ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the Advocacy and Public Information Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2010

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (23 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of March 31, 2010

Resolution and Individual Affairs - Policy, Partnerships and Communications

Evaluation of the Advocacy and Public Information Program (200814)
AEC Approval Date: 26/Feb/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1. In light of the revised implementation schedule for various Settlement Components, INAC should consider continuing support for communication activities, based in part on the APIP model, to assist in informing former students and Canadians about the Settlement Agreement; RIAS agrees with the recommendation and has sought and obtained the necessary authorities to continue APIP through 2009/2010 to 2012/13. Funding beyond 2009/10 is still to be identified. 31/03/2013 Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:


AESTo be re-assessed next year.
2. Clarify roles and responsibilities, identify means for continuing information sharing of the various parties involved in disseminating information about the Settlement Agreement so as to ensure cost-effectiveness in the delivery of information and reduce the potential for duplication and overlaps over time; and RIAS agrees with the recommendation and has begun the process of developing a strategic outreach approach which will clarify roles and responsibilities, ensure cost-effectiveness in the delivery of information (and reduce the potential for gaps and overlaps) as well as ensure regular communications between APIP Contribution Recipients and Program Interlocutors (within INAC and with specialists from the various areas of the Settlement Agreement) and coordination of the development and dissemination of accurate and up to date information relevant, i.e., Common Experience Payment (CEP), Reconsideration, Independent Assessment Process (IAP), Commemoration and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) to survivors, their families and communities.

In addition, the Community Impacts Working Group (CIWG), a network of interdepartmental representatives and Aboriginal organizations, will be reconstituted this spring and one of its goals will be to improve coordination of communications locally, nationally and regionally.
31/12/2009 Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:


This action has been met through the re-establishment of monthly teleconference call with recipient organizations and through regular meetings of the Community Impacts Working Group which is co-chaired by the ADM - RIAS.

AES: Close.
3. Depending on the approach adopted, develop a results based management tools and performance measurement strategy, that is mindful of reporting burden, yet includes:

- a program specific logic model demonstrating links to the Settlement Agreement objectives and INAC's program activity architecture;

- an analysis of information gaps which draws upon existing data (e.g., baseline study, program uptake rates and other relevant evidence) disaggregated by location, age and gender;

- performance measurement indicators and targets;

- formalized recipient selection and assessment criteria which are clearly aligned with program objectives (particularly with respect to reach)

- results-based reporting requirements; and

- a client survey to be applied for all activities undertaken ( i.e. clarity and utility of information provided, change in understanding, and ability to act based on information provided).
RIAS will develop a performance measurement strategy, that will include the recommended elements (at left), including a logic model, development of indicators and targets. RIAS's approach will include a reporting template which focuses on results and the collection of performance data, including feedback from participants at specific activities.

An analysis of information gaps and recipient reach will be developed and reviewed on a regular basis to assess communication needs and priorities, activities and targets and will inform funding decisions.

Applications for APIP support will be requested and assessed in accordance with identified communication requirements and capacity to achieve objectives and performance measurement requirements.  No further formalized selection and assessment criteria are envisaged at this time.

A contingency plan will be developed to address gaps in coverage should capable and willing recipients not be identified in a timely manner.
31/12/2009 Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2010:


AES: It has been noted that the sector is continuing to work on its Performance Measurement Strategy. The logic model and indicators are being finalized and will be reviewed by EPMRC once completed.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation du programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (29 Ko, 3 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en oeuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation (CVÉ), de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 31 mars 2010

Résolution et affaires individuelles - Direction générale des politiques, des partenariats et des communications

Évaluation du Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts (PIPDI) (200814)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 2009-02-26

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1. Puisque le calendrier de diverses composantes du règlement a été révisé, AINC devrait envisager de maintenir son soutien aux activités de communication, en se basant en partie sur le modèle du PIPDI, pour contribuer à informer les anciens élèves et les Canadiens sur la Convention de règlement. Le Secteur de la résolution et des affaires individuelles (SRAI) est d'accord avec la recommandation et a obtenu les autorisations nécessaires pour poursuivre le PIPDI de 2009-2010 à 2012-2013. Aucune source de financement après 2009-2010 n'a encore été déterminée. 2013-03-31 Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 2010-03-31 :

