ARCHIVED - Evaluation of INAC's Economic Development Programs - Follow-up Status Update as of September 30, 2009

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (43 Kb, 6 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2009

Lands and Economic Development – Lands and Economical Development Policy Branch

Evaluation of INAC's Economic Development Programs (200766)
AEC Approval Date: 17/APR/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. Continue to support economic development programming that includes assistance for Aboriginal businesses and community economic development. The government of Canada, through INAC's Lands and Economic Development Sector, is committed to implementing a new federal approach to Aboriginal economic development, one that will create the necessary conditions to enable Aboriginal Canadians to pursue economic development opportunities successfully. The framework will support, in part through INAC's Economic Development programming, the development of investment-ready communities, viable Aboriginal businesses and a skilled labour force Framework
completed Spring
2009







Implementation of Framework to commence April 1, 2010
The new Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development identifies five key strategic priorities to guide Government of Canada investments in Aboriginal economic development including: Strengthening Aboriginal Entrepreneurship, Developing Aboriginal Human Capital, Enhancing the Value of Aboriginal Assets, Forging New and Effective Partnerships and Focusing the Role of Government. The Action Plan to implement the Framework identified the redesign of the Department's economic development programming as a medium term action to ensure that programming is aligned to these strategic priorities. To inform the renewal of programming, the Department has developed a stakeholder engagement plan. The engagement of stakeholders is expected to begin in February 2010 and be completed in Spring 2010. To support the implementation of the Framework a performance measurement strategy has been completed for 2009-2010. This performance measurement strategy will be revised in 2010- 2011 to take into consideration new actions under the Framework including program redesign, the implementation of the Strategic Partnerships Initiative and the Aboriginal Skills and Employment Training Strategy. All evaluation action plan activities will be implemented within the context of these economic development directions and activities.

Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


Community Investment: The Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business (PSAB) received additional support consisting of enhanced salary, O & M and new G & C funds to implement key procurement initiatives. CEDP is over 90% committed, CEOP funding is above the 80% level and CSSP is approximately 65% committed.

The Department is proceeding with key elements of the Aboriginal Economic Development Framework inclusive of the Loan Loss Reserve and Major Resource and Energy Development Programs

Business Development: Aboriginal Business Development Program Aboriginal Business Canada program's grants and contributions were virtually fully committed by early October across Eastern and Western Regions.
INAC's Economic Development programming will:

- Continue to support Aboriginal businesses through the renewal/amendment of program authorities.

- Continue to support Community Economic Development through the renewal/ amendment of program authorities
Program renewal completed April 1, 2010








Authorities to expire March 31, 2015
2. Given expanded mandate of the Department, ensure that INAC's economic development programming meets the needs of all Aboriginal groups (First Nation on-and off-reserve, Inuit and Métis); and takes into consideration the different characteristics of Aboriginal communities (on- and off-reserve, urban, and remote); their access to equity financing; and the differing needs of women and men, in line with INAC's Gender-Based Analysis Policy. Undertake research to identify and propose strategies to address gender barriers to economic participation by Aboriginal peoples Research and action plan to becompleted date: March 31, 2010

Implementation of action plan to be completed by April 1, 2015 (in line with INAC's economic development program authorities)
Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


Business Development: An Application Database has been developed which tracks gender profiles of Aboriginal entrepreneurs applying to the Aboriginal Business Development Program amongst several demographic and other descriptive data to develop a profile of gender. As well, the database captures on/off reserve project location information, Aboriginal heritage, etc. This information will be used to determine if the program is reaching Aboriginal women entrepreneurs. The database is collected across all regions and populated quarterly into a central data management file.
Continue to provide business development programming to all Aboriginal groups, on and off reserve Renewal of program authorities completed March 31, 2010
Explore possibilities of specific business development initiatives for women, in line with INAC's Gender – Based Analysis Policy, if necessary, based on on-going research and data collection Implementation of specific business development Initiatives implemented by April 1, 2010
Consider Community Economic Development program renovations that include programming to meet the needs of all Aboriginal groups Program Renovation Proposal Completed Fall 2009-07-22 Implementation April 1, 2010
To assist with identifying and addressing ifferential program access and uptake (including equity financing), work with Information Management Branch (FNITP Completed: March 21, 2010
- First Nations and Inuit Transfer Payment Program project) to ensure that information pertaining to the characteristics of Aboriginal recipients is captured and made available to program managers Implemented: April 1, 2010
3. Ensure that the design of EDP is strategically focused on the achievement of intermediate and long-term results. Key considerations should include:

- continuing support for capacity development, strategic planning and community economic development projects

- assessing feasibility of adjustments or alternatives to the current population formula funding approach; and

