ARCHIVED - Southern Northwest Territories Open for Posting

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Bulletin
Volume 1, Number 2
June 1994

Call Launched Around Fort Liard

For the first time in 25 years, industry is invited to select, through a Call for Nominations, parcels that might be of interest to them in the Fort Liard area of the southern Northwest Territories. The selection process is entirely confidential.

The Call for Nominations will close on July 13, 1994. Selected parcels will be tendered through a competitive call for bids scheduled to close in December, 1994. Winning bidders will be awarded an exploration licence for a term of seven years - divided into two periods of four and three years, respectively.

An exploration licence confers:

Selection of winning bids

Winning bids will be selected on the basis of the total amount of money the bidder proposes to spend doing exploratory work on the parcel during the first four years of the term. To assist potential bidders in their bid assessment, a schedule of allowable expenditures is attached to the call document.

Winning bidders are awarded an exploration licence upon providing a work deposit equivalent to 25% of the bid amount submitted in the call for bids, and the issuance fee of $250. The work deposit secures work or activity undertaken during the first four years of the term and is refunded in accordance with the schedule of allowable expenditures.

The drilling of a well during the first four years qualifies the explorers for another three years. Successful exploratory drilling during the term of the exploration licence entitles the explorer to apply for and receive a significant discovery licence or a production licence.

Area Available for Nominations

The area available for nominations is located immediately north of the British Columbia border on trend with the same geological plays where important natural gas discoveries were made in the northeast of that province. The call area comprises approximately 1 million hectares.

Geology

The southern Northwest Territories comprise the northern extension of the prolific Western Canada Sedimentary Basin and shares several exploration plays with northeast British Columbia and northern Alberta, both very active exploration areas. Success from limited exploration in the call area indicates potential for a density of discoveries comparable to that in adjacent areas of the provinces.

The greatest remaining potential for large gas pools lies in the foothills plays where the Manetoe dolomite of the Devonian Nahanni and Arnica formations are folded and thrusted into huge structural traps.

To the east, potential for a density of gas discoveries is indicated by a number of discovered pools in the N.W.T. and numerous pools in the adjacent areas of British Columbia, found in Devonian structural/stratigraphic traps. Reservoirs include the Slave Point Presqu'ile barrier bank edge, the bank interior Slave Point, Sulphur Point and Keg River limestones and dolomites, and porous zones in the Jean Marie, Kotcho and Tetcho formations.

Carboniferous to Cretaceous clastic rocks have fair to excellent reservoir characteristics in the area, but remain largely unexplored.

Reserve Estimates

Eight gas discoveries have been drilled in the immediate area of the call. The total discovered resources for these gas pools is estimated by the National Energy Board at 12,900 million cubic metres.

Operational Facts

Exploration conditions and costs are comparable to northern Alberta and to the foothills of British Columbia. A population/service centre is situated in the middle of the call area at Fort Liard.

There is a gas pipeline from the Pointed Mountain field to the Westcoast Transmission system in British Columbia. Amoco Canada's Pointed Mountain gas field in the southern N.W.T. was discovered in 1967. Since a gas plant was built in 1972, the field has been a steady source of natural gas, having produced 8.6 billion cubic metres to the end of 1993.

For More Information

To receive a copy of the Call for Nominations document, or to learn more about the mangement of oil and gas resources in Canada's North, please contact the Northern Oil and Gas Directorate of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development in Ottawa at (819) 994-1606 or the Resource Evaluation Branch of the National Energy Board in Calgary at (403) 299-3112.

Call for nominations

Closing Date.....................July 13, 1994

Maximum Nomination Parcel Size...1 grid (approximately 23,890 hectares)

Area of Call.....................1 million hectares

Area under Licence in Call Area..Approximately 50,000 hectares

Call for bids

Minimum Bid......................Work proposal of $1 million

Period of Call...................120 days, closing in December

Term of Exploration Licence......7 years: two periods of 4 & 3 years, respectively

Work Requirement.................1 well prior to end of Period 1

Rentals..........................Period 1: none

Period 2: $2.50/ha 1st year

$5.00/ha 2nd year

$7.50/ha 3rd year

Geology

Depth to Target Zones............700 to 4500 m

Maximum Basin Thickness:.........In excess of 5000 m in foothills belt, shallowing to east

Hydrocarbon Shows................Oil and gas in many formations from Devonian to Cretaceous

First Discovery..................1960 (Home Signal CSP Celibeta No. 2; Slave Point gas)

Discovered Resources.............Gas: 12,900 million cubic metres (in 8 fields)

Basin Type.......................Precambrian rifts, Paleozoic continental margin, Mesozoic foreland basin

Depositional Setting.............Paleozoic: shallow marine shelf to shelf margin; Mesozoic: alluvial to shallow marine shelf

Reservoirs.......................Mid-Devonian carbonates (unproven: Upper Devonian carbonates, Mississippian and Cretaceous sandstones)

Seals............................Thick Devonian shales, tight carbonates

Source Rocks.....................Mature Devonian shales, carbonates, evaporites; Mississippian and Cretaceous shales

Total Number of Wells............60 (estimated)

Seismic Coverage.................3500 km. (estimated)

Development

Production.......................Gas: 8.6 billion cubic metres from Pointed Mountain (to year-end 1993)

Pipelines........................Pointed Mountain gas pipeline to Westcoast transmission system to Fort Nelson, B.C.; Norman Wells Oil Pipeline to Zama, Alberta, situated to east of call area.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Ouverture du sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest à la prospection

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bulletin
Volume 1, numéro 2
Juin 1994

Fort Liard : zone cible

Pour la première fois depuis 25 ans, l'industrie est invitée à choisir, dans le cadre d'une demande d'inclusion de terres, des parcelles qui pourraient l'intéresser dans la zone de Fort Liard du sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le processus de sélection est tout à fait confidentiel.

La date d'expiration de la demande d'inclusion est le 13 juillet 1994. Les parcelles choisies seront adjugées dans le cadre d'un appel d'offres concurrentiel devant prendre fin en décembre 1994. Les soumissionnaires reçus se verront attribuer un permis de prospection valable pour une durée de sept ans, répartie en deux périodes de quatre et trois ans respectivement.

Le permis de prospection confère :

Choix des soumissions gagnantes

Le choix des soumissions gagnantes se fera en fonction du montant total d'argent que le soumissionnaire entend consacrer à des travaux de prospection sur la parcelle visée au cours des quatre premières années du permis. Pour aider les soumissionnaires éventuels à évaluer leurs soumissions, un barème des dépenses admissibles est joint au document d'appel d'offres.

Pour obtenir leur permis de prospection, les soumissionnaires retenus doivent fournir une garantie d'exécution équivalant à 25 % du montant de la soumission présentée suite à l'appel d'offres et payer le droit de délivrance de 250 $. La garantie d'exécution, comme son nom l'indique, garantit l'exécution de travaux ou d'activités au cours des quatre premières années du permis et est remboursée en fonction du barème des dépenses admissibles.

Les prospecteurs qui forent un puits au cours des quatre premières années ont droit à trois années supplémentaires. Si au cours du permis de prospection, les forages exploratoires sont fructueux, le prospecteur a alors le droit de demander et d'obtenir une licence de découverte importante ou une licence de production.

Territoire offert aux demandes d'inclusion

Le territoire offert aux demandes d'inclusion se trouve immédiatement au nord de la limite de la Colombie-Britannique dans le prolongement des mêmes zones géologiques où d'importantes découvertes de gaz naturel ont été faites dans le nord-est de cette province. Le territoire en question couvre environ 1 million d'hectares.

Géologie

Le sud des Territoires du Nord-Ouest comprend le prolongement nord du prolifique Bassin sédimentaire de l'Ouest et partage plusieurs zones d'exploration avec le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique et le nord de l'Alberta, lesquels sont des zones d'exploration très actives. Le succès obtenu à partir de travaux d'exploration limités dans la zone visée laisse présager un potentiel de découvertes d'une densité comparable à celle des zones voisines des provinces.

Les plus grandes possibilités restantes de grandes découvertes de gisement de gaz se trouvent dans les zones des avant-monts, là où la dolomite de Manetoe des formations de Nahanni et d'Arnica du Dévonien est plissée et faillée pour former d'immenses pièges structuraux.

