ARCHIVED - Horizontal Evaluation of the National Aboriginal Achievement Foundation - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2010

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (24 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2010

Education Branch

Evaluation of the Aboriginal Achievement Foundation
AEC Approval Date: 24/09/2009

Project
Recommendations
Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program
Response
1 - For federal government funding to be justified as serving the Aboriginal Peoples of Canada, NAAF must continue to make progress on distributing services equitably within the entire Aboriginal population. Improving accessibility for hard-to-reach groups, namely the North and French-speaking subpopulations, must lead to improving actual numbers served. INAC will work with other government departments and NAAF to develop more targeted measures, such as outreach campaigns, specialized advertising, and stay-in-school and high-school equivalency initiatives for Inuit youth, who have lower high-school graduation rates and to provide enhanced services in French for French-speaking youth. 31/03/2010 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


In 2010-2011, NAAF will include in its annual report how they are implementing and monitoring their strategy for establishing a working relationship with organizations such as ITK, APNQL to improve outreach to underserviced groups. This has been included in the annual funding agreement.

In 2011-2012, indicators for NAAF will be captured in new Data Collection Instruments thereby allowing for tracking mechanisms within the reporting requirement. In 2010-2011, requirements added to the funding agreement identified 7 indicators for target setting as an interim measure.

AES: Close - Fully Implemented
INAC will work with other government departments and NAAF to develop annual targets for take-up of NAAF programs as well as tracking procedures. INAC will request that NAAF report annually on targets. 01/01/2010
2 - NAAF should explore the possibility and potential of partnering with relevant like-minded organizations. These partnerships should be based on the common goal of improving NAAF service to currently underserved groups. INAC will work in collaboration with other government departments, INAC Sectors and Regions, and NAAF to develop a strategy for establishing and maintaining working relationships with organizations such as, but not limited to, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) and other regional Inuit organizations as well as L'Assemblée des Premières nations du Québec et Labrador (APNQL) in order to improve ongoing "on the ground" outreach to currently underserved groups, including targets and performance measures. INAC will include a requirement in the contribution agreement for NAAF to report on implementation in its annual report. 31/03/2010 Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


As part of the NAAF's funding arrangement for 2010-2011, NAAF will include in its annual report how they are implementing and monitoring their strategy for establishing a working relationship with organizations such as ITK, APNQL so as to improve ongoing outreach to currently underserviced groups.

AES: Close – Fully Implemented
3 - The federal government should create a single set of reporting requirements for NAAF funding. This will allow the federal government to stipulate a comprehensive set of performance data for review and analysis. Accordingly, it will eliminate the multiple, often competing, reporting demands placed on NAAF and improve the efficiency of the resources NAAF devotes to this task. This recommendation requires that a number of government departments coordinate and streamline their reporting and evaluation requirements, while satisfying needs with regard to accountability, value for money and measuring impacts.

In addition, the Department's Policy on Transfer Payments sets out principles relating to risk-based reporting systems and continuous improvement as well as intra- and inter-departmental harmonization
  Status: Close

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


In 2010-2011, INAC included in a single funding agreement the reporting requirements for Health Canada and INAC. This reduces the reporting burden for NAAF and improves efficiencies. INAC continues to communicate with the OGDs to facilitate components of the proposals, reports and monitoring processes.

AES: Underway
INAC will establish an interdepartmental working group to identify and assess current reporting demands, and to propose options which will reduce the reporting burden while not diluting reporting standards. New reporting requirements for NAAF will be approved by respective departments by January 30, 2010. 01/11/2009 and ongoing
4 - NAAF should increase the promotion of the Education Program to participants in Taking Pulse and Blueprint For the Future. This will support the degree to which intermediate and final outcomes are achieved for both the Taking Pulse and Blueprint For the Future activity areas. Moreover, in order to improve monitoring and measurement of program success, NAAF should track participant flow from one activity area to another INAC will work with other government departments and NAAF through regular multi-party meetings to support NAAF in developing more effective monitoring systems that can better track participant activity prior to and following participation in Taking Pulse or Blueprint For the Future activities by, for example, establishing participant profiles which can be entered into a database and tracking interactive website use. 01/04/2010 Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2010:


In 2010, surveys were distributed to the participants at the Blueprint for the Future and at the NAAF gala. Selected results from data collected indicated that almost 75% of students planned on attending college or university. Almost 82% indicated that the workshops were helpful and a positive experience. The plan is to repeat this procedure at future events.

AES: Underway
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation horizontale de la Fondation nationale des réalisations autochtones - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2010

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (26 Ko, 3 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu de l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action rapport au comité d'évaluation, de mesure du rendement et d'examen en date du 30 septembre 2010

Direction de l'éducation

Évaluation de la fondation nationale des réalisations autochtones
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 24 septembre 2009

Recommandations
du projet
Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement
prévue
Réponse
du programme
1 - Afin que le financement du gouvernement fédéral soit justifié, c'est‑à-dire, qu'il serve les Autochtones canadiens, la Fondation nationale des réalisations autochtones (FNRA) doit continuer de faire des progrès dans la prestation équitable de services pour l'ensemble de la population autochtone. L'accroissement de l'accessibilité pour les groupes difficiles à atteindre, soit les sous-populations du Nord et celles qui sont francophones, doit entraîner une augmentation du nombre réel de personnes bénéficiant des services. AINC travaillera avec d'autres ministères et la FNRA à élaborer plus de mesures ciblées – comme des campagnes de sensibilisation, de la publicité spécialisée ainsi que des initiatives anti-décrochage et d'équivalence d'études secondaires pour les jeunes Inuit, lesquels présentent des taux inférieurs d'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires – et à améliorer ses services en français à l'intention des jeunes francophones. 31 mars 2010 État : Terminé
Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


En 2010-2011, la FNRA indiquera dans son rapport annuel comment elle met en oeuvre et surveille sa stratégie pour la mise en place d'une relation fonctionnelle avec des organisations telles que l'ITK et l'APNQL, dans le but d'améliorer la sensibilisation des groupes mal desservis. Cette mesure est prévue dans l'entente de financement annuelle.

