ARCHIVED - Evaluation of Consultation and Policy Development and Basic Organizational Capacity Funding - Follow-up Status Update as of September 30, 2010

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (35 Kb, 7 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2010

Policy and Strategic Direction - Branch

Evaluation of Consultation and Policy Development and Basic Organizational Capacity Funding (200843)
AEC Approval Date: 26/Feb/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. We recommend that the list of eligible recipients be clarified and expanded to provide for all Aboriginal groups.

We recommend that the use of C&PD funds be focussed on fewer recipients.
A renewed Consultation and Policy Development authority will clearly define authority objectives and expected results. 31/03/2010 Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:

AES: Close- Fully Implemented
2. We recommend that funding for consultation and policy development be more sustainable and less ad hoc and that there be fewer subject-specific consultations underway at any one time. A renewed Consultation and Policy Development authority will provide funding in a manner consistent with defined objectives and expected results (e.g., may include multi-year funding for large scale engagement projects). 31/03/2010 Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


AES: Close- Fully Implemented
3. We recommend that subject specific consultations should have clear objectives about who they are intending to reach, should select the most appropriate intermediaries, and should ensure that reporting is provided on who has actually been reached, and that a gender based analysis and gender disaggregated data should be part of these considerations.

We recommend that more frequent reviews be conducted of the relationship between INAC and Aboriginal representative organizations and other major recipients of C&PD funding; and of the relationship between recipients and their constituents.

We recommend that large scale consultations should be assessed more rigorously in terms of their purpose, process, people involved, context, and outcomes and that best practices and lessons learned be captured and shared within and outside of INAC.

We recommend that performance monitoring of C&PD be improved in order to provide a clearer picture of what consultations the Department is engaged in, the approaches that have been taken, the organizations that have been involved, the impact on policy and best practices and lessons learned.

[We recommend…] that subject specific consultations should conduct a gender based analysis when setting their objectives about who should be reached and how they should be reached; and reporting on who has actually been reached should include gender disaggregated data.
To support ongoing authority implementation, a renewed Consultation and Policy Development authority will define a performance measurement strategy. The performance measurement strategy will include a performance monitoring plan.

Consultation and Policy Development authority evaluation issues will be defined in the performance measurement strategy and the issues will be consistent with the authority objectives and expected results.

The performance monitoring strategy that will collect data to support assessments of INAC relationships with Consultation and Policy Development funding recipients.
31/03/2010 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


Strategy completed and is on the agenda for the next Evaluation Committee on November 18th, 2010.

AES: Close- Fully Implemented
4. We recommend that the performance monitoring of BOC be improved in order to ensure that relevant performance information is collected, analyzed and reported by INAC for all Aboriginal representative organizations. The BOC performance measurement strategy will be periodically reviewed to ensure its efficiency and effectiveness. Ongoing during BOC implementation Status: Under Development

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


A PMS for the BOC is currently being drafted in cooperation with Departmental users of the program, and technical experts

AES: Underway
5. We recommend that Aboriginal representative organizations be encouraged and supported by INAC to regularly conduct reviews of organizational effectiveness. We also recommend that membership and governance information be made publicly available on the organizations' websites to increase their transparency to their members and to the Canadian public.

We therefore recommend that Aboriginal representative organizations be encouraged and supported by INAC to regularly review and renew their membership, governance and leadership policies, processes and structures and the effectiveness of their representation within the resources that they have available.

We also recommend that membership criteria, application procedures, member numbers and members' responsibilities be publicly available on the organizations' websites in addition to their governing documents (constitutions and bylaws) and annual reports.
To ensure organizational representativeness, BOC applicants will continue to be required to provide information on their membership and on how the membership will be informed of organizational activities.

Performance information will be analyzed to ensure its ongoing relevance to supporting program results-based management practices.
Ongoing during BOC implementation Status: In effect. Annual reports produced.

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


Finalizing 2009-10 annual report.

AES: Close- Implementation On-Going
6. We recommend that Aboriginal representative organizations be encouraged to raise revenue from their members and that INAC consider providing an incentive for increasing the revenue raised from members, for example by providing matching funds up to a ceiling.

