ARCHIVED - Evaluation of Comprehensive Land Claim Agreements - Follow-up Status Update as of March 31, 2010

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (37 Kb, 6 Pages)



Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2010

Treaties and Aboriginal Government- Implementation Branch

Evaluation of Comprehensive Land Claim Agreements (200748)
AEC Approval Date: 26/Feb/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. In partnership with Aboriginal organizations and other federal departments and agencies, consider leading the establishment of a policy for the implementation of comprehensive land claims which would clarify roles and responsibilities and the federal approach to implementing CLCAs. Implementation Branch is in the process of establishing the principles, processes and clarified roles and responsibilities within the federal government required to implement land claim and self-government agreements in a comprehensive manner, and will continue to engage with other government departments and agencies and Aboriginal groups as this work progresses. To Be Completed September 2009 - Establishment of Guidelines Status:  Ongoing- Revised completion date September 2010.

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:


The guidelines for implementers across the federal government are currently being developed. These will provide practical advice and direction to federal officials who have responsibility relating to the implantation of modern treaties, as well as raise awareness around corporate roles, responsibilities and considerations.

AES: EPMRC accepts extension and will continue to monitor action item
2. Work with central agencies and other federal departments and agencies to establish a senior-level working group charged with overseeing issues that may arise in agreement implementation. A proposal to establish an implementation management framework, including a senior level cross-government committee, is being developed.

In the interim, the Federal Steering Committee, made up of senior representatives from other government departments and central agencies, have agreed to provide an oversight function. The proposal will go to the Federal Steering Committee in June 2009.
To be Completed June 2009
- As per the Federal Steering Committee

March 2010 - Establishment of a Committee
Status:  Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:


The implementation management framework, including a senior level cross-government committee, was approved by the Federal Steering Committee on December 14, 2009.

Pilot Regional Caucuses over the next year in the Atlantic, BC and NWT regions. These regions will be asked to:

- Determine if existing regional forums/process can accommodate implementation items.

Pilot to be evaluated in 2012/13 for effectiveness.

AES: Close
3. Work in partnership with Aboriginal and provincial/territorial signatories to set specific objectives, establish targets, monitor progress and take remedial action as required to properly implement agreements. Phase 1:
Enhanced Treaty Obligation Monitoring System to track federal obligations.

Phase 2:
Develop tools to promote use of results-based management.

Pilot with signatories on a new approach for annual reports that focus on joint practices, indicators, monitoring and reporting.

The principles of the department's SMART reporting initiative will be applied to this exercise.
To be Completed: October 2009
-Treaty Obligation Monitoring System in Place

March 2010
- Pilot Annual Report
Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:
 

Status: Phase 1 – Completed
TOMS went live as of April 1, 2010.
Improvements include: Tracks the status of obligations (i.e. one-time obligations complete or overdue/ongoing up-to-date or overdue), enhanced search and report function.

Phase 2 - Underway

INAC is currently drafting a set of Annual Reports guidelines that focus on making the reports more result-based.

Discussions have taken place with Inuvialuit Final Agreement Implementation Committee members to revise future annual reposts, containing more result based information. Parties are aiming to have the new format for the 2008-2009 annual report which is expected to be completed by April 2010.

The Gwich'in and Sahtu Implementation Committee members are also discussing revising their annual reports. They expect to have the new format ready for the 2009-2010 annual report.

AES: EPMRC will continue to monitor action item
4. Work with land and resource management boards to streamline and strengthen consultative processes and identify training and administrative needs. Board Relations Secretariat to identify key issues/barriers.

INAC continues to work on a federal response to the McCrank report and is committed to engaging partners and regulators in an action plan to move forward by summer 2009.
To be Completed: August 2009
- Action Plan
Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:
 

The Department conducted a survey of Board training recipients in 2009/2010 to evaluate previous year's initiatives and preliminary results are very positive. On behalf of the NWT Board Forum, the Board Relations Secretariat ain the NWT Region coordinated two administrative law, and one technical law course for Board members in 2009/2010, and supported other training for Board "Hearings". Orientation Course materials and associated teaching guide will be ready for the distribution early Spring. As part of regulatory improvement, it is planned that all new Board members should take the Orientation Course within one year of being appointed  as well as receiving the orientation Binder on appointment.

AES: Close
5. Promote training and business development tailored to northern needs and circumstances, taking into account the high cost of delivering programs in the North. Work with individual signatory groups on specific economic development initiatives.

Support development of a new federal framework for Aboriginal economic development.

Support development of northern economic development office.

To be implemented by the Northern Regional Development Agency when established.
Started January 2009 Status: Complete

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:


The Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency is responsible for delivering economic development programming in the three territories; coordinating economic policy and programs at the regional level; and, where appropriate, will serve as a delivery agent for other federal departments. The agency's purpose is to (1) encourage business development in the territories, (2) foster Northern Community Development, and (3) research, develop new policy, and advocate northern interests within the federal system.

Northern Federal economic development programs will for the first time be housed in an Agency with the Northern economic development as its core purpose. The Agency will also deliver two new programs announced as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan: the Community Adjustments Fund (CAF) and Recreational Infrastructure Canada RInC).

