Water Management

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) has, as one of its functions in the north, the mandate to manage water resources in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. On April 1, 2003, responsibility for the management of water resources in Yukon was transferred to the Government of the Yukon.


AANDC's overall responsibility for water management is set out in section 5 of the DIAND Act   which gives the department provincial-type responsibilities for the north. The federal Crown has ownership of the water and other natural resources in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Water use and waste disposal into water are controlled through regulatory processes established under the federal Northwest Territories Waters Act  , the Mackenzie Valley Resource Management Act (MVRMA)   and the Nunavut Waters and Nunavut Surface Rights Tribunal Act  . Water use, and waste disposal in or near water, must be either licensed by water licensing boards or authorized by regulation. The mandate of the water boards is to provide for the conservation, development, and utilization of waters in a manner that will provide the optimum benefit for all Canadians and for the residents of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut in particular.

In addition to its main responsibility under the DIAND Act   and federal water legislation, DIAND has additional water management responsibilities under:

Business Lines (What do we do?)

Legislation and Policy - AANDC is responsible for the development, implementation and interpretation of all legislation and policy relating to its responsibilities for water management in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Licensing under the waters legislations - applications for water licences are reviewed, proposals evaluated and licences issued by water licensing boards (see links below) in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, but all Type "A" licences must be approved by the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development for them to take effect. The Department also has a policy that it will present an intervention to the boards on all major water licence applications.

Enforcement - AANDC has the responsibility for inspections on licensed operations in the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. If a licensee is in contravention of the terms or conditions of their licence, it is an AANDC inspector who enforces the applicable legislation.

Water data collection - data on all aspects of water are needed in order to properly manage water resources. AANDC collects water quantity and water quality information. AANDC, in cooperation with Environment Canada and the territorial governments, undertakes water quantity (or hydrometric) and water quality monitoring. This monitoring may include measurements of surface water flow rates/events, rain and snow measurements or other meteorological phenomena. Water quantity data are important to understand basic hydrological conditions as well as for water level and flood forecasting, water balance studies, road and pipeline design, temporal changes etc. Water quality monitoring is carried out in order to address major development and water planning and management issues. Good water quality is important for monitoring ecosystem and human health. In addition to these monitoring networks, specific targeted studies are undertaken to respond to particular issues or concerns raised in environmental assessments and license hearings. These targeted studies are often done under the Northern Water Research Studies Program (NWRSP).

Water Planning - AANDC's role as the northern water manager requires a broad and long term view of the resource, its potential uses and future demands. The planning for water resource use and water quality protection is achieved through a comprehensive ecosystem approach; this means that planning is based on the hydrological unit of the watershed rather than political jurisdictions. Strategic water planning requires that all jurisdictions sharing a common resource be involved in planning and research of the resource. The Mackenzie River Basin Board   was established for this purpose. Under the Mackenzie River Basin Transboundary Waters Master Agreement, signed in 1996 by Canada, British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Northwest Territories and Yukon, individual bilateral agreements between provinces/territories will be finalized to share information and water plans, and codify practices and procedures to manage shared watersheds to maintain the ecological integrity of the aquatic ecosystem. In order to plan on a watershed basis, jurisdictions responsible for water resources must work together to understand the system as a whole. Broad-based research programs which seek to understand the watershed as a whole have been undertaken.


Most of the water management business lines are carried out in the regional offices in Yellowknife and in Iqaluit . Staff in Headquarters (in the National Capital Region) develop legislation and policy, participate in national water management initiatives, corporate policy development, address interdepartmental and intergovernmental issues, transboundary issues, and other departmental initiatives (e.g. devolution, land claims, etc.).

Contact Us

Water Resources Division
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
3rd Floor, Bellanca Building
P.O. Box 1500
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3
(867) 669-2651

Water Resources Division
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Building 918
P.O. Box 100
Iqaluit, Nunavut X0A 0H0
(867) 975-4550

Land and Water Management
Natural Resources and Environment
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
10 Wellington Street
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H4
(819) 997-0540

Gestion de l'eau

La gestion des ressources hydriques des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut compte parmi les fonctions qu'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) exerce dans le Nord. Le 1er avril 2003, la responsabilité de la gestion des ressources hydriques du Yukon a été transférée au gouvernement du Yukon.

Mandat

La responsabilité générale de la gestion de l'eau est établie dans l'article 5 de la Loi sur le MAINC   qui donne au ministère des responsabilités provinciales pour le Nord. La Couronne fédérale a la propriété de l'eau et des autres ressources naturelles des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut.

L'utilisation de l'eau et les rejets dans l'eau sont régis par des processus réglementaires établis en vertu de la Loi sur les eaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest  , de la Loi sur la gestion des ressources de la vallée du Mackenzie (LGRVM)   et de la Loi sur les eaux du Nunavut et le Tribunal des droits de surface du Nunavut  . L'utilisation de l'eau et les rejets dans l'eau ou près de l'eau doivent être autorisés par les organismes chargés de la délivrance de permis ou de la réglementation. Le mandat des offices de l'eau consiste à prendre des dispositions pour la conservation, la mise en valeur et l'utilisation des eaux qui offriront le maximum d'avantages à la population canadienne et aux résidants des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut en particulier.