We also recommend that INAC encourage and support the Aboriginal representative organizations to diversify their funding sources and reduce their dependency on the federal government.
Officials from INAC responsibility centres with authority to provide BOC funding will continue to hold exploratory discussions on the viability of introducing own source revenue options to Aboriginal representative organizations. 31/03/2010 Status: Ongoing

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


Part of regular discussions around management of contributions between INAC and organizations.

AES: Close- Implementation On-Going
7. We recommend that more long term and sustainable funding for policy capacity and less project funding be provided to Aboriginal representative organizations. INAC will continue to provide multi-year funding opportunities to Aboriginal representative organizations in good standing. Ongoing Status: In effect

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


AES: Close- Fully Implemented
8. We recommend that there be one authority combining BOC and C&PD funding, with several streams to provide for different types of recipients.

We recommend that an organizational approach rather than a program approach be taken to the funding of consultation and policy development in partnership with Aboriginal organizations.
The Consultation and Policy Development authority expires on March 31, 2010. A renewed Consultation and Policy Development authority will consider all options to improve the authority's implementation efficiency and effectiveness. 31/03/2010 Status: Completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


The authority was reviewed.

AES: Close- Fully Implemented
9. We also recommend more strategic coordination and management of consultation and policy development generally, regardless of what program authority is used to fund it. To support ongoing authority implementation, a renewed Consultation and Policy Development authority will define a performance measurement strategy. The performance measurement strategy will include a performance monitoring plan. 31/03/2010 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


Strategy on the agenda for the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee meeting of November 19th, 2010.

AES: Close- Fully Implemented
10. From the Executive Summary: Review and clarify allocations across the different Aboriginal recipient groups or within each recipient group.

From the main report: The rationale for the allocation of basic organizational capacity funding across all of the different recipient groups or within each recipient group needs to be reviewed and clarified.

[We recommend… ] that allocations to Aboriginal women's organizations should be reviewed in terms of the level of funding and support for their regional affiliates.
Funding levels will be monitored on an ongoing basis.

The Funding Policy will be reviewed and expanded to cover funding provided to National Aboriginal Organizations and regional Inuit, Métis, and non-status Indian representative organizations (not just regional representative First Nations organizations). The revised Funding Policy will be clarified and will reflect recent policy decisions and current funding processes.

Options for including regional Aboriginal women's organizations as eligible recipients under the BOC will be explored and assessed.
31/03/2010 Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


Policy updated and approved by Minister in April 2010.

Options paper on funding regional Aboriginal women's organizations under development.

AES: Close
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation du financement des consultations et de l'élaboration des politiques, et de la capacité organisationnelle de base - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (42 Ko, 8 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu de l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 septembre 2010

Politiques et orientation stratégique - Direction

Évaluation du financement des consultations et de l'élaboration des politiques, et de la capacité organisationnelle de base (200843)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 26 février 2009

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Nous recommandons de mieux définir et d'allonger la liste des bénéficiaires admissibles de manière à inclure l'ensemble des groupes autochtones.

Nous recommandons que l'utilisation des fonds de CPE soit concentrée sur un plus petit nombre de bénéficiaires.
Le renouvellement de l'autorisation relative aux consultations et à l'élaboration des politiques précisera les objectifs et les résultats escomptés pour cette autorisation. 31/03/2010 État : terminé Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :

SVE : dossierfermé - mise en œuvre complétée
2. Nous recommandons que le financement des consultations et l'élaboration des politiques soit plus durable et moins ponctuel et qu'il y ait moins de consultations propres à un sujet à tout moment donné. Le renouvellement de l'autorisation relative aux consultations et à l'élaboration des politiques assurera un financement conforme aux objectifs définis et aux résultats escomptés (p. ex., pourrait inclure un financement pluriannuel pour les projets de mobilisation à grande échelle). 31/03/2010 État : terminé Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


SVE : dossier fermé - mise en œuvre complétée
3. Pour les consultations sur des sujets précis, nous recommandons d'indiquer clairement les auditoires visés, de sélectionner les intermédiaires les mieux adaptés et de veiller à fournir des rapports sur les auditoires qui ont réellement été consultés, et de tenir compte d'une analyse comparative entre les sexes et de ventiler les données selon les sexes.