SVE : À réévaluer l'année prochaine.
2. Il faudrait clarifier les rôles et les responsabilités des diverses parties qui participent à la diffusion des renseignements sur la Convention de règlement et déterminer des moyens de poursuivre l'échange d'information entre elles, en vue d'assurer la rentabilité des activités de diffusion et de réduire les possibilités de répétition et de chevauchement au fil du temps. Le SRAI est d'accord avec la recommandation et a entamé l'élaboration d'une démarche de sensibilisation stratégique qui clarifiera les rôles et les responsabilités et qui assurera la rentabilité des activités de diffusion (tout en réduisant les possibilités de lacunes et de chevauchements). On veillera en outre à ce que la communication se fasse régulièrement entre les bénéficiaires de contributions du PIPDI et les interlocuteurs du Programme (au sein d'AINC et avec des spécialistes des divers domaines de la Convention de règlement), et on coordonnera la préparation et la diffusion de renseignements exacts et à jour aux survivants, à leurs familles et à leurs collectivités, par exemple au sujet du Paiement d'expérience commune, des demandes de réexamen, du Processus d'évaluation indépendant, des activités de commémoration et de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

De plus, le Groupe de travail sur les répercussions communautaires (GTRC), un réseau de représentants interministériels et d'organisations autochtones, sera reconstitué ce printemps, et l'un de ses objectifs sera d'améliorer la coordination des communications aux niveaux local, national et régional.
2009-12-31 Mise à jour/Justification 
En date du 2010-03-31:

On a respecté cette mesure grâce à la reprise des téléconférences mensuelles avec les organisations bénéficiaires et par le truchement de réunions régulières avec le Groupe de travail sur les répercussions communautaires, qui est coprésidé par le sous-ministre adjoint du SRAI.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé.
3.  Selon l'approche adoptée, il faudra établir des outils de gestion axés sur les résultats et une stratégie de mesure du rendement. Cette stratégie devra tenir compte des exigences en matière de rapports tout en comprenant :

- un modèle logique propre au Programme qui montre les liens avec les objectifs prévus dans la Convention de règlement et l'architecture des activités de programme d'AINC;

- une analyse des lacunes en matière d'information d'après des données existantes (p. ex. étude de base, taux de participation au Programme et autres éléments de preuve pertinents) divisée par lieu, par âge et par sexe;

- des objectifs et des indicateurs de mesure du rendement;

- des critères officiels de sélection et d'évaluation des bénéficiaires clairement alignés sur les objectifs du Programme (particulièrement en matière de diffusion d'information);

- des exigences en matière de rapports axés sur les résultats;

- une enquête auprès des clients pour toutes les activités entreprises (p. ex. la clarté et l'utilité des renseignements offerts, les changements en matière de compréhension et la capacité d'agir en tenant compte de l'information fournie).
Le SRAI élaborera une stratégie de mesure du rendement qui englobera les éléments recommandés (colonne de gauche), y compris un modèle logique, des indicateurs et des cibles. L'approche du SRAI comprendra un modèle de présentation des rapports mettant l'accent sur les résultats et la collecte de données sur le rendement, y compris la rétroaction de participants à des activités particulières.

Une analyse des lacunes en matière de renseignements et de la diffusion d'information chez les bénéficiaires sera réalisée et revue régulièrement afin d'évaluer les besoins, les priorités, les activités et les cibles, et cette analyse influera sur les décisions financières. 

Les demandes de financement du PIPDI seront évaluées conformément aux exigences de communication établies et à la capacité d'atteindre les objectifs et les exigences en matière de mesure du rendement. On ne prévoit pas actuellement établir d'autres critères de sélection et d'évaluation officiels.

Un plan d'urgence sera élaboré pour corriger les lacunes en matière de couverture, dans le cas où on ne pourrait trouver de bénéficiaires capables et disposés dans un délai approprié.
2009-12-31 Mise à jour/Justification
En date du 2010-03-31 :

SVE : On a fait remarquer que le secteur continue de travailler à sa stratégie de mesure du rendement. On finalise le modèle logique et les indicateurs, puis, une fois terminés, ils seront examinés par le Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen.
 
 
Date de modification :