Learn about Aboriginal Names

Author: Published under the authority of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development
Date: Ottawa, 2000 
ISBN: 0-662-30135-8
QS- 6120-014-EE-A1

PDF Version (344 Kb, 4 Pages)

Information

Have you ever asked about the names of Aboriginal children your own age? Would you like to learn a few words in their language? Did you know that there are over 50 Aboriginal languages in Canada? Some of these languages are spoken only by Elders, while others are regularly used in the community.

First names and traditional names

Some well-known first names in English and French have Aboriginal equivalents. However, because Aboriginal languages don't use the same alphabet or the same sounds as English or French, the names can get turned around (see Activity 1). Of course, many traditional Aboriginal names can't be translated into English or French. Traditional names are commonly used in communities that cultivate their Aboriginal language.

Come and meet Elisapie and Alasie!

My name is Elisapie and I live in an Inuit community near Ungava Bay. My village has only 250 people. I'm 10 years old and I like to go to school. My best friend is Alasie. My teacher had the brainwave of organizing a cultural exchange between Inuit children from different parts of Canada. As a result, Alasie and I now write messages on the computer and communicate with Aboriginal Grade 5 students who live in other communities. With the Internet, it's a cinch! Since we're very interested in things like family, friends, community life and pastimes, we like to ask questions about these topics. We also send our new friends stories and legends, and things that we've written ourselves. Although we're far apart, it's almost like we're in the same class!

Aputik means "snow" in Inuktitut.

The word snow in Inuktitut

Connected students

Ai! (Hi!)

We're Elisapie and Alasie, two Inuit students in Grade 5. We want to share stories and legends with you. We'd like to know more about your community and its culture. And we'd like to hear about you too! We especially want to know if you have an Aboriginal name and, if so, what it means. What language do you speak? Do you like animals? Almost everyone in our community has a dog.

Alasie has a newborn little sister. Her name is Aputik, which means "snow." People in our community speak Inuktitut. To get to the nearest village, we have to take a plane!

We look forward to hearing from you soon!

Elisapie and Alasie

Read the messages that Elisapie and Alasie have received from their new-found friends

Sekon! (Hi!)

My name is Patrick. In summer, I very much like to play lacrosse, the Mohawks' traditional sport, and, in winter, I like to play hockey. I go to school in my community and I learn the Mohawk language there. My classmates call me "Tehoronianhen," which means "covered in clouds." My grandfather gave me this name. My little sister Sarah also has a Mohawk first name, like me. Her grandmother baptized her "Katsitsanéron," which means "precious flower."

Hello!
I'm Jennifer. My friends call me Jenny, but "Isapoinhkyaki" is the Siksika (Blackfoot) name my grandmother gave me. My name means "singing crow woman." I live in a community of about 4,000 people. I live in southern Alberta, where there are enormous wheat fields! In the distance, we can see the Rocky Mountains on the British Columbia border, and it takes us about an hour in the car to go to Calgary.

Hi!
My name is Tina. I live in Yali (Alert Bay), British Columbia, on an island off the Pacific Coast. The Elders in my community speak Kwak'wala. For we Kwakwaka'wakws, potlatches are very important because they are used to celebrate special occasions like weddings and funerals. It is also during the potlatch ceremonies that we receive our traditional names, but I haven't received mine yet.

We have a big dog called Mukwa, which means "bear" in Ojibway.

Aaniin! (Hello!)
Aaniin eyaayan? (How are you?)
My name is Justin and I'm Ojibway. I live in Ontario and belong to a community near Georgian Bay. I have two younger brothers. We have a big dog called Mukwa, which means "bear" in Ojibway. We picked that name because our dog is dark brown, like a bear.

Kwé! (Hi!)
Mé talwléin? (How are you?)
I'm Mi'kmaq. The people in my village call me Anjij (Annie, in English). I live close to the sea in Nova Scotia. My big brother is called Mike. I love cats – that's why I've got two of them! I've also got a goldfish. Most of the people in my village speak Mi'kmaq.

Have fun playing these games–you can check your answers at the bottom of the page.

Activity 1: Equivalents

Match each name with its Aboriginal-language equivalent:

  1. Alice
  2. Elizabeth
  3. Joseph
  4. Philip
  1. Elisapie (in Inuktitut)
  2. Pilip (in Mi'kmaq)
  3. Alasie (in Inuktitut)
  4. Sosê (in Mohawk)

How do we say...?

bear in Mohawk
slippers or moccasins in Ojibway
caribou in Mi'kmaq
little boy in Kwak'wala
snow in Inuktitut
– okwari
– makazin
– qalipu
– babagwam
– aputik

Two of the above English words come from an Aboriginal language. Can you identify which ones?

