ARCHIVED - High Investment Potential in Canadian Northern Oil and Gas

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 1, Number 1
June 1994

Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction over oil and gas in Canada's North (north of 60° N latitude) is exercised by the federal government. The Northern Oil and Gas Directorate in Indian and Northern Affairs Canada manages this area which comprises about one-third of Canada. It includes the onshore mainland areas of the Yukon and the Northwest Territories, the Arctic Islands, and the offshore Beaufort Sea and Arctic Ocean.

Resources

The North contains about 25% of Canada's remaining discovered resources of each of conventional recoverable light crude oil and natural gas.

The importance of the northern basins is even more evident when we consider estimates of how much more conventional oil and gas is likely to be discovered. The North is estimated to hold about 40% of Canada's future discoveries of each of conventional recoverable light crude oil and natural gas.

Exploration for these resources is still at a relatively early stage. Compared to the 150,000 wells drilled to date in Alberta, less than 1,500 have been drilled in the North.

Rights issuance

The regime for issuing exploration rights is simple, straightforward, fair and competitive. Calls for Nominations precede Calls for Bids and all terms and conditions are specified up front. A single criterion is used to select winning bids.

There is an annual Call in the Beaufort Sea/Mackenzie Delta (the next Call for Nominations in this area is expected to open in January 1995).

Rights issuance has now been re-opened for the first time in 25 years in the southern Northwest Territories near producing gas fields and numerous oil and gas discoveries. This Call for Nominations in the Fort Liard area closes July 13, 1994. It will be followed by a Call for Bids closing in December.

Rights issuance is also expected to re-open in 1994 in the Mackenzie Valley including the area around the Norman Wells oil field.

At year-end 1993, 2.6 million hectares were held by industry under 151 active exploration, significant discovery and production licences.

Geology

The southern territories comprise the northern part of the prolific Western Canada Sedimentary Basin and feature exploration costs comparable to northeastern British Columbia and northwestern Alberta, both very active exploration areas. Several exploration plays are shared among these three areas, and the limited exploration in the territories to date indicates potential for a density of discoveries comparable to that in adjacent areas of the provinces.

Royalties

The main differences between northern British Columbia and Alberta and the southern territories are that in the territories the bidding terms and royalty rates are more generous.

The profit-sensitive northern oil and gas royalty regime is one of the most competitive in the world. While companies are recovering their initial investment, including a reasonable rate of return, royalty rates are extremely low. Prior to project payout, royalty rates begin at 1% of gross revenue, gradually rising (by one percentage point each 18 production months) to a maximum level of 5%. Following payout of the initial investment, including a reasonable rate of return, the royalty becomes the greater of 5% of gross revenue or 30% of net revenue (i.e. net of allowances for capital and operating costs).

Transportation infrastructure

There is capacity available in the oil pipeline from Norman Wells to the oil pipeline system in northern Alberta and in the gas pipeline from the Pointed Mountain and Kotaneelee fields to the gas pipeline system in British Columbia.

Oil and gas production operations

Norman Wells

The Norman Wells oil field is Canada's fourth largest producing oil field in terms of remaining reserves, with estimated ultimate recoverable reserves of 37.5 million cubic metres. Norman Wells production in 1993 was 1.8 million cubic metres of oil and 134 million cubic metres of natural gas. Cumulative oil production reached 19.5 million cubic metres. Imperial Oil plans to drill twelve wells in 1994-95 at a cost of $30 million. Production is expected to continue until about 2020.

Pointed Mountain

The Pointed Mountain gas field in the southern Northwest Territories has been a steady source of natural gas since 1972; by year-end 1993 cumulative production reached 8.6 billion cubic metres. Amoco is conducting workover operations at the present time on the K-45 well.

Kotaneelee

Natural gas production by Anderson et al from the Kotaneelee field in the southern Yukon amounted to some 492 million cubic metres in 1993. Cumulative production reached 1.3 billion cubic metres.

Cameron Hills

The Cameron Hills oil field in the southern Northwest Territories is undergoing staged development. In 1993, Paramount Resources et al completed a three well extended production test and a three dimensional seismic program. In 1994, more wells are planned.

Bent Horn

Oil production from the Bent Horn field in the Arctic Islands totalled some 57 thousand cubic metres in 1993. Panarctic et al ships Bent Horn production south in a double-hulled tanker during the open-ice season.

Native land claims

In 1970 all of the prospective areas in the North were held by industry under some form of exploration permit. However, the issuance of new permits (as the old ones expired) was frozen to allow time for the negotiation and settlement of Native land claims. This was expected to take only a few years, but it has taken over two decades, during which almost all earlier oil and gas rights expired.

Claims have now been settled with Native groups in the Beaufort Sea/Mackenzie Delta, in the Mackenzie Valley around Norman Wells (the fourth largest producing oil field in Canada), and in the Eastern Arctic, and much progress has been made in the Yukon. These settlements create certainty for industry by defining ownership of land. The vast majority of the subsurface is owned and managed by the federal government; Native groups have surface title to specific parcels and subsurface title to a portion of these. In managing oil and gas resources, the federal government works in partnership with Native groups and territorial governments.