En 2011-2012, les indicateurs concernant la FNRA seront saisis dans les nouveaux instruments de collecte de données, permettant ainsi d'intégrer les mécanismes de suivi prévus dans l'exigence en matière de rapports. En 2010-2011, les exigences ajoutées à l'entente de financement cernaient sept indicateurs pour l'établissement de cibles en tant que mesure intérimaire.

SVE : Fermer le dossier – Pleinement réalisé
AINC travaillera avec d'autres ministères fédéraux et la FNRA à élaborer des cibles annuelles pour l'adhésion aux programmes de la FNRA, de même que des procédures de suivi. AINC demandera à la FNRA de faire rapport annuellement au sujet des cibles. 1er janvier 2010
2 - La FNRA devrait se pencher sur la possibilité d'établir des partenariats avec des organismes pertinents aux vues similaires et sur le potentiel de ce type de collaboration. Ces partenariats devraient être fondés sur l'objectif commun consistant à améliorer les services de la FNRA pour les groupes mal desservis. AINC travaillera de concert avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, ses secteurs et bureaux régionaux ainsi qu'avec la FNRA, à élaborer une stratégie pour établir et entretenir des relations de travail avec les organisations telles que l'Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK) et d'autres organisations inuites régionales ainsi qu'avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), afin d'améliorer les activités continues de diffusion externe menées sur place pour les groupes actuellement mal desservis, incluant des cibles et des mesures du rendement. AINC inclura dans l'accord de contribution une exigence selon laquelle la FNRA doit rendre compte de la mise en œuvre dans son rapport annuel. 31 mars 2010 État : Terminé
Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


Dans le cadre de l'entente de financement de 2010‑2011 de la FNRA, cette dernière indiquera dans son rapport annuel comment elle met en œuvre et surveille sa stratégie pour établir une relation fonctionnelle avec des organisations telles que l'ITK et l'APNQL de manière à améliorer la sensibilisation visant les groupes actuellement mal desservis.

SVE : Fermer le dossier – Pleinement réalisé
3 - Le gouvernement fédéral devrait créer un ensemble unique d'exigences en matière de production de rapports pour le financement de la FNRA. Cela lui permettrait d'établir un ensemble exhaustif de données sur le rendement à des fins d'examen et d'analyse. On éliminerait ainsi les exigences multiples et souvent contradictoires en matière de production de rapports pour la FNRA, ce qui permettrait à celle-ci de réduire les ressources qu'elle affecte à cette tâche. Cette recommandation exige que plusieurs ministères coordonnent et simplifient leurs exigences en matière de rapports et d'évaluation tout en satisfaisant les exigences de reddition de comptes, d'optimisation des ressources et de mesure des répercussions.

En outre, la Politique sur les paiements de transfert du Ministère met en place des principes relatifs aux systèmes d'établissement de rapports fondés sur les risques et aux améliorations constantes, ainsi qu'à l'harmonisation entre les ministères et à l'intérieur de ceux-ci.
  État : Terminé
Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


En 2010-2011, AINC a inclus dans une unique entente de financement les exigences en matière de rapport pour Santé Canada et AINC. Cela a pour effet de réduire le fardeau en matière de rapport pour la FNRA et d'accroître les économies. AINC continue de communiquer avec les autres ministères pour faciliter les éléments des propositions, des rapports et des processus de surveillance.

SVE : En cours de réalisation
AINC formera un groupe de travail interministériel chargé de cerner et d'évaluer les exigences actuelles en matière de rapports et de proposer des options qui réduiront le fardeau des rapports tout en ne diluant pas les normes qui les régissent. De nouvelles exigences en matière de rapports pour la FNRA seront approuvées par les ministères respectifs d'ici le 30 janvier 2010. À partir du 1er novembre 2009 (continu)
4 - La FNRA devrait faire valoir davantage le Programme de bourses d'études auprès des participants aux événements Taking Pulse et Blueprint for the Future. Cela favoriserait l'atteinte de résultats intermédiaires et finaux pour les programmes Taking Pulse et Blueprint for the Future. Afin de mieux évaluer l'efficacité de ses activités, la FNRA devrait également surveiller le passage des participants d'un programme à un autre. Au moyen de réunions multipartites régulières, AINC travaillera avec d'autres ministères fédéraux et la FNRA à soutenir cette dernière dans son élaboration de systèmes de surveillance plus efficaces et aptes à suivre les activités des participants avant et après leur participation aux événements Taking Pulse et Blueprint for the Future par l'établissement, notamment, de profils des participants pouvant être entrés dans une base de données, et par la surveillance de l'utilisation faite du site Internet interactif. 1er avril 2010 Mise à jour/justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2010 :


En 2010, des sondages ont été remis aux participants à l'événement Blueprint for the Future et au gala de la FNRA. Certains résultats de la collecte de données démontraient que près de 75 % des élèves prévoyaient poursuivre des études collégiales ou universitaires. Près de 82 % ont indiqué que les ateliers étaient utiles et qu'ils en tiraient une expérience positive. On prévoit répéter ce processus lors d'événements futurs.

SVE : En cours de réalisation
 
 
Date de modification :