- modifications, such as, support for regional approaches, and multi-year funding.
Community Investments Branch (CIB) will develop a suite of new programs in keeping with the Federal Framework, the considerations identified with respect to this recommendation, and the overall findings of this evaluation Program Renovation Proposal Completed Fall 2009



Implementation April 1, 2010
Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


Community Investment: Program Redesign Working Group is coordinating with the Sector's Program Renewal/Redesign Working Group and is engaged in the development of a new suite of Community Economic Development programs that are aligned with Framework principles and are based on evidence from program evaluations, reviews, studies and reports. Two NHQ/Regional working sessions have been held in Ottawa and a ‘second draft' concept paper has been developed and is awaiting DG review and approval prior to further refinement and circulation.
4. Determine the Department's role in supporting community economic development and business development, and take steps to ensure sufficient and appropriate human, financial and information technology resources are in place to support Aboriginal businesses and communities, as well as to manage, monitor and report on programming. INAC's role in community economic development and business development will be defined through the federal framework for Aboriginal Economic Development Research Completed Fall 2009 Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


Community Investment: Resource levels required to support new economic development programming will be developed relative to the proposed future program option(s) selected. As the new programming has not been defined as this point, forecasting of requisite program resources is pending.
As a part of the program renovation activities in keeping with the framework, INAC will undertake a review of resources (human, financial and IM/IT) dedicated to the delivery of community economic development and business development programming, and allocate human and financial resources to effectively manage, monitor and report on the new suite of economic development programs Implementation:
April 1, 2010
5. Consider expanding ABDP support through third-party-delivery as part of a strategy to ensure effective and efficient program delivery and leverage. Continue with an independent comprehensive review (initiated October 2008) of Aboriginal Financial Institutions (to be completed in March 2010). Based on the review assess the readiness of AFI's to act as delivery agents of INAC's business development programming Review Completed March 31, 2010, Implementation of Findings to commence April 1, 2010 Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


Business Development: 40% of all AFIs participating in a comprehensive review to determine capacity have been reviewed with final and draft review reports completed by Ernst and Young.
6. Develop and implement a performance measurement strategy for departmental economic development programming which integrates both EDP and ABDP, and allows the programs to measure progress, make ongoing adjustments to programming, and report on results. An economic development programming performance measurement strategy, integrating both Community Economic Development and Business Development Programming will be developed and included in program renewal, taking into consideration reporting burden and IM/IT requirements Completed, Fall
2009 Implemented April 1, 2010
Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009
:

Business Development: Business Performance Reviews are now being gathered on a monthly basis and forwarded from regions to HQ for purposes of determining the success of businesses assisted through the ABDP. This is a regular process which will continue in the context of program renewal going forward. AFI's must report quarterly on activities in support of entrepreneurship mentorship, loan activities, and external delivery activities including investment and project volumes.

Community Investment: CIB is participating on the (Strategic Policy-led) Performance Measurement Framework Working Group to ensure redesigned program options are consistent with this Framework.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation des programmes de développement économique d'AINC - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2009

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF   49 Ko, 7 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 septembre 2009

Terres et développement économique – Direction de la politique sur les terres et le développement économique

Évaluation des programmes de développement économique d'AINC (200766)
DATE D'APPROBATION DU CVÉ : 17 AVRIL 2009

Recommentations
du Projet
Plan d'Action Date
d’achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. AINC devrait poursuive les programmes de développement économique qui fournissent de l'aide aux entreprises autochtones et favorisent le développement économique des collectivités. Le gouvernement du Canada, par le biais du Secteur des terres et du développement économique, s'engageà mettre en oeuvre une nouvelle approche fédérale à l'égard du développement économique des Autochtones qui créera les conditions nécessaires pour permettre aux Canadiens d'origine autochtone d'exploiter les possibilités de développement économique. Le cadre favorisera, en partie par le biais des programmes de développement économique d'AINC, le développement de collectivités prêtes à recevoir des investissements, des entreprises autochtones viables et une maind'oeuvre qualifiée. Achèvement du cadre au printemps 2009







Mise en oeuvre du cadre à compter du 1er avril 2010

Le nouveau Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones identifie cinq priorités stratégiques clés pour orienter les investissements du gouvernement du Canada dans le développement économique des Autochtones, incluant : renforcer l'entrepreunariat autochtone, développer le capital humain autochtone, améliorer la valeur des actifs autochtones, façonner des partenariats nouveaux et efficaces et orienter le rôle du gouvernement fédéral. Le plan d'action pour la mise en oeuvre du cadre a déterminé que la restructuration du programme de développement économique du ministère constitue une mesure à moyen terme pour s'assurer que le programme est en alignement avec ces priorités stratégiques. Pour informer le renouvellement du programme, le ministère a élaboré un plan d'engagement des intervenants. L'engagement des intervenants devrait débuter en février 2010 et prendre fin au printemps 2010. Pour soutenir la mise en oeuvre du cadre, une stratégie de mesure du rendement a été élaborée pour 2009-2010. Cette stratégie de mesure du rendement sera révisée en 2010-2011 pour tenir compte des nouvelles mesures prises en vertu du cadre, incluant la restructuration du programme, la mise en oeuvre de l'initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques et la stratégie de formation pour les compétences et l'emploi des Autochtones. Toutes les activités du plan d'action d'évaluation serontmises en oeuvre dans le contexte de ces orientations et activités de développement économique.