It will also house a new Northern project Management Office (NPMO) as a core service within CanNor. The NPMO will be in charge of coordinating the work of all federal players involved in natural resource development projects in the three territories and in the Arctic offshore, and coordinating Aboriginal consultation efforts. It will engage with stakeholders to further tailor its activities and programs to the unique needs of the territories and differing circumstances in each territory.

On June 29th, 2009, the Minister announced a new "Federal framework for Aboriginal Economic Development" that will focus the Federal Government's actions – from programs to legislation to partnerships – to increase the participation of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples in the Canadian economy and improve economic actions for Aboriginal peoples in all parts of Canada.

This new framework will adopt a modern and comprehensive approach to Aboriginal economic development that is opportunity-driven and puts emphasis on building strategic partnerships with Aboriginal groups, the private sector, and the provinces and territories.

The Framework will maximize federal investments by: strengthening Aboriginal entrepreneurship; enhancing the value of Aboriginal assets; forging new and effective partnerships to maximize economic development opportunities; developing Aboriginal human capital; and better focusing the role of the Federal Government.

AES: Close

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (40 Ko, 6 pages)




Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en oeuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation (CVÉ), de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2010

Traités et gouvernement autochtone - Direction générale de la mise en ouvre

Évaluation des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales (200748)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 26/02/2009

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. En partenariat avec les organisations autochtones et d'autres organismes et ministères fédéraux, songer à prendre le rôle de meneur pour établir une politique relative à la mise en œuvre des revendications territoriales globales et, ainsi, clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités et l'approche fédérale dans la mise en œuvre des accords sur les revendications territoriales globales. La Direction générale de la mise en œuvre est à établir les principes et les processus ainsi qu'à clarifier les rôles et responsabilités au sein de l'administration fédérale relativement à la mise en œuvre exhaustive des accords sur les revendications territoriales et sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, et continuera à mobiliser les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux et les groupes autochtones concernés, dans la réalisation de ces travaux. Établissement des lignes directrices pour septembre 2009 État : En cours – Date d'achèvement révisée : septembre 2010.

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2010 :


Les lignes directrices à l'intention des responsables de la mise en œuvre à l'échelle de l'administration fédérale sont en cours d'élaboration; elles incluront des conseils et des orientations pratiques à l'intention des fonctionnaires fédéraux exerçant des responsabilités dans la mise en œuvre des traités modernes, mais seront assorties également de consignes relatives aux rôles, aux responsabilités et aux considérations de nature organisationnelle.

Commentaire du SVE : Le CEMRE accepte la prolongation et continuera à exercer le suivi
2. Collaborer avec les organismes centraux et d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux pour former un groupe de travail composé de cadres supérieurs et responsable de se pencher sur les questions susceptibles d'être soulevées lors de la mise en œuvre des ententes. On travaille présentement à une proposition visant à établir un cadre de gestion de la mise en œuvre, y compris un comité pangouvernemental au niveau supérieur.

Entre-temps, le Comité directeur fédéral, constitué de cadres supérieurs d'autres ministères et organismes centraux, a accepté de se charger de la fonction de supervision. La proposition sera transmise au Comité directeur fédéral en juin 2009.
Achèvement prévu en juin 2009
- Selon le Comité directeur fédéral

Mars 2010
Créer un comité
État : Complet

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2010 :


Le cadre de gestion de la mise en œuvre, y compris le comité pangouvernemental de niveau supérieur, a été approuvé par le Comité directeur fédéral le 14 décembre 2009.

Mettre à l'essai les caucus régionaux au cours de la prochaine année dans les régions de l'Atlantique, de la C.-B. et des T.N. O. Ces régions devront :

- déterminer si les forums ou processus régionaux déjà existants peuvent tenir compte de certains aspects liés à la mise en œuvre.

L'efficacité de l'essai sera évaluée en 2012-2013.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé
3. Travailler en partenariat avec les signataires provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones pour fixer des objectifs précis, déterminer des cibles, contrôler les progrès et adopter des mesures correctives au besoin, en vue d'assurer la mise en œuvre adéquate des ententes. Phase 1 :
Améliorer le système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités, relativement aux obligations du gouvernement fédéral.

Phase 2 :
Concevoir des outils pour promouvoir la gestion axée sur les résultats.

Avec les signataires, mettre à l'essai un nouveau modèle de rapports annuels mettant l'accent sur une définition commune des pratiques, des indicateurs, de la surveillance et de la reddition de comptes.

Les principes de l'initiative ministérielle sur la reddition de comptes judicieuse seront appliqués à cette action.
Achèvement prévu en octobre 2009
- système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités en place

Mars 2010
- Mise à l'essai du rapport annuel
Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2010 :


État : Phase 1 – Terminée

Le lancement du système a eu lieu le 1er avril 2010.

Parmi les améliorations : suivi de l'état des obligations (c.-à-d. obligations uniques remplies ou en retard, obligations continues à jour ou en retard) et fonction de recherche et de rapport améliorée.