Nous recommandons des examens plus fréquents des relations entre AINC et les organisations autochtones représentatives et autres principaux bénéficiaires du financement des CEP, et entre les bénéficiaires et leurs mandants.

Nous recommandons une évaluation plus rigoureuse des consultations à grande échelle, sous l'angle de leur but, du processus, des personnes en cause, du contexte et des résultats; nous recommandons aussi de noter les pratiques exemplaires et les leçons apprises, et de les diffuser au sein d'AINC et à l'extérieur.

Nous recommandons d'améliorer la surveillance du rendement des CEP, afin de se faire une idée plus juste des consultations auxquelles participe le Ministère, des approches adoptées, des organisations en cause, des incidences sur les politiques et les pratiques exemplaires et des leçons apprises.

[Nous recommandons…] que les consultations sur des sujets précis fassent l'objet d'une analyse comparative entre les sexeslors de l'établissement des objectifs relatifs à l'auditoire cible et la façon de le rejoindre ainsi que d'une production de rapports sur les auditoires qui ont réellement été consultésqui devraient faire l'objet d'une ventilation des données selon les sexes.
Pour appuyer la mise en œuvre continue de l'autorisation, le renouvellement de l'autorisation relative aux consultations et à l'élaboration des politiques comprendra une stratégie de mesure du rendement qui comprendra à son tour un plan de surveillance du rendement.

Les questions liées à l'évaluation de l'autorisation relative aux consultations et à l'élaboration des politiques seront déterminées dans la stratégie de mesure du rendement et elles seront conformes aux objectifs définis et aux résultats escomptés.

La stratégie de surveillance du rendement prévoira la collecte de données pour appuyer l'évaluation des relations d'AINC avec les bénéficiaires du financement des consultations et de l'élaboration des politiques.
31/03/2010 État : dossier fermé

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


On a terminé l'élaboration de la stratégie et cette dernière est à l'ordre du jour du prochain comité d'évaluation le 18 novembre 2010.

SVE : dossier fermé - mise en œuvre complétée
4. Nous recommandons d'améliorer la surveillance du rendement de la COB, de manière qu'AINC recueille, analyse et diffuse l'information pertinente sur le rendement de toutes les organisations autochtones représentatives. La stratégie de mesure de rendement de la COB sera examinée sur une base périodique afin d'assurer son efficience et son efficacité. Permanent pendant la mise en œuvre de la COB État : en développement

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


On rédige actuellement l'ébauche d'une SMR pour la COB en collaboration avec les utilisateurs du programme au ministère et les experts techniques.

SVE : en cours d'exécution
5. Nous recommandons que le ministère encourage et aide les organisations autochtones représentatives à réaliser des examens périodiques de l'efficacité organisationnelle. Nous recommandons aussi que des renseignements sur les effectifs et la gouvernance soient publiés sur les sites Web des organisations afin d'améliorer la transparence envers les membres et le public canadien.

Nous recommandons donc qu'AINC incite et aide les organisations autochtones représentatives à examiner et à renouveler régulièrement leurs effectifs, leur gouvernance et leurs politiques, processus et structures de leadership, ainsi que l'efficacité avec laquelle ils sont représentés, dans les limites des ressources à leur disposition.

Nous recommandons aussi que les organisations affichent sur leurs sites Web les critères d'appartenance, les modalités de demande, les numéros des membres et leurs responsabilités, de même que leurs documents constitutifs (constitutions et règlements administratifs) et rapports annuels.
Pour assurer la représentativité organisationnelle, les demandeurs d'un financement au titre de la COB continueront de devoir fournir de l'information sur leurs membres et sur la façon dont ceux-ci seront informés des activités organisationnelles.

Les données sur le rendement seront analysées afin d'assurer leur pertinence à l'appui des pratiques de gestion axées sur les résultats.
Permanent pendant la mise en œuvre de la COB État : en vigueur. Rapports annuels rédigés.

Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


Finalisation du rapport annuel 2009-2010.

SVE : dossier fermé - mise en oeuvre en cours d'exécution
6. Nous recommandons d'encourager les organisations autochtones représentatives à percevoir des droits de leurs membres. Nous recommandons aussi de proposer à AINC d'offrir une incitation pour faire augmenter les recettes obtenues des membres (au moyen par exemple de fonds de contrepartie jusqu'à concurrence d'un maximum).

Nous recommandons aussi que le Ministère encourage et aide les organisations autochtones représentatives à diversifier leurs sources de financement et à réduire ainsi leur dépendance à l'égard du gouvernement fédéral.
Les fonctionnaires des centres de responsabilités d'AINC ayant le pouvoir de fournir un financement au titre de la COB continueront de tenir des discussions préliminaires sur la possibilité d'intégrer des options en matière de revenus autonomes auprès d'organisations autochtones représentatives. 31/03/2010 État : en cours d'exécution Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


Dans le cadre des discussions régulières sur la gestion des contributions entre l'AINC et les organismes.

SVE
 :
dossier fermé - mise en œuvre en cours d'exécution
7. Nous recommandons une augmentation du financement durable et à long terme pour la capacité d'élaboration de politiques et une diminution du financement de projets accordé aux organisations autochtones représentatives. AINC continuera de fournir des occasions de financement pluriannuel aux organisations autochtones représentatives en règle. Permanent État : en vigueur Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


SVE : dossier fermé - mise en œuvre complétée
8. Nous recommandons de combiner le financement de la COB et des CEP sous une seule autorisation, comportant plusieurs volets correspondant aux différents types de bénéficiaires.

Nous recommandons d'adopter une approche organisationnelle, plutôt qu'une approche axée sur les programmes, en ce qui concerne le financement des consultations et de l'élaboration des politiques en partenariat avec les organisations autochtones.
L'autorisation liée aux consultations et à l'élaboration des politiques prend fin le 31 mars 2010. Son renouvellement permettra d'examiner toutes les options susceptibles d'améliorer l'efficacité et l'efficience de sa mise en œuvre. 31/03/2010 État : terminé Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


L'autorisation a été examinée.

SVE : dossier fermé - mise en œuvre complétée
9. Nous recommandons également une meilleure coordination stratégique et une meilleure gestion des consultations et de l'élaboration des politiques en général, quelles que soient les autorisations de programme qui servent au financement. Pour appuyer la mise en œuvre continue de l'autorisation, le renouvellement de l'autorisation relative aux consultations et à l'élaboration des politiques déterminera une stratégie de mesure du rendement. La stratégie de mesure du rendement inclura un plan de surveillance du rendement. 31/03/2010 État : fermé Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


La stratégie de l'ordre du jour pour l'évaluation, la mesure du rendement et la réunion du comité d'évaluation du 19 novembre 2010.

SVE : fermé - mise en œuvre complète
10. Tiré du sommaire : Examiner et clarifier les affectations allouées aux différents groupes autochtones ou au sein de chaque groupe bénéficiaire.

Tiré du rapport principal : La justification d'un financement de la capacité organisationnelle de base alloué aux différents groupes autochtones ou au sein de chaque groupe bénéficiaire doit être revue et précisée.

[Nous recommandons…] que l'attribution de ressources aux organisations de femmes autochtones soit revue en fonction des niveaux de financement et du soutien accordé à leurs organisations affiliées régionales.
Les niveaux de financement seront surveillés de façon continue.

La Politique sur le financement sera revue et élargie afin d'englober le financement alloué aux organisations autochtones nationales et aux organisations représentatives régionales des Inuits, des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits (pas uniquement les organisations représentatives régionales des Premières nations). La Politique sur le financement sera clarifiée et devra refléter les dernières décisions politiques et les processus de financement actuels.

Les possibilités d'inclure les organisations de femmes autochtones régionales comme bénéficiaires admissibles en vertu du programme sur la COB seront examinées et évaluées.
31/03/2010 Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


Politique mise à jour et approuvée par le ministre en avril 2010.

Documents sur les options proposées pour le financement des organismes de femmes autochtones en cours de mise au point.

SVE : fermé
 
 
Date de modification :