Summary

Investors would be wise to consider now the potential returns from oil and gas exploration in Canada's North. The basins have excellent geologic potential for discovery of conventional light crude oil and natural gas. The regime for awarding exploration rights is simple, straightforward, fair and competitive. Royalties are low and profit-sensitive. The southern parts of the territories have exploration costs similar to northern Alberta and British Columbia and are served by existing oil and gas pipelines with spare capacity.

The Northern Oil and Gas Directorate is opening new areas to exploration in the vicinity of existing oil and gas discoveries. The Call for Nominations in the Fort Liard area of the southern NWT closes July 13, 1994. It will be followed by a Call for Bids closing in December. Rights issuance is also expected to re-open in 1994 in the Mackenzie Valley including the area around the Norman Wells oil field.

Northern Oil and Natural Gas Overview

Production (during 1993)
Oil 1847 thousand cubic metres (11.6 million bbl)
Natural gas 726 million cubic metres (25.6 Bcf)

Cumulative discovered resources (initial recoverable,
including condensate, at year-end)
Oil 346 million cubic metres (2.2 billion bbl)
Natural gas 811 billion cubic metres (28.6 Tcf)

Undiscovered recoverable resources
Oil 1686 million cubic metres (10.6 billion bbl)
Natural gas 4370 billion cubic metres (154.3 Tcf)

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Potentiel élevé d'investissement dans les activités pétrolières et gazières du Nord canadien

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 1, numéro 1
Juin 1994

Compétence

Le pétrole et le gaz du Nord canadien (au nord du 60e parallèle) relèvent de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral. La Direction du pétrole et du gaz du Nord, qui fait partie du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, gère cette zone qui englobe environ le tiers du Canada. La zone en cause comprend les régions continentales côtières du Yukon et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, les îles de l'Arctique, ainsi que les régions extracôtières de la mer de Beaufort et de l'océan Arctique.

Ressources

Le Nord compte environ 25 p. 100 des ressources découvertes non encore exploitées de pétrole brut léger classique et de gaz naturel.

L'importance des bassins du Nord est encore plus évidente lorsqu'on tient compte des quantités de pétrole et de gaz classiques qui seront probablement découvertes. Selon les estimations, le Nord recèlerait environ 40 p. 100 des ressources qui restent à découvrir au Canada, tant en ce qui a trait au pétrole brut léger classique qu'au gaz naturel.

L'exploration de ces ressources en est encore à ses débuts. En effet, comparativement aux 150 000 puits forés jusqu'à maintenant en Alberta, on en compte moins de 1 500 dans le Nord.

Attribution des droits

Le régime d'attribution des droits de prospection est simple, clair, juste et concurrentiel. Les demandes d'inclusion de terres dans un appel d'offres sont suivies des appels d'offres, et toutes les conditions sont stipulées au préalable. Un seul critère sert au choix des soumissions à retenir.

Chaque année, on présente une demande d'inclusion de terres dans un appel d'offres pour la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie (la présentation de la prochaine demande concernant cette région est prévue pour janvier 1995).

On prévoit, en 1994, la première réouverture de l'attribution des droits pour la vallée du Mackenzie depuis 25 ans, la région en cause comprenant également la zone entourant le champ pétrolifère de Norman Wells et la partie sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, à proximité des champs gazéifères en production et de nombreux gisements de pétrole et de gaz découverts.

À la fin de 1993, l'industrie détenait les droits sur 2,6 millions d'hectares en vertu de 151 permis de prospection, licences de découverte importante et licences de production toujours en vigueur.

Géologie

La partie méridionale des territoires comprend la portion nord du prolifique bassin sédimentaire de l'Ouest canadien, et elle offre des coûts d'exploration comparables à ceux du nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique et du nord-ouest de l'Alberta, qui sont deux secteurs d'exploration très dynamiques. On trouve dans ces trois régions plusieurs zones d'exploration, et la prospection restreinte jusqu'à maintenant dans les territoires indique un potentiel de découvertes dont la densité est comparable à celle des secteurs adjacents des provinces.

Redevances

Les principales différences qui existent entre le nord de la Colombie-Britannique et de l'Alberta et la partie méridionale des territoires reposent sur le fait que les territoires offrent des conditions de soumission plus avantageuses et des taux de redevances moins élevés.

Le régime de redevances s'appliquant au pétrole et au gaz du Nord, qui tient compte des bénéfices, est l'un des plus concurrentiels au monde. En effet, les sociétés récupèrent leur investissement initial, y compris un taux de rendement raisonnable, et le taux des redevances est extrêmement faible. Avant qu'un projet soit rentable, le taux des redevances est d'abord fixé à 1 p. 100 des recettes brutes, pour augmenter progressivement (de 1 p. 100 tous les dix-huit mois de production) jusqu'à un taux maximal de 5 p. 100. Lorsque l'investissement initial est récupéré, y compris un taux de rendement raisonnable, les redevances sont fixées à la plus grande des deux valeurs suivantes: 5 p. 100 des recettes brutes ou 30 p. 100 des bénéfices nets (c.-à-d. nettes des provisions pour frais d'immobilisation et d'exploitation).