État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Investissement communautaire : La Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones a reçu un soutien additionnel, qui comprend une augmentation des salaires et des fonds de F et E et S&C pour la mise en oeuvre d'initiatives d'approvisionnement clés. Le PEDC fait l'objet d'un engagement à 90 %, le financement du PEOC est supérieur à 80 % et le Programme de services sociaux communautaires fait l'objet d'un engagement à environ 65 %.

Le ministère procède avec les éléments clés du Cadre de développement économique des Autochtones, y compris le Programme de réserve pour pertes sur prêts et les grands projets d'exploitation des ressources et de développement énergétique. Développement des entreprises : Les subventions et contributions du Programme de développement des entreprises autochtones ont été virtuellement totalement engagées avant le début du moisd'octobre au sein des régions de l'Est et de l'Ouest.

Les programmes de développement économique d'AINC :

- continueront à appuyer les entreprises autochtones par le biais du renouvellement et de la modification des autorisations de programmes;

- continueront d'appuyer le développement économique des collectivités par le biais du renouvellement et de la modification des autorisations de programmes.
Renouvellement du cadre achevé le 1er avril 2010








Expiration des autorisations le 31 mars 2015
2. Étant donné le mandat élargi du Ministère, AINC devrait veiller à ce que ses programmes de développement économique satisfassent aux besoins de tous les groupes autochtones (Premières nations dans les réserves et hors des réserves, Inuits et Métis) et tiennent compte des différentes caractéristiques des collectivités autochtones (dans les réserves, hors des réserves, urbaines et éloignées), de leur accès à des fonds et des besoins qui diffèrent selon les sexes conformément à la Politique sur l'analyse comparative entre les sexes d'AINC. Mener des recherches pour déterminer et proposer des stratégies visant à lever les barrières des genres à la participation des Autochtonesà l'économie. Date d'achèvement du plan de recherche et d'action : 31 mars 2010

Le plan d'action sera mis en oeuvre d'ici le 1er avril 2015 (conformément aux autorisations des programmes de développement économique d'AINC)
État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Investissement communautaire :
Une base de données de mise en oeuvre a été élaborée et fait le suivi des profils de sexes des entrepreneurs autochtones qui déposent une demande auprès du Programme de développement des entreprises autochtones parmi d'autres données démographiques et descriptives diverses afin de développer un profil. Également, la base de données saisit de l'information sur l'emplacement des projets sur les réserves età l'extérieur des réserves, sur l'héritage autochtone, etc. Cette information sera utilisée pour déterminer si le programme rejoint des entrepreneurs autochtones femmes. Les données de la base de données sont recueillies dans toutes les régions et sont alimentées sur une base trimestrielle dans un dossier central de gestion des données.
Continuer à offrir des programmes de développement des entreprises à tous les groupes autochtones, dans les réserves et hors des réserves. Date d'achèvement du renouvellement des autorisations de programmes : 31 mars 2010
Explorer les possibilités d'initiatives de développement d'entreprises pour les femmes, conformément à la Politique sur l'analyse comparative entre les sexes d'AINC, si nécessaire, en se fondant sur la collecte de données et la recherche continue. Mise en oeuvre d'initiatives de développement d'entreprises particulières d'ici le 1er avril 2010
Prendre en considération des façons de renouveler les programmes de développement économique des communautés, entre autres, afin qu'ils répondre aux besoins des groupes autochtones. Date d'achèvement de la proposition de renouvellement du programme : automne 2009 Date de mise en oeuvre : 1er avril 2010
Aider à relever et à tenir compte des
différences dans l'accès et la mise à jour des programmes (y compris le financement par fonds propres), travailler avec la Direction générale de la gestion de l'information (système de paiements de transfert aux Premières nations et aux Inuits; PTPNI)
Achèvement :
21 mars 2010
pour veiller à ce que les informations relatives aux caractéristiques des bénéficiaires autochtones soientrecueillies et accessibles aux gestionnaires des programmes. Mise en oeuvre :
1er avril 2010
3.AINC devrait veiller à ce que les PDE soient stratégiquement axés sur l'atteinte de résultats à moyen età long terme. Il faudrait tenir compte des points suivants :

- soutien permanent au renforcement des capacités, à la planification stratégique et aux projets de développement économique;