Answer to Activity 1

Activity 2: Quiz

Map of Canada

Match the First Nation with its corresponding geographical region:

  1. Mi'kmaq
  2. Siksika
  3. Inuit
  4. Mohawk
  5. Kwakwaka'wakw
  6. Ojibway
  1. The Pacific Coast
  2. Southern Ontario and Quebec
  3. The Prairies
  4. The Arctic
  5. The Maritimes
  6. Manitoba and central Ontario

Answer to Activity 2

Activity 3: Test what you know

  1. Which First Nation thinks potlatches are very important?
  2. What is the traditional sport of the Mohawks?

Answer to Activity 3

Answers

Activity 1: 1c, 2a, 3d, 4b

"Moccasin" and "caribou." Ojibway and Mi'kmaq belong to the same family of Algonquian languages. (return to Activity 1)

Activity 2: 1e, 2c, 3d, 4b, 5a, 6f  (return to Activity 2)

Activity 3:

  1. The Kwakwaka'wakw
  2. Lacrosse

(return to Activity 3)

Date modified:

Les prénoms autochtones de mes amis internautes

auteur : Publié avec l'autorisation du ministre d'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
date : Ottawa, 2000
ISSN : 0-662-85672-4
QS- : 6120-014-FF-A1

Format PDF (648 Ko, 4 pages)

Information

T'arrive-t-il de te demander le nom que portent les jeunes autochtones de ton âge? Aimerais-tu apprendre quelques mots dans leur langue? Savais-tu qu'il existe environ 60 langues autochtones? Certaines ne sont parlées que par des sages, tandis que d'autres sont couramment employées par plusieurs membres de la collectivité.

Les prénoms et les noms traditionnels

Certains prénoms bien connus en français et en anglais ont des équivalents dans une langue autochtone. étant donné que les langues autochtones n'utilisent pas le même alphabet ni les mêmes sons que le français ou l'anglais, ces prénoms ont subi quelques transformations (voir l'activité 1). Évidemment, beaucoup de noms traditionnels autochtones ne sont traduits ni en français ni en anglais. Dans la majorité des cas, l'usage des noms traditionnels est plus répandu dans les collectivités où l'on valorise la langue autochtone.

Viens rencontrer Elisapie et Alasie! Je m'appelle Elisapie et je suis membre d'une collectivité inuite qui vit près de la baie d'Ungava. Mon village ne compte que 250 habitants. J'ai dix ans et j'aime aller à l'école. Ma meilleure amie s'appelle Alasie. Mon professeur a eu la bonne idée d'organiser un échange culturel entre divers jeunes des Premières nations au Canada. Alasie et moi écrivons des messages à l'ordinateur et nous les échangeons avec d'autres élèves autochtones de 5e année. Grâce à Internet, rien n'est plus facile! Comme nous nous intéressons à la vie communautaire, à la famille, aux amis et aux loisirs, nous aimons poser des questions sur ces sujets. Bien sûr, nous enverrons à nos nouveaux amis des histoires, des légendes et d'autres textes que nous auront écrits nous-mêmes. Malgré la distance qui nous sépare, c'est presque comme si nous étions dans la même classe!

Aputik signifie « neige » en inuktitut.

Le mot neige en Inuktitut

Des élèves branchés

! (Bonjour!)
Nous sommes Elisapie et Alasie, deux élèves inuites de 5e année. Nous voulons partager des histoires et des légendes avec toi. Nous aimerions en savoir plus sur ta culture et ta collectivité. Parle-nous aussi de toi! N'oublie surtout pas de nous mentionner si tu as un nom autochtone et ce qu'il signifie. Quelle langue parles-tu? Aimes-tu les animaux? Presque tous les membres de notre collectivité possèdent un chien.

Alasie vient tout juste d'avoir une petite soeur. Elle s'appelle Aputikâ mot qui signifie « neige ». L'inuktitut est la langue que parlent les membres de notre collectivité. Pour se rendre au village le plus proche, nous devons prendre l'avion.

Réponds-nous vite et à bientôt!

Elisapie et Alasie

Lis les messages qu'Elisapie et Alasie ont reçus de leurs nouveaux amis.

