeau administratif.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :
3. AINC devrait établir un système de mesures du rendement relativement à la gamme complète de programmes d'Appui aux gouvernements indiens [AGI]. AINC convient que tous les programmes nouveaux ou renouvelés fonctionnent selon les systèmes de gestion du rendement.

AINC proposera une stratégie de gestion du rendement pour le nouveau pouvoir en matière de programme.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :

Commentaire du SVE : Poursuite de la surveillance.
a) Dans le domaine de la surveillance du rendement et de l'établissement de rapports, AINC doit commencer à cerner des sources relativement aux mesures basées sur les résultats et à établir un système de mesures du rendement en vue de soutenir la collecte et l'évaluation des données sur les répercussions et les résultats. AINC est d'accord. En juin 2009, les représentants ont tenu des discussions avec plus de 450 administrateurs de Premières nations portant sur les façons d'améliorer la mesure du rendement conformément à un programme renouvelé.

AINC examinera les discussions ayant eu lieu avec les administrateurs des Premières nations lors de l'établissement d'une stratégie de mesure du rendement visant à surveiller les répercussions et les résultats d'un programme renouvelé.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :
4. La conception et l'exécution d'un programme ultérieur d'appui aux gouvernements indiens [AGI] doivent soutenir les efforts visant à augmenter la capacité de gouvernance des Premières nations. AINC est d'accord.

AINC examinera la possibilité de chercher des pouvoirs en matière de programme pour un programme renouvelé qui augmentera la capacité des Premières nations.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :
a) Puisqu'il est le seul programme ministériel qui vise précisément à améliorer la capacité de gouvernance, on doit avoir une vision à long terme en ce qui concerne le Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel (Programme DPI) en vue de permettre le soutien au financement en ce qui concerne des projets pluriannuels plus complexes. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada apprécie les avantages d'un financement pluriannuel des projets d'amélioration de la capacité.

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada examinera l'utilisation de la nouvelle Politique sur les paiements de transfert en vue d'offrir un financement pluriannuel pour les projets d'amélioration de la capacité de gouvernance fondés sur les plans de développement de la capacité du bénéficiaire.
  Mise à jour/Justification :
Au 2010-03-31 :
 
 
Date de modification :