Infrastructure des transports

Il existe une capacité de réserve dans l'oléoduc qui part de Norman Wells et se rend au réseau d'oléoducs du nord de l'Alberta, et dans le gazoduc qui part de Pointed Mountain pour se rendre au réseau de gazoducs de la Colombie-Britannique.

Exploitations pétrolières et gazières

Norman Wells

Pour ce qui est de l'importance des réserves, le champ pétrolifère de Norman Wells vient au quatrième rang des champs en production au Canada, ses réserves ultimes exploitables étant estimées à 37,5 millions de mètres cubes. En 1993, la production à Norman Wells s'est établie à 1,8 million de mètres cubes de pétrole et à 134 millions de mètres cubes de gaz naturel. La production cumulative de pétrole atteint maintenant 19,5 millions de mètres cubes.

Imperial Oil prévoit forer 12 puits en 1994-1995 au coût de 30 millions de dollars. On s'attend que la production se poursuivra jusqu'aux environs de 2 020.

Pointed Mountain

Dans le sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le champ gazéifère de Pointed Mountain fournit du gaz naturel depuis 1972; à la fin de l'année, la production cumulative de 1993 atteignait 8,6 milliards de mètres cubes. Amoco poursuit actuellement des travaux de reconditionnement au puits K-45.

Kotaneelee

La production de gaz naturel du champ de Kotaneelee exploité par Anderson et al dans le sud du Yukon s'est élevée en 1993 à 492 millions de mètres cubes. La production cumulative s'établit à 1,3 milliard de mètres cubes.

Cameron Hills

Le champ pétrolifère de Cameron Hills dans le sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest fait actuellement l'objet d'une mise en valeur échelonnée. En 1993, Paramount Resources et al y a mené des essais de production à trois puits de même qu'un programme sismique tridimensionnel. En 1994, des travaux sont prévus à d'autres puits.

Bent Horn

En 1993, la production de pétrole au champ de Ben Horn dans l'archipel Arctique s'est élevée à quelque 57 milliers de mètres cubes. Pendant la saison libre de glace, Panarctic et al expédie la production de ce champ vers le sud dans un pétrolier à double coque.

Revendications territoriales des Autochtones

En 1970, l'industrie détenait les droits sur toutes les zones éventuelles de prospection du Nord dans le cadre de certains types de permis de prospection. Toutefois, l'attribution de nouveaux permis (à l'expiration des anciens) a été suspendue afin de permettre la négociation et le règlement des revendications territoriales des Autochtones. On s'attendait que ce processus ne prendrait que quelques années, mais il s'est échelonné sur plus de vingt ans, période au cours de laquelle presque tous les droits antérieurs relatifs au pétrole et au gaz ont pris fin.

On est parvenu à régler les revendications des groupes autochtones concernant la mer de Beaufort et le delta du Mackenzie, la vallée du Mackenzie dans la région entourant Norman Wells (le quatrième champ pétrolifère en importance au Canada), et dans l'est de l'Arctique; en outre, les négociations relatives au Yukon ont marqué des progrès importants. Ces règlements instaurent un climat de certitude dans l'industrie en définissant la propriété du territoire. La plus grande partie du sous-sol appartient au gouvernement fédéral, qui en assure la gestion; les groupes autochtones détiennent les titres de surface relatifs à des parcelles précises et les titres du sous-sol pour certaines d'entre elles. Dans la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières, le gouvernement fédéral travaille de concert avec les groupes autochtones et les gouvernements territoriaux.

Résumé

Il serait sage pour les investisseurs d'envisager maintenant le rendement éventuel de l'exploration pétrolière et gazière dans le Nord canadien. Les bassins recèlent un excellent potentiel géologique pour la découverte de pétrole brut léger classique et de gaz naturel. Le régime d'attribution des droits est simple, clair, juste et concurrentiel. Les redevances sont peu élevées et tiennent compte des bénéfices. Les parties méridionales des territoires présentent des coûts d'exploration comparables à ceux du nord de l'Alberta et de la Colombie-Britannique, et elles sont desservies par des oléoducs et des gazoducs qui offrent une capacité de réserve.

La Direction du pétrole et du gaz du Nord ouvre de nouvelles zones à l'exploration à proximité des gisements existants de pétrole et de gaz.

Survol des ressources en pétrole et en gaz naturel du Nord

Production (en 1993)
Pétrole 1847 milliers de mètres cubes (11,6 millions de barils)
Gaz naturel 726 millions de mètres cubes (25,6 milliards de pieds cubes)

Ressources découvertes cumulatives (ressources initiales récupérables, y compris le condensat, à la fin de l'année)
Pétrole 346 millions de mètres cubes (2,2 milliards de barils)
Gaz naturel 811 milliards de mètres cubes (28,6 billions de pieds cubes)

Ressources récupérables non découvertes Pétrole 1686 millions de mètres cubes (10,6 milliards de barils)
Gaz naturel 4370 milliards de mètres cubes (154,3 billions de pieds cubes)

Date de modification :