Sekon! (Bonjour!)
Je m'appelle Patrick. En été, j'aime beaucoup jouer à la crosse, sport traditionnel des Mohawks. L'hiver, je pratique le hockey. Je vais à l'école dans ma collectivité et j'y apprends le mohawk. Mes camarades de classe m'appellent Tehoronianhen, mot qui signifie « enveloppé dans les nuages ». C'est mon grand-père qui m'a donné ce prénom. Ma petite soeur s'appelle Sarah et possède, comme moi, un prénom mohawk. Ma grand-mère a choisi de la baptiser Katsitsanóron, ce qui veut dire « fleur précieuse ».

Allô!
Je m'appelle Jennifer, mais mes amis me surnomment Jenny. Isapoinhkyaki est le prénom que m'a donné ma grand-mère; en siksika (ou en pied-noir), ce mot veut dire « le chant de la femme-corbeau ». Je vis dans une collectivité qui compte environ 4 000 personnes. J'habite le Sud de l'Alberta, où il n'y a que de vastes champs de blé. Au loin, on peut apercevoir les Rocheuses, à la frontière de la Colombie-Britannique. Calgary se trouve a environ une heure en voiture.

Bonjour!
Je m'appelle Tina. J'habite à Yali (Alert Bay), en Colombie-Britannique, sur une île située le long de la côte du Pacifique. Les sages de ma collectivité parlent le kwak'wala. Pour nous, les Kwakwaka'wakws, les potlatchs ont une grande signification, car ils servent à souligner des événements importants, comme les mariages et les décès. C'est aussi lors des potlatchs que l'on donne à un membre un nom traditionnel. Je ne connais pas encore mon nom traditionnel.

Nous avons un gros chien appelé Mukwa, ce qui signifie « ours » en ojibway.

Aaniin! (All?!)
Aaniin eyaayan? (Comment ça va?)
Je m'appelle Justin et je suis Ojibway. J'habite en Ontario et je suis membre d'une collectivit? ?tablie près de la baie Georgienne. Mes deux frères sont plus jeunes que moi. Nous avons un gros chien appel? Mukwa, ce qui signifie « ours » en ojibway. Nous avons choisi ce nom parce que notre chien est brun foncé comme un ours.

Kwé! (Allô!)
Mé talwléin? (Comment ça va?)
Je suis Mi'kmaq. Les gens de mon village m'appellent Anjij, (Annie, en français). J'habite près de la mer, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Mon grand frère s'appelle Mike. J'aime les chats, c'est pourquoi j'en ai deux. Je possède aussi un poisson rouge. Dans ma collectivité, la majorité d'entre nous parlons le mi'kmaq.

Amuse-toi à faire les activités qui suivent et vérifie tes réponses en consultant les solutions à la dernière page du feuillet.

Activité 1 : Les équivalents

Associe chaque prénom à son équivalent en langue autochtone.

  1. Alice
  2. Élizabeth
  3. Joseph
  4. Philip
  1. Elisapie (en Inuktitut)
  2. Pilip (en Mi'kmaq)
  3. Alasie (en Inuktitut)
  4. Sosê (en Mohawk)

Comment dit-on...?

ours en mohawk
souliers ou mocassin en ojibway
orignal en ojibway
caribou en mi'kmaq
petit garçon en kwak'wala
neige en inuktitut
– okwari
– makazin
– mooz
– qalipu
– babagwam
– aputik

Parmi les mots en français, deux sont dérivés d'une langue autochtone. Peux-tu les trouver?

Réponse à l'activité 1

Activité 2 : L'examen du professeur

Carte du Canada

Associe les régions géographiques aux nations autochtones.

  1. Mi'kmaq
  2. Siksika
  3. Inuit
  4. Mohawk
  5. Kwakwaka'wakw
  6. Ojibway
  1. La côte du Pacifique
  2. Le sud de l'Ontario et du Québec
  3. Les Plaines
  4. L'Arctique
  5. Les Maritimes
  6. Le centre de l'Ontario et du Manitoba

Réponse à l'activité 2


Activité 3 : Vérifie tes connaissances

  1. Quelle nation accorde beaucoup d'importance au potlatch?
  2. Quel est le sport traditionnel des Mohawks?

Réponse à l'activité 3

Réponses

Activité 1: 1c, 2a, 3d, 4b

Mocassin et caribou. L'ojibway et le mi'kmaq appartiennent à la même famille linguistique; ce sont des langues algonquiennes.  (retournez à l'activité 1)

Activité 2: 1e, 2c, 3d, 4b, 5a, 6f (retournez à l'activité 2)

Activité 3:

  1. Les Kwakwaka'wakws
  2. La crosse

(retournez à l'activité 3)

Date de modification :