- évaluation de la possibilité de modifier ou de remplacer l'approche de financement en fonction de la formule basée sur la population actuelle;

- modifications au soutien des approches régionales et au financement pluriannuel, par exemple.
La Direction générale des investissements communautaires (DGIC) élaborera une série de nouveaux programmes conformément au cadre fédéral, aux éléments à prendre en considération relatifs à cette recommandation et aux constatations générales de l'évaluation. Date
d'achèvement de la proposition de renouvellement du programme : automne 2009


Date de mise en oeuvre : 1er avril 2010
État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Investissement communautaire : Le groupe de
travail sur la restructuration du programme coordonne le groupe de travail sur le renouvellement/la restructuration du programme du secteur et participe à l'élaboration d'une suite de programmes de développement économique communautaires qui sont en alignement avec les principes du cadre et sont basés sur les éléments probants des évaluations, examens, études et rapports du programme. Deux séances de travail de l'AC/régionales ont été tenues à Ottawa et une deuxième ébauche d'un document de conception a été élaborée et est en attente d'une révision du DG et d'une approbation avant que des améliorations y soient apportées et qu'elle soit mise en circulation.
4. AINC devrait déterminer son rôle dans le soutien au développement économique des collectivités et dans le développement des entreprises et prendre les mesures nécessaires afin de mettre en place des ressources suffisantes et appropriées pour ce qui est de la capacité humaine, des finances et des technologies de l'information pour soutenir les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones ainsi que pour gérer les programmes, les contrôler et rendre compte de leurs résultats. Le rôle d'AINC relatif au développement économique des collectivités et au développement des entreprises sera défini par le cadre fédéral du développement économique des Autochtones. Date d'achèvement de
la recherche :
automne 2009
État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Investissement communautaire : Les niveaux de ressources requis pour soutenir la nouvelle programmation de développement économique seront développés en fonction des futures options de programme proposées sélectionnées. Puisque la nouvelle programmation n'a pas encore été définie, la prévision des ressources de programme nécessaires est en suspens.
Dans le cadre des activités de renouvellement des programmes, AINC effectuera, conformément au cadre, un examen des ressources (humaines, financières et de GI/TI) consacrées à la prestation des programmes de développement des entreprises et de développement économique des collectivités, et attribuera des ressources financières et humaines pour gérer, contrôler et rendre compte de manière efficace de la nouvelle série de programmes de développement économique. Date de mise en oeuvre :
1er avril 2010
5. AINC devrait envisager la possibilité d'accroître le financement aux termes du PDEA en faisant participer des tiers au moyen d'une stratégie assurant la prestation et l'utilisation efficaces et efficientes du programme. Poursuivre l'examen exhaustif indépendant (qui a débuté en octobre 2008) des institutions financières autochtones (qui devrait être terminé en mars 2010). En se fondant sur l'examen, évaluer si les institutions financières autochtones sont prêtesà agir à titre d'agent de mise en oeuvre des programmes de développement des entreprises d'AINC. Date d'achèvement de l'examen : 31 mars 2010, la mise en oeuvre des constatations devrait commencer le 1er avril 2010 État : Permanent

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Développement des entreprises : 40 % de toutes les IFA qui participent à un examen complet visant à déterminer la capacité ont fait l'objet d'une révision et de rapports finaux et provisoires complétés par Ernst and Young.
6. AINC devrait élaborer et mettre en oeuvre une stratégie de gestion du rendement pour les programmes de développement économique du Ministère, qui intègrerait les PDE et le PDEA et permettrait de mesurer les progrès, d'apporter des modifications aux programmes sur une base régulière et de rendre compte des résultats. Une stratégie de mesure du rendement pour les programmes de développement économique, intégrant les programmes de développement économique des collectivités et les programmes de développement des entreprises, sera élaborée et incluse dans le renouvellement du programme, en tenant compte du fardeau de la reddition de compte et des exigences en matière de GI/TI. Date
d'achèvement :
automne 2009
Date de mise en
oeuvre :
1er avril 2010
État :

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Développement des entreprises : Les examens de rendement des entreprises sont maintenant recueillis sur une base mensuelle et acheminés des régions vers l'AC aux fins de l'évaluation du succès des entreprises qui obtiennent de l'aide du PDEA. Il s'agit d'un processus régulier qui se poursuivra dans le contexte de la progression du renouvellement du programme. Les IFA doivent présenter sur une base trimestrielle des rapports sur leurs activités en appui au mentorat pour l'entrepreunariat, sur leurs activités de prêt et sur leurs activités de prestation externe, incluant les volumes de placements et de projets.

Investissement communautaire : La DGIC participe au groupe de travail sur le cadre de mesure du rendement (axé sur la politique stratégique) pour s'assurer que les options du programme restructuré sont conformes à ce cadre.
 
 
Date de modification :