Phase 2 – En cours

AINC rédige actuellement un ensemble de lignes directrices qui feront en sorte d'axer davantage les rapports annuels sur les résultats.

Des discussions ont eu lieu avec les membres du Comité de coordination de la mise en œuvre de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit au sujet des prochains rapports annuels, qui comporteront davantage de renseignements axés sur les résultats. Les parties comptent adopter le nouveau modèle pour le rapport annuel de 2008-2009, dont l'achèvement est prévu pour avril 2010.

Les membres des comités de mise en œuvre des accords des Gwich'in et du Sahtu discutent aussi de la refonte de leurs rapports annuels. Ils prévoient utiliser le nouveau modèle pour le rapport annuel de 2009-2010.

Commentaire du SVE : le CEMRE continuera à assurer le suivi.

4. Collaborer avec les offices de gestion des terres et des ressources pour simplifier et consolider les processus de consultation et déterminer les besoins administratifs et les besoins en formation. Le Secrétariat des relations avec les conseils et les offices déterminera les principaux problèmes et obstacles.

AINC continue à préparer la réponse du gouvernement fédéral au rapport McCrank et est résolu à mobiliser partenaires et organes de réglementation en vue d'un plan d'action devant se concrétiser d'ici l'été 2009.
Achèvement prévu en août 2009 - plan d'action État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2010 :
 

Le Ministère a mené un sondage auprès des membres des conseils et offices ayant reçu de la formation en 2009‑2010 afin d'évaluer les initiatives de l'année précédente, et les résultats préliminaires sont très encourageants. Au nom du Forum des organismes des T.N-O., le Secrétariat des relations avec les conseils et les offices et le bureau régional des T.N-O. ont coordonné deux cours en droit administratif et un cours technique en droit pour les membres des conseils et offices en 2009‑2010, et soutenu d'autres efforts de formation concernant les « audiences » des offices. Le matériel pour le cours d'initiation et le guide de l'enseignant qui l'accompagne pourront être distribués au début du printemps. Dans le cadre des efforts d'amélioration de la réglementation, il est prévu que tous les nouveaux membres d'offices et de conseils devront suivre le cours d'orientation dans l'année suivant leur nomination et recevoir aussi le cahier d'orientation dès leur nomination.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé
5. Favoriser la formation d'employés et la création d'entreprises d'une manière adaptée aux réalités et aux besoins du Nord en tenant compte du coût élevé des programmes dans le Nord. Collaborer avec les différents groupes de signataires à des initiatives de développement économique précises.

Soutenir la mise en place d'un nouveau cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones.

Soutenir la mise sur pied d'une agence de développement économique du Nord.

La mise en œuvre relèvera de l'Agence de développement économique du Nord, une fois qu'elle aura été constituée.
À compter de janvier 2009 État : Terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31 mars 2010 :
 

L'Agence de développement économique du Nord est responsable de la prestation de programmes de développement économique dans les trois territoires; elle coordonne les politiques et les programmes économiques au niveau régional; s'il y a lieu, elle sert d'agent de mise en œuvre pour les autres ministères fédéraux. Le but de l'Agence est 1) d'encourager le développement des entreprises dans les territoires; 2) de favoriser le développement des collectivités du Nord; 3) d'effectuer des recherches, de formuler des politiques et de promouvoir les intérêts du Nord à l'intérieur même du régime fédéral.

Pour la première fois, les programmes fédéraux de développement économique du Nord seront offerts par une agence dont la raison d'être est le développement économique du Nord. L'Agence administrera également deux nouveaux programmes prévus dans le Plan d'action économique du Canada : le Fonds d'adaptation des collectivités (FAC) et le Programme d'Infrastructure de loisirs Canada (PILC).

Le nouveau Bureau de gestion des projets nordiques (BGPN) fera également partie de l'Agence et constituera l'un de ses services de base. Le BGPN coordonnera le travail de tous les intervenants fédéraux qui participent à des projets de développement des ressources naturelles dans les trois territoires et dans la zone marine de l'Arctique et coordonnera aussi les efforts de consultation des Autochtones. Il assurera la consultation des groupes concernés afin d'adapter encore davantage ses programmes et activités aux besoins uniques des territoires et à ses particularités.

Le 29 juin 2009, le ministre dévoilait le nouveau Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones qui orientera les mesures fédérales – des programmes aux lois, en passant par les partenariats – afin d'accroître la participation des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis à l'économie canadienne et d'améliorer les résultats économiques des Autochtones dans tout le Canada.

Le nouveau Cadre appliquera, en matière de développement économique des Autochtones, une approche moderne et globale axée sur les possibilités qui mettra l'accent sur la création de partenariats stratégiques avec les groupes autochtones, le secteur privé ainsi que les provinces et les territoires.

Le Cadre permettra de maximiser les investissements fédéraux en renforçant l'entrepreneuriat des Autochtones, en augmentant la valeur des actifs des Autochtones, en créant de nouveaux partenariats efficaces afin de maximiser les possibilités de développement économique, en développant le capital humain autochtone et en orientant mieux le rôle du gouvernement fédéral.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé

 

Date de modification :