Vers l'est, pour avoir une idée du potentiel de densité de découvertes de gaz, on peut considérer le nombre de gisements découverts dans les T.N.-O. et les nombreux gisements des zones voisines de la Colombie-Britannique, trouvés dans des pièges stratigraphiques ou structuraux du Dévonien. Les réservoirs comprennent notamment des calcaires et des dolomites des formations de Slave Point, de Sulphur Point et de Keg River et de l'intérieur ainsi que de la bordure des bancs des formations de Slave Point et de Presqu'île, et, enfin, des zones poreuses des formations de Jean Marie, de Kotcho et de Tetcho.

Les roches clastiques du Carbonifère au Crétacée offrent dans ce secteur des caractéristiques de réservoirs allant de bonnes à excellentes mais elles demeurent encore inexplorées en grande partie.

Estimations des réserves

Huit gisements de gaz découverts ont fait l'objet de forages dans les environs de la zone visée. L'Office national de l'énergie estime à 12 900 millions de mètres cubes les ressources totales découvertes dans le cas de ces gisements de gaz.

Données opérationnelles

Les conditions et les coûts de prospection se comparent à ceux du nord de l'Alberta et des avant-monts de la Colombie-Britannique. Au milieu de la zone, à Fort Liard, on trouve un centre de service.

Le champ de Pointed Mountain est relié par gazoduc au réseau de conduites de la Westcoast en Colombie-Britannique. Le champ gazier de Pointed Mountain de Amoco Canada dans le sud des T.N.-O. a été découvert en 1967. Depuis qu'une raffinerie de gaz a été construite en 1972, le champ a constamment fourni du gaz naturel, pour une production égale à 8,6 milliards de mètres cubes à la fin de 1993.

Renseignements complémentaires

Pour recevoir un exemplaire du document de demande d'inclusion ou pour en savoir davantage sur la gestion des ressources pétrolières et gazières dans le Nord du Canada, s'adresser à la Direction générale du pétrole et du gaz du Nord du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, à Ottawa, au numéro (819) 994-1606 ou à la Direction de l'évaluation des ressources de l'Office national de l'énergie, à Calgary, au numéro (403) 200-3112.

Demande d'inclusion

Date de clôture....................13 juillet 1994

Taille maximale des parcelles......1 quadrillage (environ offertes 23,890 hectares)

Territoire visé....................1 million d'hectares

Superficie sous licence dans.......Environ 50 000 hectares le territoire visé

Appel d'offres

Soumission minimale................Proposition de 1 million $ en travaux

Période de l'appel.................120 jours, clôture en décembre

Durée du permis de prospection.....7 ans; deux périodes de quatre et trois ans respectivement

Exigences d'exécution..............1 puits avant la fin de la 1re période

Droits de location.................1re période : aucun

2e période : 2,50 $/h a la 1re année

5 $/ha la 2e année

7,50 $/ha la 3e année

Géologie

Profondeur jusqu'aux zones cibles...De 700 à 4 500 m

Épaisseur maximale des bassins......Plus de 5 000 m dans la ceinture des avant-monts; moins profond vers l'est

Présence d'hydrocarbures............Du pétrole et du gaz dans bien des formations, du Dévonien au Crétacée

Première découverte.................1960 (Home Signal CSP Celibeta n° 2; gaz de Slave Point)

Ressources découvertes..............Gaz : 12 900 millions de mètres cubes (dans huit champs)

Type de bassin......................Rifts précambriens, marge continentale du

Paléozoïque, bassin d'avant-pays du Mésozoïque

Cadre de déposition.................Paléozoïque : marge de plate-forme à plate-forme marine peu profonde;

Mésozoïque :marge marine, d'alluviale à peu profonde

Réservoirs..........................Carbonates du Dévonien moyen (non prouvés : carbonates du Dévonien supérieur, grès du Mississipien et du Crétacée)

Poches scellées.....................Shales épais du Dévonien, cabonates denses

Roches-mères........................Shales à maturité du Dévonien, carbonates, évaporites; shales du Mississipien et du Crétacée

Nombre total de puits...............60 (estimation)

Couverture séismique................3 500 km (estimation)

Mise en valeur

Production..........................Gaz : 8,6 milliards de mètres cubes en provenance de Pointed Mountain (à la fin de 1993)

Pipelines...........................Gazoduc de Pointed Mountain jusqu'au système de la Westcoast à Fort Nelson (C.-B.); Gazoduc de Norman Wells jusqu'à Zama (Alberta), à l'est de la zone visée

Date de modification :