En plus de la principale responsabilité qui lui a été conférée parla Loi sur le MAINC   et la législation fédérale, AADNC a d'autres responsabilités en matière de gestion de l'eau en vertu des lois suivantes :

Secteurs d'activité (Que faisons-nous?)

Législation et politique - AADNC est responsable de l'élaboration, de la mise en oeuvre et de l'interprétation de la législation et des politiques relatives à ses responsabilités concernant la gestion de l'eau dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut.

Délivrance de permis en vertu de la législation sur l'eau - les demandes de permis d'exploitation de l'eau sont examinées, les propositions évaluées et les permis accordés par les organismes de délivrance de permis (voir le lien ci-dessous) des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut, mais tous les permis de type A ne peuvent entrer en vigueur sans l'approbation du ministre des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. Une politique ministérielle prévoit également la présentation d'une intervention par le ministère aux organismes pour toutes les demandes de permis importants d'exploitation de l'eau.

Exécution - AADNC est responsable des inspections des activités autorisées dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut. Si un titulaire de permis contrevient aux conditions de son permis, c'est un inspecteur d'AADNC qui exécute la législation applicable.

Collecte de données sur l'eau - On a besoin de données sur tous les aspects de l'eau pour gérer correctement les ressources hydriques. AADNC collecte de l'information sur la quantité et la qualité de l'eau. AADNC, en collaboration avec Environnement Canada et les gouvernements territoriaux, surveille la quantité de l'eau (hydrométrie) et la qualité de l'eau. Cette tâche consiste notamment à mesurer le débit de l'eau de surface/les crues, la pluie et la neige ou autre phénomène météorologique. Les données sur la quantité d'eau sont importantes pour comprendre les conditions hydrologiques fondamentales ainsi que les prévisions concernant le niveau d'eau et les inondations, les bilans hydrologiques, la conception des routes et des pipelines, les changements temporels, etc. La surveillance de la qualité de l'eau vise à traiter les questions importantes concernant la planification et la gestion de l'eau. La bonne qualité de l'eau est un élément primordial dans la surveillance des écosystèmes et de la santé humaine. En plus de ces réseaux de surveillance, des études ciblées sont réalisées pour donner suite à des questions et préoccupations particulières signalées dans les évaluations environnementales et les audiences publiques. Souvent, ces études sont effectuées dans le cadre du Programme d'études sur les eaux du Nord (PEEN).

Planification de l'eau - Le rôle d'AADNC requiert d'avoir une vision large et à long terme de la ressource, de son utilisation possible et des demandes futures. La planification de l'utilisation des ressources hydriques et la protection de la qualité de l'eau suivent une approche globale portant sur l'écosystème, c'est-à-dire que la planification est basée sur l'unité hydrologique du bassin plutôt que sur les compétences juridiques. La planification stratégique de l'eau ne peut se faire sans la participation de toutes les compétences ayant une ressource commune à la planification de cette ressource et aux recherches sur elle. La Commission du bassin du Mackenzie   (site web non disponible en français) a été établie à cette fin. En vertu de l'Entente cadre sur les eaux transfrontalières du bassin du Mackenzie, signée en 1996 par le Canada, la Colombie-Britannique, l'Alberta, la Saskatchewan, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Yukon, des ententes bilatérales individuelles avec les provinces ou les territoires seront conclues en vue de partager l'information et les plans d'eau et de codifier les pratiques et les procédures pour la gestion des bassins hydrologiques communs afin de maintenir l'intégrité écologique de l'écosystème aquatique. Pour que la planification soit axée sur les bassins hydrologiques, les compétences responsables des ressources hydriques doivent travailler ensemble pour comprendre le système dans son ensemble. On a commencé des programmes élargis de recherche visant à comprendre les bassins hydrologiques dans leur ensemble.

Organisation

La plupart des activités opérationnelles de la gestion de l'eau sont accomplies dans les bureaux régionaux de Yellowknife et d'Iqaluit. Le personnel de l'administration centrale (dans la région de la capitale nationale) élabore la législation et les politiques, participe aux projets nationaux de gestion de l'eau et à la préparation des politiques ministérielles, s'occupent des questions interministérielles et intergouvernementales, des questions transfrontalières et d'autres initiatives ministérielles (p. ex. transfert de responsabilités, revendications territoriales).

Contactez-nous

Division des ressources hydriques
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
3e étage, Immeuble Bellanca
C.P. 1500
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest) X1A 2R3
(867) 669-2651
NorthwestTerritoriesWaters@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Division des ressources hydriques
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Immeuble 918
C. P. 100
Iqaluit (Nunavut) X0A 0H0
(867) 975-4550
Nunavutwaters@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Gestion des terres et des eaux
Ressources naturelles et environnement
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
10, rue Wellington
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H4
(819) 997-0540
NorthernWaters@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca